St. Bonifacius, MN

Crown College

3.855(based on 23 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Crown College reviews

Filter
7 0
DiscusZach
Experience: 12 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Game of Throws: The Crown Jewel

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 8, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Top tier course just outside the metro area
- Short and Long Tee positions
^(Locating some of the Shorts are confusing, if I'm honest)
- You could skip Holes 7-9 at Crown and still feel like you've thrown a complete round. (I say this in a positive manner, Holes 7-9 are beautiful, yet a little bit out of the way)
- The course's beauty ages like fine wine across all* the seasons
^(I fibbed, I've never played Crown in winter, just go along with it!)
^^However! I saw an albino squirrel once here so...
- College course = Superb (somewhat seasonal) course maintenance.
^On this note, be sure to thank maintenance crews when you see them out working on the course, any course really. Some are employed, but there are many in the disc golf community that simply volunteer their time because of their love for the sport.
- Parking is a plus (also a negative, will explain in the first Con)
- Signage at nearly every tee box

Cons:

- BE PREPARED, this can be a LONG course. Yes, in distance traveled and thrown, as well as, all the elevation changes. It's a long walk back to the main parking lot, even the little parking lot near hole 10's tee.
-- To this point, there's not a lot of "switch-back trails" (aside from the road) once you get into the Back 9. A lot of crossing fairways, if you decide to bail mid-round
- EDIT: I was too quick to get this review out that I forgot the status of Hole 8. Hole 8 has become very overgrown at the trees have matured over the years. So much so that 8-Short's tee is engulfed by sumac, I believe.
- Bring an adequate water supply, You'll thank me later.
- Play this course early in the year. It tends to get overgrown in the summer when the college campus isn't as active.
^Bring friends, spot for each other, you will be searching a lot if you choose to play solo and miss the fairway
- VERY BUGGY in the summer. Mosquitoes as well as Horse Flies.
- Baskets are decent, however, they're starting to show ware.
- Tee Signs could be upgraded, would be a good project for the arts program/graphic design students.
- No portable bathrooms on site

Other Thoughts:

Crown College is a well manicured championship level disc golf course set outside the southwest metro of the Twin Cities.

The Short tee pads will be more for your beginner throwers, however, the short layout is still provides an enjoyable track for all levels. Most AM players will find Crown to be a good challenging course solely on the technical distance required to reach the greens.

Another review states that there are Two holes on the course where water comes into play. They're NOT wrong in saying this. However when forming this review, I realized there are a few more holes where your disc can find water (Trust me, my discs are water magnets!). In total, there are Four/Five holes on the course where water can come into play, and two of the five you can argue are casual OB.

The holes where water plays OB are Holes 2 and 18 (Long tee pad), as well as Hole 9; 30-40ish feet behind the basket lies a small pond. Holes 12 & 13 share this... little marsh landmarked with tall cattails. The water level is unpredictable here and tends to dry up during the summer. As mentioned, I'm nearly certain this plays casual.

Overall, I rated this course *4.5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐️(⭐️) (Best of the best) because there aren't a lot of courses like this in Carver County (Yet🤞, and yes, I know this course is technically St. Bonifacius/Hennepin County). The "knock" on this course is its overgrown nature, not only the long grass late summer, but also what was previously mentioned about Hole 8. All in all, though, this course is a must play in my book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
Naenae
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.1 months 33 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very good, with caveats

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 27, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course sits on a college campus, but is not at all difficult to find. The road splits just in front of what appears to be the main building. Visitors bear left to park. The rightward branch runs along the first fairway.

The course is well laid out, taking advantage of rolling hills and mature trees. The views are well above average. Elevation is a factor on about 75% of the holes and trees frame the rest. My Apple watch thought that I had climbed 30 flights of stairs by the end of the round. 2 holes cross a pond, but on #18 this is by passable via the short tee. We found the fairways to be well maintained and without outcroppings or dead spots.

Even on a beautiful summer weekend, we did not find the course to be congested. Players helped each other out with lost discs and directions.

