Fort Worth, TX

Greenbriar Community Center

2.825(based on 36 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Greenbriar Community Center reviews

Filter
2 0
LeftyPower
Experience: 35 years 33 played 15 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not the Greatest but Not the Worst 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A few holes with some good elevation changes
Pond in play on last hole
Usually not very busy
Mostly decent tees

Cons:

Difficult to navigate in places to find the next tee
Some of the baskets to throw at can be confusing
Not a lot of trees on several of the holes, fairly generic holes in several places
Other park users from playgrounds, walking path, and fishing can an will likely get in the way at times.

Other Thoughts:

I have played here several times and find there are a few fun holes that stand out from the others which can be a bit generic. Several of the holes are mostly in an open field and there is one that is supposed to play like an island green but is not marked properly as such. It usually is not busy here and is OK for something different to try. It isn't the best course but it is not downright awful either, a few of the tees do require quite a long throw to get anywhere close to the basket. The last basket is over a pond which is a decent hole but does usually have a lot of fisherman on the bank so you will probably have to warn them to watch out before you throw. Not a destination course but if you are a local and have played everything else, it is worth a try. There is a ball golf driving range here, a playground and a fishing pond so there are other things to do for the family here as well other than disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
PCheesy
Experience: 13.2 years 20 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A little rough, but surprisingly engaging 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 2, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-This course has some surprising variety in its holes, while also being mostly beginner friendly (some open bombs, some technical shots, elevation changes, throwing through or across a creek for multiple holes, though the creek is not very deep)

-concrete tee pads

- even though it is at a public park/community center, you aren't likely to run into people along the course.

-The course offers multiple pads for beginners and more advanced players

Cons:

-the course has definitely shown some wear and tear.

-2 baskets are missing (possibly due to some construction that happened sometime in the past.

-You absolutely need to have the map with you in order to play the course, as the path is not particularly obvious

-markers for tee pads are inconsistent

-some holes require you to forge your own path across the creek (no bridges)

-it looks like the course would be especially muddy at some parts if it rained, and some holes next to the creek may be in danger of flooding due to rain.

Other Thoughts:

-We played there on an especially windy day, which ended up making our throws very interesting. I could see that as being a positive or a negative for others

-it is obvious that the disc golf course is not the main attraction of this park, but I still ended up having a good time with the challenges and variety

-I wouldn't call it a go-to course, but it would be nice to go every once in a while for a change of pace

Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
mavsfan0434
Experience: 12 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Better than expected 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Well maintained course at a nice community park
-Pedestrians don't come into play much despite being at a multi use center
-Great use of elevation and trees available
-Fun course for beginner, challenging enough lines for advanced

Cons:

-Tee pads are a little short
-Lack of shade would make this a beating in mid summer

Other Thoughts:

First time playing Greenbriar and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Had some fun open holes, great elevation changes, and wraps up with some more challenging wooded holes. Park was very clean when I played, but trash cans would make it even better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
Piker
Experience: 15.8 years 86 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun small park course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course has multiple tee pads, but they are small. Thought overall it was pretty easy to get around only playing it the one time. The basket positions were superb. Nearly every hole had some sort of challenge (basket on the side of the hill, near the creek, guardian trees)

Cons:

Small tee boxes, no signage at the tees. It was easy enough to navigate (got confused once but was easy to figure out just looking.)

Other Thoughts:

Overall I enjoyed the course. Playing with a friend that was new to the game, he was able to enjoy it, and there was enough challenge there to keep me entertained as well. I was really surprised that on a Saturday morning around 9:00am we were the only ones out there, besides a few people fishing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
jlh900
Experience: 15.9 years 26 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 14, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

this has a good mix of short approach shots long bombs elevation changes and water that runs along most of the course. this is a good beginner course it is mostly open with little chances of loosing discs

Cons:

two unplayable holes due to grass and plants growing up chest/head tall and one basket completely taken out. makes the flow of baskets pretty upsetting there
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.8 years 169 played 69 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Pretty average course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course did offer multiple tee pads and nice Innova baskets. The course didn't have to traffic you had to fight to play. The course was mostly open but there are a few times on the course that if you make the wrong throw, it will make you pay. I lost 2 disc just in the brush. The grass on the course has been well maintained.

