• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Oak Brook, IL

Central Park - Old Layout

3.235(based on 33 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Central Park - Old Layout reviews

Filter
1 1
southside5
Experience: 15.2 years 6 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Ok Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

pretty wooded
good mix of throws
some holes have garbage cans
signs are pretty accurate

Cons:

construction last time i was there, which made me notice some trees being cut down, i think it was on the right side of hole 7.
not too much distance
other frolfers were there for the first time and got a little lost
not too much elevation change
there was a soccer tournament when i went and some kids were warming up in front of the first tee and parking was horrendous

Other Thoughts:

Solid 9 hole course.
not sure what theyre doing with the construction.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
brettowen
Experience: 38.1 years 27 played 6 reviews
0.50 star(s)

URGENT: Redesign underway 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

URGENT: REDESIGN UNDERWAY Once one of the best 9 holers in all of the Chicago area is in the process of being redesigned. Over half of the trees on the course have been cut down. According to the park district this is to make room for a new synthetic surface soccer field where hole 7, 8 & 9 are currently located. Also trees have been removed at holes 4 & 5 to make way for a new maintenance shed. Unfortunately this course will never be the same. We'll have to hope that the redesign lives up to the old course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 316 played 268 reviews
2.00 star(s)

A Solid Nine Holer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Oak Brook's Central Park is home to an above-average 9 hole course. Largely isolated from the rest of the park, the course wends its way through thick scrubby trees, large mature trees, and everything inbetween. Tight, technical fairways force precise lines with fair but brutal punishment awaiting those that miss their mark.
- Good risk/reward. The hole design encourages aggressive drives, and fairly punishes over-aggressiveness or wayward shots. The schule is thick and tight in places, although well worn. Finding and getting to your disc isn't too much of a struggle, but getting your next shot out successfully can be an adventure.
- Good variety. For a nine-hole course, there's plenty of variety between left- and right-turning holes. A bit of elevation comes into play on a few holes. #5 has a mando that forces a very tight anhyzer (RHBH) or forehand flick, with trouble to the left and low-hanging pine branches waiting to smack down your tee shot. With hole lengths in the range of just over 200' to just under 400', nothing gets too crazy, but provides a nice mix.
- Fair amenities. Good rubber mats, descriptive and accurate tee signs, and scattered trashcans.

Cons:

- Some scattered trash detracts a bit from the natural beauty, but I did play this course during winter, when trash seems to be more prevalent/noticable.
- No alcohol allowed per posted sign. Yeah, I'm kinda stretching for some cons here.

Other Thoughts:

- While certainly not a destination course, Central Park has a lot going for it that many nine holers don't. Tight technical fairways, a fair mix of distances, and a high fun factor. While I can't rate it higher due to only being nine holes, the lack of concrete tees, etc., Central Park is definitely a fun and serviceable nine-hole option for both locals and those who might be traveling through the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
whitechocolate
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 437 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Better 9 holer in Chicago 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Solid Tee Signs
-Boxed Fly Pads Tees
-Lots of Additional Park amentities
-Mach 5 in great shape
-Shaped Fairways
-Course doesn't really share ground with other activities

For another Chicagoland nine hole course, this one has a little more to offer than most. Although the park is current dominated by soccer fields and baseball diamonds, its course holds its own against the other features of the park. The two soccer fields directly across for the course is a great place to warm up on your drives. The park also features a jogging path, multiple playgrounds, tennis courts, sand volleyball courts, pools, and the people of Oakbrook has a sports facility their as well with contain racquetball courts as well as other indoor activities in two different buildings. There is something for the whole family to do while you pound out a round or seven.

The pads, although a little short, are decent boxed flypads. Although the are not concrete, they do the job rather well. The Mach 5 are all still in great shape and catch well. Most of the fairways are shaped well to force an average player to generally have only one line. The rough is thick enough in places to potentially force a four on an errant shot. There are more right turning shots at this course than most nine holes. Holes 1 and 4 are left turning. Holes 2, 3, and 8 are right turning. Holes 5, 6, 7 and 9 are more or less straight shots. Although hole 6 has a nifty mando, which adds to need a slight turnover (RHBH) and keeps the cars safe in the parking lot. The course is also more or less secluded from other activities. The do sometimes put in a Halloween walk for the kids which will wrap through parts of the course. Please be aware and courteous of this if this is the case.