Cons:

Hole #8 is basically unplayable, at least to a newcomer. Neither tee provides a view of the basket and the short tee pad is completely blocked in front by overgrown vegetation. While the tee pads are solid concrete, there were several tees with a bit of step off on the front. Be careful on those follow throughs.

Amenities are sparse. No portable toilet.

It's a bit of a drive if your starting point is Minneapolis/St Paul.

No maps or signage to the next tee. Baskets were older, but adequate.

Other Thoughts:

I am new to the sport, with only about 15 rounds under my belt on 6 courses. Crown College is the best I have played so far, and I hope to get to a chance to return soon.

While tall grass roughs line many holes, it was a non-issue when we spotted for each other. A solo player might have a different experience. We found that brightly colored discs tend to show up very well in the prairie grass--which wasn't nearly as tall as we were led to believe--but it can get substantially more difficult if you get into lower lying marsh grass.

I hope that the college will maintain and upgrade this course, attending to some of the potential issues, none of which were so severe as to spoil a very pleasant round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Johnsondere
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 8.1 months 136 played 83 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I Crown you a solid course!

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Plenty of parking on site.
- Two tee pads for each hole.
- Great use of elevation.
- Tests your distance but not too much!
- Pretty quiet course, doesn't get too busy!

Cons:

- Some baskets are in pretty rough shape.
- Some of the lower holes can get pretty soggy.
- Navigation can be pretty tricky if you don't have a map or UDisc.

Other Thoughts:

Crown College is a nice and quiet course on a school campus. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this course. The big things holding it back are the basket conditions and the navigation. I played the "Clash for the Crown" back in 2019 at this course and I give a bonus "cool factor" for the trophy. MPO winner took home a literal crown!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 970 played 542 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Crown college disc golf course sprawls around the western part of the campus starting and ending near the parking lot. It starts and ends on the campus lawn area. In the middle you traverse through a prairie section with undulating hills throughout.

The baskets here look to be Mach III's with the number plates on top. These are definitely showing some age but still catch pretty well. It appears there is one position per hole. The number plates help with spotting the baskets, one of my favorite things about this style of Mach.

Dual concrete tees on every hole. Really well done with these. They're all poured nice and level and give you great traction. Plenty big enough for a run up. Unlike a lot of places there's a pretty decent difference in length between the two tees making it play quite different from the two sets.

The tee signs are pretty basic but do the job just fine. The signs are at the long tees. They have the distances from each tee, hole # and a pretty generic hole map. Most baskets are visible from the tee so the basic map is adequate.

A couple water carries are in play here on holes 2 and 18. They're not far, even for rec level players but add that pucker factor. Not sure if there were drop zones. If there was I didn't notice them. You'd really have to eff up your drive to be in the water anyway.

The elevation here is no joke. It's present on nearly every hole. Especially the back nine in the prairie area starting with hole 7 through 17. It's present everywhere else but it's most noticable on this section.

The lawn area was well mowed and in great shape when we went and the main fairways and trails between holes in the prairie section was as well. The baskets are left up year round which I always love to see. This would be a fun one to play in the winter too.

Cons:

The baskets are still hanging in there, and I didn't have any putts not catch or anything. But they're getting to be on their last legs. A couple cages were slightly bent or angled. Nothing too major but worth noting.

Not a con per se, just a personal preference but prairie grass on a course is just annoying to me. I loved the back nine's beautiful rolling hills and tricky pin placements. I got real tired of searching for one of our drives on nearly every hole on this section though. Especially in the hot summer sun. I understand that if I kept it in the fairway this would be a non issue. However the fairways are pretty narrow. I don't care who you are, you're going to have at least a few end up off the fairway.

A couple spots are a little tricky navigationwise. You have to cross the road twice and there is a long walk from 6 to 7 that isn't easy to figure out without a map. That said, bring your phone or a printed out map.

