Osceola, IN

Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park

3.025(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park reviews

Filter
2 0
joshua.anderson
Experience: 8.5 years 6 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Handy Jandy's Baugo Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Newer basketsGood balance of LHBH & RHBH drivesWell maintained parkLittle to no graffiti and trashAlways well mowed

Cons:

Short tee pads, only about 6'Pricey: $4/car & $3/person =$7 if you're playing by yourself Tight fairways make it not beginner friendly Hole Signs dont include hole mapOnly about 4 benches

Other Thoughts:

Par for this course varies a lot(rec, advanced and pro). You may have to play once before you know which group you should be in. If you are unsure, play the Advanced par and then adjust if needed for the next round. Unless you a very new or yet to improve since starting the rec will be wayyyy too easy, I had an Albatross and a couple eagles the first time I played this course (I played rec). Although the course's price seems a bit steep, I will say that they have made a lot of changes such as: Alternate tee pads (same length), New basket locations (some adding significant difficulty) and New baskets.Personally, I like this course a lot! I'm not a power thrower so having shorter more technical holes was a lot of fun. There are only two holes that are open and another two that you can RIP it and GRIP it and still not get it to the basket (#8 600', #10 500'), at least I cant. Many of the holes have tight fairways making accuracy critical. Straying from the fairway can be tough with the thick rough.All in all this course is definitely worth trying at least once. If you have good accuracy with decent power you will have a fair amount of birdie putts. Hope you enjoy the course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Solid Recreational Course But What's WithThose Holes? 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 6, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park. The park's name is longer than most of the holes but you probably won't be forgetting it. So the course is officially named Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park Disc Golf Course? There was a park ranger lady manning the booth when I drove up. She charged me $4 to play and didn't mention a parking charge. Maybe the policy has changed or perhaps she was charmed by my boyish charm!

There is a small kiosk at the start area as well as garbage cans, a course map and a bench. The tee signs are simple little posts with the hole #, par and distance. The small concrete tee pads could be a little longer but are mostly serviceable. The baskets are older DGA'a with a red number. I had a little trouble trying to spot them in the woods at times. One feature that I really liked here was at almost every hole there is a large, blue garbage can and the hole # is displayed in large, white numbers so the large garbage cans serve as not only as trash receptacles but as big, highly visible tee signs! They saved me many steps that I would have spent walking up to the tees to read the numbers.

The first seven holes were all nice, short recreational type holes playing around 200'. Then I came up to # 8 with it's 600' long, straight fairway with thick rough on both sides. What the hell happened here? Did they bring in a guest designer for this hole only? It was so out of character here. As I walked down the fairway, I discovered a shorter tee pad listing it's distance as 478' and then a still shorter pad.

Navigation got a little confusing here but eventually I spied a big blue garbage can with a giant 9 on it. It plays partway up a sledding hill. Then at the top of this large hill is # 10. It' 456' down the hill to a basket hidden behind some trees way down there. The tee pad here is a bigger, longer trapezoid shaped one. Nice touch to think of that. I also saw from my map that they have different tees for winter play.

Next, # 11 is listed at 438'. It plays down this sick, twisted fairway with more curves than Kim Kardashian. Following the Kim hole, the last six holes returns to the course's recreational normalcy.

Cons:

I'm still not quite down with having to pay $4 to play. I guess a season's pass would be worth it.

Some navigational issues. The big, blue numbered garbage cans really helped. The on-line map was semi-confusing.

All these little rec holes and then they throw in a couple of monsters. Just kinda strange.

Some thick rough on the longer holes. Playing solo, I tended to play more conservatively so as to prevent searching for discs. Also, I have a weiny arm!

