• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Plant City, FL

Edward Medard Park

Permanent course
3.665(based on 29 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Edward Medard Park reviews

Filter
1 0
nathan122591
Experience: 11.8 years 17 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Decent variation in holes. Dog legs, tunnels, some wooded, some not wooded.

Cons:

On a couple of holes, the direction where to go is not marked well - specifically in the 12-14 range.
No long holes.
The one hole is nearly flooded if it rains.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I Think The Creature From The Movie “The Shape Of Water” Lives In These Murky Green Depths! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 27, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Edward Medard definitely has a bit of a split personality. A majority of the holes are typical county park holes, fairly open with easily navigated lines playing along the park's roads. # 5 is the one exception, a 261' fish hook of a hole where the basket is tucked way back on your left. A spotter would be welcomed on this hole.

The course's persona totally and completely changes beginning on # 9 when you begin a stretch playing through this truly unique area which is listed on the map as, " The Hills." This hills area is kinda hard to describe but it consists of several green, brackish ponds, an incredibly rugged interesting landscape which I believe has been caused and eroded by yearly floods and enough trees to bat your perfect drives down and send them into green waters, never to fly again. Tricky basket placements such as # 13's sitting on a steep little hill with the pond scum waters just 6' behind it. Miss your putt and watch your disc sink below the green surface. Better players will welcome this challenge. Wimps like me wisely skipped # 14, where a small scummy pond lurks 30-80' feet before the basket and is completely hidden from the tee. # 12 is a very cool little Ace run of 202' to a a basket set in the rough Hills area.

There is a $2 fee to enter the park and you're handed the same exact map that I printed off DGCR. The first tee starts next to the first parking lot you come to. There is a small kiosk there with information on the Saturday morning tournament. The concrete tee pads are very adequate. There are bag holders, benches and garbage cans everywhere. The colored wooden signs have routered in numbers, distances and a basic map. There is a single chain basket down the first fairway but I don't think that's the primary basket. But that's a strange place to set a practice basket. The baskets are Gateways heavy duty models. The information on the inside post is wearing off. There are next tee signs scattered about.

Some holes have two pads.

Cons:

Great chance of losing a disc in the scummy, green waters.

# 5 hole definitely deserves a spotter.

I thought # 13 was a little dangerous throwing down the park road. Take away the road and I liked this hole a lot. Cool basket placement up the small hill and If the basket was set back another 25 to 50' in the gnarly area, the hole would play much tougher. And there are many spots up above for an epic basket placement.

Other Thoughts:

The Hills area is so unique, so rough and treacherous, that you just gotta love it even as your favorite disc sinks into the green soup like the Titanic. # 13 and 14 are such special holes, you can't help but love em as you're hating them. But this whole Hills area, holes 9 to 15 is a delectable smorgasbord of disc golf delights.

I see the appeal here for almost any golfers past rank beginners. Us rec players might want to exercise our due diligence around the water. If your not a straight shooter or if you're too attached to some of your discs, you might just want to skip these holes. It definitely takes away from the experience when you're so concerned about losing discs that you play everything so extra cautiously.

A large Oak tree has fallen on on the tee pad area on # 17. It's currently resting on the bench there. I think it's very interesting the way it is and I hope someone can figure out some way to incorporate it into the course design. Maybe carve some benches out of the fallen tree's large trunk or how about some bag holders cut from it's limbs. It's just far enough away that it doesn't affect the tee pad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
SpartanDisc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 243 played 28 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good front 9, harrowing back 9 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- This course offers some features that I haven't seen on the other courses I've played nearby. It has some holes that are truly wooded, which you don't see a lot in the area (I'm from Michigan, so wooded courses are something I'm very used to). This is a nice change of pace from other courses in the area which tend to have open fairways with either little rough or intensely thick rough. Hole 11 is the epitome of this and feels just like a hole I'd see back home up north.
-- The other feature this course has that I don't think is normal for the area is elevation. There aren't any huge downhill bombers or anything, but there is enough elevation, especially on upshots, to keep you on your toes. On the non-water holes, this elevation adds a great element of risk/reward as you try to avoid rollaways.
-- The variety here is pretty good. It starts up with a few holes that are mostly open but with some dog-leg, then goes to a wooded tunnel then another fairly open shot. Then you get to hole 5 which is completely blind with no visible fairway. Behind a wall of trees and bushes, you have an open landing area to give you a put to the basket. This leaves you with a huge, blind, LHFH or RHBH hyzer up over the trees. A nerve-wracking but fun shot. The rest of the course has a few open fairways but some protected baskets and a lot more wooded shots.
-- Risk/reward is a huge factor on the back 9. There is a ton of water that is made very hazardous by tons of trees, elevation and steep banks that look designed to give you a bad roll into the water. You'll hear more about the water in the cons below, but many of these holes really force you to think about how badly you want a birdie vs how badly you want to keep your plastic at the end of the day. Smart, somewhat boring, conservative play is almost necessary on many holes.
-- Tees and baskets were fine. There were trash cans in many places. Signs could be better but they showed a rough hole layout and distance which was helpful.

