• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

thumbers - good discs to buy

rhinos00

Par Member
I'm relatively new to disc golf and primarily throw a backhand. After watching a few videos I have really gotten hooked on thumbers. I used to play baseball so it sort of came naturally, not too mention I can finally make a disc go left to right. I was just wondering if there are any discs out there that were especially made for throwing a thumber or if there are some discs that are better than others?

Also, when using a thumber is it natural to have the disc land on its side and get a good amount or roll? Or is that just me?

This is my first post, so please be gentle :)

Anything overstable. I like to use a Star Firebird.

I prefer the firebird as well! I get the most distance from that disc.
How far and what disc are you currently using for your thumbers?

Flick. Mine when new would stick into the ground, and it might still and the ground is just hard since summer has been here a while, so it rolls a big now

But I would warn against leaning to heavily on an overhand throw. Use it, but consider learing a turnover shot with something slightly understable.

I started out using my old beat up cobras. But after watching a guy with a crazy tomahawk with a Monster, I was sold. Pretty much all I use the disc for. I have also started using a champion wraith for longer type shots.

lots of people like the Epic for OH shots but there are plenty that like to hate on it as well :)

If you have a baseball background it should come fairly easy to you. Most experienced throwers like more stable/overstable discs for longer OH shots. A less stable disc (Sidewinder, Beast, etc) can still perform the shot but will complete the turn and drop quicker, generally these are better for shorter shots.