There are a few spots where the brush is growing into the line off the tee. Seems more common on the shorts but it's present from each set. A little trimming would go a long way for this. Hole 8's short tee looked basically unplayable from the tee pad with the brush blocking basically the whole front of the box. On probably the hardest hole on the course no less.

Other Thoughts:

This course starts out like a typical midwest park course. It kind of lulls you to sleep almost. A couple trees here, a uphill blind shot there, no big deal. Then you have the long walk to 7 and BAM, It takes off from there. At least it throttles back for the last two holes a bit. This isn't the best course in the Twin Cities, but it's up there. Not destination worthy but if you're anywhere nearby I'd definitely recommend this place. I feel it falls between a 3.5 and a 4. The 3.8 rating it currently has feels spot on for me. I'll go on the lower end due to more cons than I initially thought as I was playing it. Still very good though. Fun course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 191 played 189 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Crown college is very beautiful as soon as you arrive you see hole 2 over the water with the fountain. Great elevation change on the course and hole 8 is a very cool throw over the top of a bunch of trees, don't leave it short or you will spend time looking for disc.
The elevation changes here make for some really fun holes, there's long and short tee pads that offer a lot of shot variety
Tee signs our very well marked out, and good mix of distances that let you use every shot you have.

Cons:

A lot of the baskets were in rough shape and bent in
Hole 8 if you end up short good luck finding your disc also couple other holes if you get off the fairway you may be looking for awhile.
Course divides into 3 sections where you have to cross road back and fourth giving you some walkouts and new players might get turned around.

Other Thoughts:

There's some really fun shots here and the potential to be a great course is here. I ran into a couple 12 year olds that could crush here so good to see the course being used by all people. If the baskets were fixed and some of the tall grass areas were taken down a little course would be at least a half star higher. The walking over the road is still not great layout but I understand it. Overall worth checking out and with some tlc could be up there in Minnesota for great courses
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Bobafred78
Experience: 10 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth the Drive 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 5, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

A challenging mix of wooded and wide open holes. Fairly long holes with a few birdie ops tossed in. Very quiet, rural atmosphere and have rarely seen others on the course.

Cons:

Wind can make you curse (just not out loud) having driven so far to play so poorly. If you stray from the fairway, the weeds can be torture in the summer. Less problematic in the winter but it's not hard to lose a disc if there is white on the ground. Duh.

Other Thoughts:

A great option for one willing to head to the exurbs to play a well-designed layout.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
discslinger
Experience: 98 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful terrain with big hills to shape your shots around. The course has a great flow and offers big open shots that test your accuracy combined with power to reach the basket! Generally maintained well with consistent mowing of the fairways. Crown College shows they care about their course through the generous effort they put forth to keep it in good shape! Trash cans and signage throughout the course helps with the overall look!

Great course for experienced disc golfers to go and air their shots out!

Cons:

Early in the spring or following major rainfall a couple holes can be soft and mushy with a bit of water pooling up. Errant shots can turn into lost discs very quickly. Later in the summer the grass outside the fairways can be 5-6ft tall. Throw in the fairway!

Other Thoughts:

Worth the drive from anywhere within reason! At the right time of year the Sumac is bright red following the fairways. Nothing beats crown after a fresh mowing on a calm day!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
TEDIUM
Experience: 10.8 years 54 played 16 reviews
4.50 star(s)

WOW! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

BEAUTIFUL course on a quiet, scenic campus
Dual tees
Great use of elevation and trees
Cool use of pond/stream to create water hazards
VERY clean and well maintained

Cons:

Kinda far out of the MPLS area

Other Thoughts:

All I can say is WOW, this course blew me away. It's not a championship course, but it's no rec course either. Way more elevation than I thought possible for a MN course and some pretty long fairways on a few. Wind is an issue at times, but just adds to the challenge. One of my favorites
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
ajkuck
Experience: 16.8 years 55 played 31 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Scenic, Open Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course in maintained quite well, with nice tee pads and decent baskets. The course offers some nice elevation change, along with many long, open holes to grip and rip. The elevation changes, rolling hills, and wide fairways on Holes 7,8, and 9 provide some awesome views and chances throw some long drives. There is also water to deal with on Holes 2, 9, and 18. Holes 2 and 18 play directly over the water, although you really don't have to worry too much about clearing it on 18. Hole 9 on the other hand, has water behind the hole, and can definitely come into play with your approach shot. Lastly, Holes 11-16 are pretty wide open, but the tall rough is definitely something to watch out for. There are not any holes in the woods, although many of the holes have large trees to contend, which create plenty of opportunities for different shooting lanes. The course is also quite scenic and remote, which makes it unique.

