• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Fort Collins, CO

Fort Collins High School

Permanent course
2.165(based on 19 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Fort Collins High School reviews

Filter
1 1
bneffer
Experience: 25.1 years 56 played 16 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good - for a high school course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-I liked the distance on these holes
-Flow was fairly easy to read, used uDisc for the map

Cons:

-Water can be a problem on hole 2.
-Hole 11 was missing a pin.
-Holes 9 and 10 were basically the same
-One hole runs over the practice ballfield, and if you lose a disc in there you may not get it back if there isn't someone to open the field up for you.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice course on rolling hills surrounding the high school. Aside form the cons above, I was impressed with the course and it is in better repair than many school courses in our hometown.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
kyleocean
Experience: 26.5 years 184 played 12 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great Course! One of the better "Campus" courses I have played 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a lovely little 12 hole course on the campus of Fort Collins High School. The baskets are nice, clearly visible from concrete pads without any mystery as to their location. Distances on these holes are some of the longest I have ever seen on a course like this, so don't just assume this is a lame school campus 9 hole kind of course. The course is laid out pretty well given the space and obstacles at hand.

Cons:

There are no tee signs on this course. However in this particular scenario, I don't feel they are needed as it is pretty clear based on the teepad where the basket is. It appears that at one time the teepads were painted nicely and it was clear where they were, However most of the paint is faded so first timers will DEFINITELY need a map. The flow of the course could be much better, lots of VERY long walks to the next hole. The course is only open after school is out, and occasionally there are pedestrians in the way, but saturday/ sunday this is not an issue. Only one pin position for all the holes, which is unfortunate because this course could be amazing with some alternate pins.

Other Thoughts:

I think this course is GREAT for a campus course, and is the second nicest course in Fort Collins after Edora. I've played a lot of these less than 18 hole courses and aside from maybe two of them, I am typically not impressed. However I really like this course. The flow between a few holes is horribly long and confusing, however if you look at the "New Updated Map" in the files, you will find my take on some extra holes added in that play to already existing baskets that make the course a bit more fun and take it from 12 to 16 holes (including a longer par 4 hole 9). So instead of walking 500-900ft to the next tee, you are at least tossing plastic.

It seems as though this course was created as some type of high school project of sorts, which possibly was limited on funding or something because there is definitely space to make this course a full 18 if you use the park that is next to the school. I see a lot of potential for this course and maybe in a little bit this course could add some baskets in the park, repaint the tee pads, and maybe down the road get some tee signs as well?

This course is not far from a 3.5 or even 4 disc rating with some improvements, so don't overlook it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Danny Burd
Experience: 29.1 years 4 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

FCHS Hidden Gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 3, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It is basically half of Edora. If you play all the side walks, fence, water, and street OB it is very challenging. One of the top CSU players was very impressed. We are currently upgrading baskets and it has been approved to make it a 12 hole course this year!

Cons:

Not a lot of signage. Get the Current Course Map here on dgcoursereview.

Other Thoughts:

Once we get all the bells and whistles done, it will be an even better course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Wise Fool
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.3 years 125 played 118 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A Bit of a Hassle 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Very nice school campus that is pleasant and well-taken care of.
-Holes 2,3, 6, and 7 all feature some elevation change
-Hole 4 is the best hole on the course. It features a short carry over a small inlet of a pond, then through a corridor of trees to the basket.
-A lot of the holes use the trees to either line the fairways or on a few holes have the basket in a guarded pin position.
-For a course on a high school campus, this course has a lot of holes that are of a decent length (over 300 feet).

Cons:

-The course is super hard to navigate. There are only holes 2, 4, 6, and 9 have actual tee-pads. They are all on the sidewalk but the area they have spray painted for the tee-pad is way to small for a tee-pad. The map on this site was very useful in navigating this course, make sure you take it with you if you are going to play this course.
-No tee-signs what so ever
-The baskets are bent, and single chained and don't catch very well.
-The course features lots of safety issues. Holes play over sidewalks, near doors from the school. The whole course plays through the school's athletic complex and could disc golf could interfere with the baseball fields, the shot-put areas and other sporting events.
-If this school is busy at all would be near impossible to play
-Lots of places to lose a disc. There are many locked fences around the baseball fields, the football area, etc, and it would be hard to retrieve a disc thrown over one of these fences.
-The water in the pond on 4 is very murky and it would not be fun to look for a disc in.
-Other than the guarded baskets and hole 4, this course is pretty wide open.

Other Thoughts:

This course has a few fun holes, but the navigation and safety issues are so bad, that is it not worth the hassle of trying to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
mhctravis
Experience: 15.3 years 32 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 26, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very clean and nice campus.
Bakets are in good shape.
No crowds on weekends what so ever.
Great lay out for the space!

