• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Arlington, TX

Danny Aguirre Memorial DGC

3.135(based on 8 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Danny Aguirre Memorial DGC reviews

Filter
11 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
3.00 star(s)

impressive college course

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 5, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

-great amenities: concrete tees, nice signage, discatchers in good condition, course map, 3 practice baskets
-5 holes have two permanent baskets, 7 holes have three baskets, immense replay value
-layout makes good use of wooded and open areas, a creek, and the elevation along the edge of the tree line
-challenging shorter shots on most holes, fun for the experienced player but not too intimidating for beginner or rec players, tight but fair
-well maintained by the school, the grass was not too long and they were still out cutting it the day i played
-plenty of parking right next to the course

Cons:

-a few long walks between holes, particularly from 10 to 11 and 11 to 12; also a slightly tricky transition from 2 to 3, go left on the walking path just out of the woods
-perhaps a bit more on the challenging side for a college course. i loved it but some very casual players may be put off a bit
-walking path is in play on a few holes
-a lot of muddy clay soil after a rain, your shoes will get heavy

Other Thoughts:

I was very impressed by this redesign. I played the old course many years ago and this layout is a huge upgrade. The course is on an area where there is a field with a distinct tree line. The elevation drops down just inside that tree line and most holes play in and out of the trees as well as up and down that grade of about 10 feet. A couple holes play entirely open but a number of holes play entirely in those woods, where a creek also comes into play a few times.

There are concrete tees, nice signs, a few blue next tee arrows on trees in a couple necessary places but the real star of the amenities are the 34 baskets present on this 12 hole course. There are three practice baskets at the start of the course. Every hole has a red and a blue basket and which is longer or more challenging varies by hole. 7 out of 12 holes also have a yellow basket which is always the longest placement. The replay value on this course is very high because of all the baskets and the short and tight but very fair lines made me want to spend more time here to figure out the birdie plays.

Previous reviews mention thick rough, vines in the fairways, and spray and pray holes but I did not experience the course this way at all. It looks like a lot of work has been put in to clearing the course and I found all the holes to be very fair and attackable.

This course is probably a bit out of the way for most DFW golfers but I think it's worth checking out at least once. It's not a destination course by any means but it's a nice change of pace course and golfers with shorter arms who like having to shape a line through tight woods should definitely enjoy it. Course baggers will be pleasantly surprised.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Par Hunter
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 3.1 years 24 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Technically, it's a good course

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Plenty of parking, even with construction going on.
3 different baskets on many of the holes make for greater replayability.
Technical course- it is exciting when you get a good throw and miss all the obstacles.
You don't have to have a big arm to play to the basket, as placement matters more than distance on most holes.
3 practice baskets
There is some good shade, which is premium in Texas.

Cons:

Community college doing construction, makes it harder to find the course. Just keep driving to the outside and you will come across it.
Odd number of holes, 12, makes it difficult to compare how well you did vs other courses.
Since it is in a big city, you can get stuck in traffic unless you route around it with gps.

Other Thoughts:

Lots of people walking dogs, so need to pay attention when you throw.
If you have time, it is fun to play a second round on a different set of baskets.
Don't get frustrated if you smack a few trees. Everybody I
have seen hits them!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Notorious21
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 105 played 48 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not Great 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 10, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great signs, good teepads, plenty of shade. They did a decent job of making some challenging holes out of the land they had to work with.

Cons:

Mostly very short, very tight holes. Some don't have very reasonable gaps or lines to try to hit. A lot of holes feel like spray-and-pray. Not much, if any risk/reward. Just throw and hope you find a gap for the most part.

Other Thoughts:

This course was not one I'll likely play again. It just didn't feel particularly fun or challenging in a good way, even though I didn't score real well. It needs some work. Someone with a vision and a chainsaw to carve out some actual lines and add some length to make it more of a reasonable challenge instead of just throwing and hoping for the best.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
eldertexlawyer
Experience: 23 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Highly Technical Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a fun, highly challenging, super tight, course.

