• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Silver Lake, WI

Fox River Park - Grey Fox

4.035(based on 46 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Fox River Park - Grey Fox reviews

Filter
12 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 256 played 247 reviews
4.00 star(s)

What is the Difference Between a Grey Fox and a Silver Fox?

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- gently rolling hills in a picturesque and well-maintained park
- two nice 9 hole loops back to parking lot
- ample parking
- moderately wooded with well-placed obstacles
- large concrete tees
- baskets are basic but serviceable
- picnic tables and garbage cans throughout course
- good technical challenge will appeal to a variety of skill levels
- respectable length with a variety of hole types/lengths
- multiple pin placements on most holes (only one populated at a tiem)
- numbers on baskets
- back nine starts to rival Silver Fox with excellent technical challenge
- some next tee signs included

Cons:

- many tee signs missing
- remaining tee signs are pretty mediocre
- limited amenities: no practice basket, restrooms, etc.
- could use a few more navigation aids

Other Thoughts:

Grey Fox was the middle of the pack for me of the three foxes. On the back nine, this course started to rival Silver Fox for great technical challenge, but the edge still goes to Silver Fox for most unique course, best elevation change, and coolest overall experience.

There's a lot to like about this course. It is well laid out and has good obstacles and technical challenge. The length is non-trivial and it will be a decent workout. Beginners may find this course frustrating, but it felt pretty accessible to a variety of skill levels outside the newest players. Navigation was not as confusing here as Silver Fox, and some next tee signs did help. Numbers on baskets help as well.

The concrete tees are nice here, but the baskets are just ok and the tee signs definitely are nothing exciting. Many of these need to be replaced. It looks like the course may be in the process of getting new posts installed, so hopefully replacement tee signs are on the way. An upgrade to full color maps would be nice but I'm not holding my breath.

Grey Fox is in the same park as Red Fox, which is very convenient. You can access both courses from the same parking lot, though they are surprisingly different. While the front nine of Grey Fox is a similar level of lightly wooded/open as Red Fox, it changes significantly on the back nine to tight, technical, and heavily wooded. I didn't notice the rough giving me as much trouble here as at Silver Fox.

This course sported multiple pin placements so there is some variety in the holes over time. I wouldn't expect much in the way of birdies here; this is a pretty challenging course, but a fun round. It's definitely worth the drive from the nearby metro areas especially with the other Foxes nearby.

I think for overall uniqueness factor and natural beauty, Silver Fox wins the day. Grey Fox didn't blow me away in any particular way, but it's a solid course that's really in great shape and makes you appreciate what disc golf has to offer. It may be more of a 3.75 for me but it's higher quality than a 3.5, so I gave it the benefit of the doubt. I recommend hitting all the Foxes - if you aren't nearby, it makes a good day trip, and can be combined with the course in Antioch, IL if desired.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
jasonc
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.2 years 276 played 35 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Grey Fox is still a great course after all these years!

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 26, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-This course is located in a large, clean, multiuse park but separated from the other activities.
-The park and scenery are beautiful, especially in the fall.
-Great variety of holes with the front 9 more open and the back 9 includes more tightly wooded fairways.
-Excellent tee pads on every hole. They have stood the test of time.
-2 pin positions on 17 holes. Only Hole 13 does not have a 2nd pin.
-The basket locations are changed up on a regular basis.
-Hole 2 includes 2 permanent baskets. Go for the long one tucked into the woods!
-Both 9-hole loops get you back to the parking lot.
-When all baskets are in the long positions, this can be a very challenging course.

Cons:

-Signs. The ones that are still there aren't great. I understand new signs are currently in the works and I will move this to the "pros" section after they are installed.
-Navigation is a bit tricky in a few spots. Next tee signs would be a huge help here, especially between 15--16 and 17--18.
-There are no huge elevation changes.
-The short pin position on Hole 1 is no good. It would be best to relocate it or just leave it in the long position permanently.

