Woodridge, IL

Castaldo Park DGC

2.415(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Castaldo Park DGC reviews

Filter
9 0
cefire
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 24.8 years 1121 played 136 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Castaldo is a nice, above-average Chicago 9'er with pretty good elevation and sparse trees which are sufficient to shape lines off of the tee. The designer has done a nice job of working in a wide variety of shots (uphill/downhill, right/left fading, etc.) to keep things interesting and has even worked in a few holes which allow for more than one reasonable route to the pin which gives players the choice of what fairway to attack based on personal strengths and current conditions (wind, grass cut). The park has a very clean and friendly feel to it and the course amenities match this with nice signage, baskets, and tees.

Cons:

As I alluded to in the Pro's section, Castaldo is very nice in comparison with other Chicagoland courses because it has elements that most others lack (decent tree coverage/elevation). However, Castaldo still lacks the challenge in design that most other parts of the country are currently utilizing. There are no multi-par holes and really no holes out here that should be seen as "challenging" birdie two's. Because of the single tee/single pin setup, this course will probably lose a bit of its luster after players have more than a few rounds through. Finally, because the park is fairly well used by other park users and because several holes are in somewhat close proximity to walking paths, you will likely have to wait to throw on a couple of tees during the busy summer months.

Other Thoughts:

One of the better courses in the area and a great place to take beginners or families to try out the game without risking thorns or water hazards. More experienced players will also enjoy a round or two here but will probably want to move on after a couple of rounds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
DocHaole
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.6 years 79 played 48 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Easy to navigate, good tee signs

- A fair variety of elevation changes and lines.

- Good use of obstacles, including large power lines on the first 2 holes.

- Holes 3 and 9 stand out as the most fun and challenging. Both offering good distance and elevation change.

- The course is generally in good condition, clean. And you can normally play 9 in a short amount of time.

Cons:

Shot and easy, that basically sums it up.

You can basically take any line you want to get to most of the holes.

Fairways can overlap on the back and the walking/bike path can come into play in a few spots.

Other Thoughts:

This is fun course to get in a quick 9 if you are in the area. It's also a great place to boost your ego and your ace count.

Although it's not particularly challenging it's an enjoyable 9 holes and worth playing if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
goalkeeper19
Experience: 25.9 years 148 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Easy, but fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-several holes with elevation change
-fair lines through scattered trees
-practice basket
-grippy concrete tee pads
-well-made tee signs
-some hole variety and challenge, with uphill, downhill, corridor, and anhyzer shots
-very beautiful park after the first 2 holes

Cons:

-can get VERY wet and muddy, especially around holes 2-5
-short course, most holes under 300'
-the first two holes are wide open, without much challenge or interest
-every hole except #3 is very deuceable

Other Thoughts:

Overall, despite the lack of challenge presented by the course, I found it a fun and fast round to play. After finishing the first two holes, which admittedly are very weak, the course hits you with a few different challenges:

#3 is a tough blind anhyzer shot that is difficult to deuce based on the basket's position near shule. regardless, it's a pretty easy 3.
#4 is the only "tight" hole, but also the shortest
#5 has multiple routes, but they are equally challenging (slow anhyzer or fast straight shot)
#6-#8 are 280-300' long shots that are uphill and downhill through the woods
#9 is a beautiful finishing hole that crosses a valley, with punishing shule on the right side.

I think it's best to stay away from this course in the rainy season, as almost every hole becomes very muddy, and difficult to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 5
TheYoungGun
Experience: 15.7 years 5 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

good but not great 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

nice teeboxes
good boxes
best course within ten miles

Cons:

short holes
nine hole course
gets muddy after rain

Other Thoughts:

good beginner course some bike paths intersect holes. good cours if wanting to play a relaxed round
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Course has a few different obstacles to navigate, in power line pillars, thick forestry, and mostly a grove of old trees.
- Minor elevation change on some holes, including a small valley. Makes a difference on some holes in the grove due to low branches.
- Patch of forest only in play on one hole, but a good blind right upshot makes decent use of it. Some players may have to lay up to go through a small clearing.
- Power line pillars are big, but still only take up one spot in the fairway. #2 could trouble some RHBH shots.
- Grove of old trees with branches everywhere does provide some challenge, a lot of different lines to choose from above and around the canopy, or low and straight.
- #4 is a small tunnel shot, but still a tunnel shot. Have to dodge two small trees right away, and some forest on the back end.
- Good baskets, great tees. Signs are nice, but 1-3 are slightly off due to the redesign.

