• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Why are we throwing 200ft shots w/ putters?

I am still kind of new to Disc Golf but, why would you throw your putter off the tee or longer shots than lets say 100ft out. I can totally see approach shots and thats cool. I guess what Im trying to say is there a special flight attribute that does not exist in a mid range disc like a Roc or Buzzz that would make you go for the putter? Outside the fact you have managed to disk down to two disc.:D

Basically it comes down to accuracy. The slower the disc the more accurate it is, thus the putter would be the best choice. Keep in mind this is assuming you already have good form.

But seriously, slower disc are easier to control, do not go a wrong when thrown wrong, and a bunch of other things that I am sure others will expound on.

"discing down" as i understand it isn't about carrying fewer discs, but about throwing the slowest disc that you can possibly get to the target on a given shot. that's why a lot of players throw them for distances that seem too far for a putter. better control than a faster disc.

As other's have said, its because of one word - control. The general rule of thumb is throw the slowest disc you have that can get the job done. The faster the disc, the more room for error.

I am still kind of new to Disc Golf but, why would you throw your putter off the tee or longer shots than lets say 100ft out. I can totally see approach shots and thats cool. I guess what Im trying to say is there a special flight attribute that does not exist in a mid range disc like a Roc or Buzzz that would make you go for the putter? Outside the fact you have managed to disk down to two disc.:D

Here are a few reasons I thought of without reading the rest of the thread.