Other Thoughts:

-#12 is the signature hole here, especially when in the long position.
-There is no water and the only OB here is on #13.
-Sometimes, the mosquitoes can be horrible in the summer but not too bad this year.
-I love the shelters on 7 and in between 12 and 13. Both are great spots to take a break.
-This part of the Silver Lake trio of courses is a lot of fun. When paired up with Red Fox and Silver Fox....you are in for one long, fun day of Wisconsin
Disc Golf!
-I play this course regularly and keep coming back because of the fun factor. It's also fun to warm up on Red Fox when the schedule allows.
-If the park budget allows, it would be awesome to see 2 permanent baskets on each hole and allow golfers to choose their own adventure!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.1 years 212 played 200 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 22, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really enjoyed my round here! The two pin placements allow for a "hard" placement and a "you're never going to get a 2" placement. I played yesterday and everything was in the longs. It set up for a drive, approach, putt, repeat x 17 round. I think I would have been happier if the pins had been in the shorts.

Anyway, the first half of this course is a bit more open, the second half a bit more wooded. Both parts take advantage of the rolling terrain in this park really nice though. Course flows well and is isolated from other activities.

Park is generally clean and maintained, though it does feel dated.

Course plays technical, but long. To me, this course is a solid 4.0.

I really liked the random patches of daffodil throughout.

Cons:

This course desperately needs tee signs that, at the least, show distance. Having just hole number isn't going to cut it. Someone did Sharpie distances on to the signs, but they seem completely inaccurate.

I'd imagine that the rough is very rough and the course gets pretty buggy in late summer.

Other Thoughts:

Am I the only one bothered that they they spelled "gray" as "grey"? It's an easy rule to remember. A is American, E is English. Come on, guys!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 0
nothinbuttree
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.2 years 153 played 36 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Variety wins the day. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

.
Fox River Park in Silver Lake has an 18 hole and 9 hole course (only played the 18) in a nice park setting, with enough wooded holes to provide a great variety of open and tighter lines. There is distance variety as well, enough to challenge at least up to INT players, with a few wooded holes even challenging perhaps advanced players too. Nice amenities and a mostly disc golf only setting make this a must play if in the area. The disc golf is a 4, knowing where and how far to throw some of the holes keeps it down just a bit, and
.
+ Very nice shot and distance variety
+ Scenic park setting, great mature trees and some small fields
+ Good teepads and baskets
+ Two easy loops, decent amenities

Cons:

.
.
- Poor tee signs, cannot tell which pin position is in use.
- Distances on signs could not be relied upon, and several baskets could not be seen from teepad, so first time through some shots were a little blind. Even Udisc seemed off, as did some distances from DGCR.
- Navigation on back nine a little tough without a map.
- Maintenance of course seemed fair to average. Getting a little dated feeling.
-Just a mention--the island hole is surrounded by pavement, so layup or throw something that can get dinged, because it is a downhill throw.

Other Thoughts:

.
.
BASICS:
.
>Teepads--Good concrete pads, nice and long.
>Baskets--Decent, catch well (forgot to note specific type-oops)
># holes--18
>Setting, type of course, fee?--Free public park, partial park setting, partial wooded. Most holes seem fairly well separated from other park users.
>Ease of getting to--Several miles outside Silver Lake, easy access
.
AMENITIES:
.
>Parking--Abundant
>Bathrooms--Porta john by hole 1 (and 10).
>Practice basket/driving net--No.
>Water/food nearby--A few fast food places 10 minutes away.
>Clubhouse/disc shop--No.
>Benches--Few picnic tables sprinkled throughout.
>Trash cans--Enough.
>Bag holders--No.
>Tee signs--Pretty poor, shows two positions, but many did not seem to align with actual baskets at all. Best to use an online map, although udisc distances seemed off several times as well.
>Next tee direction/signs--No, but front nine is fairly intuitive or you can see from baskets. Back nine trickier, map is quite suggested.
>Wheelchair/cart friendly--No, yes.
.
COURSE PLAY:
.
>Shot variety--Pretty good, very few just straight shots. Even the more park setting holes have trees to shape your shots. Some wooded tight lines, some more open shots. No real bomber holes though.
>Open/wooded--About 6 open, 6 semi-open and 6 more tightly wooded, but all have fair, if not some tight, lines.
>Elevation--Not much, but what little exists is used well. Hole 16 area has a big hill which was not used at all, a bit disappointing, but there was a baseball diamond nearby, so maybe that is why.
>Distance of holes--A few in the 200' range, and a good combination up to almost 500'. Good variety here as well. About 5500'--6000' overall, exact distances on most holes not known.
>Layout, long walks (inc back to car), loops--2 nine hole loops, both ending at parking lot.
>Total distance walked--2.5 miles.
>Ease of finding next tee--Front nine good, back nine can be tricky, definitely want to have a map.
>General difficulty--Medium, most of front nine has birdie potential for someone with 325' range, but accuracy is key. Some of the wooded holes on back nine seemed tough to get a birdie. Some were pretty long for tighter lined wooded holes.
>Mud/water issues--None this day, but it was dry.
>Water or O/B to contend with--Other than a few roads, and the one island hole, none seen.
>Difficult rough/lost disc risk--Medium--especially on back nine. The rough is not horrible, but easy to find as fairways can be tight.
>Scrape/scratch risk--Medium.
>How busy was course/park--On a beautiful weekday late morning (60s), only two other groups were seen playing.
.
OVERALL:
.
>Fun/enjoyment factor, would I play again? Yes, great mix, good but fair challenge.
>Who will this course challenge? Rec to intermediate, perhaps advanced players (some of the woods holes especially)
>Is it worth a drive? Yes, 1-2 hours.
>Anything unique? Nothing in particular, but there is a good variety. No two holes seemed the same.
>Would be a half star higher with--Better signage/navigation (especially on back 9).

