New Lenox, IL

Haine's Wayside Park - Old Layout

2.385(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Haine's Wayside Park - Old Layout reviews

Filter
4 0
Jukeshoe
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.6 years 316 played 268 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Olde School 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Haine's Wayside, an early-80's course reminiscent of other Joliet-area courses such as West Park, has a good balance between open, semi-wooded, and wooded. Water comes into play nicely on a couple of holes. Most holes are well shorter than 300', reflecting the state of the game at the time of design.
- Great risk/reward on the holes with water. One pin position hugs a steep bank down to the water, while another positon reachable by RHBH hyzer yet with water left of the pin, has a more gradual bank.
- The heavily wooded holes are definitely above average. A little extra length was added on one or two, with some technical lines to be hit through the tightly spaced trees.
- Although mostly flat, the slight elevation available is used well.

Cons:

- Dirt tees can become muddy, but otherwise are in decent shape.
- The water consists of a long, fairly deep stream, probably of the drainage variety. It smells dreadful, and is deep enough to easily lose discs in, especially with the pin positions so close to the edge. Any disc you recover from the water will stink to high heaven, along with the towel you use to dry it off.
- Sketchy tee signage makes navigation a touch tricky in a few places.

Other Thoughts:

- A fun course, probably pretty good "back in the day." The balance between open, wooded, and semi-wooded, as well as the risk on the river holes, makes this a good option if you're in the area. Just don't stink up your discs in the river.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
discRabbit
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 24.9 years 1135 played 136 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Classic Oldschool Joliet 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 29, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Haine's Wayside is a course with a ton of history and oldschool flavor. Step up to the first hole and you pretty much know what you are in for: classic pitch'n putt. That said, the course does have a bunch of really fun holes with some nice tightly wooded shots and a few longer open holes that create a pretty nice mix of shots.

Cons:

Mostly, this course is just too small to really make into a reasonable challenge and maintain an 18 hole configuration. It does a pretty good job for being a birdiefest but it just doesn't have the land or terrain to improve very much. It is also just old and has become quite run-down over years of use and vandalism. The tees especially have become so worn over the years that they are just ever growing vorticies of dirt.

Another major drawback here is the mud; when it rains the open holes are going to be wet and the wooded holes are going to be really muddy.

Other Thoughts:

If you enjoy the more historical side of disc golf you'll love this park. If you are looking for a course to play for a challenge, head to the nearby Highland Park for better variety and a lot more length.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Mbagnola1
Experience: 18 years 42 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Can't We All Just Get Along? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Good elevation changes in the open fields
-Some hidden baskets
-Good use of confined space

Cons:

- Creek running along back of course smells horrible in the summer and a disc can easily fly right in there
- No tee boxs or signs.
- Nothing too exciting.
- Dense woods make for frustrating holes
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
ArcheType
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14 years 38 played 25 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Pretty Well Rounded 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The course is set up in quite a pretty park. It looks great in fall colors.

-The beginning holes, while in a field, make great use of all the elevation changes possible.

-Several of the opening holes are longer, and allow you to really let them rip.

-As you get further into the course, the shots tighten up, and while they take away distance, they do call for some more accuracy.

-This course has a nice diversity of shots needed. You have to throw left, right, and straight several times.

-It also makes great use of the river, several holes leaving you putting around it, or towards it as was always my case.

Cons:

-The tee pads weren't great, just ruts in the ground.

-This course has no tee signs to speak of.

-The river by this course smells terrible. While I've said that about other courses, this one takes the cake.

-It does have a few pretty boring short holes.

Other Thoughts:

While this course doesn't have any real amazing outstanding features, its fun all the way around. Nothing here is revolutionary or rare, but it has little bits of everything needed for a fun round of golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.7 years 569 played 284 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 16, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Course is set in a small park that has a lot of character. There is a sloping field, a nasty river, and a forest densely populated by small trees.
- Holes set in the field make decent use of the mild elevation change, with a couple of upshots and some some easy downslopes. Many of the holes have a few trees to avoid, nothing too crazy. One hole stands out as a longer uphill shot with a row of pine trees to get around.
- Holes by the river are set up well to punish overthrows. One has the creek directly behind, and another is to left of the basket on a decent RHBH hyzer line. Great risk and reward as a short drive leads to a putt towards the water.
- Great mix of holes in the forest, some lanes are pretty open with protected baskets, while others have very tight windows to hit. Okay variety of shots needed, throwing straight is key above all.

Cons:

- Biggest drawback at this course are the short holes. Vast majority are around or under 200', with only a few really needing a full power shot. Some of the holes its not that big a deal, but others are pretty bland.
- Teepads are okay when dry, tee signs are rare. Baskets are in good shape, though, and most have a number.