Cons:

-- The mix of water and elevation on the back 9 just eats discs for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There are holes where a very good shot can hit a root or get a bad bounce and roll away to never be seen again. This is made a lot worse by the fact the water is a very gross swamp of algae. Your disc could be right off the bank in only 3 inches of water and you will never see it again. Given the high probability of putter roll-ins to the water, this is frustrating. Usually, if my putter rolls into the water, I can easily get it back. Not here. A few holes are nearly unplayable without a VERY high risk of losing a disc. I lost 3 discs on 2 holes. I also saw another group lose 2 discs on the same hole I lost 2 on, and on the next hole there were 2 other discs visible on an island about 12 feet out in the water that were completely unreachable and left abandoned by some other group. One of mine lost wasn't lost to water, but I played what I thought was a safe shot on a water hole and ended up in some very thick ferns and undergrowth that made finding it again nearly impossible.
-- Other park traffic can be a problem. There are a ton of pavilions and some campgrounds bordering the course. When I went, there were hundreds of non-disc golfers at this park. While the course doesn't directly interfere with any other park activities, there was a family with small kids who had literally set up a picnic in the middle of hole 10's fairway. I had to wait several minutes and finally ended up warning them that they were in a bad spot and there were groups behind me as well. There were people hiking around the fairway of a lot of holes in the back 9 and lots of kids playing on the hills near 9's baskets. Even with a lot of waiting for non-disc crowds to clear holes, there was a lot more than normal risk of hitting a pedestrian bystander.

Other Thoughts:

This was a fun course for the most part, but a few holes on the back 9 are just too demanding with too high of a risk to lose discs. I fully admit that I might be a bit tainted by losing 3 discs in 2 holes (one bad shot, one OK shot, and one that just missed an ace by inches but skipped deep into the abyss). But I saw other groups lose a lot as well. I've never played another course where the chances of getting very unlucky to lose a disc are higher in more places. If this was just one hole like this, it would be OK, but there are really 4 holes in a row where this risk can be very high.

Outside of the 4 danger holes, I do think this course has a lot to offer. There are a lot of interesting shots to play and the elevation makes a nice touch. But between the water holes and the crowds, it was enough for me to take this course from a solid 3.5/possible 4 to a 3.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 665 played 645 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Enchanting back 9 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 6, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