Cons:

The fairways are well groomed, but the rough/grass gets very long. By mid-summer, you need spotters on many of the open holes to insure that you don't lose your disc in the long stuff. Crown can also be very tough to play on a windy day. I'd also like to see some improvements for the signage.

Other Thoughts:

Considering that this course is not pay to play, it is in awesome condition. I also wish the course offered a few more holes in the woods, but overall it is fun and worth the drive to get to.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set on the grounds of a private college, and seems to be pretty clear of any other activities. There is one hole that plays near a pond with benches, but other than that, there shouldn't be any interference.
- Constant elevation changes here; the whole campus has hills in almost every spot. #7 is a big downhill valley shot, #8 another deep valley, and #9 is a big downhill bomber. #3, #5, #10, #13, are all downhill of a varying degree, and #1, #4, #6, #11, are all uphill. Also some interesting hole layouts like a shot over and down a hump on #15, a steep up and down valley on #14, and a bowl shot that slopes left on #12. Nearly every single hole has some sort of elevation change.
- Most of the course is out in the open, but there are trees and rough in spots that make things tricky. #5 has a low ceiling due to low branches, #6 is an uphill dogleg right, with a gap thru the trees that must be hit. #10 and #17 have more low ceilings, and #18 has a gap to hit off the tee. Nothing too difficult, but it definitely makes things interesting.
- Tall grass/nasty rough is another hazard here, with some spots being seriously thick. #7's valley shot has terrible trouble all along the right side, and #8 is a valley shot over very thick rough/bushes/trees. #16 has a mowed fairway, along with a lot of holes in that section of the park. The holes are more or less wide open over there, so the tall grass is the only real hazard.
- Water present in a few spots, and can definitely swallow discs. #2 is a hyzer over the pond, there is a large pool of water behind #9's basket, and #18 shoots over the pond off the tee. Must keep clear of these hazards.
- Very nice teepads, signs and baskets. Dual teepads on every hole, which is nice. A map in the front of the course helps, there are a few spots where the navigation is a little tricky. A bit of a walk from #2 to #3, #6 to #7, and #9 to #10.

Cons:

- Biggest con here is a lot of open holes on the back half. There are good elevation changes, and tall grass/rough to worry about, but there is pretty much no line shaping needed. And, a lot of the holes with trees aren't that tricky either, for an experienced player.
- Layout is a little funky in parts; the three long walks between a few holes kind of hurts, and some baskets are kind of close to each other. Not a big deal, as the course probably never gets that busy. Some holes are also very close to the road, which is always a distraction.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall, a very fun course that uses the hilly terrain extremely well. Lots of downhill and valley shots to rip drives, uphill holes to test raw distance, holes with trees to get under/around, and some nasty hazards like dense rough and water. Two sets of tees make it a good course for beginners and intermediate players; more advanced players mught find it a little too easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Which Crown College Course Should I Rate? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Crown College Disc Golf Course baskets are visible as soon as you turn into the 215 acre campus drive. It's a lovely sprawling, green campus with rolling hills and mature oak trees with a small pond in the center of the course.
The course has great amenities with dual concrete teepads, DGA baskets and wonderful signs with all the needed information.
I was really enjoying the first seven holes. It was like playing on a ball golf course, fairly open on lovely, green mowed lawns with enough trees to add to the challenge. Then after # 6 , you walk around the Christian Ministries building to get to hole # 7 and the wilderness part of the course commences. Throw right here on your disc is a goner. On # 8, I launched an essential disc into woods and it was gonzo. See Note in Other Thoughts:

The next 5-6 holes played through an area where anytime you get off the fairway, you're in danger of losing a disc in the extremely high grass. On # 15, I threw an long approach which landed only 10 feet off the mowed area. We looked forever and never found it.
The two short throws over water were fun and entertaining.