Other Thoughts:

Ferrettie Baugo Creek County Park Disc Golf Course is such an enigma in it's design. # 10 is good fun. # 8 & 11 seem so foreign here. The other 15 holes so pedestrian like. I'd rate the skill hill a solid 4.5 while the course gets an more modest score of 2.5. But then, we don't have skill hills where I hail from so maybe this hill really is a 5.0.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
comeonbro73
Experience: 5 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I like this place. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a really solid course. You can basically leave your drivers at home though. I get through this course around 9-10 strokes under par and the fastest disc I'll throw will be a speed 7 (river, leopard, eagle). This is a well designed pitch-and-putt course with a changeup hole or two thrown in there just because. It's well maintained, the people are really nice, the par is pretty realistic, and it makes you throw a variety of shots.

Cons:

The course layout is a little funky. Try to go with someone who has been before if it is your first time. The rough can be REALLY rough if you go in the summer. And lastly, it's $4 to play. I understand this because it is probably the best maintained course around here, but it's still pretty unusual for disc golf.

Other Thoughts:

I really like this course. There are some easy things that could be improved, but it still forces you to be confident in you shot and commit to it. I like the wooded holes, (most of the course) and would suggest playing a couple of times at a more open course before you head over here. Overall, it's a decent way to spend $4. And there's a taco bell right down the street so...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
maccoy20
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Check it out 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's not too difficult of a course. I went almost everyday this summer and didn't get bored with it.

Cons:

Hole 8 is easy to lose a disc because it is just two lines of trees that you throw down.

Other Thoughts:

A few holes are difficult to find if you haven't played there before, but there are sufficient markings to get to each hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
davetherocketguy
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.6 years 114 played 105 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Short & Sweet & Schizophrenic 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 13, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

- In a multi-use park where the disc golf is away from the other activities.
- Concrete tee pads
- All baskets in place and despite their age they seem to be in good shape.
- Some really neat holes throughout the course. 11 is to me the signature hole in this course. It has three different tees and from the long tee is basically a double dog-leg.
- I know some other reviewers complained of trash on the course but today I didn't see any.
- I noticed on the map that 9 and 10 have alternate positions for winter play so not to interfere with the rather large sledding hill. A nice touch really and apparently Oceola folk take their sledding seriously as I noticed there are 2 snow makers for that hill.
- It's a well beat in course so the rough is rough but not hellishly so.
- For the most part (with a few exceptions) the flow of the course felt natural so finding the next tee wasn't too painful.
- Really enjoyed the long downhill shot off of 10.

Cons:

- #8 is just plain bizarre and schizophrenic. The first seven holes are meandering short holes winding through the woods and then all of the sudden BAM. 600' dead straight 20' wide fairway...LOL WUT? I'm all for variety and the first seven holes certainly were not delivering but this hole is just way out of place here.
- No water hazards? Really? There's a pretty little lake there and Baugo Creek is just a stones throw away from the course. Those really ought to be incorporated.
- The walk between 12 and 13 was just silly. The little next tee sign had a zig zag arrow and so I zig zagged looking for the 13 tee. With the help of the map on the scorecard I managed to zig zag to the right spot. With a first visit getting a copy of the map is crucial.
- Pay to play...I am all for pay to play courses and I certainly understand why they exist. However, if you're going to charge me $4 to park and $5 to play then things need to be in better shape. There were few if any benches. The tee signs are nice but with the money coming in how about a hole map on each tee?
- While it is nice to have concrete pads these are just way too small. Especially if you're a taller fella like myself taking longer strides I constantly felt like my feet were going to wind up off the pad.
- There are A LOT of sub 300' holes here. Almost too many.

Other Thoughts:

Now for the score I had to ask myself...is it spectacular? Well, not really. It just doesn't rank up there like a Rogers Lakewood or Hickory Hills so I really don't understand where some of these 4 disc ratings are coming from. Also, the pay to play issue really rubs me wrong when the course isn't up to snuff and it should be for $9. Sheez.

This course could really benefit from some redesigning. #8 just needs to go away...kill it with fire...whatever. I see no reason why this could not be broken up into 2 300' holes and keep some, if not most of the fairways in the woods. Also another hole should be added between 12 and 13 to reduce that silly walk. I also think there's plenty of room to add holes near the lake and along the creek. You get a 27 hole course here and that would be special.