I am in my 50s, 105 or so courses played, 875ish.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
DiscGolfer80
Experience: 5 years 57 played 56 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Favorite WI 18 hole 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Park is well maintained, even for early November. Holes #1-9 are open without much obstruction. #10-18 require more technical drives due to narrow fairways. Not to hard to figure out where next tee pad is located.

Cons:

Signs show two different baskets per tee pad, but only had one in play (minor con).

Other Thoughts:

For a beginner; back nine isn't to difficult. Safer to taking an extra "swing" than lose a disc in narrow fairways.

As mentioned, park seems to be well maintained as well as course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
ricklev
Experience: 30 played 30 reviews
4.00 star(s)

I'd play every week if I lived nearby 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-A nice out-in-the-country feel in southeast Wisconsin
-Some attractive holes with trees and grass fairways
-Plenty of free parking -- non-holiday -- and easy to navigate with course map.
-I usually play in Florida on mostly flat courses, so the holes with some hills were fun.

Cons:

-Mosquitos in June! Unpleasant, but manageable with bug repellant. Worse than the Florida courses I play.
-Some slightly (lightly) muddy holes. Your shoes will get dirty.
-Cement tees were not bad, but the length felt just a big short.
-Slightly crowded on a Friday afternoon.

Other Thoughts:

The area is beautiful, especially the nearby lake setting. This park is well kept and attractive, especially some of the fairways that have grass. It is a bit out of the way for visitors (about 15 minutes off the 94 and Hwy 50), but worth the drive. If you can avoid mosquito bites and the slightly muddy areas, look forward to a good time in this big and nice park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 0
Qikly
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 181 played 150 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Grey Fox course at Fox River Park benefits from great terrain, playing around and through woods with lots of rolling hills to further spice things up. The course integrates trees in a variety of ways, resulting in a mix of open holes dotted with obstacles, technical wooded tunnel shots, holes moving into and out of the woods, and on and on. There's a great range of hole types here that force you to use a variety of discs and shot types. Repetition is expressly avoided.

In keeping with this variety, distances are welcomingly varied. Distance drivers are rarely needed, but pretty much everything else in your bag will come in handy at one point or another. Overall the course skews towards the technical, but not overly so.

The course is easy to navigate. Parking is plentiful. The Red Fox course on site offers the chance to bag another course as well as warm up a bit.

Cons:

This is a solid course. The biggest con for me is its focus on a conventional drive-approach-putt formula: there aren't many true par 4s or holes you otherwise aren't pushing for the basket off the tee. It's a shame that the variety in terrain and distance mentioned above isn't mirrored by a greater variety in terms of hole structures: a few landing-zone focused true par 4s and maybe even an ambitious par 5 would really round things out. The land the course sits on certainly seems like it could accommodate such ambitions. As it stands, Grey Fox provides an enjoyable overall round without having overly memorable individual shots or holes. It's a nice balance between casual and technical.

