• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Woodridge, IL

Castaldo Park DGC

2.415(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Castaldo Park DGC reviews

Filter
5 1
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19 years 265 played 251 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A Fun, Low-Pressure Course in a Nice Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- tee signs at every hole
- ample concrete tees at every hole
- good mix of hole lengths
- makes good use of some trees and elevation change on some holes
- baskets are in good repair

Cons:

- a lot of open/easy shots
- first 3 holes are wide open and fairly identical
- discs seem to pass through basket chains pretty easily
- maps on tee signs could be better
- next tee sign could help between 8 and 9

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun course in a very nice park with many other activities. The course flow is pretty logical and was clear to me except for needing a minute to figure out where to go for Tee 9. The mix of lengths is nice and I think the designers used the space the best they could - some holes are wide open, but some have at least a little technical challenge. Overall, this is still a pretty easy course, but I did enjoy it. It is worth coming back if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20 years 114 played 105 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Easy Peasy Niner 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 31, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Set in a very well kept multiuse park with some moderate elevation. All fairways are mowed and interspersed with occasional large trees.
- Baskets are Mach whatever and are in great shape. Each one has a cool circle about 6' diameter with landscaping stone in it to prevent erosion.
- For once in my life navigation was NOT a PITA. Even though there were no "next tee" signs at the baskets they really weren't needed. Just look around a bit and the nearest tee is the next one.
- When I looked at the map I though 1-3 were going to be exactly the same. These holes under the power lines were unique. And that can be said for the rest of the course. There was a pleasant amount of variety here. Being a multi use park and the fairways were quite open there are multiple lines to each basket.
- The tee signs were absolutely perfect. I really wish every course had these.
- The flow from hole to hole was nice and there really weren't any true safety hazards in my mind. I guess #9 could be considered a hazard but the walking path in front of the tee is only 10' away so it's pretty easy to see if anyone is coming.
- Tee pads were near perfect in both size and texture

Cons:

- This course is super short overall.
- This course is super duper easy. This is my biggest con. Any middle of the road Am3 is going to easily score in the 24-26 range. So for the more advanced players this course is going to get pretty boring pretty quick. Even freshly minted newbs are going to get bored after a few rounds. With one exception, the fairways are wide open. The scattering of large trees does help some but not enough.

Other Thoughts:

This is the kind of course you bring newbs to. Hand them a Buzzz and teach them the game. It's perfect for that before moving on to something more challenging. It's also the kind of course that would be great for working on specific shots or doing something like putter only rounds. You'll never see a league here much less any sort of tourney action. But in all fairness it is fun to play and easy to find for a quick round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Awesome Course For Us Rec Players And Beginners! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Castaldo Park is a well maintained city park. Park workers were spending a lot of time grooming the sand volleyball court while I played. How about some love for the disc course?

The course sign and map are located right by the parking lot as you enter the park. The course has the same tee signs posts as just about every course in Illinois. The tee pads are nice concrete ones with a crushed rock surrounding. The baskets are DGA models with the red numbers. The baskets are surrounded by the same fine, crushed gravel as the pads. The pars listed are elementary approiate. Ignore them or embrace them and go for the rare double eagle on # 3's 405 foot par 5.

The course plays as a easy recreational level with plenty of holes in the 225-260 foot range and not much in the way of obstacles

The first three holes play around the power lines and their giant grey towers. Then the final six play through the park's slightly rolling terrain. Beginners will enjoy their experience here.

Cons:

The lovely little course lacks challenge for anyone over a recreational level.

Elementary pars as stated on the signs.

I guess the park's popularity could be problematic. Having a little patience is the key.

Other Thoughts:

Another excellent little beginner course. I'm beginning to think that new players in Illinois have a good many options of where they want to practice their game. I just haven't seen more challenging courses for players looking to be challenged.

I have to agree with previous reviewers that Castaldo is one of the better Chicago 9'ers that I've played. As long as you're not worried about getting brain cancer from repeated exposure to the power lines, you'll probably enjoy your round here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
SneakyJedi
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 149 played 83 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fun Suburban 9er 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great equipment: tee pads, baskets, signage all of good quality and in good repair.
- Nice, multi-use park is well maintained and pleasant to play in
- Land is used well, a number of fun, if not overly challenging, holes
- High voltage towers are a unique obstacle feature

Cons:

- While the difficulty level here is not trivial, most players beyond novice level will have little trouble getting within the putting circle on their drives.
- There are a few locations where people on walking paths, houses, or other park users could be impacted by thrown discs, and not necessarily only on bad shots.