If I lived in the area I'd be all over buying a year pass and play here frequently. But, it takes me about an hour to drive here and with the $9 cost just doesn't seem worth it to me when there are free and almost free options in the are which are just as good, if not, better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
b-mart
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.6 years 66 played 61 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Something for everyone 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Ferrettie Baugo... That's one of the more entertaining course names I've heard so far. Not bland like "George Wilson" or a frat house like "Rum Village". And yet it was the one area course I hadn't played during any of my visits. I was missing out.

This was by far the best course I played in Michiana. I wanted so badly to find something to hate. I love listing "cons" on out of town courses and seeing how many "thumbs down" I can collect by offending locals (not many apparently). But I just can't hate this course. It has all that makes Rum Village and Ox Bow great, plus more.

Equipment: The baskets aren't new. They clearly aren't 30 years old either though. Despite being at least several years old and on a wooded course, they've held up pretty well. You have your bent baskets here and there, but they're in far better condition than one would expect overall.

The teepads are concrete for every hole and every position except for the red 8. That one is just marked.

Navigation: The navigation is straightforward and fairly simple. The first teepad is right at the parking lot with a map and a kiosk, and the 18 basket is there too. Every basket is located relatively close to the following teepad, and those that aren't obvious have painted bits of concrete in the ground that guide the player to the next tee. These are close enough to the basket that they can't be missed, so no basket tape is needed. I only found myself getting lost once, and that's because I didn't pay close enough attention to the aforementioned painted concrete.

Every hole has a post giving the distance and par. They kind of point you in the right direction too, but if you try to throw the wrong way from a tee please let me know so I can make fun of you.

Design: The design is where this course truly shines. It offers a tiny bit of elevation change due to the tubing hill. The shot down the hill for hole 10 is likely the signature hole on the course, battled closely by the 600' tunnel shot for hole 8. The designer utilized a large portion of the park while encroaching minimally on other activities. The only place that this happens at all is the shot across the road on hole 10. The course includes short technical holes, long open ones, and some fairly unique looks through the woods. The course offers short and long, open and technical, straight and turning, right and left turning, uphill and downhill... It really offers everything that I look for in a course. It's still not a "5", but it's a solid course and well worth a stop.

Probably my favorite part about the design is that it offers something for everyone. The blue and red tees are shared through most of the wooded shots, but the pars are different. So a new player can learn how to throw a disc in the woods without being hammered over the head with bogey after triple bogey. Then out in the open on a few of the holes you find multiple tees for red, white, and blue to keep challenging you. That said, the par isn't challenging to a high level player... But for the rest of us, playing under par from the reds is easy... Playing under from the whites is reachable... And playing under from the blues is possible on a day that it all goes right.

Cons:

Equipment: I already stated that the baskets were in good condition, but they could still use some straightening. It's on me, but I missed at least one putt because the skewed basket got in my head.

The teepads felt too short, and some weren't level with the ground. Plus they don't grip all that well. So a runup was risky at best. Many of the holes are too short to require a runup, but a 600' hole definitely needs a longer and grippier teepad.

Navigation: The only con here was the walkout from 12 to 13. It was marked on the concrete, but it was longer than I expected. A few of the longer holes through the woods would benefit from a sign too, so new visitors don't have to walk out the hole if they don't want to.

Design: No complaints here. I would have liked to have seen some longer holes through the woods (300+'), but it seems like that would probably mess with the flow of the course overall.

Other cons: The trash was a bit disturbing. Almost every blue tee has a trash can by it with the hole number painted on it, yet I found quite a bit of trash in the woods.

The par: Again. Third course in Indiana where I've played a course that sets its par too high. Hole 7 is 300' down a fairly open fairway, and they call it a par 4. It's great for driving one's score down, but come on... And then to call the 600' hole that follows it a 4? By Indiana logic, that one should be a par 17. And yes, I know that it's all about how many shots you throw overall and what your round was rated, but I still like being challenged to throw a course under par.