Cons:

Not to many real tech shots needed.
Only 2 tee pads are marked so you have to make up your own as you go.
Course follows athletic field with high fencecs that are locked so if you fire one over hope you can climb.( wich may be illegal?).

Other Thoughts:

THERE IS ABSOLUTLY NO WATER ON HOLE ONE. Over all i had a great time!
We seen zero people actually playin the course besides us.(A few joggers/dog walkers) Its actually a lot bigger than you think a school course could be.
It may be rated low for the lack of natural obstacles but if the ballparks were ponds this course would be a killer.
Remember! Its all about fun,excercise,and fresh air!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
2.00 star(s)

So Close To Being Really Nice! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

For a school course with no signage, no marked teepads and staked down portable baskets, this course could be really decent. The course starts right by one of the school's parking lots and plays around the baseball field, across a wonderful long park like section of the school and then back through the center of the school's amazing athletic complex. By the way, this school's athletic facilities rivals most colleges. The holes which play nearest the school and it's athletic fields are most typical of those found on other HS courses except for # 4. It's an interesting little throw across a pond where you can use a chain link fence as a backstop for your disc.

It's the holes that play along the grassy park like area that are special. First of all, there seems to me to be room to place the whole 9 hole course down here and not deal with the day to day HS ebb and flow. Also there was a large green area behind me as I played these holes. Is that city park land? Does that land belong to the HS? Could it be incorporated into the course somehow?

Cons:

Obviously, the fact that you can't play during school hours and during athletic events. The lack of signage and marked teepads. All the locked gates and chances for errant discs to land on the wrong side of fenced in areas.

Other Thoughts:

I would love to see the local disc club try to work with the FCHS staff to set this course right. Move it out away from the main campus. Incorporate more of the beautiful park grounds. Maybe ultilize that open space (city parks?) that isn't being used. There is a lot of untapped potential here. The HS admin might be close-minded but then again, they might be happy to move the course away from their main campus. You never know unless you try!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 483 played 478 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Get me tees and signage! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The layout was actually pretty fun. I especially liked holes 6 and 7. Up and down a hill with a fair amount of trees in the way. 6's basket is pretty protected.
-The grass is nice and well maintained.
-Nice people around, not many sketchy characters.
-Good distance variety. This course is much longer and more challenging than one might expect at a school course. They used all the available land well instead of putting a crappy flat open field course.
-There is some elevation here.

Cons:

-Can't play during the school day and have to be careful even on non school days. Bike path runs close to hole 2,3,4. Other sports fields close as well.
-Basket #4 is gone.
-There already was a pretty long walk before but now the layout is more confusing without basket 4.
-No signage of any kind. Some baskets are marked.
-Course doesn't loop at all. Lots of walking.
-No tees or tee markers or anything.
-Could easily lose a disc in the chocolate milk colored waters of hole 3.
-If you throw over a fence you probably have to climb the fence. Most gates are locked.
-That leads to another pet peeve of mine- fences used as obstacles. It isn't too prevalent on this course tho.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a 1.5 without 4's basket, tees, and signs. Put the basket back in and you have a 2. Put signs in and you have a 2.5 and put some kind of tee in and you have a 3. The layout here is actually pretty fun. You can pick up a map and a sweet disc or two at Wright Life in Old Town. I actually had fun here once I figure it out. However, it isn't just the same when you pick where to tee from. I like someone to do that for me. And I like to know how far I have to throw. I would stop here but keep in mind the lack of tees and signs. Hole one is by the big parking lot and it wraps around the fences.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 156 played 142 reviews
2.00 star(s)

One of the better school courses I have played 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I was pleasantly surprised at the length of this course coupled with the terrain. This isn't type of school course I am used to - most are short and play in a very confined area because of small campus grounds. This is one of the biggest pieces of land I have seen dedicated to a high school, and it's used to a big advantage. The design circles in a clockwise direction around the football and baseball fields, and even uses the small pond near the park as a hazard for #4. Half of the baskets are in good shape and pins are numbered starting on #5.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #6

Cons:

First timers - bring your map. I created a rough one for the site to help you out, but holes #1 - #4 aren't marked for at all. Note that #2 and #4 do have faded teebox lines painted onto the concrete. #2 is located directly behind the shot put area aiming up the slope and #4 is located in the circular concrete area before the park aiming over the pond. I'm sure there are more - but I simply couldn't locate them, which goes back to the lack of markings being the biggest negative. Once you've played through a few times - it's not a huge issue, but it would be a nice if it were fixed.

The other issue is the proximity of pins to the fenced areas. While not a huge issue for the decent player, an errant shot could fly the fence pretty easily. However, if played correctly - the fence can also be an advantage for example on holes like #4 or #6 when trying to deflect or stop your disc. Also, since this is a school course - basic playable hours are more limited as with any school course.

