• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Keene, TX

Disc Golf @ Southwestern

Permanent course
3.55(based on 9 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Disc Golf @ Southwestern reviews

Filter
2 1
ivanhenson
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.1 years 685 played 221 reviews
4.00 star(s)

9 holes want 9 more 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 30, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really fun layout
Did lots with limited trees.
Really fun

Cons:

Wish it was 18
Dont move current just add current are great
Also no play during sabath on saturday so be respectful

Other Thoughts:

Park on highway. Its odd but yes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Can't get right
Experience: 9.1 years 25 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

King in Keene 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete pads are sweet. Long enough for a good run-up.

Well marked and good flow.

Nice hole variety. A couple of nice tunnel shots, some nice open holes for throwing bombs, & 1 disc eating hole clipping the corner of the local pond. Better have an arm if you want to go for it!

Cons:

Parking is not fabulous.

Driving range is a nice addition, but too far from good parking to be enticing.

Needs 9 more holes! The wooded area on the property has a lot of potential.

Other Thoughts:

This is a solid 9-hole course. Great compliment to the other 9-hole course just a block or two away. For a less than average player like myself, this is a great challenge to test my skills with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
jrrttmrgn
Experience: 20.1 years 128 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

9 Holes... that I wish were 18 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Disc Golf at Swau is very Scenic. the course's holes are nestled above a small lake and elevation comes into play as well as a variety of shots that make the course balanced. The jewels of the course are hole 2's choose your own challenge 17-400' water carry depending on the amount of risk you want and hole 9's 525' downhill bomb that is guarded by a harsh tree-line and near hidden green. Most 9 hole courses are aimed at beginners, this one is aimed at the intermediate / advanced crowd and delivers. 10' concrete teepads, trashcans, prodigy baskets, and distanced marked putting baskets all help to complete the experience. Signage and flow were clear.

Cons:

The cons are that the course needs more trees and also 9 more holes. There are also 2 holes that just lacked obstacles. Hole 3 is an uphill throw but usually just results in a half- hearted approach for a gimme 3. Hole 5 is downhill and is a chance to try to throw an uninhibited 400'. Overall no major issues.

Other Thoughts:

Did I mention it needs 9 more holes in the adjacent woods?
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
hotstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.2 years 452 played 59 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Keene and smooth. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice course.
Good use of the land provided.
Large concrete tees.
Great signage.
New baskets.
All types of holes / shots.
Right and lefty friendly.
Putting basket by hole 1.
Driving range on property.
Good for beginner or advanced players.
Course is mowed and fairways are cut to outline flow.
Not busy.

Cons:

Driving range is by hole 5. Nowhere close to hole 1.
Hole 3 has a trashcan way too close to the tee.
Parking isn't the best.
Long walk back to the car.

Other Thoughts:

Needed distance to complement the shorter course up the road.
Playing both courses is recommended.
Parking by hole 5 would be nice.
A full 18 would be nice.
Not much but disc golf going when we played the course.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by JeremyKShort
There is a small parking area off of Linden St behind the park (You go down Lewis Ln south of the pond and turn right onto Linden.) That'll put your car a few hundred feet from the Driving Range. You can start at five and loop around to four.

The driving range is actually on a former airstrip, they can't use it for that because anymore of the radio tower on the north end. They let us use it for a driving range, but it is unfortunately on the back of the property, so it's a long walk if you park on Old Betsy.
7 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.3 years 1756 played 610 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I am Keene on this course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Cement Tee boxes
Tee signs for every hole
Very good (light green) Prodigy baskets
4 very good memorable holes and 5 reasonable holes
VERY good use of the land given for the course
Driving range with tee pad and distance markers

Cons:

Only 9 holes right now
Parking on the street, only 4 hour parking
Technically the course is suppose to be closed on Saturdays (although a local says he always plays it that day)
Little bit of a walk from 9 back to hole 1/parking lot

Other Thoughts:

I really liked this course.

It starts off with a nice little hole below the dam, DON'T throw long, that rough hides discs.