The cost... I'm a proponent for pay to play courses when the funds are used properly. This course is not in disrepair, the vandalism was low (other than someone named "Brionne" who allegedly aced every hole on the course...), and the grass was mowed, so no complaints about how the funding was used. $4 per round isn't that crazy either. But I still have to mention the price because some people do consider it a con. Keep in mind that season passes are cheap and well worth the investment if you're going to put in 10 or more rounds per year. (I hear that they'll charge an additional $4 for parking, but all the guy at the gate asked was what I was there for, and then for $4.)

Other Thoughts:

All in all, this course is a great one and easily my favorite in this area. It offers a little bit of everything that makes our sport great. It has enough to keep players of almost all skill levels coming back and being challenged. And playing the red tees is fun for players intermediate and above because it literally gives you a chance to play even lower than 18 down. I set my personal best par through an 18 hole course here, and I didn't even throw that well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Jpopi1995
Experience: 9 years 30 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Suprised 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Course was very easy to find
- Park was well maintained
- Trash cans make tee off's much easier to find (Hole numbers posted on each trash can)
- Holes were diverse in the lengths
- Great course for people trying to play in dense woods

Cons:

- Pretty woody for the beginning player
- Cost 4 bucks to play
- Can only play till 8:30
- After hole 9 it is a short walk to the next tee (would be nice if they posted exactly where to walk)

Other Thoughts:

Overall I am pretty pleased with this course, it was fun and had a great mix of things. When visiting this course take a close look at the tree's that are placed in the path you'll find some tree have almost no bark on one side from being hit with discs (Just funny to see)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 6
Indiana574
Experience: 7 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 3, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great course lots of short shots but you gotta be strategic an a couple long holes. Garbage cans all over great park

Cons:

The course is short but hey that way you get in more games

Other Thoughts:

Hole ten is great when the tee is on top the hill
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
B3NDER
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.7 years 120 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Worth a shot 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

• Park has other amenities going on here (playground, fishing, swimming, and room to have a picnic) Good mix of elevation and wooded/clear areas.

-Course itself seems to be open all year long, which is nice.

• This place was relatively clean when we came through to play, with trash cans for debris at nearly every hole. Nothing better than a clean park to disc in.

• Mach 3 metal baskets, and in decent shape, plenty of life left in them. Also has a practice basket.

- We played the "winter setup" when we were there, which switches up a few holes, but not too drastically that we didn't get the overall feel of the course.

• The teepads were concrete and were in good shape.
- Also the navigation here is simple as can be. We were given a map up front and most holes had signs for the next tee to guide you along.

• Decent mix of shots and variety to be had here. Longest hole is 600' (Hole 8, blue tee) and the shortest is 150' (Hole 12, all tees) and you have some tight wooded shots as well as a few open shots to test your game here.
- As I feel this is more a beginner friendly course, with lots of ace run opportunities for more experienced players.
- Most lines here seem to be pretty obvious, but can still test you if you're having an off day.

- In Spring/Summer months, hole 10's tee is at the top of a tubing hill which would make for some awesome shots and nail-biting ace run attempts if you really put it out there.



Cons:

• A bit pricey for what you get (4.00 to enter the park if non-resident, as well as 4.00 to play disc golf for the day) Not HORRIBLE if you want to add the course to your played list, but other, free options are around that you could spend your time at.

• The course itself is rather short, which may not be a con for all but in this case I thought that fit here.
- Won't really challenge the advanced player as I stated.

- No real risk/reward to be had here (aside from dodging the disc eating pine tree on hole 8) so most will probably stick to the obvious stated lines. There IS opportunity for water hazards to come into play, but has not been utilized at this time.