Cons:

Navigation would be difficult for the first time player here. Luckily, I was guided by someone who had played the course before. The extreme rough on 7 and 8 and narrow mowed fairways combined with the long grass on many of the following holes are never favorites of mine. It's easy to say, just stay on the fairway and everything will be all right. I don't stay on fairways, most players don't, and I don't like losing, or spending long periods of time searching for my favorite discs in 6 foot high elephant grass.
Some of these longer holes just seemed long for no apparent reason. I don't mind some distance but long, flat holes with no obstacles like # 16 are just boring.

Other Thoughts:

I would give the first 7 holes of this course about a 4.5 rating. I loved them. The middle wilderness holes would get about a 2 from me. Sorry, I didn't much care for them.

Note continuted from above: A couple of weeks after playing Crown I received a call from a wonderful lady in Minnesota who had found my disc and she mailed it to me in Washington. I gladly mailed her two discs back in appreciation for her kind gesture. When someone finds my Valkyrie in the tall grass on # 15 (I think????) call me and I'll mail you a couple discs in return.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Vetiver1978
Experience: 24.8 years 9 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

What A Beauty!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

very scenic with elevation changes-
some very long holes on back 9 to test your driving and mid range game-
nice use of water (comes into play on holes 2, 9, and 18) also some swamp to avoid on holes 12, 13, 16-
an overall great mix of both technical and long bomber holes
I've never had any problems with crowds here

Cons:

the rough on some of the bomber holes can become really thick through out the summer months. If you're playing with atleast one other person I would recommend using a spotter on holes 9, 15, and 16-

also beware when playing this course on hot and humid days. some holes have little to no shade relief and have you hiking up and down rolling hills. bring water!! (comparable to Elm Creek as far as hills go)

Other Thoughts:

being as I live an hour west of the twin cities this course is perfect for me as far as location is concerned. Is great exercise, great scenery, and great layout upon the sprawling landscape. the rolling hills and sheer vastness of this course coupled with the feeling of isolation is what draws me in (also scored my first and only ace of my life on hole 8 on top of the BIG hill).........stay on the fairways and the rough wont be a problem for you. dont let that detur you from experiencing this great course. PLAY IT!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
cpaquette
Experience: 16.5 years 42 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Hidden Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course offers a little something for everyone. I was pleasantly surprised to discover several holes that are 300ft + which is nice for those looking to utilize your extra long range drivers. I also really like that several holes have relatively dramatic elevation changes for a MN course. There's water, trees and plenty of trouble to get into which makes it all the more challenging and rewarding for a great tee shot.

Cons:

There are a handful of baskets well below regulation height as you'll find yourself throwing down to the basket as a few of them are literally a handful of inches off the ground.

Other Thoughts:

Bring bug spray and LOTS of it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Wattenphul-2009
Experience: 17.5 years 37 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Beautiful course & Fun to play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 4, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

First, the area is beautiful. The giant oak trees that dot the landscape are somewhat majestic and different from other courses I have played, which only have small trees and brush.

Secondly, there is a good variety of holes on a challenging hilly landscape. The water hazard comes into play on three holes #2, #9 & #18. This is a great course to get out your distance drivers and put them to good use on the many long holes.

Thirdly, It provides a good workout. The college campus is 215 acres and the disc golf course takes up about half of that. Make sure you bring a bottle of water!

Lastly, the people at the college are really friendly. If you have a question about something they are always ready to help.

Cons:

At times the grass on the back 9 get high. Nonetheless, there is a great deal of tall grass and weeds on the back 9. Stay on the fairway and you'll be fine.