(3.669 Rating) A challenging par 54 with unique natural terrain.
- UNIQUENESS - Although an all par 3, the course offers just about all the shot layout elements. There is some elevation and water elements in play. The layout also features pocket shots, window shots, tunnel fairways, a 90 degree par 3 bender, skip plays and bomb it opportunities for those that max out at 400. But, what I found most unique about Medard, was the terrain on the back 9. This part of the course plays thru an area called so aptly named "Sacred Hills"
- ELEVATION - A nice amount of elevation changes for a South Florida course. A few up shots and a few down shots. However, the max elevation change on any one hole is about 20 feet, so many parts of the country would consider this course flat.
- SHOT SELECTION - I probably played 70% backhand and the rest flicks. Most drives need to be well thought out and placed, especially on the holes thru the Sacred Hills.
- CHALLENGING - One of the more challenging courses I've played. Holes 12-15 plays thru a mixture of swamps and mounds, which is a disc golf terrain I've never seen before. Missing your shot on these holes can easily end up water OB and likely also a lost disk. Be wary of hole 13, this temping 150 foot ace run of a basket is on a ridge and has water on 3 sides, right, front and back.
- CHARACTER - There is seating and adequate hole signage throughout the course. Most of the tees are shaded well and there are two tees for pros and ams at several the holes. There's a good amount of trash cans and a few bag holders. There is a practice basket and picnic table by #1 as well.
- TEE PADS - Adequately sized concrete tee pads that are in good shape. There should be no footing issues on a typical day, except 13, which appears to be a temporary tee.
- SPACING - Pretty good, There's really no shot of ending up in another fairway. Tees are generally separated well from the prior baskets but not annoyingly far, except for the journey between 12 to 13 which backtracks a bit.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The raw beauty was well above average. Most courses I've played it's just an afterthought... not here. Several of holes run thru a part of the park called the before mentioned Sacred Hills, which is quite an enchanting backdrop I must say.

Cons:

Just one moderate issue about Medard and a few ticky tack things.
- LOST DISC OPPS - If you're the type of player that likes to keep their discs (I fall in this category) you're going to be sweating bullets on holes 12-15. Some of nastiest swamp water calls its home here on these holes. A player will have to be pro like accurate to avoid the trees on 14. A shot that misses an 8' wide lane 200 feet down fairway could very likely smack a tree, and then its 50/50 whether it falls on dry land or into swamp water.
- OVERGROWTH - In addition to the swamp water, the overgrowth is quite extensive through-out. Although I didn't lose a disc in the overgrowth, I did however spend significant time searching.
- TIME PLAY - Course is not a quick play for a par 54. Plan to be here 2 1/2 hours or more for a group of 4 to complete 18 holes.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This is not a beginners course. The odds of losing a disc here is exceedingly higher than normal. Beginners best to stick to holes 1-9 or plan to go home empty handed.
- PAY TO PLAY - $2 for your vehicle to enter. I however, would gladly pay this numerous times if I lived nearby.

Other Thoughts:

Having played just about all the courses in the Tampa Bay region, I can say that this is definitely one of the better ones. Although not my personal favorite, it is tops for several friends of mine. For out area players, you should definitely consider playing this course. Its right up there with the other big 4 courses (Taylor, Picnic, Cliff and Cypress)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
adamsm
Experience: 24 played 6 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Superb 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 8, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Simply beautifully. Nice mix between open big throws and narrow tunnel shots. Very cool setting and some really challenging basket placements.

Cons:

It is a little bit hard to get to, I guess depending on where you start.
Good chance you lose a disc.

Other Thoughts:

This was a fantastic course that was very challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
JillianME
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I learned Disc Golf on this course and we call it "Home Course" because it's the closest to Lakeland FL. It's a challenging course and you're sure to get a work out! I am usually over par quite a bit on this course where as I'm closer to par on other courses.

Cons:

Prepare for Florida swamp land at its finest! The front 9 have an open fairway plan whereas the back 9 are swampy and wet. Bring bug spray! Bring floaters! If the area has had a good rain recently, prepare for at least 3 holes to be underwater (2, 7, 8)

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the hardest courses I have ever played if you are up for the elements and a good challenging course. . .this is the one for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
blazerico
Experience: 19.1 years 321 played 37 reviews
3.50 star(s)

hello standing water 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 5, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

don't let the hole length fool you, this place is challenging. (or should i say it is challenging when there is water all over the place). the hills and the land in general are put to good use and require a variety of shots to score well.

Cons:

the water...the nasty, swampy, steal-your-disc water may not be all that deep but it sure has a way of holding on to your plastic and not letting it go without extensive search and rescue. I was there mid-week, so i didn't have to deal with any non-disc traffic.