• A few pads and baskets are located rather close to each other, so caution needs to exercised on those particular holes. (Hole 6 basket, to Hole 7 tee, NOT MUCH SPACE)





Other Thoughts:

While not an amazing course, it certainly isn't bad by any means. I fully believe that aside from leaving the water out of play, that this course has just about taken advantage of every possible aspect of the park itself that was allowed (What little elevation change there is comes into play, as well as tight wooded areas, and a few open spots to boot)

This place is good if you are looking for a spot to test out your straight on tunnel shot drives, as well as if you're just out to try and hit some aces on the shorter holes. Your socks wont fly off with excitement here (aside from possibly the cost to play and enter the park if you're not local) but I would still say play this course if you get the chance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
apdrvya
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 349 played 293 reviews
3.00 star(s)

fun little course--emphasis on little 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Aesthetic/upkeep- this course is multi-use but the disc golf areas seem to be near dg exclusive with the exception of the winter 9/10 combo. the upkeep here is relatively impecible. there are garbages on EVERY hole and they have big numbers on them to help improve the visibility of the tees.

Tees- nice and concrete, but a little short on some of the longer holes.

Baskets- older DGA's but in really quite good condition.

Routing/Nav- about as simple as it gets. with the map that is given when you enter and the "next tee" markers that are present in the trickier spots.

the sadistic #11-- Number 11 from the longs is sadistic but I loved it. Threw a 4 on a par 5.

#10--even though I didn't get to play #10 from the top of the hill, it looks like it would be a blast!

WINTER TEES--HUGE PLUS HERE. by keeping the baskets "in" and not simply pulling them for the winter is freakin' genius! I wish more courses did this simple little redesign for winter!

Signage-- when it's there, it's nice to know hole lengths. I would prefer maps or at least directionals but it's not really needed here

Cons:

Length/Variety- the hole lengths are a bit short and the variety is a bit ho-hum. I will say that the available land is used fairly well.

the lake- why is it not in play!?!??! that would be an absolutely awesome shot!! and it's so close to 10's basket, it would be a very natural transition!

the rough--we played in march, it was not that bad but I'm sure that once the trees start to bud the rough becomes sadistic!


Other Thoughts:

great course, the pay to play here is a bit expensive but the upkeep makes it worth it!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
stoltzjl77
Experience: 29.9 years 179 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Love it! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of technical shots, forces you to shape shots and use multiple discs due to varying lengths. Challenges even the most accurate arms but plenty of opportunities even for beginners.

Course is well maintained (which is to be expected when we have to pay to play) and the yearly pass is reasonably priced.

Cons:

Not a lot of elevation changes and no holes where water comes into play (unless you count #10, which I don't).
#8 needs to be better trimmed on the second half of the fairway, it is sadistic enough without all the overhanging branches!

Other Thoughts:

I really like this course, even though it can be frustrating at times. Stay in the fairways or you are in for a long round. You have to pay close attention to the shape of your shots as small trees and branches you don't always notice from the tee will reach out and grab that perfectly straight shot you just launched at the basket! Great place to work on your technical game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
cmchavis
Experience: 42 years 26 played 12 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent but better options available. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are some good points to this course, I would definitely consider this a beginners course though. With that being said - it is fun going for Aces on most of the holes.

I appreciate the concrete tees - they are short though, basically two sidewalk squares long. Easy to compensate by starting behind the tees though. Holes with multiple tees have all tees paved.

There are 4 holes with multiple tee placements for Pro/Adv/Beginners which cuts down the length of the course for beginners. Using the pro tees - the longest hole is 600 feet with a couple 400ft holes in there. Using the Beginners tees - drops the 'big' hole down to less than 300ft and makes the longest hole on the course 355ft. The short tees on a couple holes just change the distance like on 8 - on other holes it changes the need to throw a specific line into a straight shot.

There are plenty of Ace opportunities - for everyone - with 14 of the 18 holes at less than 280ft all that's really needed is some successful lines through the trees.

This course has obvious lines to play on each hole, if you can hit them, you're going to be in golden.

Navigation on the course is dead simple - there is a map that you can get at the Pro Shop when you enter that has the course layout, but on holes where the next basket is not next to the previous tee there are painted concrete signs in the ground giving directions to the next tee. Obviously these are probably useless in the winter, but a nice addition.

The course looks like it is open year round since there are alternate winter placements for holes 9 and 10 which normally reside on a tubing hill.