Other Thoughts:

Grey Fox is a great happy medium between the casual nature of Red Fox on site and the much more ambitious nearby Silver Fox course. The three together make for an excellent outing. If you're feeling adventurous, it's possible to include Fairfield Park DGC as well, for a perfectly satisfying and extremely varied (if tiring!) day of disc golf. I highly recommend putting this combination towards the top of the list if you're passing through the greater Chicago area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Kegelexercise
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 30.1 years 56 played 25 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fantastic course, if buggy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 17, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fun 18 hole course (really, kind of plays like a 27 holer - it's situated next to an easy 9 hole warmup course) that has something for everyone.

1) Nice, long grippy teepads, and good baskets

2) Excellent variety in hole design - open bombers, wooded corridors (a handful are very long, but wide enough to still be fair), fantastic use of natural obstacles and elevation, seemingly a different line needed on each hole. Most players will need to use every throw and arm angle in their arsenal. Multiple pin placements per hole.

3) Situated in a beautiful, scenic park. Stunning views in the fall when the trees start changing color.

4) Never been all that crowded any time I've gone.

5) For all the other uses this park entertains, the DG course keeps its distance from other users pretty well. Only a few holes come anywhere near other park uses, and you have to take excessively off-target shots for them to come into play.

Cons:

A few minor ones:

1) I usually like "island" holes, but the one they do have on this course utilizes an old, beat up road circle as the "moat", with a really small "island". Sorry, but I hate having my discs get chewed up by pavement, and the way this hole is designed forces you to either play conservative and lay up shots for par, or incur serious risk of road rash on your disc if you're trying to score any better.

2) A couple of longer walks between holes later in the course can be a bit confusing for a first timer. Signs were present, but can be easy to miss if you're not paying attention.

3) Good lord, the BUGS! Seriously, if you come here during the summer, bring bug spray. They're worse here by a considerable margin than any other course I've ever played, even courses in Florida.

Other Thoughts:

This is essentially a 27 hole course if you play the adjacent Red Fox 9 hole loop. You'll have a legit shot at an ace on every hole on the 9 hole loop, but it offers a solid warmup round before you hit the considerably more difficult 18 hole loop.

Other than the excessive bugginess (I feel kind of bad docking a course for this, but I legitimately believe Grey Fox is a 4.5 without the bugs) overall, this is a very good course, and though it's kind of in the middle of nowhere, it is absolutely worth the drive to come out of your way to play if you're in the region. Bring bugspray, though!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
tmcoyote
Experience: 16.1 years 99 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Best in SE Wisconsin 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fantastic course located in beautifully maintained fox river park. Perfect mix of shots and great use of elevation changes on the property. All 18 holes are challenging, yet fair and a lot of fun to throw. Although a strong arm off the tee will help you reach some of the long pins, it is not necessary to have a cannon to score well out here. Perfect size flat concrete tee pads on every hole make for comfortable confident drives especially on the long controlled tunnel shots. Two pin placements for every hole makes for an enjoyable mix and different setups for the already unique and original course. The front nine starts on the north side of the parking lot and plays in a counterclockwise fashion back to the lot. Cross the lot to the south and you will see the tee for #10. The back nine follows a counterclockwise rotation as well and hole 18 will aesthetically please any disc golfer and lead you back to the parking lot.

Cons:

The bugs/mosquitos can get quite bothersome in the back 9 holes of the course from late may until fall. The front nine holes can get pretty congested with large groups especially after the highschool lets out. Keep an eye open for poisen ivy is starting to spread on holes 17&18 as well as a couple other holes in the woods, but this threat is very minimal and only crawling up tree bases here and there.

Other Thoughts:

An absolute must play, especially if within a couple hours. The best course in Southeast Wisconsin and arguably a top 5 in the state.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
boston
Experience: 11.7 years 63 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Love it 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

wicked awesome course in the middle of nowhere. compared to courses in the area it blows them out of the water. Tons of elevation, different shot choices, trees, different hole lengths. I'm from Massachusetts and the scenery and feel of being out in the woods reminded me of being in New England. Small little stone huts along the course allow you to take a sheltered break. Great tee pads. Just a great great course.