Other Thoughts:

12-15 can be scary if you value the discs you are throwing, so you can a) bring discs you don't care about b) search for your plastic or c) make the shots! I made some and had others roll into the water and spent 1/2 hour looking for one on #11 in 6 inches of water. If it were dry when I played there, I'd probably only give it a three because it wouldn't have been as intense
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
freddysez
Experience: 16 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Awesome Except.... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 1, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course has great flow utilizing placement, strategic basket positioning, and plenty of trees to navigate thru while blending in the perfect balance of length and smart planning on your approaches. To me the signature holes are 5 which is a nasty dog leg left in some thick brush (grab a spotter), and 9 and 16 which both have elevated tee baskets that can be punishing.

Cons:

Hole 14 sucks the life out of the course and is just plain stupid and unenjoyable. Even the proest of pros should admit the hole is a joke.

Other Thoughts:

Just be careful as the park is busy with people not paying attention or have a clue what disc golf is and the course hosts shotgun tourneys on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
sasquach
Experience: 12 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not a Fan 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 16, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Enjoyed the elevated basket positions on 9, 12, and 16. You don't see alot of that around here. Hole 5 was intresting and fun placement shot hole.

Cons:

Let's be honest. For the vast majority of players 13, 14, and 15 are not golf holes. They are throw your disc into the water and slime filled mining pit holes. 7, and 8 were totally flooded and unplayable when I was there.

Other Thoughts:

This course is not cart friendly. Leave them at home and bring your bag.
I could not bring myself to play a second round, and that is the first time that has happened on a road trip.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
boursin
Experience: 12.5 years 13 played 13 reviews
4.50 star(s)

WOW 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

fantastic course with elevation (yes I said it elevation) open shots and tight shots, hyzers and anhyzers. This course is for people who know how to throw, but beginners do not be alarmed.Beginners may want to bring a couple of extra discs because you can easily lose a few. the back nine tests your placement skills and course management.Front nine is fairly open and easy with a good variety of shots. Number 5 is very interesting.

Cons:

very few to speak of I believe it is number 14 that you throw onto a path and if not you will wind up in the muck and mire and you will not find your disc.

Other Thoughts:

Great course and a ton of fun to play. When you get to nine this is a hole that you throw through an open field to an elevated pin.If you do not make a good second upshot you can be in a bunch of trouble when we played there were about 15 young ladies practicing yoga OMG what a site :) this is a fantastic course the $2 is well worth it. When we played the park closed at 7pm and the man at the entrance siad 7pm sharp and if you are not gone you will get locked in. I am not sure how true this is but beware.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Charbachuk
Premium Member
Experience: 16 years 192 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

From good to bad. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is located inside of Edward Medard Park; a very large park in central Florida.
- Brand new, concrete Tee-Pads.
- Tee-signs are very nice, hand carved wooden posts with a hole profile and distance.
- Front 9 is one of the nicest, and most challenging 9 holes in Florida.
- Park offers an entire outdoor Florida type experience.
- Course utilizes the space about as well as it could.

Cons:

- The entire back 9; two things to note on the back 9. 1.) There are very little fairways, most of the holes are jammed into a small section of woods and play either from tee-pad to basket or down a glorified pathway. 2.) John E. McCray is a crazy man. The entire course is extremely difficult, and could only be created by one of the greatest players in disc golf history.
- The bugs on this course are insane; I had a mosquito the size of my thumb bite me through my shirt.
- No true signature hole, and definitely no true signature finishing hole.

Other Thoughts:

- This is a nice course for the space that it is built on; really good use of space.
- Definitely one of the harder courses in the area, each hole is a totally new experience and challenge.

- If you enjoy a challenge then this is a destination course for sure, if not, then don't take a day trip for this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I Almost Loved It 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course got me at the tee signs. A wooden pole. A map of the hole carved and painted onto it. Very accurately, I might add. I've seen more informative signs but I prefer these to any others that I've encountered.

Going forward, I loved the course through twelve or so holes. I was thinking in my head, "this is a four star course." The holes were occasionally close to other parts of the park, but they were constructed so as not to be an issue.

For the most part the holes were both challenging and fair and I would love to have another shot a bunch of them. It starts out with a few open holes, that require some distance. Then it goes into the woods. Now those are some fun holes, with danger and high rewards. Especially five. The U shaped hole. I could see a bunch of different ways to play that. I also loved nine. You exit the woods to bomb one across a field, trying to place your shot to give access to the nook, where the basket lies on a steep hill. The best part: from the tee, there are two nooks which could possibly hold the basket. I don't even want to spoil because it was fun to play it unsure.