Cons:

The course has no signage for where the holes start and where the baskets are for each hole. With no signage I had to walk half of the holes before I could come back to the teebox and throw my drive. Course is set on a community park, but there are no trash cans out on the course. The park wasn't that clean, I think if they place trash cans out on the course it would take alot of the trash off the course.

Other Thoughts:

The course is good for a "get me by" if you live close to the course it would be good for practice. If you don't live close to the course there are many other "must plays" before this course in my own opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
snunnone
Experience: 11.7 years 59 played 14 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Adding to list of played courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 2, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well maintained mostly. Good baskets, Some elevation. Some use of water and mostly dry creek bed. Not very busy (except around pond).

Cons:

No tee signs. No direction arrows. A little tough to figure out which tee pad goes with which basket. Lots of non Disc golf traffic around pond.

Other Thoughts:

This is an average course that is good to add to your course count. Nothing spectacular. Two holes (13 and 14) run inside the creek bed. It is probably mostly dry so it works but 13 was being replaced or wasn't there when I played. Water can come into play on 15 and 18 depending on pin position.
There seem to always be people fishing around the pond which can cause some problems on 15 and 18.
I would say if you are in the area, play the course to add to your course count. Bring a new friend to play all but the water. But I would not go out of my way to play this course. Obviously, the fishing is good, so bring a pole and fish after you play a round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
BigGAC1
Experience: 14.5 years 39 played 29 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Greenbriar 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 27, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

multiple pin positions
good baskets
uses elevation well
uses existing trees and creek well
map available at first tee
fairly decently manicured park

Cons:

short tees
lacking in signage
navigation/layout is tricky
I went in the summer when it was dry, but I could potentially see how creek crossings could be hairy with recent precipitation

This doesn't have anything to do with the course itself, but when I was there I had someone from the neighboring community center inform me that I couldn't have my dog running around off the leash (in all fairness, this is posted on a sign at the parking lot) at the risk of being cited.

Other Thoughts:

This really could be a great course with a little love. Some signage and longer teepads would make a world of difference. Definitely take a picture of the map with your phone or something if you play here by yourself the first time. Or bring someone who knows the layout. I got lost the first time I played.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.9 years 360 played 296 reviews
2.50 star(s)

not so bad 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 16, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-some good elevation
-creek and pond come into play on half the holes
-concrete pads (2 on most holes but they're a little small)
-nice discatchers
-convenient parking
-clean and maintained

Cons:

-few trees, little shade, many open holes
-no signs, navigation can be tricky
-frequently crossing the creek but there are no bridges
-always people around the lake, use caution
-holes 13 & 14 are pretty overgrown
-fences around park border federal property. call the number on the signs to get discs over the fence. they actually come over pretty quickly.

Other Thoughts:

This city park course has a pretty decent flow and uses the terrain well (elevation and water hazards). The baskets and tees are nice but the lack of signs makes it tricky for the first timer. The park is usually clean, mowed, and well-maintained.

There are many looks at a duece out here but there is also plenty that can go wrong. There are many challenging pin positions; many are located near the water or on hillsides.

Seems to get little traffic and for good reason: there are such better courses nearby here. That said, it is always great to have another course and this is a decent place to bring beginners, apart from the pond.

I wouldn't be disappointed if this were the closest course to my house. The course is definitely worth playing to see what it is like but most of the time I'd rather go to Zboaz, Saddle Hills, or Gateway if I'm looking for 18 holes in Ft. Worth.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
JeremyKShort
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 80 played 33 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Pretty Nice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very good use of trees. Uses elevation well, and puts the creek and lake into play. Several holes where your tee drive has to go through and under trees (5 being a good example). 13 and 14 are very unique and in interesting places around the creek. A number of the baskets are elevated, making them a bit more unique.

Cons:

The layout can be very difficult to navigate, you absolutely need to bring a map with you. There is no signage outside of 1 and the course sign (I cannot understand why they go to the trouble to make a nice course with nice tee pads and don't throw in the extra few $ to put in signs). The western edge of the property borders some part of town that's not the best. I was half-way scared that someone was living under the bridge that's near hole 8. There isn't a whole lot of shade during the summer, so be prepared.