Playing this course forces learning how to throw with technique.

It is short enough that two rounds are easily finished in two hours. It never had more than two other players on the course on any Saturday morning this past summer, 2019. We(one other player) played two rounds every week (Saturday).

Lines of play are very tight or require the skilled use of hyzer or fade.

Excellent maintenance, and new signs, tee pads, and baskets, all of good quality.

There is lots of shade on this course in the summer.

Cons:

It is somewhat short in spite of being twelve individual holes. some of the baskets do not have clear lines of access. There are small pine trees planted along a sidewalk for hole 3 that will block any throw to the basket in about 8 or 9 years. The course is on a municipal jr college grounds, so the course developer is limited in what he can do with the course.

A few holes are so full of trees or vines as to have no actual access to basket. I want at least a chance to get to the basket, even if two shots are required because of distance. Somehow two shots because trees completely block access does not seem fair to me.

This is a well maintained course so the lack of access is not due to lack of maintenance.

The soil is based on clay, so when the weather is wet, the ground beneath the trees turns into a bog and shoes turn into weights. Most of the playing surface is actually under the trees.

Other Thoughts:

This is my favorite short course because there are so many unusual shots. Many of the baskets are set back into an open area beneath the tree canopy. Some holes require throwing out of a deep depression (well) in the woods that really messes with throwing on a level line.

This course proves that short does not by necessity mean easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
CGDubbs
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Get your reps in at the disc golf gym! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun little addition for the Arlington disc community. Twelve Discatcher baskets and twelve unique holes. Concrete tees and nice signage. Really cool little scenic areas down by the creek. Multiple pins on each hole. Enough out of bounds and trees to guarantee a less than perfect round.

Cons:

The holes are often on the shorter side. After it rains there are mud problems but is short lived. Multiple pins but baskets haven't changed locations. The course dead ends at ten and then there's a walk back to eleven.

Other Thoughts:

Great option for those looking to build skills before hitting the Vets! There is a walk back from ten to eleven and to twelve. But the course is so short and the walk so relatively small it's not even a real problem. Mud is a thing here, but anybody who has been through a Texas summer knows.... shade trumps mud (what's left of it). All in all it's a fun little course with plenty of opportunity to stretch it out if you'd like, I'm looking forward to natural long tees!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
ivanhenson
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.1 years 685 played 221 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best upgrade ever! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is the best upgraded course. New pads. new baskets great signs. really fun layout. great use of the woods. really scenic best part of campus and now you can see it!

Cons:

some are short but on those trees so still fun

Other Thoughts:

I was the one that asked the old course he pulled down as unplayable. I was nervous to drive and play new. It is so worth it. Great use of woods.When you can't find tee box it's in woods.Usually I get mad at wasted space why not 18. but they were not greedy and all 12 are great. I'm go a they didn't shove 6 more in .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 327 played 253 reviews
3.50 star(s)

TCC Southeast 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 26, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- This 12-hole course has 31 baskets. All of them appear to be Innova DiscCatchers, but the newer baskets were painted either blue or red. Seven of the 12 holes (4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11) have three baskets. There are three practice baskets; two of them were moved to be used as baskets for two of the three bonus holes but have now been moved back to practice baskets.
-- Concrete tee pads, although they are short.
-- Nice signs at each hole.
-- Course map near the practice baskets and Hole 1.
-- Nice mix of open and wooded holes.
-- "Next tee" indicator on each tee sign. Also some navigational aides (blue arrows on trees) have been added to help with a few of the trickier transitions. Baskets are now numbered (at least the yellow ones, which is only the holes with three baskets), although a few are torn or faded and difficult to read.
-- Decent elevation change.
-- Shade. Except for No. 12, part of every hole, tee or basket, is in the shade. Holes 5-7 and 9 play completely in the woods.
-- A broom is hanging at the No. 1 tee pad. Same for No. 4.