Cons:

-One set of tees/pads
-Slowly have been losing obstacles
-Gravel under baskets

The biggest problem I see with this course is the lack of diversity from round to round. There is only one set of tees and one set of baskets. Most of the tees are back as far and they could go, so the only way to make additional tees on most holes would be to make them shorter. With a total length of around 2500' (less than 300' a hole average) that would not add to the challenge for most players, but take away from. The best option would be a second set of baskets to add a little length or pin placement challenges. And that wouldn't even be vary realistic on a few holes either. The course is pretty close to maxed out as it's current set up.

The second thing that I do not like is this year they put gravel underneath the baskets. Although it looks nice and make it easier to tell where "not to mow", it eats away at the putter if you miss a putt. I also do not use any of the baskets for putting practice anymore.

The park district, over the last couple of years, have trimmed off the bottom of the pine trees to eliminate some climbing. I understand why they did it, however, it made hole 9 dramatically easier. It used to be a hole where if you try to curve your shot too much you would clip them and potentially be in a position to four the hole. It is much more forgiving now. Even though it is a 360' it is relatively easier to have a easy layup for a three and I do not have a big arm. Also with the storms over the summer, the course has lost a handful of trees on numerous holes. Although the challenge of the course is still there, it is easier than it has been in the past. It is most noticeable on Hole 6. Places that were high robbers of shots are gone. As long as you make it all the way through the mando slope, it is a lot easier to 3 the hole.

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this is one of the best 9 hole courses in Chicagoland. It's unique by comparison. I could see how a seasoned player could get bored playing here on a daily basis. I tend to switch up my shots here just to try different things out. It is great to work on different shots at open courses, but here if you miss a line, the course does let you know.

This is one of my favorite 9 hole courses in Chicagoland, and probably in my top 5. The only 9 hole course that stick outs and being noticeable greater than this one is Brickyard in Menomonie, WI. It is worth checking out if you are in the area, and by comparison to what is close, it is probably your best option without driving to Joliet, Mokena, or Crown Point, IN.

If this ever course going to a 18 hole course it has the potential to be the best 18 course in Chicagoland. With the small rolling hills, the trees, and the small creek (and potentially the retention ponds) it could have some amazing options. Oakbrook park district does an amazing job upkeeping their park.

I rated the course a 3.0 which is good. By comparison, this course in excellent to everything else the area has to offer by a nine hole course. If the tees pads weren't torn on a couple holes, and the gravel wasn't under the baskets, I would give it a 3.5 (Very Good). If there were multiple pin or teepad locations I would probably bump it up to a 4.0 (Excellent). This is definitely one of my favorite local places to play, but had to ranked it based on what I have seen across the country. If the park district does some of the things they have been talking about doing, the will become the course to play in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 760 played 414 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Right Tendencies 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The long-n-wide rubber teepads were in good shape. Good teesigns.

Easy to access, not far from 294 or 88. The Italian beef sandwich at Paul's Pizza was really good.

Cons:

Hole-9 unplayable as it sat in the midst of a rain-created pond. Going wide right from tee-1 brings a volleyball court into play. Minimal elevation changes.

Other Thoughts:

If you like them mostly tight and mostly right-turning, you should enjoy this course, as half the holes somewhat match that description. Good variety in distances. Most holes had a chokepoint at some location between the tee and the basket - hit it and be rewarded it, miss it, and work on your awkward-approach game. :)

Certainly not a destination course, but designers made the most they could out of the small bit of land and trees with which they had to work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
tjclassic82
Experience: 14.2 years 31 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Oakbrook 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well kept course right in the middle of Oakbrook Park District. Great mix of shots for a 9 hole course. You don't have to throw 400 feet to play this course well but you do need to know how to hit your lines. Each hole will give you it's own set of unique problems and no hole is necessarily a guaranteed birdie like a lot of other shorter 9 hole courses in the area. It's not the most technically challenging, but it's a great course and fun to play over and over again.

Cons:

It can tend to get crowded very quickly because of it's location, many casual players will tend to group up in 4's and 5's and clogs happen quickly. Too short!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
giddyup
Experience: 14.1 years 9 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Agree! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I was going to be in Chicago for a busy few days so I wanted to get the best bang for my buck the one time I got to play DG while I was there. All reviews pointed to this course and it definitely delivered. Central Park is in a pretty affluent suburb of Chicago, so it's a nice area and the park was very well kept. There was no signage for the course driving up to the park, but the park building was open on a Sunday morning at 8 AM, so it was easy to find someone to point us in the right direction.

The course is pretty flat (go figure, it's in IL), so there is not much elevation to speak of. But I don't think it's a black eye to this course. There are still plenty of trees and dog legs to make it interesting.