There are a lot of long holes on the back 9. Some golfers see it as uncreative, but the use of elevation justifies the amount of long holes. Also, I think it's nice to use my distance drivers more than just a couple times on a course.

There could be some markers to give direction to the next hole in a few places. Specifically, it's a little confusing going from hole #2 to #3, and from hole #9 to #10. A couple of direction markers would be helpful.

A course map would be beneficial. I think the front desk in the college's main building has some, but the reception desk doors are not always open.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, this is a very fun course with good challenges regarding elevation, distance, trees and water. This course will give you a great workout and a greater appreciation of the game of disc golf. The scenery is beautiful here. I strongly recommend trying out this course. You can check in to the course on foursquare here https://foursquare.com/venue/27144595
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
deadbody
Experience: 20 years 152 played 66 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I'm going to Clown College 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice teeboxes and baskets. Longer holes. Good use of nature, good use of elevation. A very fun course.

Cons:

Odd layout, lots of walking from basket to the next tee with no directions given. Back 9 gets a bit boring. Just big throws up and down hills with no real risk except for long grass.

Needed a mow crazy bad when we were there. Like the grass was waist high on me. WIth a good mow I think the course is closer to a 3.5 or 4.

Other Thoughts:

Fun course on the west of the twin cities. CGood challenge, good holes. Desperately needed a mow, and really is in bad need of a more unique back 9. The front is great, using lots of old huge trees, but from like 7-16 there is no real tree coverage, it's all open and boring. Not sure they could have done much more with it than that, but it really is just long and open for half the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Martin Dewgarita
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 1559 played 93 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Mostly Long and Open 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 18, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Amenities. I haven't actually been in the college itself, but I hear it has bathrooms, there's a map available and there's plenty of parking.

Avoid the Crowds. I've never had to wait, there's usually a handful of groups playing but never crowded.

Tees. Dual concrete tee pads offer a change of distance while keeping the lines fairly similar.

Signage. Beautiful signs at the pro tee show a map, hole number and distance to hole.

Well Maintained. Occasionally the fairways get a bit overgrown, but the campus maintenance usually keeps the fairways crisp and the course is almost always looking clean and nice.

Length. A decent variety of hole lengths offer a decent challenge, from a couple of short ace runs to many grip and rip long bombs. Most holes required a distance drive from me at about 400 feet or so.

Beautiful. The course always looks nice, with several nice ponds, one with a fountain in the middle of hole two, and some nice views of the surrounding wooded areas.

Elevation. The course makes decent use of the elevation, with several blind shots over hills, valley crossings, some downhill bombs and a few uphill crushers.

Cons:

Trash Cans. Only one trash can on hole 4 results in trash being left at many tee boxes, campus maintenance must clean this up fairly regularly, as it usually ends up well kept.

Navigation. Without a map, and not having paid enough attention to these reviews - I skipped holes 7-9 the first two times I played the course, I'll mention it again because I was lost - hole 7 is just before the "Christian Ministries" building on the left right when you enter campus. Hole 1 is way down to the right of the first parking lot where I usually park, and hole 3 is across the road from hole 2.

Thick Rough. Several holes have thick brush, watch out on the right of hole 7, that's one area that eats discs. But the worst is the thick grass that is over my head on several holes. Be prepared to spend time searching for discs, the worst offender is hole 16 - schedule a half hour of searching just for this hole, this hole eats discs for breakfast.

Variety of Shots. Most of the holes require no line shaping or technical shots, mostly I reached for my destroyer and threw it as hard as I could, not too challenging. Holes 1-6, 10 and 17 were the only holes that required any thought, but not really any difficult line shaping skills, a high hyzer or a straight low shot was all that was really required.

Water. I like water on the course, I just think it could have been used better - none of the water was a threat to me, except maybe the small pond behind hole 9 if you overthrow. The other water looks nice but would require a horrible shank to lost a disc. If you did happen to land a disc in the ponds, it is some nasty schwag - good luck getting it back out.