The flow is also fantastic. One hole transitions seamlessly to the next. Into the woods. Out of the woods. Under a tree. Around a sharp and short dogleg to the right. Even when you do have to backtrack from eleven to twelve, there is a nice trail carved outside of the fairway. Going on the last few holes, I was as happy as could be.

Cons:

However, at around thirteen, the course design takes a turn for the worse. Some of the holes just seem arbitrary. I think its fourteen that offers no real path to the basket that doesn't mean you have a good shot of a tree knocking you into brackish water. (Although it did allow me to successfully try out my new retriever)

Sixteen uses the same trick that I liked on nine, with the open shot leading to the basket tucked on a ledge but to a far lesser effect.

And then it fizzles on seventeen and eighteen, two of the blandest holes on the course. There is something to said for finishing strong. That doesn't happen here, which is sad because of the expectations the first 2/3 of the course had built up in my mind.

To be fair, a couple of those holes might play better when the waters lower, but that doesn't fix the end problem. Finish with one more hole of the caliber of 5-8 and Medard is a gem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
tampabay
Experience: 3.1 years 110 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

If only it were a dedicated park! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Hills! This is the only Florida course I've played that actually has "hills", by that I do mean Florida hills. It adds a lot of fun to a very flat state.
-Balance. It has left finishing (1,2,5,10,15,16), right finishing (6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 18) and straight (3,4,12,13,14,17) finishing shots, 14 and 17 both finish a little right but have a long straight fairway. Such a good balance of shots.
-Distance. This course has hard distance, not long distance. By that I mean most of the distance shots have a catch, except for hole 9 and 16 which are both a blast over an open field, yet the basket it still tucked under a tree at the end.
-Variety. This course has open shots, wooded shots, blind shots, water shots, it has it all.
-Challenge. This course is a monster. I would say its one of the 5 most difficult courses in Florida, especially if you don't know the "local shots", meaning the high % routes that might not be obvious.
-Teepads/Signs. Very good shape. Most of the holes have benches and trashcans as well.

Cons:

-Other park traffic. This seems to be the curse of Florida. If you come on a Saturday there is usually a game of cricket happening in the fairway of hole 9 and someone grilling or playing catch next to the baskets of 1 and 2. This is a serious problem. This park also contains "florida hills", so kids will often be sprinting through the fairways and climbing on the baskets of the back 9. This is the only reason I knocked this course down from a 4, but I think that having a non-dedicated disc golf course is a serious detriment to a course's rating. I have had to go politely ask many kid's parents for my disc back.
-Climate. During the summer time the course floods really badly and the mosquitoes are brutal, even for Florida. The water hazards are made up of some of the most foul liquid you will ever experience (hole 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 all play by water) and it is often downhill from the basket, meaning a roll-a-way could mean the end of your disc. The reason I listed the water as a con is because I feel that it adds difficulty, but not in a skillful manner. The water is more frustrating than it is challenging, it is almost exclusively a result of a bad bounce.
-Fairways. Some of the holes don't have clearly defined fairways. Hole 11 is the prime offender, but 14 isn't much better either. You may say this isn't a con, but some of the holes make me feel like I'm just hucking it into the woods and hoping for the best, and I don't like that.

Other Thoughts:

-$2 to get in!

I wish I could give this course a higher rating, but like many Florida courses, the other park traffic keeps this course from being a top tier course. I also wish they would do a better job of cleaning up some fairways and making them more clearly defined. I love this course but I just can't give it a four. I would highly recommend trying to go early in the morning on a weekday if you want to play. I'd also discourage you from going around holiday or celebration times, meaning end of the semester or any major holidays.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
jaymon1
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.1 years 86 played 85 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Hills and Bogs and Doglegs, Oh My! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 19, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Teepads, signage, overall design, landscape

Other Thoughts:

Edward Medard offers an excellent Central Florida disc golf experience amidst a large, rural park set not too far from both Tampa and Orlando. Like most other courses in the area, the amenities on the course are nice, with good signs, one set of nice long concrete tee pads on almost every hole, and way finding aids where needed. What really sets this course apart from others in the region, however, is the landscape on the back nine - a run of very interesting holes playing up to, among, and out of a set of short but steep hills with (perhaps seasonal) water challenges in the low spots of these holes. The amenities, interesting landscape, and solid hole-by-hole variety add up to an excellent disc golf outing that is worth a road trip.