Other Thoughts:

As far as Chicago area 9-hole disc golf courses go, Castaldo tends to keep up with the best of them. Playing no small part in that is the quality of the park and equipment. The baskets catch well, the tee signs are clear and informative (though the distances are a bit questionable, especially on holes 2 and 3) and the concrete tee pads are large and surrounded by a bed crushed stone. It was a very pleasant disc golf experience.

I played a couple hours after a storm had rolled through, and while the ground was wet, and a couple of paths across low lying areas were muddy, I was surprised how well the course handled the water. It doesn't seem like wet weather will negatively affect the course much, and certainly not for very long.

There isn't really any shot shaping here, which isn't great if you are a more experienced player looking for a challenge, but for newer players, and those just looking for a casual round or to work on a particular shot, this works just fine. Even if you are not limited to a particular shot on any hole, there are still mature trees, occasional brush, and the imposing power line towers you must navigate around to earn your birdie on most holes. If you have about 300' of controllable power you will have a good chance of birdying every hole (hole 3 is nowhere near 400').

This is a great course for its location in the middle of a neighborhood. It's a great course to learn on, and more experienced players can still have fun hunting for birdie on every hole. If you are in the area, stop by and play a quick round, it won't take you long, and even if you won't be much challenged, you can still have fun in a nice park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
uncrandr
Experience: 17.1 years 65 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not challenging, but fun! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 13, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

>>It's a quick, short course that let's you work on your fundamentals without feeling the need to give it all you've got on every throw.
>>The layout is easy to follow.
>>A few fairly technical shots between the trees, especially in the spring and summer when there are leaves there.

Cons:

>>No long holes
>>It can get pretty crowded on a nice day
>>A little muddy, but not awful

Other Thoughts:

>>If you live nearby, I'd definitely play this course. I do, and I plan to start coming here whenever I feel the disc golf itch. But If you're thinking about adding it to your road trip or traveling more than 10 miles to get here, I'd reconsider.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
nivek1385
Experience: 34.4 years 38 played 9 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner's Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course makes good use of the available land. It's a small community park in the middle of a subdivision. There are seasonal portable restrooms near the first teepad. There's a small shelter in the middle of the course by the playground and water fountain. The teesigns and teepads are nice. The teepads are the elongated trapezoid design that taper toward the front (i.e. / ). I liked the usage of the electrical towers as obstacles on the early holes (think metal trees). You do get some elevation changes, which is unusual for Chicagoland courses, though they are not big changes.

Cons:

This course suffers from the typical Chicagoland par ratings. Par is far, far too easy here. I was missing putts for double eagle on some holes and only threw par or worse a couple of holes, mostly due to a bad drive combined with bad putting. Most of the holes feel like par 3, with 1-2 par 4, but most are listed as par 4 and one at par 5. The teesign for #8 is non-existent. Park traffic wasn't bad the day I was there, but I was there on a weekday afternoon right as school district's were starting for the year, and I can see park traffic becoming an issue for some holes.

Other Thoughts:

The relatively short distances involved combined with the easy par ratings make this a good beginner course. I would definitely recommend bringing new players here without much worry about lost discs or huge frustrations over it feeling too hard. I don't recommend this to any seasoned players, though. It's far too easy, unless you're wanting to work on your short game or go for ace runs. I think this would be a good place to run an Ace Race, though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Scramble630
Experience: 35 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Ok course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice baskets
-Nice tee pads
-Nice tee signs
-Not too many places to lose your disc

Cons:

-The holes are not very challenging
-Walkways and playground throughout the course
-Tee sign was missing on hole 8
-9 holes

Other Thoughts:

Rather boring course that just didnt keep me very entertained. About a 45 minute drive from me so I probably wont go out of my way to make it back unless I'm making a day of playing the other surrounding 9 hole courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 175 played 88 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Castaldo Park was an enjoyable course... my buddy and I were able to play two quick rounds in this nice little park. Here are the main pros:

*Fun, semi-challenging lines to hit on holes 4-9
*Concrete tees, nice baskets
*Man-made "greens" on a few of the holes (made of crushed stones) prevent pin areas from getting super muddy
*Well maintained

Cons:

Here are the cons of Castaldo Park

*Holes 1-3 are pretty boring
*Very congested park... shares area with lots of other activities. A pet peeve of mine is when fairways cross walking paths, and Castaldo Park's fairways cross paths several times
*No distance challenge (see below about sign)
*Several signs were inaccurate... one of them said there was a 400 ft hole, but there's no way it was longer than 325
*Some of the tee pad are surrounded by the same stones that surround the man-made greens leading to horrible footing on those pads.

Other Thoughts:

My buddy and I drove about 25 mins each way to play this course, simply for the sake of playing adding it to our "courses played". I probably wouldn't make that drive again to play this course, but if I'm in the area, this course is a fun, quick round so I'll stop by again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
booradly
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 167 played 24 reviews
3.00 star(s)

a fun 9 hole 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 30, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-nice pads
-well groomed park
-some baskets have a very fine crushed gravel around the baskets that really help slow a disc that is close
-awesome park to bring a new player but still fun for better players
-first three holes are open shots make for good warm up holes
-the course makes very good use of the huge oak trees that are in the park
-the last 6 holes are all a lot of fun but not to hard
-uses the little bit of elevation that comes into play in the park
-one of the best if not the best 9 holes in the west burbs(at at least that i have played)

Cons:

-first three holes are under huge power towers that can trash a disc if hit hard
- is only a 9 hole =/
-there is a walking path that comes into play
-can get crowded
-i have been close to hitting houses on a grip lock off of 7

Other Thoughts:

i really like this course i wish it was longer but there is NO extra room to expand
-this is a good to play with the 9 in naperville because they are both right off 75th st both beginner friendly courses that are still fun when you get a little better
Was this review helpful? Yes No
15 0
Three Putt
Staff member
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29.6 years 153 played 127 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Dead man walking 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Castaldo is a pretty OK 9-hole recreational disc golf course. The property has some gentle rolling hills that create some elevation change. The first few holes are located under power lines mounted on massive gray metal towers that create some obstacles to shoot around, and the remaining holes make good use of the trees on the property. The tees are concrete and there is good signage. The course has pretty good flow and was easy to navigate. It rates pretty well in fun factor and makes a great place to shoot a quick 9-holes.

Cons:

The park isn't all that large so the area the course has to work with is not optimal. The shots are on the short side, holes #5-#8 are pretty close together and you throw over and around a walking path that could create a conflict with other park users. #9 doesn't take you back to the parking lot; we played a safari hole from the #3 tee back to the practice basket to get to the car, but if the course was busy playing a safari hole that cuts across two fairways wouldn't really be very cool. It looked like there had been a wooded area the forced you through a gap on #3 and created a shule to the right on #9 that was cleared out. Both holes would have been better if those woods were still there. In the end it was a fun course, but there wasn't much variety or challenge to it.

Other Thoughts:

I'm a pretty old guy, but evidently I had managed to live my life without standing directly under high voltage power lines until I teed off on #1 at Castaldo Park. The sound of electricity was unnerving. I immediately checked to make sure there wasn't a wet sponge on top of my head.

If you yell CASTALDO!!! in some phony Italian accent whenever someone hits a tree, it will either a) make your round more enjoyable or b) make the other players in your group want to strangle you, possibly both.

Speculation on the inspiration for the shape of the slide on the play system by #8 can reveal a lot about your playing partners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 316 played 268 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Castaldo!!! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- This suburban park is located not far from a small electrical sub-station, with enormous grey power line towers occupying the first few holes' fairways before marching off into the distance. The course is nice enough despite the power lines, and the huge metal structures are actually pretty neat to scope out and play around. Giant iron trees, in the disc golf scheme of things.
- Decent use of elevation. Nothing dramatic but there is enough gentle roll to the grassy park to prevent utter flatness. #'s 3, 7, and 9 all have a some degree of elevation loss/gain, with #3 playing down and then back up a small depression, which looked to have been recently cleared of foliage.
- Good use of the available obstacles: trees and towers alike.
- Good concrete pads, decent signage, and a practice basket all help to give this course a polished feel. The practice basket even serves as a good "#10" after finishing the 9-hole layout.