Cons:

Right now only playing it once can't honestly think of any major cons. A couple things I noticed is the pars are not listed on the signs, which would be nice, and marking which current pin is being used would also be helpful. I had to go run down the fairway a few times to see which pin placement was being used. Overall, nothing to complain about.

Other Thoughts:

Will be back many many more times and I can't wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
tp3terson
Experience: 14.1 years 18 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Just an amazing scenery, Has a good mix of aceable and far shots, Very nice pads and baskets. Trash cans are every couple holes with picnic tables well maintained park.

Cons:

Need to change hole 6,7,8 to A more later in the year.

Other Thoughts:

The best mix of holes around perfect walking distance, nice shade when needed, One of my favorite places year round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
little oz
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 102 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautiful course and a lovely park. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful, well-maintained park. A good mixture of wooded and open holes that require true accuracy throughout the woods and reward big arms in the open. It does test the complete player. Completely adequate and grippy tee pads. Good use of relatively limited elevation compared to Colorado courses that I am used to. The first few holes are open and beautifully nondescript, but around hole five you enter into a wonderful world of tunnel shots that are challenging but not unfair. The tunnels always seem to have an open spot at the end with a basket. The parks department should be applauded for their great maintenance of the course. T signs at nearly every hole, a bathroom near hole 16, and a very clean course. Trash cans and shade abound, as well as benches. Wooded fairways have new bark along them to help with footing. Little to no chance of losing a disc, even if you go off the fairway. Navigation is easy and intuitive with a couple of exceptions, but signs help out the newcomer. This would be a awesome home course.

Cons:

Tee signs are not all there, and the graffiti on the benches reinforce the stereotype of stoners and dumbass teens. I would not like to take a family member here to see that. Multiple blind basket positions require some scouting, as the tee signs have no way of telling you which position the basket is in. Mosquitoes are omnipresent.

Other Thoughts:

This is an awesome course in a remote and unlikely location, but I drove up from Chicago to play during a visit. It was well worth the 45 minute drive, as it was a treat to play such a unique and different course from Colorado. I wish I could've met some of the locals on a Friday afternoon to play this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.1 years 1066 played 634 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 10, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is located in a very clean, beautiful park. There is also the red fox onsite which is a good warm up for the tougher grey fox 18 hole course. The tee pads are all large and level and they grip very nicely. There are multiple pin placements on every hole which makes it more interesting. The tee signs are nothing special but serve their purpose. They have a basic hole diagram, hole #, all the different pin locations and the different distances. The baskets are chainstars which are all in good shape and catch fine. There is a bunch of elevation changes throughout the course which adds quite a bit of the challenge. Almost every hole has some sort of trees to avoid, with a lot having pretty tight tunnel shots. There are wood chips all over as well which really helps keep everything from getting muddy. The course is permanent and free to play. There is a solid mix of different distances with the front nine having some shorter holes and the back nine playing longer. The course design does a great job staying away from the other park activities. There's plenty of parking, picnic tables, trash cans and benches throughout the course.

Cons:

One of the holes on the back nine is completely surrounded by pavement which can scrape up discs. There's a pretty long walk from 15 to 16 which is hard to figure out for first time players, not too much of a big deal though. The bugs can be pretty bad but they are pretty much everywhere in WI.

Other Thoughts:

This is probably the best course in southeastern WI in my opinion. Couple it with the red fox and you got a really fun day of disc golf. There isn't too many really nearby courses but the Tim Osmond sports complex is about twenty minutes away or the White Cedar in Lake Geneva, but this is worth a trip just by itself. One of my favorite courses out of about 150 played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
heywillard90
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 31 played 29 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid four, but no more 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great elevation changes that make even very short holes amusing
-A handful of long holes with well sized fairways, some of which get more challenging as you approach the basket
-A and B basket positions, which allow the course to be somewhat adaptable to the patrons' desires
-Few, if any, places in which you can lose your disc
-Excellent park with plentiful space fun picnics and great activities for people of all ages (none of which conflict with each other).

Cons:

-There are some weary, short holes on this course, more concentrated on the front nine than on the back.
-Course could use a few more holes that ask for your longest discs
-About equidistant from Chicago and Milwaukee (a little closer to the latter), yet no quick access from either.