There is one hole where you walk right by the park office building, but other than that, it's got a pretty nice secluded feel.

Nice concrete tee pads, good baskets, and great signage (once you get to the course) round it out to make it a must play in the Chicago area. From what I've seen, I don't think you'll find a 9 hole rec course to match it!

Cons:

The one thing this course lacks is distance. It really is a one dimensional course. While it provides a lot of opportunities to work on some technical shots, hole nine is the only hole to step up to the tee pad and let 'er eat. Hole six looked like that, but there is a mando tree that forces you back into the woods. Along with that, the pars were a bit generous.

Other Thoughts:

Honestly, the 4.0 rating I gave would be a little inflated next to some courses because of the lack of variety. But, when you consider some of the common pitfalls of other courses on busy Chicago parks, this one pulls ahead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
discRabbit
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.1 years 1224 played 136 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great niner for Chicago! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 23, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Central Park is a very well designed nine hole course which has something that many niners in the area do not have: punishing areas for errant shots, variety of distances, and a few 'tightly' wooded areas. The designer here has done a great job maximizing the available space to incorporate a full nine which doesn't compromise on safety or overlapping fairways.

Amenities and upkeep: Being in Oak Brook, this park is blessed with a parks department that has good funding. All of the tee signs, baskets, and rubber teeing areas are in great shape and I'd expect they will be well-maintained over the life of the course.

Variety: Especially for newer or intermediate places, Central Park is a great place to learn a controlled sky hyzer (hole 1), short accurate flick (hole 2), big RHBH flex (5), and many more of the basics. Be careful though to mix it up with other courses because this course is so prescribed, practicing solely at Central Park could lead to rote repetition that doesn't transfer well to other courses.

Cons:

Replay-factor: One of the main drawbacks to this course is the highly prescribed fairways. On one hand, well-defined fairways are a feature lacking in NW Illinois which is a positive, but in combination with the lack of additional tees or pin placements, this course gets stale very quickly. You'll probably develop your shot of choice within 2-3 loops through the course and you'll likely not need to change unless conditions change drastically (e.g. high winds). Because of the lack of additional space for more tees or pins, it would be tough to increase the 'fresh-factor' very much more.

Challenge: Central Park falls in with a lot of other area courses in that it doesn't have all that many holes which require precise execution or planning before taking on a particularly difficult hole (hole six may be an exception here). For the most part, you'll reach into the bag, grab the disc you always through on this hole and give it a chuck on the line you've thrown tons of times previously.

Other Thoughts:

Perhaps not the best course for the family because it does have some areas of significant rough, Central Park sets up as a perfect course for the intermediate player who is still seeking to develop a wide range of shots off the tee and needs to do so in an environment which can give appropriate feedback (landing in the rough). As other reviewers have stated, the course makes GREAT use of available space and the designers have done a superb job. Definitely worth a play, especially considering other courses in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
Three Putt
Staff member
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 29.5 years 152 played 127 reviews
3.00 star(s)

And if you can't be with the one you love, Honey love the one you're with. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 28, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

To me Central Park is a really good example of what a recreational course should look like. The course makes use of the very little elevation changes it has to give you some up and down shots, and the moderate woods are used to define your routes and create a bit of challenge to the holes. There is a mix of short and long-ish holes, so there is a nice variety in the shots. The overall design of the holes is quite good. The course has good tee signs with a hole map and distances. In a few places where there is a long walk between holes there are directional signs. There are benches and trashcans on the course. The tees are built up and have a rubber coating on them. The overall park is very nice and the course seems to be very well taken care of. All in all, it's a very nice 9-hole recreational course.

Cons:

In the end, it's a 9-hole recreational course. The longest hole is 398 ft, and the course isn't technical enough in its challenge to make up for what it lacks in length. The course makes good use of the elevation changes available, but there really isn't much of that available. It really is a mostly flat, fairly short, somewhat technical course. Anyone over an Intermediate level of play probably won't find a lot of challenge to this one. Intermediate and below will have a lot of fun with this one.

A few holes are fairly close together, and the basket for # 2 is basically in #9's fairway. It's not nearly as bad as a lot of other courses in the area, but you need to be aware of others on the course.

The tees are fairly short, and on the longer holes I was wishing for more tee to use.

Other Thoughts:

The course gives me a weird effect where in a lot of spots you can feel like you are in the woods, but you can hear the traffic roaring by on the nearby highways. It's a nice nature oasis, but you can't really escape the urban reality.