Hole 2 tees off from the dam across the edge of the lake. You can choose how far you risk throwing across the lake to get closer to the basket that is 430ft away (almost all water)

Then a few run of the mill holes going up the hill and across to hole 8. Nice tight fairway to the left.

Hole 9 is the longest hole on the course, downhill with key trees blocking most shots.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Keene's better 9 holes 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-great signs, concrete tees, and prodigy baskets
-makes very good use of the land and limited obstacles
-practice basket and trash cans
-fun water carry on hole 2
-down the street from Carver Park

Cons:

-limited parking on the highway
-a restroom or portojohn would be nice
-a little bit of a walk back to the road after hole 9, at least you get to walk past the pond

Other Thoughts:

DG@SW is a really fun course that can be played fairly quickly but doesn't feel like a dinky little 9 holer. The average hole length is over 330' but the layout makes a loop that is easy to follow and doesn't have long walks between holes.

The layout makes great use of the limited features. The corridor with a low ceiling on hole 1, the water carry on hole 2 (with room to bail out safe to the right), the trees that pepper the fairway on hole 4, and the heavily protected green on hole 8 all make for some really fun and challenging holes. There are a number of fairly open shots but the designers did the best they could. I can't imagine a better layout for this park.

The signs, baskets, and tees are great. The course is well maintained, well designed, and well executed. I'd play here a lot if I lived closer. It's great that it is right down the street from Carver Park, but honestly I'd rather just play 2 or 3 rounds here. Props to the course designers/dedicated locals on a great course!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Another great course to play. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 7, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete teepads
-Great signage on every hole
-Very nice Prodigy baskets
-Course is very well maintained
-Trashcans available on the course
-Practice basket

Cons:

-Parking isn't the greatest
-Only a 9 hole course
-Could use more trees or bushes to make the course more difficult

Other Thoughts:

Really fun course, its nice that it is just down the the street from the other 9 hole course. They both make for a fun 18 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
mavsfan0434
Experience: 12 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Really Fun 9 holes! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Perfect teepads and signs
-Trash cans at every tee
-Nice layout with a variety of challenging shots
-Uses the elevation the course has pretty well

Cons:

-Baskets are nice, but my first time playing the prodigy, and they are much more prone to a spit out than I am used to.
-No bathrooms

Other Thoughts:

We played this as the back 9 of our Keene disc golf excursion and it did not disappoint. 1 is a fun hole for a forehand shot. 2 could use a little room for a run up behind the teepad since you are throwing 400+ over water. My favorite hole was 8. It is heavily wooded, especially around the basket. This course makes the 30 minute Keene to drive worthwhile!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good 9-hole course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 17, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- Practice basket near highway and first tee.
-- Water in play on one hole (2). The water carry is probably 350 feet, but you have an option to bail out shorter to the right.
-- Elevation change. You have uphill and downhill throws.
-- Good use of limited number of trees on the majority of the course provides challenge. Some trees guard baskets, and other times, the challenge is low-hanging limbs.
-- Easy parking (on highway just as you reach the lake/pond if you are heading south). No. 1 is immediately on your right north of the lake/pond.
-- Easy navigation. Tee signs are excellent and point you toward the next tee. Also, fairways and paths to baskets are mowed shorter than surrounding grass.
-- Concrete tee pads. The are a little narrow but plenty long. Three sets of tee pads were listed at one time, but the short and long tees were natural, and the markers are gone. The hole info on this site now just lists one set of tees.
-- Driving range near hole 5.
-- Trash cans throughout course.
-- Variation in hole length (from low/mid 200s to longer than 500).
-- Port-o-potty (near ball field).

Cons:

-- No benches/seating at tees.
-- Water only in play on one hole.
-- No course map, but navigation is so easy this isn't much of a concern.
-- Only 9 holes.

Other Thoughts:

-- Given the proximity to Carver Park (less than half a mile up the road), this is worth a drive to play. I wish the water were used more, but the water hole is memorable.
-- Four years elapsed between my first and second visit, and the course has grown in nicely. I have also grown as a player; I raised my rating a full disc, the first time I have made that much of a change when updating a review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top