Other Thoughts:

There are some fences you can throw over. Some of them border FWPD property, but others (around holes 14 -17) border a FEMA depot, which is federal property. This should be common sense, but going onto the fed property is big time bad news. They've got a phone # posted on the fence to call, please just do that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
texhop58
Experience: 21.9 years 104 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Playable 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 22, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

*usually always well maintained
*very empty course, Ive played multiple time and usually see no more then 3 or 4 players on it
*concrete tees
*easy lay out to get around
*good parking area
*long walk=good exercise
*this is a course i take new players to so they get a feel of the game without too many obstacles, and allow them to take time to play
*baskets in good shape
*considering land area, they have put together a decent 18 hole course
*alot of open holes to let disc "fly"

Cons:

*repition, variety does come until final few holes
*community center, so kids/families may be on holes 1, 15,18 (always seems to be somebody fishing by basket 18)
*can become challenging on windy days (really no wind block)
*fence along 16/17, there is a number to call to get disc back, but be prepared to wait on security guard
*almost never get to play 18th hole, as there is always someone around basket

Other Thoughts:

great first course for new players
*does have a little creek that comes into play on several holes, but not deep enough to loose disc
---i saw on previous post that IOM, put it in, since its the course closes to home, would like to know how to get in contact maybe donate
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
cosmic womb
Experience: 74 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

This ain't no country club. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 31, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Another course to play, baskets to throw at. I have a hard time complaining about something that is free and without the hard work of an individual to make the best and turn nothing into something, wouldn't exist.

Cons:

People complaining without knowledge of how a course was put in or who worked hard to see more baskets go in the ground even though the land available was ok at best. This isn't a country club.

Other Thoughts:

When things like the lack of trees is brought up, don't be stupid, want more trees go buy some and plant them yourself or shut up. Fort Worth didn't do squat IOM did it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.7 years 131 played 115 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 20, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is an OK course at best, and there are alot of things that make it that way. The baskets are discatchers which are my favorite so thats a big bonus, thats about it. The concrete tees are nice except for the fact that they are very short. Very well kept course and very clean for the most part. There are a couple of very neat holes that make the game interesting and change it up a little. The elevation is a change and it used to the max! This course is very righty/lefty friendly due to it being pretty open and is beginner friendly for the most part as well. The pin placement makes you think on just about every hole, as there is some sort of OB/hazard nearby.

Cons:

The tee signs or lack there of are a big hit! This makes navigation a kick in the shorts unless you have a map that is provided on here. There are a couple of "gimicky" holes out here that make it a little meh to me. For those that like not thinking about shots will not like it because almost every hole out there has OB within 30-40 of the pin. Some of that OB looks like it can be bad if the water is up or after a big rain. Crossing the creek over and over, not only for the hole but, to go to the next tee/hole gets very redundant and boring. That navigation looks like it could be nasty after a rain, as it was a little today and it hasnt rained in awhile. The water behind 18 is NASTY!

Other Thoughts:

Not bad if you are in the area but there are way better courses nearby that are way more worthy of a visit. Not a bad course and I have seen well worse. I was hoping for a little more but was disappointed just a bit. Will probably hit this up again when Im in the area and have time to kill. The effort of the city to do this park is awesome, just would like a little more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
tland447
Experience: 13.3 years 6 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hard 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-challenging
-many chances for aces
-away from playground
-driving range

Cons:

-tees are too short
-the federal center is a danger
-can loose your disc in the water
-hole 18 is very close to parked cars

Other Thoughts:

I like most of the course but it is very difficult.
Hole number 17 is very hard to keep out of the federal center.(I usually skip it). There is also a driving range around the corner at the park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
andrewkh
Experience: 16.7 years 54 played 27 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-nice big park
-some big open holes
-nice rolling hills
-just enough trees to make it a challenge
-lots of birdie/ace opps

Cons:

-very windy when i was there
-grass is kind of sparse, had lots of weird skips
-summer in texas is too hot for ohioans

Other Thoughts:

this is a fun course i had the chance to play while i was stopped in the area. had alot of fun even though it was about 110 with 40 mph winds that felt even hotter
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
AequitasVeritas
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.2 years 70 played 20 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 29, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Some very difficult pin positions (#13)
-Water comes into play on a few holes
-Great ace opportunities
-Some great chances to air out some bombs
-Great locals.
-Hole 9 - Island green!