Other Thoughts:

- Course has some character with the water and dense woods, but the short length is really only suitable for beginners. Good practice with putters or mids for most other players, worth checking out as an easier alternative to the nearby courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
#19325
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.9 years 351 played 178 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Needs some love. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 28, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a small neighborhood park. For the most part it's flat. There is an area of pretty heavy woods. Water comes into play on a few holes.

Good variety of short shots.

There are some pretty tight wooded shots on this course.

Good beginner course.

Cons:

This course is in very bad shape. Tee pads, signs, and baskets need some work. With those improvements i'd rate this course a 3.

Short Par 54 golf.

This course can be difficult to navigate.

Seweage treatment plant nearby smells badly.

Other Thoughts:

I wouldn't suggest playing this course if you are in the Joliet Area. I'd check out Highland Park or West Park instead.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.1 years 831 played 777 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Fun, but needs some work 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a multi use park, though there isn't any real conflict with other park users. There isn't a lot of elevation, but what's there was used pretty well to add some interest. A cool creek comes into play on a few holes, which adds a great element of risk-reward.

There is a mix of ace run holes, and holes that are a little longer, though all are reachable by an average player. There is also a mix of left and right turning holes with straight shots. The open holes are mostly about shot placement to get deuces, while the more wooded holes call for technical accurate shots if you want to have shots at the basket.

The park was in good shape. There wasn't trash around, and all the grass was kept mowed and the dead limbs cleared.

Cons:

The biggest issue on the course is the maintenance of the course equipment. The baskets are rusted, and most have broken or missing chains. The signs are missing, vandalized, or so faded they are unreadable. This means that occasionally the next tee is difficult to find, or you just play a guessing game on which dirt patch to throw from.

The tees themselves are pretty bad overall. They are natural, and almost none are flat or large enough. They almost all have ruts or bumps that make for poor footing.

The course could have done a little more to make some of the open holes more interesting. Some more length, or more holes that played along/into/out of the trees would have made things a little more interesting and challenging.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a good place to play for beginning players, as there isn't too much length and there aren't too many places to lose discs. More experienced players will find some fun holes with some cool challenges here, and will likely enjoy playing this course.

The design of the course would merit a significantly higher rating if the baskets/tees/signs were in better shape. A little bit of maintenance could make this a really fun place to play. As it is, there are much better places to play in the immediate area, but it's still worth a quick round if you've got time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
trimixjoe
Experience: 14.7 years 6 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

2 holes have possible water hazard if you over throw the basket. The wooded area was great with at least 3/4 of the holes are in or with great tree coverage.

Cons:

It was my first time there and luckily we met Mathew who plays the course often and showed us all the holes otherwise we would have been so lost...signs are either not there, painted over, or vandalized...
The tees are bad and need some serious work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 3
Dave242
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 29.9 years 394 played 276 reviews
3.00 star(s)

B = Be nice but also a Bit funky 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B (Wooded holes are pretty well designed. I really liked the hole along the stream - #5?)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B (A lot of the holes are good and fun par 3's for my skill level. A few are too short.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B (A little too open for my preference - about half are wide open, and I prefer no more than 6. Makes really good use of the limited terrain)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == B- (Middle of the road - nothing special. Park is pretty much secluded and area by the stream is nice.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

Other Thoughts:

It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
WindyCityROCer
Experience: 19 years 27 played 13 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Is this the same park as 2 years ago? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course is set in an alright multi-use park. Having said that, Hole 1 is really the only conflict, as there's a pavilion and volleyball courts to left of fairway. The course is about 1/3 open, 1/3 wooded, 1/3 creekside/in-out of woods. The creek holes are actually my favorite part of the course..... #4 plays a little downhill wide open to a pin @ 10ft in front of creek on a fast green. Fifth hole is a pinpoint hyzer through a v/y tree to a pin even closer to the creek. The sixth hole, well, used to be cool (see cons). While the course has natural tees, most are in good shape. The wooded holes are alright (nothing compared to West Park 10 min away) they play back and forth, and don't have much (if any) underbrush... losing discs isn't really an issue.