Cons:

- Course suffers in length due to the small amount of area to work with. Only two holes are over 300', many around 250'.
- Cramped layout in the grove, lots of discs flying around from hole to hole when crowded.
- Walking path through a corner of the course doesn't help an already crowded park.

Other Thoughts:

- I think this course could be a very, very good 9 holer if it had some more length. The holes are set up well, but it is usually a short drive and a putt for an experienced player.
- While there are a lot of different lines to the basket, I feel a few holes are much easier with a RHFH shot. Might be tougher for those who only have a RHBH shot.
- Park has a Georgia O'Keeffe slide.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mykeg44
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 72 played 45 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 9, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Castaldo is a solid course and is fairly unique compared to most 9-holers in this area. The first three holes of the course play underneath some massive powerlines, the bases of which serve as obstacles for holes #1 and #2. #3 is the course's signature hole -- a blind left to right shot that requires a you to throw over or through a narrow gap in a thick 15 ft high wall of hedges.

The next section of the park is a series of par 3 type holes with some elevation changes along tree-lined fairways. Most of these shots are fairly easy for more experienced players, but dueces are still prety rewarding.

The little things are all present at this course... concrete teepads, nice signs, bathrooms spring through fall, and parking right next to the first tee.

Cons:

The big knock on Castaldo is that it can begin to feel a little repetitive, especially from 5-9. The land provides for just enough space to fit these 5 holes, and it still feels a little cramped. If the course is busy you will need to keep an eye out for stray drives when on these fairways.

Overall, this is not a difficult course for experienced players. Only #3 and possibly #9 require a driver.

Another inherent problem with the land provided is the bike path that runs through this "back 5" area. A bad drive on #8 could easily land on the bike path and #9 literally throws over the path, so you will often times have to wait for bikers to pass before you drive.

Another minor complaint is with #4. This kind of seems like a throw away hole... it's a little 150ft ace run with a ton of poison ivy to the left of the tee, and a duece doesn't even feel rewarding for an experienced player.

**Update 6/6**
The removal of the hedges that come into play on 3 and 9 make this a much easier course, and turn #3 into an ordinary distance drive. This will definitely help newer players, but the course just isn't as interesting with this change. I've changed my rating from a 3* to a 2* for that reason.

Other Thoughts:

While it may not be the most impressive or challenging course, Castaldo rates above most of the suburban multi-use park 9-holers I've played. The power line shots and the seclusion in the back half of the course give Castaldo a unique feel, and the technical aspects of the course hold up well enough to deserve 3 stars.

As far as directions go, this place is easy to find if you're coming from Rt 53. You can only turn one way onto 71st, so just take that until you see the powerlines. The parking lot and first tee are right off the street.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Tyler V
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.7 years 146 played 95 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Short and Simple Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is pretty good for a 9 hole, using the available land well and providing nice fairways through large oak trees and fields. The teepads are concrete which is always a bonus. The tee signs are great, providing accurate illustrations of each hole. The flow of the course is easy to follow, so don't worry about getting lost halfway through.

Cons:

The first 3 holes follow a straight field of powerlines. the first 2 holes were actually simplified by shortening the holes and cutting down surrounding shrubbery and trees. There is poison ivy in spots along the course, so if you are like me and many other people, getting poison ivy sucks, so look out as you go through the course. Many areas can get very muddy after as much as a drizzle.

Other Thoughts:

This is definitely one of the best 9 hole courses around the Chicago area. It's not hard by any means, but it is never the less fun to play. Pro par of 27 can be achievable by even newer players. The holes that include the large oak trees of the are allow different flight paths depending on how you throw too. Might not be worth a drive longer than 10 minutes, but definitely a great course for the locals to have nearby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 4
ratoon
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

wow 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

well the tee pads are nice.