Other Thoughts:

A great enjoyable course that I claim as my "local" course, come check it out - it's definitely worth a play if you're in the twin cities area, I'd go out of my way to play this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
Whywaitforit
Experience: 18.8 years 14 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Hardly Known Disc Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 10, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great picture-esque shots. I've never really had to wait for people on this course. I've never seen it full. Not a small confined course. Huge open driving shots. A few holes with trees. A couple great downhill driving shots for huge bombs. Lot's of up and down walking + shots. And did i mention it's NEVER over-filled with people!

Cons:

The College is religious but that's never turned out to be a problem.

Another reviewer said there were a lack a trash cans and bathrooms. Trash cans are there, just not every hole. And there are plenty of wooded area's for the mens bathrooms. Women aren't quite so lucky.

Course is definitely tough to figure out the first time. Just ask some else playing. People in the college won't know where to go.

Other Thoughts:

Someone in another review also said you need a chaperone or a student with you. That's just not true.

Also you do shoot over water on a few but it's usually not an issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Waddly Hobbins
Experience: 15 years 31 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Remote Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 2, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Dual Cement Pads
-Well labeled signs
-Mach III Baskets
-Well Mowed
-Plenty of parking (northwest of main building)
-Holes 1-6, 8-10,17, and 18 are very nice holes and worth playing the course for
-Course loops around back to start area
-Good use of water and elevation
-Hard to lose a disc
-Very clean course, well maintained.
-Beautiful scenery, pond with bridges are very nice touch
-If you have a big arm, you will love the back 9
-Seems to be a very quiet course
-Restrooms in main building near parking
-Course is a little out of the way for the Twin Cities area which leads to less crowding and allows for a peaceful round with out having to deal with riffraff. This is a huge plus for me.

Cons:

-Holes 7 and 11-16 are very open long bombs. There is no real line shaping required here. This can be good for practicing your drives or can be a nice challenge with wind. Hole 16 is the worst offender with flat land and no obstacles.
-Some difficulty navigating first time through. Map supplied in main office only shows the original 9 hole configuration. Hole 3 is north across the driveway from 2 and 7 is west of the building that you passed on the drive in.
-Did not notice trash cans, this did not seem to be much of a problem, seeing as there was no litter problem.

Other Thoughts:

-Only one basket seemed especially short to me (hole #5), however considering the hole layout, it may add chances for skip aces.

-Holes #11-16 are more open than I would prefer, they do allow some nice practice for large drives thou. If there were more risk/reward scenario on these holes I'd like them more. If you feel the need to have a more technical game you can skip from hole 6 to 10 to 17 very easily, this is the original 9 hole configuration.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
discgolfer99
Experience: 50.8 years 13 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Rare gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 28, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice mature trees, beautiful setting. Some short holes to warm you up then Boom some long hucks. Good variety in shot selection. You can tell it was designed by a long thrower (need more of these courses). Never crowded, actually I've had the course to my self all summer.

Cons:

I felt bad playing a few times when I didn't have a Crown chaperone, not sure if you need one but I've heard that they want atleast someone in the group to be a student or staff member. THe baskets are on the pole upside down. Flip them around and they would be normal. Too far out for a league or anything competitive, kinda nice too not having that.

Other Thoughts:

Check it out, really fun, clean, crisp course that has alot to offer. Yes, I was pooped too, but thats a major plus, I like excersize.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
ea6le
Experience: 20.8 years 10 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Suprised the sh!t out of me 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

I came into this course not expecting much. The first 3-4 holes were a little easy and not much to them. Then from there on the course really suprised me, It got a lot more difficult with the bending around trees to get to the basket, the long grass and narrow fairways. The course iis a great workout alos. I was pooped by the time I finished the course.

Cons:

*The baskets were really short after the first 3 holes...
*The holes weren't clearly maked.

Other Thoughts:

I reccomend this course to anyone, we Live in Bloomington and made the hike out there to give it a try and we're so glad we made the trip!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top