Cons:

- The crackling of the electricity overhead is a bit jangly on the nerves, but otherwise kinda cool. I can definitely see how it would detract from the experience for those who enjoy a more natural vibe.
- Castaldo does well with what it has to work with. Unfortunately, in the end it's still just your typical Chicagoland niner.

Other Thoughts:

- Castaldo is fun to play, and actually, fun to say, too...Ca-stal-do. Try it. Castaldo. Say it like you're a passionate Spaniard. Castaldo. Women cry into the night: Castaldo! Throw your disc into the trees and yell in a voice ripe with vengeance: Castaldo! Clench your fist and swear that justice will be served and birdies shall be slayed: Castaldo!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
LeddZepp8687
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 115 played 19 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not bad.. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Cement pads
-Decent change in elevation throughout holes
-Good use of available obstacles
-Quick, But not too quick of a play
-Easy to navigate
-Well groomed
-One of the better 9 holers around

Cons:

-Not overly challenging
-Usually pretty crowded
-Fairways sorta close together in some of the later holes
-Multi-use park that sometimes is overly crowded with people on the walking path, forcing you to wait to throw

Other Thoughts:

I like this course for a quick couple of rounds, It's close to my house and it is a fun course to play. It's proximity to knock knolls is also a added bonus because if I do not want to stray to far from home I can play two niners in the same day.

Considering some of the other nearby park district courses, this one is good. I only gave it a 2½ because the fact of the matter is, this course is extremely forgiving to bad shots, Pick a line, any line and you can get to the basket on pretty much every hole. I am not saying that is bad for everyone, But experienced players are looking for courses with holes that demand precise shots.

In a nutshell, this is a fun course to play and boost your confidence. If you are in the area, I would definitely stop to play a round or two.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 400 played 385 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Pleasant Park Nine 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Castaldo is a very likeable park-style disc golf course with mature trees defining the lines for the moderate distance nine holes available here. The first three holes are medium (280') to lengthy (up to 405'), slanting along the clearing for a line of high tension pillars, some of which affect the hyzer lines (for rhbh throwers like me). The last six holes tend to favor slightly right-turning flight paths, but there is enough space and openness to get as creative as you like. There is a tree along the 6th fairway that has an amazing old branch which leans over to influence your shot. Unfortunately, the tree doesn't look healthy, and the fairway will be entirely different if the tree is lost. The slight rolling nature of the terrain and the shade of the trees make this a fairly fun course to get in a quick confidence-builder, even on a sunny summer day.
Fantastic trapezoidal concrete tees are complemented by decent signage, logical course flow, and DGA baskets in a park with sand volleyball, a jogging path, a kiddie playground, a park shelter/gazebo, at least one water fountain and one bathroom (noted on the map). There are plenty of trash cans available (though I did pick up stuff thrown on the ground by others, near a couple of tee pads...well, you can't blame them...the trash can WAS almost twelve feet away!)

Cons:

There is a relatively limited variety of challenge here for the more experienced player.
Two of the holes require drives over the path, but the tees are near enough to the path to make it clear to even the most oblivious pedestrian that you're about to tee off.

Other Thoughts:

I normally want to play a course five times before writing a review, but was only in town for a brief stay, so only played twice, but enjoyed this course immensely, and wanted to add a complimentary review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
alexjensen
Experience: 15.9 years 42 played 11 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Listen to the Buzz 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is a solid little nine holer with a fair amount of character. Plays relatively short, virtually every pin is reachable for a player that is throwing around 300ft, and there really isn't too much in the way of difficult lanes, though the few trees that are located on the park do spice it up enough to keep things interesting.

Holes 1,2,and3 are straight forward and open with nothing but a few power line poles to get in your way. Hole 4 is a solid ace run just a hair under 200ft. Holes 5,6,7,8 and 9 are all similar style shots between 250 and 320ft that require you to dodge a few trees, but offer plenty of very make-able lanes to the baskets.

Good signage, and plenty of places to rest on the course in the shade if you'd like to make an afternoon there. Practice basket near the first tee, and nice cement tee pads.