Cons:

-In a park that seems to be very busy with non disc golfers on the weekends
-Lots of poison ivy on 13-14 path
-Water is deeeeeeep

Other Thoughts:

Really well planned course. The natural terrain comes in to play quite often. Creek comes into play on quite a few holes. Bring some long pants if you are allergic to poison ivy and are not accurate with your drives. Print out the map on here if you are going to help guide your way. Some boxes kinda hide from ya.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 13
ilovedg10
Experience: 13.9 years 6 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

I DIDNT LIKE THI COURSE 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

nice course nice locations

Cons:

good signs on first two holes then no signs unless u look for em and there hard to find and it took longer to look for them then it did to play

Other Thoughts:

fix em and ill be back ortherwise i wont
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
domingomadagascar
Experience: 16.9 years 19 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beautiful park! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 2, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A beautiful park with an 18 hole course that is done very well considering the amount of space that is av. Makes for a nice solid round on calm days and becomes very difficult when the wind is blowing, which is most of the time. Nice cages that are now all there and even a practice basket. It looks like Ft. Worth is making an effort to rebuild this park and they should, because it is beautiful! I've never left here thinking "What an awesome course", but I have a good time everytime out and feel challenged everytime I throw over the pond.

Cons:

It is always windy here and the win usually blows toawaards the OBs and water sources, so before. If you take it lightly you will lose a disk or two. Two of the throws are actually over the large pond, which is challenging and fun, but also results in lost disks. They keep the grass pretty long, so I would not recommend it for our handicapped players or anyone who is physically challenged. A couple of the wholes requite climbing down stone steps. Watch out for other patrons of the park. Remember that it is a community park and is used for many different reasons.

Other Thoughts:

Great course for a quick round in a beautiful park. Not the most challenging, but a couple of holes will challenge every level of player. Most importantly, I always have fun here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
CTRobuck
Experience: 16.2 years 49 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Don't be so hard on this place 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 11, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This place is the spot if you need to get a quick fix. There is hardly ever any one out here. This makes this one of my more frequented spots.

I know it is not that challenging to some because there are no trees, but go try to play it in the WIND!!!!!! It's set up like a links course, like in regular Golf. There are no trees but you battle winds, but there are a few holes, mainly on the back, that bring trees and a bit of elevation into play.

I feel that Ft Worth will keep improving this place, and it will become a more popular disc site.

BTW, played yesterday glad to see the baskets on 2 and 4 back!!!!!! Although too bad about the gripey fisherman, I liked 18 over the water!!!!!

Cons:

*Not alot of trees

*Can get monotinous (I reccomend swithching tee boxes on different holes, you know, to mix it up)

*Holds water after BIG rains

*Can gobble up discs with water and OB

*No maps and signs incomplete (this isn't a big deal to me, seeing as how I play here 2 or 3 times a week. I do, however, see how it could be tough for a newbie to navigate around)

Other Thoughts:

All in all, I enjoy playing here. Like I said you can go 45 minutes before dusk and finish, well as long as you don't play a 5 or 6 some!!!

Also seems to have good locals, I guess I am one of 'em, I had lost a disc a few weeks back and the other day got a call from the guy who found it. Thanks for getting my Starfire back to me!!! I always return to places where there are good people!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
TxDiscGolfBoy
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.8 years 34 played 31 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Greenbriar Rundown!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-All holes have concrete pads...most have a set of them
-Makes decent use of hill side, creek, pond, and the few trees
-"island simulated" hole is a pretty good idea
-Nice park in general
-Quiet and quick round being not many play there.
-"battle of the birdies" course on a good day

Cons:

-No shade when it's hot out.
-Trees are pretty spotty
-All Year round...look out for poison ivy near the creek. Lots of it!!!
-Pretty squishy after a rain.
-Un-navigatable if you don't have a map.
-Park-goers to come in to play with the fishing and trail.

Other Thoughts:

Over all, it's a decent course. Used to be only 9 holes, but they made decent use of a long hillside and creek. There aren't a lot of trees, again, but if you're lookin' for a decent wind practice course, this is it.

I play it a lot, especially when you need a break from Z Boaz. Makes for a good round.

Go play it. Some like it, some don't. I do. Not the most challenging, but worth a 20 min drive or so.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top