Cons:

where do i start.Due to the lack of funding and motivation this is prob the best course in the area.however thats not really saying much.if i didnt live so close to it, i would prob never go.short stupid holes with a walking path that comes into play.to many distractios like a big park.
hole number 4 should be taken out its useless.

Other Thoughts:

if u travel more than 6 to 8 min to get to this course u wasted ur time. not too far out there are some better courses such as joliet other than that if u truley love disc golf do not live in this area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
Countchunkula
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 17.7 years 208 played 65 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 15, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-One of the better Chi-town 9 holers
-Odd mix of power-line towers on the first few holes and sparse old growth forest for the remainder
-Some elevation (which is rare for the area)
-Nice signs
-Nice concrete teepads
-Hole 3 requires you to throw blindly over 15-20' high scrub trees to an open, grassy fairway
-Hole 9 is a fun shot from the top of a valley to the top of the other side with a choice of routes through the old growth trees

Cons:

-Often crowded
-The clear cut that was done on the scule on 1 & 2 made those holes boring
-Not very challenging
-Some fairways are close to others (and the course has its share of totally inaccurate noobs)

Other Thoughts:

One of the better after work choices in this area. Also check out the Oakbrook course, not much elevation change, but challenging with fairways cut out of fairly dense woods.

Update: Due to significant tree/brush removal and a general realignment of my reviews, I'm dropping my rating to a 2.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 18.9 years 27 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice walk through the park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice 9 hole course laid out around a multi-use park. Course is kept in good condition by the park, with water fountains and port-o-pottys available. Nice concrete tees, and good signage make first time navigation easy. After first 3 holes, the course plays through a nice wooded (old growth) park. Most holes have multiple routes, but some canopies forcing a low line drive. Only 3 holes have schule to speak of, and it's not that bad... (paths are starting to emerge). The course has little elevation change, but the terrain is used nicely... hole 9 is a great finisher.

Cons:

Course can get crowded on weeknights/ends... while the people are nice, I've seen a lot of 6+ groups holding up play. The first 2 holes are repetitive... throw around a power line to the basket. Holes 5-8 feel similar as well, as the fairways are more "spotted" with trees, as opposed to forcing a line. With all holes under 400', this course will lose it's appeal quickly to advanced players.

Other Thoughts:

Overall an enjoyable course for a quick round (or 3). Probably my favorite of the 9 holers in the area (here, Knock Knolls, Avery, Oak Brook). Great for beginner/am/families.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Short n easy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 4, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a multi-use park with rolling hills, and grassy fairways with mature trees. The first three holes are more open, with large power lines and some brush as obstacles. The remaining holes play through a park setting with no brush, just large trees to avoid.

There wasn't a whole lot of elevation to work with, but the small hills that are there were used well to add some interest to a few of the holes. Most holes have a few clearly defined lines to the hole, offering different options with different difficulty levels. The power lines make interesting obstacles to shoot around in the beginning of the course, almost like giant metal trees.

The tees are very nice brushed concrete pads with plenty of room and excellent footing. The signage is accurate, and shows hole pictures and lengths for each hole. At the beginning of the course there is a putting area with a practice basket, and a detailed map showing the layout of the whole course.

Cons:

Like many of the 9 hole courses around this area, there's not a whole lot of challenge here. None of the holes present any kind of unique challenge that would make them memorable. The first few holes seemed pretty similar, though 3 brought some brush and a blind pin into play. Many of the park holes also seemed a bit repetitive, with not a whole lot to distinguish them.

On nearly every hole, there was a fairly open RHBH hyzer route. It would have been nice to have a little more variety in shot selection required, along with a little more variety in length. Many holes played very close to picnic areas and playgrounds, and some holes played across walking paths. On a nice day, expect to spend some time waiting for other park users to clear fairways.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice beginner course, that will help new players begin to develop accuracy shooting through the trees. Hole three is the only spot where losing a disc is a real possibility, and the course is well marked and easy to follow. More experienced players will find the course easy, as this course is more of a putt/approach practice spot.