Edward Medard has a bit of a split personality. For the first eight holes it presents a typically interesting Florida outing; overall, each features a perfect tee pad, is mostly par 3 but on the longish side, is a good mix of open and more wooded, and has enough bend in the fairways to reward both long arms and touch games. Get off the fairway and the palmetto and salt bush will punish you. So a pretty cool course, on the higher end of those in the region. Then #9 plays across an open field, but the basket is set atop a 15-foot or so steep hill, back behind a sprawling live oak. Suddenly, there's a lot more pressure on the approach shot. Then the next eight holes play among these hills, mostly: Come out of the trees back downhill and back into the open; fully wooded holes, playing among the many live oaks; and shots from one hill, across water, to a basket on another hill. Among these holes are some of the most interesting and challenging basket placements I've seen this side of Chavez Ridge in LA. Take a run at the basket for par, miss by a little, and you could be rolling downhill into the water or the thicket and looking at a double, at best. I'd be interested to know if there is a single more steeply elevated basket in all of Florida than #16 at this course. The course finishes with a flat woods hole for #18, however, bringing you back to Florida reality.

I'm very glad I made the trip to Edward Medard Park and really look forward to returning. This is definitely the sort of course that will play better the better you get to know it. Tampa and Orlando disc golfers now have a great excuse to get out of the sprawl and into the country for a top-notch outing. Overall, I rate this course as Excellent, and well worth the effort of a road trip or going out of your way to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
sneakytiki
Experience: 22.2 years 15 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well maintained and signed. Very unique landscape in the woods with the tree roots and such. Fun to play, good balance of left/right open/wooded. Park is nice and would lend well to bringing the family out, grill up some food and enjoy a nice day.

Cons:

I understand its more a geographical thing than something that can be controlled, but the course in late may had bugs everywhere. I was constantly swatting flies, mosquitoes, brushing spiders and webs off myself. In the back 9 there were some holes that had huge green ooze pits of some sort, some littered with trash. I skipped over a few holes for fear of loosing discs in the ooze pits. Those pits are probably dried up in other parts of the year.

Other Thoughts:

While the wood carved posts showing the hole layout is a very nice touch and looks great, they are worse than most at depicting the scale of everything. I think early on taking them too seriously really confused me. I started walking the entirety of almost every hole before starting (luckily I was the only one)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 2
Lucero 1
Experience: 11.4 years 16 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Not your average FL dgc 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Unique terrain!
Concrete pads are wide and long.
Decent tee markers with basket location.
Signs with arrows to help you find the next tee box.
You can throw a wide range of shots here.

Cons:

I can see where bugs may be an issue in warmer months.
If the course is wet, the back nine could be tough to play, due to the dirt/clay hills.

Other Thoughts:

$2 to get in to the park was well worth it.
I played on a Wednesday morning and was the only player on the course. Since it was my first time playing here, I played it safe instead of just throwing and hoping I could find my disc, but it was still super fun.
As mentioned in other reviews, I felt like the front nine is longer and a bit more open, while the back nine is more wooded and hilly. I enjoyed he back nine more, but this is by far the coolest course I have played in my limited time in the sport.
There are garbage cans attached to some of the hole markers, yet there was some plastic water bottles, etc just thrown on the course. I picked them up so that he next players wouldn't have to see them. Clean up your trash, y'all!
From what I understand, they have "handicapped" tournaments here on Saturdays at 9:30am, so I may try to go down and try to throw in one - even though my score today was nothing to brag about. I felt good getting par on a lot of these holes!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
KimBrennan
Experience: 43.8 years 161 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good variety in holes (not just left dog legs, or right dog legs, but different vegetation, elevation, trees, terrain.)