Other Thoughts:

This course is most comparable with nearby Fairfield. It is situated in a nicer park with better elevation change. Yet Fairfield, which I gave a 4.5, is indeed a more amusing challenge and the better of the two. That puts this course at 4 out of a possible 5. The "short" and "weary" holes may have been in a less challenging A position, but even so they can still be improved; possibly with some clever planting of trees to create challenging fairways. This is a solid course, but is probably not worth the drive (~40 miles for me) too often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
gcoghill
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.1 years 77 played 68 reviews
4.50 star(s)

I think this is my favorite course yet. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Awesome, clean, beautiful, secluded park. Well-thought out holes.

Cons:

None that I can recall.

Other Thoughts:

It's been a long time since I played this, but I had to chime in on the reviews and agree with how awesome this course is. Halfway through playing, I said to my brother "this should be the way everyone is introduced to disc golf".

Is this a championship-caliber course with epic holes and a massive variety of challenges? Nope. But this course is incredibly fun to play, and in what I consider one of the most ideal surroundings for a public park. This isn't to say the course isn't challenging. It's the right balance of accessibility and challenge.

Like my review title says, this may be my favorite course yet. And I'm not even sure it's the best course I've played, but the entire experience from the location, the setting, the holes and the entire presentation was everything you want in a disc golf course.

Definitely worth a drive there if you are within any reasonable distance. And if you are local, you should be playing there regularly for sure.

Oh, and skip the other 9-hole course. It's a major dud.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
sgamerp
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 16.2 years 103 played 73 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Winter Lay out 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 19, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Nice Tee Pads - All cement and very big.

-Baskets - Good quality Baskets, and have two pin placements for each hole.

-Landscaping- This place is nice on the eyes, good amount of trees and well groomed landscape.

Tee Signs - avaible to find the next hole easily (minus 15 to 16)

extras- good amount of picnic tables and trash cans through the course

-Another course on the land.

Cons:

- I would of rated this a 3.75 if I could, but I rounded up due to the fact that I saw where all the longs were. When baskets are in the shorts its a fairly easy course, but still extremely fun.

- Can be fairly busy.

Other Thoughts:

The Red Fox is awesome for a nice warm up to this course.

I played on Easter, and the course was pretty busy, so I am guessing it will be a lot more busy on non holidays.

While having two sets of pins, it seems like the longs make the course of a higher tier course.

From O'Hare this is about a hour and 30 minute drive. I was 30 minutes North of Ohare and got there just fine. For some reason my garmen couldn't find it, so I had to find a location around it that it could get to. I think if you look up Fox River Park over the address itself that may be helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 174 played 88 reviews
4.50 star(s)

4.7 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

I think this might be one of my favorite courses ever... It features an awesome variety of shots with two sets of pins. Fox River Park is massive, well maintained, and is beautiful! There's a lot of minor elevation and this course has about an even distribution of wooded and open shots. Here's what I really liked:

*Very isolated from the rest of the world... Being from the Chicago suburbs, playing disc golf amongst lots of other park users is something that I've grown used to, so this was a nice change.

*Distance variety... ranging from the 180s to the 500s. Every shot/disc in the bag used here.

*Fun elevation!

*Shares a park with a warmup course, so that's always nice.

*Great workout hiking up and down the hills/fairways

*The town seemed kind of cool... might be a fun place to spend a weekend

*Definitely some challenging holes, but not insanely difficult.

Cons:

*A few tee signs were missing
*Hole 11 brought a tennis court into play which was the only time the course seemed to interact with other park users
*Very buggy

Other Thoughts:

I highly recommend this course, and if you have time the other course on the Fox River Park property
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 1
steven2361
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 286 played 55 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Solid Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

When this course is in all the long pin positions it is a great course. The tees and signage are great here. This is a well balanced course with a variety of right, left, and straight shots. There are open shots and wooded tunnels and a decent amount of elevation. Some of the signature holes here are great. Hole 6 is a righty backhand flex line uphill. It is very unique. Hole 12 is a great par 4. It is about 380' to get out of the tunnel into a more open space. It is then a left to right sharp approach it a sloped green. Hole 14 in the short position is a great par 3 that funnels tighter towards the green. 15 has a great basket placement on the crest of a very steep hill for roll a ways aplenty. 18 is a great finishing hole, a downhill controlled bomber down a wooded fairway.

