• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Which discs should I be adding as I get better?

Unzbuzzled

I've been playing for about five years and I've never really thrown anything above a speed 9. I toyed around with Champ Bosses and a Champ Destroyer, but they were way to hard to control for me, so I stuck with my trusty Valkyrie and Sidewinder for all long range duties.

But I want to improve my game, I'm pretty solid on holes under 350ft, and the only way to really shave off more strokes (aside from putting of course) is to get longer distance on the big open holes. If you are a good putter (which is a big 'if') you should be able to hit everything within about 20-25 ft. That gives you a circle 40-50 ft across that you can land in and be safe for a bird. On longer holes, that means I need to rip it over 400,' which just seems like a lot to ask of a Teebird or Valkyrie.

So what's the best strategy for moving up to faster discs?

-Should I just learn how to throw my speed 9s even farther, and stick with those because I know them better?
-Should I buy several high speed discs at varying stabilities and just put in a bunch of time on each of them?
-Should I buy several discs of the same mold (i.e. Destroyer, Boss, Wraith) and just beat them into different stabilities?

What is the best way to move up in disc speed without learning bad habits, using too many molds, or wasting money?

i would add a speed 11 disc like a flow, surge ss, or arcon and get used to thoughs through practice. before moving faster.