Cons:

THE CONDITION.... almost ALL the tee signs are faded/vandalized into unreadable. Some of the tees (off the top of my head, #5 need SERIOUS work). A lot of the baskets are showing their age (rust) and wear (unfortunately looks like vandalism). The course routing itself, brings a number of back and forth holes into play... it's almost best to let a group ahead get 3-4 holes ahead to avoid throwing into them. Distance isn't a factor on this course, If I remember correctly, there's 3 maybe 4 holes over 300' and not by much. Hole 6, the last "creek" hole has had the basket moved from the left side (the creek) to the right (woods) I believe it uses the same tee, although the sign was missing along with the markers, the basket is now literally less than 10 feet from #8 basket, which is (8) an almost blind L>R shot down a tree lined alley (ie major safety hazard)

Other Thoughts:

After taking a break from DG for 2 years, I was SHOCKED at the condition of the course when I returned to it. This course should be a 3, but not in it's current state. Now, all dissection aside, it IS a fun course to play if passing through, or looking for a quick round, I certainly would NOT plan a trip to it. I'd love to see some work done on this course to get it back to what it once was.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
MDethCKR
Experience: 16.1 years 53 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Terri-Bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 1, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Short range for beginners but...not much else?
Only takes about an hour for 2-3 people.

Cons:

As stated already, tee signs are now white and gangstalicious. Bad design - all you hear is 'fore' the entire course. The crap creek...behind the course is waste-water treatment, and you can tell. Don't even bother approaching two or three holes - not worth it!

Other Thoughts:

Good beginner course however - go with somebody who has been there before!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
phishinit9
Experience: 16.9 years 4 played 2 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

not to many pros, if you want a quick game then this is is a good place.

Cons:

The baskets are smaller than the typical baskets. Also today basket on hole 6 was not there. way to many holes in conjested forest, not to mention the shit creek on the left of holes 3-6. overall not one of my fav courses, but i would still go back to play every once in a while. also the signs act as no help to where your supose to throw the disc, or how long the hole is. if kept in better shape it would be a pretty decent course.

Other Thoughts:

In a public park, so children can run around the course while your playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
omishbeard48
Experience: 17 years 15 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent Local Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 4, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Good if you are in a hurry, or are playing more courses.
-Some variety in shots with large trees and some narrow fairways.
-Excellent for beginners.
-Confidence builder!!!

Cons:

-Next to sewage treatment plant
-Signs are terrible.
-After rain hole 7 usually floods as well as OB to right on hole 9 and 10.
-Someone took out baskets for hole 4 and 6 leaving only hole 5 with a creek hazard

Other Thoughts:

It is a great local course where tons of people can go to have fun. If it had some upkeep on signs and tee's it would be a nice course. If you are passing by on way to Highland or West Park, stop at Haines for a quick game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
jdunk03
Experience: 17.3 years 22 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

short and done 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

good to learn on can get done in under an hour water fountian on course pinic tables good time

Cons:

lot of people play on this short course back ups during pick hours. holes 4 and 5 have water damage and can lose ur disc if u go long

Other Thoughts:

no one really takes care of it could be so much more
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Kinzoku
Experience: 17 years 3 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fun course, not very challenging, 6 open holes, 6 wooded, 6 half woods half open.

Cons:

Sewage treatment plant runoff within 10 feet of holes 4 and 5. Park includes playground and volleyball pit which has gotten me in trouble once or twice.

Other Thoughts:

Not my favorite course, but definitely not the worst i have played. The graffiti, while often comical, is still an eyesore. In particular hole 9.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
ForehandMAN36
Experience: 21.7 years 192 played 13 reviews
2.00 star(s)

What happened? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 31, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* Gravel pits for tee pads
* Balanced mix of open/wooded holes as well as righty/lefty shots
* a creek comes into play on holes # 4,5,and 6. Don't overshoot the basket!

Cons:

* Missing tee signs. Every tee sign that is left had the fiberglass cover broken and is now covered in graffiti!
* 1/2 the baskets are beginning to rust

Other Thoughts:

What happened to this course? Just a few years ago this used to be one of my favorite courses to play. It's just sad to see people ruin the tee signs like that. New Lenox park should fix the signs and think about replacing some of the baskets. I think it's safe to say I have thrown my last disc on this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Sam1607
Experience: 3 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

oooo oooo that smell 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

pretty decent shots all around, some shots average distance, some long distance, nice short straight shot to get you into the woods, right after this hole theres a good spot to take a short break on some big logs.

Cons:

the smell from the stream or whatever it is sometimes can be terrible, after the flooding we had here the waters been moving a little more so it smells less because its not stagnant. last time i played i encountered a snake in the woods, a good 2 feet in length, got about 10 feet away from it and it started comin at me trying to bite me...damn snake.
There's a park, a little 'baseball diamond', a picnic pavillion and a volleyball pit, so theres a chance there will be people and small children in the way. New Lenox Cops SUCK!

Other Thoughts:

pretty good course all in all, watch out for snakes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top