Cons:

Some of the short pins are really lame.1, 2, 8,and 10 in the short position are super short open holes. There is not many pucker tight gaps here. It can be a disappointment to go to the course and play some of the lame short pin positions. It would be great if both pins were in at all times.

Other Thoughts:

Pick up lots of birdies on the more open front nine end conserve your score on the back 9 and you'll be in good shape. The easy short 9 holer is also here at the park for the virgin disc golfers.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
crandellfamily
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.1 years 27 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great layout - no need to play pinball in the trees 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of variety to this course, except in the selection of tee boxes. The course was set up with a mix of short and long baskets when we were there. Overall elevation changes aren't huge, but the course takes full advantage of what's there. Baskets well-set into bowls and protected clearings, several chances for added length and drift on downhill throws, and I even liked the one significant uphill.

Good clear layout, as long as we took the time to check out the basket placement before our drives. Course looked in very good shape when we were there. Excellent concrete tees.

My son and I had a lot of fun warming up on a few of the Red Fox holes before starting our round. Great idea, well-laid out with enough variety to satisfy those looking to loosen their arms. It's a great idea to have this in place for beginners and families, to improve overall course traffic.

The front nine is more open, but not significantly easier, than the back. I appreciate the fact that the fairway lanes through the woods are generally, but not always, wide and clear. The trees shade and guide your play, without the "pinball through the fairway" effect that detracts from some other woods layouts.

#1 good short opening hole to the long basket on the left. Short brush across the fairway forces you to get the disc up a bit without letting it veer into the taller trees and branches.

#3 down then up and down again with the long basket set in a natural bowl. My favorite hole on the front.

#6 the uphill shot I mentioned above. Uphills usually kill my weaker drives, but the hole is short enough to let you reach the open tabletop, as long as you keep your shot straight through the alley of trees. The most thickly wooded hole on the front nine.

#7 Tight downhill tee shot through the trees before it opens up, and then the short basket is very tightly tucked into the tree line on the right.

#12 Begins the "wide alley through the woods" effect

#16 a fun downhill alley through the trees that opens into a field for the short basket. If you keep your drive straight this is the easiest birdie hole on the course.

#17 challenging dogleg left to the long basket

#18 a fun downhill drive with another inviting path between the trees. The long basket is protected by a few more trees and framed by a circle of rocks near the picnic tables.

Cons:

Only one tee box option per hole. I don't identify any dramatic signature hole to rival those you can find on the best layouts.

Other Thoughts:

The dogleg at #9 is extreme left to the long basket. Just about impossible to get close, and you can overshoot your drive into the parking lot if you don't ease up.

I'm not a huge fan of the island green on #13, even if it is a fun concept. It's a blind shot, curling right. There's a lot of luck involved in whether you land on the green or the OOB, or skip back into the woods.

There are obvious paths from one hole to the next, except on the walk through the pavilion and playground from 15 to 16. Pass the bathroom, look for the slide, and you'll find the 16th tee. There's another long walk from 17 to 18, but that was very well-defined.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
porchmike
Experience: 21.4 years 34 played 19 reviews
4.00 star(s)

what an awesome course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

i'll start by saying that this is one of the best courses i've ever played. today was my first round here, so see other reviews for a course description.

great variety of shots.
beautiful rolling hills and great use of the gentle elevation changes the terrain has
no real rough! i couldn't find anywhere to really lose a disc- you would almost have to throw sideways off the tees to lose your disc here- anywhere near the fairways has been well-traveled.
fairly intuitive layout- look for worn paths in the grass to find next tees(most holes have nice signs to point the way to the next hole).
challenging enough for all skill levels- beginners have the red fox course, and can play silver without worrying about losing discs. advanced players will love the shapes of the shots you get to throw here.

Cons:

i can see a potential safety issue with non- DGers using the picnic tables while people are playing- i just walked ahead to check before i threw.
i played during a very dry period, so did not experience the bugs that other reviewers have mentioned, and it's mid july!
#2 should be longer
-they should plant some more holes here! this park is perfect for disc golf!

Other Thoughts:

um, i'm going back tomorrow! this place is awesome!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top