The thing that stands out in my mind about Central Park is that the course uses the land available about as well as it can be used, and the course fits into the overall park design. The course does not create a lot of conflict with other users. In our rush to push disc golf courses in, the need for disc golf to fit into the overall park is often lost. The designers who worked on Central Park used what little they had and made a very nice course from it, and that's a lesson many course designers could learn from.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
DocHaole
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.9 years 79 played 48 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Best Niner Around 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 23, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A surprisingly fun and challenging 9 holer in chicagoland that does not dissapoint.

- Excellent use of obstacles, with trees in play on every hole. Even the more open holes punish errant shots.

- A bunch of right turns, or RHBH anhyzers which is a refreshing change of pace.

- A good variety of lines and distances, most holes play longer than your average 9 hole course.

- The course is in great shape, well maintained. With good signage and tees.

- Navigation is fairly easy for first timers, and the park is usually well used so it's easy to follow groups in front.

- A great degree of risk/reward. The thick trees can be unforgiving while you are rewarded if you hit the right lines.

Cons:

The biggest con about this course is that there isn't enough room to put up 9 more holes just like it.

Fairways can also overlap with several blind shots with opportunities to get hit by a disc, so be alert.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is one of the best 9 hole courses I have ever played. The designers did a great job to make the best of the space and the obstacles available.

This is a great course for both beginner and experienced, making it a standout in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.9 years 570 played 284 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Great use of the woods to make challenging holes. Some of the holes are lightly wooded, others can be quite thick. Even the more "open" holes use trees well to force lines.
- Nice mix of shots needed. Mostly right-turning holes, but a good mix of left and straight as well.
- Very slight elevation changes make as big a difference as they can. #6 has a small hill to get over, which can really prevent a straight shot to the basket. Hole #7 is a tunnel shot that has a teeny upslope, which is so slight, yet makes me rethink it over and over again.
- Nice tees, signage, and garbage cans. Good baskets as well
- A mando on #6 is a rare sight around these parts, and makes the hole nice and tricky.

Cons:

- Some of the holes get a bit repetitive. Right turn around the trees, right turn around the trees, etc.
- The short holes are very short. Not much they could do, as the space is somewhat limited.
- Bit of a walk from #5 to #6 isn't that bad, but really kills the secluded atmosphere.
- Some of the holes are near to others, as I have been pretty close to getting hit by errant discs. Impossible to warn people, as the trees make a lot of shots blind.

Other Thoughts:

- I think the small ditch for the water runoff might really help keep #9 from becoming a wading pool. This would be a pro, but I am only speculating as I haven't been to this course when wet.
- This course has made me an expert with my RHFH. I feel very sorry for those who only sport the RHBH with little ability to turn right.
- Only an orange ribbon on the mando tree on #6. There was a sign, must have been stolen.
- Good luck if they have leagues. Can get pretty crowded on any given day anyway.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mykeg44
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 72 played 45 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 27, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This definitely ranks among the best 9-holers in the chicago area. I was familiar with this area before the course was put in, and thought there was no way a decent course could have been installed on such a small tract of land, but the course designer did a fantastic job creating a challenging, enjoyable course.

This course has a really diverse range of shots, all of which are challenging in unique ways. There are short technical shots, long bombs, and some tough mid-range shots.

All of the little things you look for in a course are here: great signs posted on wood posts, nice concrete tee pads, a course map by the first tee, and garbage cans at every hole.

The landscaping here is impeccable. I've seen work being done on this course on multiple occasions, and it shows. All of the trees are well trimmed, loose branches are removed, the creek that runs along the 9th fairway is lined with rocks, etc.

This course is harsh on RHBH players and isn't a beginner friendly course, but you can really improve your game by playing here.

Cons:

In a few spots the navigation gets confusing. Walking from #5 to #6 you actually pass the tee for #9, but a "next tee" sign is present, so this isn't a huge problem.

Parking could be an issue at times. This course shares a lot with a large soccer facility as well as overflow parking for events at the Oak Brook Park District facilities on site. 9 out of 10 times this isn't an issue, but it's an inconvenience if you come at the wrong time.

A few holes have spots where it is pretty easy to lose a disc, namely #5, which has thick grass on both sides of the fairway and a few large pine trees that have potential to eat a disc as well.

As with most good courses in the suburbs, this place gets very crowded at times, but most of the people I've seen here are pretty respectful of course etiquette.