Cons:

-- Course flow is not great. Getting from 2 to 3 was a little tricky (the blue arrow that was added is a big help here), but the biggest issues are on the back half of the course. From the 8 basket, you look in the direction of the 9 tee and see the 11 tee. The tee for 9 is tucked in the woods. Then 10 takes you farther away from 11. That leaves you a long walk to the next hole. When you finish 11, you are a long way away from 12.
-- In addition to some confusion about which basket to throw to, there are safety issues. On Nos. 3, 4 and 10, you are basically walking around a corner in front of the tee. Paths have been cut to help alleviate this on Nos. 3 & 4, but on No. 10, you walk down the fairway you just played (9) or walk down the fairway you are about to play (10), especially if you are playing the long basket.
-- No signature holes. Trees and elevation are used, but no hole really stands out.
-- Baskets are not the same height. The variation from shortest to tallest is probably 9-10 inches.

Other Thoughts:

-- Three bonus holes had been added to make this basically a 15-hole course, but the bonus holes are gone, so it's back to a 12-hole course.
-- Alternate tees (natural) were added on most holes a few years ago, but they appear to have been abandoned. They were framed by 4x4s, but I could not find them on my most-recent visit.
-- A TON of work has been done and is being done to clear this course. All of the underbrush on the woods holes (2, 5-7) has been cleared. There are still plenty of trees (some will say too many), but the grass/weeds/vines/ are ALL gone.
-- No. 9 fairway had standing water on each of my first four visits, but it was dry most of the summer of 2019 and only a little muddy in the early part of summer 2020. In August 2020, it was completely dry. In June 2021, there was some standing water, and in December 2021 is was dry.
-- A creek runs beside/through the course, and there is a small pond, but water is not in play much. Nos. 2 and 5 in the A position could bring water into play, and on No. 6 all three positions are close enough to potentially reach the creek. The creek is just left of the No. 4 fairway (mostly hidden by bushes/trees), and I nearly got into once with a short/sawed-off hyzer. Some of the brush on the left has been cleared, making it a little more likely you could end up in the creek. No. 11 has hidden water danger on the right, especially is you are playing the short basket position. I wish the pond was used for a true water carry but with an option for the less-experienced players to bail out. Maybe an alternate tee that truly is a water carry is in the works. A handwritten sign below the 12 permanent tee sign indicates a long tee, but the handwritten sign is faded and torn. I couldn't make much out, and I searched and found NO indication of an actual long tee.
-- There are no benches at the tees, but there are benches along the walking path that winds through the course.
-- There is a large, shaded gathering spot with 6-7 tables and a few dozen benches immediately east of the No. 1 tee.
-- Baskets were moved a few times in the first four months I played here. With multiple baskets on all holes, that is no longer really an issue.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 603 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun little course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not one, not two, but 3 practice baskets
Good course map near first hole
decent cement tee pads
new Innova DiscCatcher baskets
Multiple pin placements
Good use of the land on most of the holes

Cons:

flow could be better
Long walk between holes 10, 11 and 12

Other Thoughts:

As a whole, this is a nice little course for a college campus. This course replaces a little 9 hole course that was not very good. A lot of work went into clearing and installing the new 12 hole course. Total redesign with multiple pin positions on every hole.

Most of the holes go in and out of the wooded area, you do have a couple of holes totally in the wooded area and a couple of wide open holes. It is a good even mix.

Most of the holes are pitch and putt for most players. Only 1 hole is over 305ft and it is the wide open C position for hole 8 (the position it was in today)

Most of the holes have left and right pin positions, I felt the course favored a right handed player today. I only had a couple of turnover shots.

But for what this course should be, it is a great little course. Great place for students to learn the game, when they get better, they can go play Veterans Park or Turner park for the extra distance.

Would I play here again? Actually I almost played a 2nd round today. Other than a few long walks between some of the holes (longer walks than the holes are) the holes are fun enough that when you park the hole, your pleased. This is a fun little course that I look forward to playing again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top