The rough on this course is non-existent on a couple holes, sparse on others and thick, but still manageable on the rest. Nothing where throwing a bad shot will leave you looking for a disc for hours - you might have a hard time getting it down from a pine tree on 8, but you'll most likely see it up in the tree taunting you.


Cons:

There are two issues I have with this course and park. The cost to play this park is $4 for out of county residents to enter the park and an additional $4.00 to play disc golf. For $8.00 - I'd pick either Rum Village or George Wilson ($2) over this course to play if I was passing through this area. Locally, it's probably worth the $50 pass for parking and golf combined. Otherwise, the $4.00 to play DG was fine, but on top of parking, that pushed it past the 'reasonable' stage.

It's short - no getting around that.

Hole 6 basket and hole 7 tee are really close together. An errant throw on 6 to the basket and you definitely could hit someone teeing off on 7.

Other Thoughts:

Not a pro or a con, but hole 8 - the 600 foot straight shot through the pine trees is a dangerous shot because the pine trees are old and thick. They eat discs if you accidentally throw into them and getting a disc stuck 16' up a pine tree isn't fun to try to get down. It'd be nice if the park provided poles for disc retrieval on that hole.

Seeing the winter placements for holes 9 and 10 sounds intriguing - if it didn't cost $8 to play here in the winter, it would be a fun and short course to spend some time on come snow season.

I would probably rate this course a 3 (Good) rather than 2.5 (Typical) if it didn't cost as much and there was a little more distance on the holes.

There are trashcans at most of the holes and the course is well maintained. It's obvious that they put the money that they collect back into the course and they did what they could with the land, but there are better options out there.

Park closes at 8, or so the man at the gate told us.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a decently sized park, comprised mostly of forest with a few open spots. Seems like there could be some oblivious park goers on walking trails on a nice day, but it wouldn't interfere too badly
- Holes in the forest provide a lot of different lines. In general, the fairways were pretty open with scattered trees to force some tighter. Awesome mix of hyzer, straight, and anny lines, with some little tricks here and there. Difficulty ranges from super easy to very technical.
- Open areas provide some great variety as well. A long, narrowing fairway on #8 tests raw straight-on distance, and the short uphill shot on #9 is followed by a 450' bomber. Good complement to the wooded holes.
- A lot of protected baskets, which mostly comes into play off the tee. Line shaping is influenced by this as much as obstacles in the fairway, leading to more shot variety.
- Decent mix of hole lengths, though they definitely border on the short side. There are many that are very short, others that are short, and three long ones mixed in to test good distance. Overall, the course stresses accuracy over anything else, and there are a multitude of birdie chances.
- Good teepads, baskets, and signage. Blocks in the ground aid in navigation, too. Course seemed very well maintained. Practice basket.

Cons:

- To a lot of players, the short hole lengths will be the biggest con. Many holes feel like simple approaches, with eight under 235'. Although none are completely wide open, there is usually a clear line around patches of trees.
- Bad shots aren't punished that harshly here; with short hole lengths and medium rough, saving par is usually not that hard. Road OB is present in some spots as well, but there aren't many hazardous spots to be found.
- Heads up at all times, especially on teepads located right by baskets.

Other Thoughts:

- This is a fantastic course for beginners, with a wide variety of shots to be found, as well as different types of holes. Few hazards also help to keep it from being too frustrating. More advanced players will probably get bored quickly, due to the short hole lengths, but it's definitely worth at least one round.
- Don't let the train horns distract your putting!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Emoney
Experience: 27.8 years 90 played 16 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Technical and fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is mostly flat and wooded and short with the exception of a couple open/tight long holes.There is a hole where u get to let it fly off a big sledding hill. Great course to work on your mid range game and find multiple lines on almost every hole. Some holes feel kinda like poke-and-hope type holes but thats just until u find your line. Every hole has concrete teepads and a nice simple sign. Alot of ace runs to be had on this course. Trash cans throughout course and its kept pretty clean. This is a multi use park with swimming,fishing,picnicing,and playgrounds.