Other Thoughts:

The course is located on the grounds of the Oak Brook Park District, so it should be easy to find. Once you turn into the park district, you take the first right after the baseball field and follow the road until you see the soccer fields. The course is across the road from the soccer fields and the sign and first tee are visible from the lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
Two_Bearded_Dudes
Experience: 31.1 years 5 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 25, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good Energy
Well-Maintained Course
Nice Pads w. Great Signs
Short, Technical Shots
A few of these whole are a whole hella lotta fun with a couple legit acing opportunities.

Cons:

Needs a few longer holes.
A very quick 9 (just run through it twice)

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a very nice course. Plenty of complex, tough-to-navigate shots set in a nicely wooded backdrop. It definitely has a park district vibe with well-manicured trails, lawns etc.

Heading back a second time and had an easier go finding that 1st Tee. Once you hit the lot, you'll see a white "bridge" on your left side. There's a couple vending machines in a brown wooden structure, park at the first one you see across from the soccer field and you're there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
skinner21
Experience: 23.1 years 22 played 15 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A solid 9 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 6, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is in a very well populated area, yet it does a nice job of being away from the rest of the multi-use park and throwers never have to worry about throwing on non-dgres. This course is very well kept and the tee signs are great. There is a map by the first tee, and it is a good idea to look it over, but the Next Tee signs and paths they have making navigation very easy. There were a few blind holes that I used only the tee sign to figure out wher the hole was and it never led me astray. I even parked one of them (the 2nd hole). The Tee Pads are well kept rubber. There were a bit on the small side, but were very nice and gave solid footing.

The course itself is very wooded, and plays pretty short. There are only 2 holes that reach much beyond 300'. Because the trees are of the needle variety, trees catch discs very well and often force tough 2nd shots. The course puts a premium on accuracy. This is a pretty challenging 9 hole course. There is good left/right mix and tunnel shots. A big drive only available on the last hole, and maybe one other hole but only if you choose to throw towards the parking lot.

It's one of only a few courses in the area, so treat it well. One of the better 9 hole courses out there, especially in this area.

Cons:

It is in a multi-use park and while they are never obstacles while you are throwing, it did take away from the "nature" feel I like while DGing.

This course is very flat, as much of IL is. I would like a little more distance.

Other Thoughts:

Finding the course itself is kind of tough, but that won't be held against it. If Google wouldn't have told me get there from 83, I would have been fine. Follow the directions posted on this courses details page.

This is a very nice 9 hole course that I would definitely play again, but only if I were in the area. If this course were 18 holes similar to the 9 they have now, I would drive the hour or so from my house to play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
goalkeeper19
Experience: 26.2 years 148 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best 9-holer in Chicagoland 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Great rubber tee pads
-Lots of shot variety (straight tunnels, right and left turns, 2 double doglegs, open shots)
-Well-designed, very challenging layout
-No holes over 400', but the terrain and trees are used in such a way that only 2 holes are must-deuce
-Several difficult anhyzer holes, which is rare in Chicagoland
-very well maintained, no trash
-what little elevation exists is used well on a few holes
-a beautiful par 4 hole (#6) has a tough mando left , with shule guarding the left side of the fairway
-fair golf, if you hit your lines, you'll shoot well. you miss your lines, you'll take a bogey or worse.

Cons:

-only 9 holes, this would be a spectacular 18 hole course if they could continue in the same way
-somewhat flat course
-difficult to find the first time, it's tucked away into the park
-need to walk past hole #9 to get to #6, can be a little confusing

Other Thoughts:

This is definitely the best 9 hole course that I've played. It's better than many of the 18-hole courses in the Chicagoland area. Shooting an even 27 here doesn't really feel bad at all, and shooting better than 2 under feels great! Rack up your must-make birdies on #4 and #7, and don't get chewed up by #3, 5, and 6! Getting birdies on the other holes is an accomplishment as well.