Good signage, including help leading to the next holes.

Cons:

Other reviews have mentioned misquitoes. I'll mention red ants. Be careful where you walk, especially if you are wearing shorts. The red ants can sting, quite painfully.

Hole #5 is a blind (very blind) dog leg left. I lost a favorite disk into the Saw Palmetto, and I spent a long time hunting for it.

This is a multi use park, and the course is so new that the other park users are completely unaware of it, or disc golf protocol. I had problems with kids picking up my throws, using baskets as jungle gyms, throwing rocks at each other in the middle of the course, and being totally oblivious to the disc golfers.

Considering the length of the holes, I found the concrete pads to be a little short.

Other Thoughts:

The Tee "signs" are neat. 4x4 posts, painting park brown, with a carved map of the hole. Very nice Accurate too.

The course is fairly decently long and holes are (for the most part) separate from each other with plenty of space in between (few chances of accidentally getting hit from some other golfers throws.)

I played in Nov, in fairly dry conditions (and not many misquitoes.)

While I liked the creative use of the coral ridge I'm not thrilled about the long term erosion issues this may cause. On the other paw, the other park users are almost certainly causing more erosion than the golfers will.

The rubber pads now mark the recreational (short) tees. I only played from the concrete pads.

There is an entrance fee for vehicles coming into the park. Walk-ins are free (not that walking in is going to happen all that often.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
davmer2303
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.7 years 25 played 24 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Technical Diversity 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course really does have a little bit of everything! The first two holes allow you to pull out your drivers. The next couple bring you back through the scrub palmetto. And five is truly a clever horseshoe shape jungle! My advice is a big high hyzer, but a tomahawk could be effective as well. The course then travels through some grassy scrub through 8 and then nine allows a big open drive to an elevated basket perched on a cliff! yes!! this is Florida! After that the back nine is series of tight wooded holes containing water, ravines and precarious pin placements.
You will get better on this course or else. Many holes require an approach to stop on a small dinner plate or be ejected down the side of the ravine. On the back nine there is often murky water at the bottom so be careful. There is a lot of satisfaction to be had by making a clever shot through the narrow openings. I do want to point out, that a lot of the water areas look like they will dry up as winter advances. And, this time of year, the mosquitoes aren't around, so its a nice time to play...

Cons:

There is really nothing bad here. The signs are great. There are benches everywhere, and the course flows smoothly. Maybe a couple more slightly open holes would break up the technical back nine, but honestly I loved the strategy.

Other Thoughts:

This is really a wonderful, cerebral course. And the landscape on the back nine will cover your workout for the day! You are constantly climbing small steep hills, and dealing with tricky pin positions. As a side note, I noticed that the mando on 11 was removed. I'm not sure if this was on purpose, but whatever the case, there is the potential for some wild lines on 11 now! Anyway, this course is wonderful for your putters, mids, and fairway drivers. The big drivers will be left out on the back. But that's ok, as the shotmaking is peerless. Really a great experience!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
GatorBait
Experience: 11.9 years 17 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great course well maintained 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Front 9 is good to get you warmed up. Variety of difficulty levels. Course is well maintained and has concrete tee pads.

Cons:

Mosquitoes are relentless...they will bite through your clothes, bring plenty of bug spray. Lots of water on this course and some holes are very difficult....over shoot, disc lost, under shoot, disc lost....

Other Thoughts:

Course is maintained by a local handicapped group. Beautiful and you can tell they appreciate this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
WAR813
Experience: 27 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

My favorite course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

+ Awesome elevation changes

+ Inside of a great park with lots of other activities (Fishing, camping, picnics, trails, kayak/canoe rentals)

+ Cheap to play ( $2.00 per car per day )

+ Hole diversity ( the front nine are relatively open while the back nine are shaded under big oaks )

+ Engraved and informative wooden tees signs

+ Gateway baskets ( the best I've yet to play with )

+ Concrete tee pads ( Except for 13 where a run up really isn't necessary )

Cons:

+ Depending on the rain you can't play 2, 7, or 8 without getting your feet wet.

Other Thoughts:

+ Bring bug spray
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top