WORST HOLE/S: #1; #9

Other Thoughts:

Bottom line is this is one of the better school courses I have ever played, and if they could fix the signage issues it would go a long way in making the course look a lot more professional. However, given the proximity of the most holes to the other athletic areas, it will never be the caliber of courses like Edora Park, Oxbow DGC, or The Outback DGC in Greeley. And even though I think Boltz Junior High School is a slightly stronger course, you could argue this course in the top three Fort Collins courses based on its length and difficulty.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
tbsox
Experience: 18 years 40 played 17 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Its a good 9 hole course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course offers great hole variety. one is open and largely straight to the hole as is 8. 2 plays through trees. Hole three has been put back in but requires attention since the shot will cross several high traffic areas. For a nine hole course this one offers a good set of holes. It plays in under an hour.

Cons:

Play is only allowed during non school hours and there is a pretty good amount of traffic even then. Just be patient especially on hole 4 which throws directly down the sidewalk. Also the lake is one thing as my retriever can get my errant discs out of that but the baseball fields have no access (without extreme measures) if one ends up in them. Avoid them with care. 5 is not a fairly designed hole. If the big risk of going into the baseball was made less by being able to recover your disc out of it easily this would be different. The shot is either a long bomb of a throw with a meat hook to the left at 300ft to get out of the field or a long much tighter throw with a big meat hook to the right at the same length. The risk to the right is the street which is a busy one. If the hole cut 20 foot off the primary drive and moved ahead of the tree to left front of the tee box it gives the thrower a cleaner look over the field. Its still a long throw over the mass of trees or the field but it gives a manageable look at the hole from the primary drive. Either that or play it as a second par 4.

Other Thoughts:

All 9 holes are in and playable. Be careful of others as this is a high school. The advantage to that is the baseball field has a better shot at being open for retrieval.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
kcplease
Experience: 15.1 years 133 played 31 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not the most fun you'll ever have... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Holes are a good variety in length
-I really enjoyed the setup on hole 4 and the way they used the water hazard, forcing the controlled shot.
-The course flows very well. This is the most important thing in a course for me. It needs to feel like it belongs on the land, and this one does. Thats the best I can explain how I feel about it, at least.

Cons:

Tees are just spray painted onto sidewalks, and sometimes it can be tough to find them since there are no plight tee signs.
The fields are shared with soccer teams, among other things, so be aware that people may be in your way when throwing or even blocking the tee boxes
hole 3 is missing a basket. I just played to Hole 2's basket again. I don't know if they have fixed this yet or if I was just when I played.

Other Thoughts:

Its not a terrible course, but if you are in the area I would highly recommend skipping over this one and playing either heritage DGC or Edora Park. Of the 9 hole courses I have played, this one provided the most challenge and had the best variety of shots. What prevents it from being a 3 is a few problems with basket quality and the tee pads.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Cigar34
Experience: 32.2 years 23 played 4 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice easy course for the rookie player or just a nice way to practice up! Has a couple of fun holes, over a ball field or teeing off from a shot put pad! Some tight straight shots to test your accuracy but nothing too long.

Cons:

On a school so odd playing hours. Only 9 holes and nothing too challenging!

Other Thoughts:

Nothing to write home about, but might as well play it at least once
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
thatdirtykid
Experience: 19.7 years 89 played 13 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course forces some surprisingly difficult risk reward shots. (IE 6 is a pretty easy bird if you risk it over the ball field, not too many guys can reach it consistently that way. I play on or accross sidewalks are ob, so that even makes the simple 1st hole difficult. I usually have a finishing score (after two rounds) similar to my scores at Edora. Most trees are mature and can offer some protection.

Cons:

Again like all foco courses other than Edora, this is on a school and can only be played at certain hours. (summers are great though) Hole three is non-existent. Course would be quite difficult to navigate (especially hole 2-4, and finding a teepad for hole 7) but that only matters once. Fun course to bike hole to hole as most play from sidewalks.

Other Thoughts:

Good course, and if you go when there isn't school functions going on, you almost always have it to yourself to practice, safari or just mess around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Bomber311
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.2 years 149 played 30 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Now and then. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 14, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

One short water hole(#4) was nice to see, shoot carefully as there are ball fields to the right and water to the left. The back section of holes was more fun for me due to its stretched out nature and large cottonwood trees. You will not find a lot of disc traffic here. Tees are marked on the sidewalk with bright yellow paint. It's good to expose younger people to the sport with this course being located where it is.

Cons:

Nothing too spectacular here, I will stop by only now and then. Lots of tall chain link fences on almost every hole which area pain to climb. Most of the time I was here, they were locked leaving only one way in(or over). If there are school activities after hours this course can be somewhat unplayable at times, keep this in mind when heading out to play. No tee signs or mappage anywhere.