You definitely need a full bag of tricks for this course, and it's perfect for working on line shaping and hitting lines. Great for anhyzer practice as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
jea103
Experience: 13 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

good course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-nice layout
-pars are high, i shot 8 strokes under and do not play that often
-easy holes
-mats to throw from
-signs at each hole
-well kept, grass cut regularly

Cons:

-hard to navigate the first time you play, had to ask someone where a few holes were
-the pine trees in the course will eat up a bad throw and may take a half hour to locate or to get a bad throw down from the tall trees
-make sure you watch where all disks land there are tall shrubs and thick rough through out the course

Other Thoughts:

-very fun to play, not many good courses in the aea i live (midway) i will definitely come back again
-beginer friendly, not many other frolfers when i played, weekdays around noon
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 19.2 years 27 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best 9 hole course in 'burbs 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Pretty well maintained
-rubber tees, while maybe a bit small, are in GREAT shape
-Baskets in great shape
-Excellent use of the natural terrain
-Pretty challenging layout requiring tight lines, multiple lines on most holes allow for both BH and FH shots, but L>R shots have the advantage
-Most of the schule had paths in it make disc retrieval not too bad
-course routing and sinage is great

Cons:

-Lots of schule, probably not the most beginner friendly course in the area.
-favors L>R shots on over half the course
-Was crowded when we were there, lots of waiting around...
-While in very good condition, some of the schule could use trimming (seemed to be a few gaps that were overgrown) and there were some (few) stumps and other debris in fairways.

Other Thoughts:

Great tight, technical heavily wooded course. It will call on almost every trick in your bag, most of all a good long, low L>R shot. While theoretically not that difficult, the tight fairways will challenge most players, and the long arms will be very quickly put in check.

The rest of the park looked beautiful, bathrooms available, ample parking (when we played) although I can imagine on a weekend with 2 soccer fields, it will fill up quick.

Overall, a good experience. In my opinion, this couldn't really be a 5 star course, but if some of the rough edges were cleaned up, it could go up another .5 in my book.

-edit- after looking at the pictures again, the course was MUCH tighter today than portrayed in the pictures
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
gsmit
Experience: 15.2 years 8 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very fun course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

1.) Beautiful course with great atmosphere!

2.) A wide variety of throws needed at this course. Each hole weaves in & out of the forest. Most holes dog-leg left or right. And all vary in length.

3.) Very easy to navigate, with a map in front of the first hole.

Cons:

1.) The course lists each hole with a par # that is way too easy. There are a few par 5's that should be Par 3. I would suggest playing this course, but changing the par to all 3's or 4's.

Other Thoughts:

One of the more fun courses I have played. I played this course and Lombard's Madison Meadow on the same day, so it made for a great day of disc golf. I would suggest playing both, since they are both great courses, and both close to each other.

If this course was more that a 9 hole, it would be AMAZING. It was really an awesome course, but left me wanting more after I finished, because it was only 9 holes.

I highly suggest playing this course. It is very fun course to play. It is worth the drive, because of the variety of throws needed for each hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
4_Of_Spades
Experience: 16.1 years 36 played 28 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun 9 holes 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 25, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice rubber tee pads, nice signs/tee markers, good baskets, has left-right right-left holes, uses space well, clean, use trees well to protect some holes or at least make it challenging to get to them, was only 1 other group there in late afternoon

Cons:

a little short for me, no elevation but it doesn't make the course bad

Other Thoughts:

at oak brook park district, its tucked away in the back, best 9 hole course i have played at, give it a go.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.00 star(s)

NIce little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 23, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a mostly flat area with lots of trees and a couple minor elevation changes. Most of the holes are pretty technical, with tight fairways and punishing rough. Bad drives will usually put you in a bad spot, while accurate drives are rewarded. The shorter holes are very tight and really test your accuracy, while the longer holes usually have a dog leg or a blind pin.

The space available here is used very well, with a nice variety of holes. There are some shorter ace runs if you can find your way through the trees, and there are some longer holes where you can open up a little. There are a couple places where you'll have to walk a little ways between holes, but they are marked with next tee signs and nicely groomed paths.

The fairways are all nicely mowed grass, with some brush and tall grass for rough on most holes. The tees are rubber, and are nicely leveled with well-compacted bases. The tee signs show the hole layout and distance, and make the course easy to follow. There is a nice course map at the parking lot that shows the layout of all the holes.

Cons:

The tees were a little short, and didn't quite offer enough room on some of the longer holes. There was room for a little more length here, and that would add some nice challenge to the course. A couple of the walks between holes were awkward even though they were well marked, and took away from the course flow. The final hole was covered in geese and their droppings, and was a little nasty.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the nicer 9 hole courses I've played in the Chicago area, and offers a little more challenge than the ubiquitous pitch n putt courses around. It is a little easy for more experienced players, but is still a fun place to play. The course is mostly beginner friendly, though the rough is pretty punishing to errant drives, and there are some places where it's possible to lose a disc.

This course is worth a little drive to come play if you're in the Chicago area. Check out the Summer doubles on Thursday nights to play with some fun locals, everyone I met at the course was friendly and nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top