There are 2 epic holes that you will remember after you leave.
8--- its a 600ft tough hole. First shot must land as close to center as possible between rows of pines that give u about a 50ft wide fairway 300ft long ,then the fairway gets cut in half for your second shot,which is a 25ft wide fairway 300ft tunnel shot to the basket. This is a very hard 3 and a 4 is a solid score for most everyone. Love it!

11-- is a long dogleg left but u have a 20ft gap u have to hit off the tee and have a carry of about 250ft to have a second shot at the basket. Ur second shot is almost a 90 degree hyzer (rhbh) to get to the bucket. A great hole where a 3 is a great score for most. Love it!

They also have a small selection of discs available for sale.

Cons:

Some holes are very short and pretty lame. Holes 2,5,12,14. These holes are a sure birdie for even a beginner and really hurt the course.
The teepads are really small which feels kinda awkward but doesnt really hinder your shot.
Tee signs are not very informative.
Pay to play is outrageous at $4 dollars to play every day and add $3 for parking on the weekends.

Other Thoughts:

This is a pretty fun course to play ,but dont go outta your way to play it. If your in the area its worth it. Its a quick round with some fun holes,but nothing special. Bring your fishing poles and ur discs and make a day of it.

Parking for disc golf course and hole 1 is your first parking lot on the right, after u pay.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 315 played 266 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Ferrettie Baugo 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 9, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Good amenities: practice basket, trashcans, cement tee-pads (w. some alternative cement tees), great signage, decent course flow, benches, and clean restrooms.
-Located in a well-maintained, family-friendly park. Playgrounds and picnic areas dot the park. Enthusiastic staff and friendly locals help keep this course clean and upkept.
-Most holes play through woods with plenty of trees situated in the fairways, providing a wealth of potential lines. A nice mix of short/long, dogleg right/left, and open/wooded keeps the course's progression fresh throughout. Good risk/reward options. Several ace opportunities.
-Although predominantly flat, the design effectively incorporates all available elevation. One ace run angles up a grassy sledding hill, with a very real risk of an unfortunate roll to the bottom. The next hole has you bombing down the same hill, up a slope, over the path, and around some trees to the basket, if you're able. The next hole, a massive left-turning affair, slopes gently down through several disc-eating trees to a landing area; a tree-sheltered grassy glen nurtures the basket, far to the left. Two alternative tees provide intermediate and beginning players more direct routes.
- The shule/rough areas are well-worn and clear, making it difficult to lose a disc.
-Park appeared to have fairly low traffic, allowing a relaxed atmosphere. "Excessive alcohol" is posted as illegal.

Cons:

-Current course configuration does not take advantage of available water, which is unfortunate.
-Concrete tees were somewhat short, but not enough to hamper most players; otherwise in great shape.
-$4 pay-to-play is certainly reasonable, either as a visitor passing through, or as a local (I believe yearly passes are available.) Parking is posted $4, although apparently they often don't charge (parking was free during my round.)

Other Thoughts:

-Well-balanced.
-Not the most original design, but still a very solid and fun course. Challenging pro par (all par 3) tests DG veterens while the posted amateur par and alternative tee-pads provide accessibility for beginners/intermediates. Only a few holes have awkward flow but it's next to impossible to get lost due to the efficient and clear signage pointing out the correct way. Look for the blue brick markers for where to go.
-Extremely ethusiastic and friendly park workers deserve props (they were kind enough to remain jovial throughout the process of giving us the boot at closing time!)
-Certainly nothing to go far out of your way to play, but an otherwise solid option for local players or travelers looking for a fun challenge with a relaxed atmosphere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
MotoDj
Experience: 15 years 20 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

compared to local courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 1, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

variety of hole shapes, lines, great maintence of park(trash, mowing ect)
great staff, holes flow really well, well marked
also only park around with a sign "excessive alcohol consumption not allowed" but it is allowed on site
snacks and food are cheap
only course with a practice basket around