Other Thoughts:

Hit this course up on a day when no one is around and if you don't throw over a fence it is a lot of fun. If it is in fact too busy, there are 3 other courses nearby to feed the need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
TheBrownZombie
Experience: 17.1 years 93 played 14 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 11, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I thought since it was a highschool coarse that it might just be another short 9 hole, but the coarse is actually really spread out. The holes are pretty spread out, there is even a pretty cool water hole.

Cons:

They did construction on the sidewalks on the north side of the building. So there is no hole number 3. So really this is now a 8 hole coarse. It is also really easy on hole number 4 to either lose it in the water or lose it in the softball fields that are fenced in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
ryyedogg
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 47 played 34 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not as bad as people say 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 15, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Decent course with plenty of obstacles to make shots challenging. All holes are at good length between 200' and 400' including some open holes, up and downhill holes, and one tricky shot where water comes into play. Fairways are filled with nice grass and a few trees here and there. If played on weekends, there is very little course traffic. The course has 9 baskets again after a few were stolen in the past.

Cons:

Some holes play closely around ball fields and tennis courts which can pose a safety issue. Avoid throwing into the ball fields because they are enclosed by a high fence that is a pain to get over. Course play is limited due to high school hours and activities. Long walks between holes makes the course hard to navigate for those new to it. The tee pads are marked on concrete sidewalk areas. Some of the baskets are not quite secured to the ground and can be loose.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a decent, challenging course that satisfies my need to throw!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
GDisc
Experience: 16.2 years 61 played 34 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 14, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some very technical shots. Water holes and wide open shots to diversify this 9 hole course

Cons:

Alot of traffic. A few holes if you fly right or left you could be climbing a 12 ft fence to retrieve your disc

Other Thoughts:

This course is ok. Nothing spectacular but a bit challenging. A decent 9 hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
plus4db
Experience: 18.1 years 9 played 9 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Almost pointless 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 3, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

UPDATE: At least one more basket has been removed. There are now only two consistently usable holes on this course. As of August 20, 2009 the basket on hole three is no longer in position.
The first two holes are okay for a quick practice or to stretch it out if you are short of time.

Cons:

Many of the baskets have been removed and locked fences make it difficult or impossible to retrieve errant discs. The tee pads are painted into the narrow sidewalks and are too short. Some have been removed. Baskets are never moved and there are no accurate maps or guides. This is a forgotten course that gets no care. While school is in session playing time is limited to late afternoon or early evening. This course should be removed from course listings as it has only two playable holes and is on property with limited public access.

Other Thoughts:

I play the first two holes if I am passing by at the right time and I have not thrown in a day or two because I have been busy. That is about all it is good for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
originalcracker
Experience: 15.1 years 4 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

All 9 are in 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 31, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is BIG for a 9 hole course. Finding a local or getting a map at Wrightlife is HIGHLY recommended. Once you know the layout it makes a great safari course. Local club put in 3 new Mach III baskets to replace stolen ones. Hope to get all Machs at some point. Would definitely suggest playing the course backwards, but you MUST be cautious how you safari holes 9 & 8, when going backwards(there's a blind corner on a sidewalk).

Cons:

Brutal to figure out direction of course. There are #'s on the painted tees, but there is no arrows or anything pointing you in the right direction. 6 of 9 baskets are crummy portables (don't even know exactly what brand, just cheap).

Other Thoughts:

This really is a fun course. I would say to find a local if you want to play the actual setup; otherwise, just play some safari and make it into your own course (keeping in mind any pedestrians/students around the school). And make sure not to play during school hours.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
Olorin
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 45.2 years 982 played 118 reviews
0.00 star(s)

Very frustrating! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2007 Played the course:never

Pros:

It's good that high school students can get exposed to disc golf by having a course on school property. The holes are long enough to air out some good drives. Only 2 are under 300 ft (249' and 258'), one hole is 492 ft, and the other 6 are 300-399 ft. There is a small pond on hole 4 that adds a little bit of beauty and risk to the hole.

Cons:

-When I played the course it only had 6 of 9 baskets. It's very frustrating to try to figure out holes that have no baskets!
-With no tee signs the tees are extremely hard to find. Don't even attempt to play here without getting a map from Wright Life first. The map isn't the greatest; it's very basic, so the first tee is hard to locate.
-There are serious safety issues with many sidewalks, ball fields, buildings, and people around. If you play when other people are around be extremely careful. I hope that no new players whack someone with a disc! -The portable baskets they use aren't the greatest either, but I guess they're adequate.
-Since the holes are long they're more appropriate for more skilled players who can throw farther. The majority of players at a high school are probably newer players with many being brand new to the sport. For them, shorter holes would be more appropriate.

Other Thoughts:

My Rating = 0.4 out of 10

My favorite hole was hole 4 because of the little pond that added some beauty and added some risk vs. reward.

You can find more detailed review notes in my file under the Links/Files tab.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top