If you're in the area, this course is fun for a quick round, otherwise I wouldn't recommend driving much out of your way to play here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Adam Bigott
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

It's Close By 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great for beginners
Vacant
Well kept

Cons:

Boring
Short holes
No real obstacles

Other Thoughts:

Wow, my pros and cons were pretty short. I guess that is the thing though. This course is bland. I don't think this should be rated moderately forested at all. Also they moved a few of the pins which would be a good idea, but they moved them closer to the tees making the course even easier. Don't go out of your way to visit this.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
davidwebb
Experience: 14.9 years 8 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

So-So 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 20, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good course for beginners to improve their form and still feel like they accomplish something because the holes are a little shorter than normal. Of the 3 courses that are close to me (O'brien, Castaldo, and Knock Knolls) this is my favorite.

Cons:

I have to shoot this course 2 or 3 times to kill more than 20 minutes, and I am not very good yet.

Other Thoughts:

I have only played 6 or 7 courses total so far, and this one falls right in the middle. I shoot here a lot and it is well maintained with very few blind holes (hole 3 is the only one where I have ever come close to losing my disc as you shoot between a clearing of bushes).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Smoost4T
Experience: 21.7 years 23 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Castaldo Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice Layout
- Not crowded at all, I had time to throw 3 discs per hole and no one was there
- Putting practice basket is always nice.

Cons:

- Muddy, it hadn't rained for a few day and was still soft
- Favors the RHFH thrower
- Powerline holes are similar
- Shots are shorter than they look. I overshot some hole by like 50 feet.

Other Thoughts:

- One of the best 9 hole courses around
- Hole 4 can be easily aced
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 9
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.8 years 393 played 271 reviews
2.00 star(s)

C+ = As average as the come for 9 holers 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- B+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- B-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA

Other Thoughts:

I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
m1ke
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.6 years 46 played 20 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice course, but Poison Ivy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pretty good variety in holes- fun layout.
Nice park.
New-looking signs and teepads.

Cons:

Poison Ivy, and not just in the brush next to the fairways but actually on the fairways of some later holes, under the big trees. If it was cleared, my rating would go up to a 3.
Starts a little slowly for a 9-hole course; 1st hole is wide open, 2nd almost the same, but then things pick up.

Other Thoughts:

Power lines literally buzzing overhead on 1-3; spooky! I'm surprised to see other reviewers saying not crowded- we played on a Sunday afternoon and there were at least 4 other groups of players out there, so we all had to wait at times.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
4_Of_Spades
Experience: 15.7 years 36 played 28 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Used to Be Better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 27, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good baskets, signs, and tee pads.

Holes offer multiple lines to basket.

Very slight elevation adds some challenge to a few holes.

Always have fun playing here (it is my home course though).


Nice park setting with bike path, pavilion, and playground.

Cons:

They have been trying to make this course suck since I started playing disc golf in 2008.

They cut down all the dense forest that used to line the fairways of holes 1, 2, 3, and 9. They have also cut down multiple oak trees throughout holes 4-8.

Baskets on first three holes have been moved up so these holes are less challenging.

Fairly short course that can feel repetitive. All holes reachable with a mid-range pretty much except for maybe holes 3 and 9.

Can be large groups at night and on weekends.

Usually the parking lot is full of people for a family party at the pavilion which is always a relief to me.

Other Thoughts:

Run ins with other park doers is small. You just have to see if people are running in front of you, if not, throw it.

You get used to the buzzing on the first 3 holes after a few rounds.

Castaldo used to be a way better course and it is a shame with what they have done to it. It is still an okay course, but it keeps getting worse and worse. It is still worth a play because it is unique and still fun, but may not be for very much longer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
AdamBigott
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun and relaxed. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Fun course.
Not crowded.
Variety in holes.

Cons:

Third and fourth holes can be very frustrating.
A few holes should probably be par 3 instead of par 4.

Other Thoughts:

Don't get poison ivy or lose a disc. Both are very do-able.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top