Cons:

most expensive pay to play around
only a few holes stretch out over 300ft
600ft hole is painfully skinny for distance drivers
seem to close early year round

Other Thoughts:

course meant for accuracy, yet still fun for younger family members - they have discs up front for folks to borrow, in a 20mile radius its my 3rd favorite course - soon to move to 4
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Ok little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a mostly flat and heavily wooded park. The tight wooded fairways provide a good accuracy challenge, and there is a good mix of straight holes with left and right turning holes that call for line shaping. There is one spot on the course that plays up and down a sled hill, and this brings some open holes with elevation into the course for a little variety. The hole off the top of the sled hill is a fun bomb.

There are new looking concrete tees that were in nice shape, and many alternate tees also had concrete pads. Most tees had numbered trashcans that were fairly easy to spot from a distance. The course had ok flow, and the spots that weren't obvious had marker bricks in the ground directing you to the next hole, so there wasn't much chance of having trouble with navigation.

Cons:

The course is very expensive to play considering it's quality. At $4 per person, and a $4 park fee on the weekend, I expected a whole lot more out of the course, just nothing really special here. Though the design tries to mix things up a little, many of the holes felt very similar through the woods, and most were pretty similar lengths. It would have been nice to have more variety in length, especially some longer holes in the woods.

The tees were very short for the most part, and often had a drop to the ground which made extending the run up behind the tee difficult. There were a few places on the course where other people were having picnics or just hanging out, and seemed pretty oblivious to the course and the danger of flying discs.

Other Thoughts:

This course might frustrate some beginners with lots of tight holes, and punishing thick woods if you get off the fairways. More experienced players will have some fun line shaping challenges, though there isn't enough variety to keep most players coming back to this course.

Don't drive out of your way to play this one, especially if you don't like paying to play. There are better courses in the area but this one has some nice holes and is worth a quick round if you want to play something different.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
crazypancakethrower
Experience: 26 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

fresh updated course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 3, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course has a challenging mix of shots. Great tight wooded shots with some open shots as well. Big downhill shot is fun. New cement tees with cement tees on most of the alternates as well. The Park is really putting effort into making this a destination disc golf course. I definitely added it to my destination list.

Cons:

There are a few tight hard shots but if you are not a beginner these provide an attainable challenge.

Other Thoughts:

This park is a great mix between other area parks. It has tight wooded shots like Bertrand and shots through mature trees like Rum Village and a great downhill bomb shot like George Wilson. Spread the word, this is a fun park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
discNDav
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 37.8 years 436 played 91 reviews
1.50 star(s)

go elsewhere 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2004 Played the course:once

Pros:

Holes 9-12 are good. #10 is a great downhill throw.

Cons:

Dirt tees.Too many holes are similar to each other. 1-6 are basically the same tunnel shot in the woods and a few more like this appear later in the course. Definitely not worth the price. I hate paying to play such an under average course.

Other Thoughts:

I haven't played here since 2004 but it looks the same in the pictures. The 1996 Worlds final 9 was held here but not in this configuration. Go play Rum Village or Wilson Pk nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
mmyersdisc
Experience: 15.6 years 14 played 14 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Baugo...NO! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 2, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Has a practice basket and has friendly staff inside the pro shop. Scorecards and maps (map isn't very good will get to that in the cons) very short holes and a about one or two long holes (400') thats about the only pro's I have.

Cons:

$4 dollars to play is NOT WORTH IT!!! The map is very off on direction of baskets, none of the holes are marked (they have bricks laying in front of the tee pads with the par and hole number on them in the ground) very confusing as to where to go for the next hole, they put trash cans next to each tee pad but those are still hard to find! Wasn't pleased with the quality of this local course!

Other Thoughts:

Hole #9 does NOT have a cement tee pad (I think becuase its next to the playground so maybe they didnt' want cement around the kids???) plus it was very difficult to find considering the brick on the ground after hole 8 told us to go a different direction. All-in-all I wouldn't spend the 4 dollars to play this course
Also, the pro shop is overpriced (17 dollars for a champion disc)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top