A fun little course that if I was in the area would definitely go play.

Cons:

Honestly the biggest con about this course is just that it is a little boring. I went out and only grabbed for my driver and holes 3 and 9, otherwise I could throw a midrange or putter off the tee for every shot. There are certain holes where you may have some minor tree issues, but the lanes are so clear they don't offer too much difficulty. Other cons include the fact that the first three holes are located directly underneath power lines so the buzzing coming from these is pretty annoying, but not too big of a deal.

Other Thoughts:

Driving from Chicago I would rather go play one of the other courses in the area. This course is just a little short and boring, but still I did have a great time here. This is definitely a good place to bring people that are just getting into the sport. It is difficult enough to offer a challenge, yet not too difficult where people will get discouraged. Also the fact that as a hole this course is pretty short means that even the least experienced disc golfers I know are bound to hit a couple pars. This is the only course where my girlfriend can claim a victory over me this year, so it is certainly one of her favorites. Happy Discin!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
southside5
Experience: 15.3 years 6 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Longer 9 hole course than others in the area.
Not very difficult.
Pretty well kept
garbage cans at almost every hole
water fountain
cops come by regularly
an alright mix of distance, from the space provided

Cons:

crowded in afternoons
muddy and wet after rain
not very difficult
power lines above first three holes
all the forest area was cut down on three because of the power lines. the hole used to be pretty amazing but now its not very fun
park nearby may be crowded with a party
cops come by regularly
must throw across bike path on 5 and 9

Other Thoughts:

decent course overall. I don't come here too often anymore since my skill has improved, i would rather travel to joliet area to play highland or other better courses.

2.5-3. 3 only because its my "home course"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Bltsandwich1
Experience: 13.1 years 5 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good 9-hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Larger than most 9-hole courses in the area
-Well kept park
-Concrete (and level) tees
-Well kept catchers
-Scenic with older large trees that offer some challenge (not including the first 3 holes under the power lines)
-Decent elevation change (especially for the Chicago area which it notoriously flat).
-Favors accuracy over power (pro or con depending on your POV)
-Larger than some area courses

Cons:

-Can be very muddy
-Could be a longer course
-Signage is dicey at best
-Bike path (con for golfing, but a pro for getting there if you bike)
-Sometimes have to wait to start on nice days
-First 2 holes are boring
-Power lines

Other Thoughts:

This course has some good mid distance shots where accuracy can play a role. If you are making a trip to this course you may want to warm up here then make the trip over to Knock Knolls for a bigger accuracy challenge. If you are in the suburbs make a stop here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
bluebass65
Experience: 15.2 years 26 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Course has changed! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 20, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

My home course. Always fun to play and plays fast, even when crowded.

Cons:

The woods that come into play on holes #3 and #9 are gone! Bulldozed recently! Changes the course dramatically. Must be a powerline issue. Stinks for us though.

Other Thoughts:

Still fun to play, but the recent changes make the two affected holes wide open. There is now no danger from a stray drive. Beware of deep leaf pools that suck up discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
omightytimm
Experience: 19 played 12 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Compact but nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- nice rubber tees
- made good use of terrain features (trees, hedges, hills)
- also good use of not very much space
- pretty park, tall oaks in most of the park

Cons:

- some of the later holes a little close together, but not overly so

Other Thoughts:

In general a nice, compact little course. Distances were average, with very good use of trees, hedges, or other terrain features. I'd play this again if I was looking to play just 9 holes and I was in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
Innova_Star
Experience: 15.5 years 8 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 15, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

i love this course this is my home course..... in a great area not the biggest course but not the smallest... never to busy .... have found 12 discs here the past year

Cons:

you have alot of kids hiding in areas to steal your discs ..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
allamerican1525
Experience: 14.9 years 34 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great course when not Crowded 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Every type of shot needed. Good ace possibilities. Great use of available land. Beaten paths in thicket helps find your disc

Cons:

Often crowded on warm afternoons. Large groups of players clog up the course. What was once a "hidden gem" is now busy popular course

Other Thoughts:

A good 9 hole for someone looking to work on shots. Hard to lose a disc and great if you are in the area. Plays quick and is often played 2 or 3 times.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top