Newberg, OR

Herbert Hoover Park

Permanent course
2.975(based on 32 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Herbert Hoover Park reviews

Filter
6 0
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 212 played 197 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 25, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

+ It looks like this course has been modified a couple times since it was originally installed. There were a couple unused tee pads that threw me off, but this just indicates to me that there's a community here that keeps evolving the course to make it better.

+ Course navigation was very intuitive. The arrows on the baskets pointing to the next tee made things pretty straight forward.

+ Course equipment was solid. Each tee had a map with distances and where the basket is and the baskets are DISCatchers, which are my personal favorite.

+ Fun ace runs. For anyone that's been playing a while, each of these will be reachable with a midrange. It's a fun little deuce or die or ace run course. Fun for beginners through advanced players.

+ Area was well maintained and generally inviting. It's a nice park all around.

+ Elevation changes add a lot of fun factor to the course.

Cons:

- A couple longer holes would have been fun. I'm not sure there was anything more than 250'.

- A couple of the tees are pretty close to the prior basket.

Other Thoughts:

In summary, this was a pretty fun course to play on my way from Portland to the west coast. I'd recommend it to players of any skill level looking to get in a quick 9 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 6
Kirkbetz
Experience: 36 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 13, 2022 Played the course:once

Other Thoughts:

I played on a dry day perfect weather. Lots up up and down. There is a creek but retrieval isn't to bad. The park is beautiful. Baskets and holes easy to find. Not all tees have cement pads. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.8 years 191 played 189 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course plays down in a bowl. Good map kiosk near hole 1. Nice tee signs on each hole. Some good elevation change for just a 9 hole course.
Hole 1 is a fun downhill shot near the road
Hole 2 is a good uphill shot showcasing the parks bowl shape
Creek runs through the park and may come into play. It's fairly deep in some spots...but adds a nice obstacle to the course itself.
Lots of ace run chances and is a great course for new players who can walk up and down hillsides
Almost every pin is visible from Teebox and can be ace ran.

Cons:

Hole 5s teepad is pointing the wrong way and towards 6s pin. I'm sure it being in a bowl it's probably pretty muddy and unplayable during the winter months. Some of the holes have natural tee pads still that aren't well defined and very slippery.

Other Thoughts:

You can tell this place has underwent a few layout changes.as there's old pads in some places. I'm sure the locals use them to do some fun safari shots. Make sure to park in parking lot by hole 1 otherwise you might get a little loss
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
HyooMac
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.7 years 409 played 379 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A tight little city course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 2, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

+ A great little 9 hole find in a city park
+ My second time through, my buddy and I played it in under 30 minutes
+ Good use of the terrain

Cons:

- A little bit neglected
- Some people don't like to walk up and down hills. If that's you, this course isn't for you!
- Other reviewers have warned about flooding and I imagine the place gets very wet. I was lucky and played mid-summer with no problems.

Other Thoughts:

- These are short holes so you're playing "point and shoot" disc golf. As long as you come in with that expectation, you'll enjoy this course:

Hole 1: Decide how you're going to play the big tree: low and close, or a big hyzer around it.

Hole 3 is way off to the right (not the basket right in front of you). A nice test of an anny or a RHFH that can use the elevation to fade a long way.

Hole 4 is a fun hole - just avoid the trees and the poles. There's a good line for RHFH.

Hole 5 is hurt by how overgrown everything is, and your teeshot may need some luck. But I found the real challenge is created by the two big pine trees on the approach. So think about placing your teeshot to take them out of play on your second shot.

Hole 6 is the longest hole. It plays great in the summer, but I imagine it's a complete mess when it's wet.

Hole 7 takes you shooting back across the ravine again. Birdie run!

Hole 8 is a "keyhole" shot, and the best way I found to play it was to throw a thumber through the opening, and let the elevation take care of the distance. And you'd rather be long than short on this hole, because short can be wet.

Hole 9 is a nice finish back up the hill. Watch out for throwing it too high and watching it fade most of the way back down the hill!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
royvin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7.7 years 188 played 65 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Enjoyable course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 21, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

-elevation change
-short holes, great for beginners
-pretty park setting with a stream winding its way throughout
-signs at the tee pads and course map at hole 1
-parking right by hole 1
-nice baskets with vandal-proof arrows on the cages showing way to next tee pad

Cons:

-fairways are parallel in a couple spots which could cause trouble on a busy day
-course gets soggy in the rainy season
-a few of the tee pads are just the ground next to the sign.. probably quite slippery when wet
-there are at least 2 holes where the basket position doesn't match the sign
-hole 5's tee pad is not facing the basket
-not stroller friendly

Other Thoughts:

This place is much improved since my last visit 2 years ago!
Notable improvements: No more blind holes, not as much confusion about how to find the next tee pad, no more crossing fairways, and the ankle-breaking holes in the fairways have been filled in. I also feel like the 3 foot deep stream comes into play more- I like the added challenge.. we only managed to land in there twice!
A couple other notes: There is a decent playground area near the start of course and the park sits adjacent to the Herbert Hoover House.. if you like visiting historic houses.
The people of Newberg are fortunate having two nice 9 hole courses in town with Champoeg State Park just a few miles away!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.8 years 89 played 85 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Looks Good In Pictures, Not In Person 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 19, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

-This is a 9 hole course in a pretty park near downtown Newberg, Oregon. The course plays up and down the hills surrounding a small creek.
-There are lots of fun shots. Uphill, downhill, hyzer, anhyzer, this course fits it all into just 9 holes. I believe every hole except 6 had elevation change. It makes the most of the small property.
-There's a sign with a map near the first tee.

Cons:

-This course looks great in pictures, also from the first tee. But after that, it is a mess.
-First, there are serious flooding issues. The holes at the bottom of the valley are muddy even in summertime.
-There's a huge swampy area right in front of the third basket. My disc just had to land right in the middle of it.
-There's no signage at all, or numbers on baskets. Multiple baskets are often in view from a tee and the fairways of holes 4 and 6 cross. The course was all around poorly designed.
-The teepads of holes 4 and 9 were simply patches of dirt.
-The baskets were the very old Discatchers. The chains were rusted and did not catch well. A few of the baskets were tilted, too.
-Hole 8 may be the worst hole I've ever played. It's straight downhill, and the tree branches are too low to afford any look at the basket. Plus, the creek is right in front of the basket, very easy to slide into.
-The creek that winds through the course is small, but it is deep, still, rich with algae, and stinks. Fishing a disc out of the creek would be no fun. Plus, dangerous looking red and yellow bugs seem to nest in it. .

Other Thoughts:

-It's a shame a course in a pretty park like this is neglected. It certainly needs a lot of work.
-It wouldn't be great to be a disc golfer in Newberg. You have two courses in town, neither of them very nice. If I lived here I would play at Champoeg State Park across the river. If you're in the area, Champoeg is much more worth your time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
colink
Experience: 8.8 years 136 played 9 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Nice city course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Nice park setting
Concrete tees
Not too long
Nice variation in elevation.
The planned water hazards and trees are used to good effect.

Cons:

The course floods so badly in the winter that it moved a 10 foot long bridge 75 feet down the small creek. As of April 6, there's 4-5 inches of standing water in the fairway for hole 3.
No tee signs.
Basket markings are old and faded.
If the last two were fixed I would definitely bump up the rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
volklaero
Experience: 9.7 years 10 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Park like 9 hole course in Downtown Newberg 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 17, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Recent redesign with brand new discgolfpark Innova baskets, tee signs and new course map in the works!This to me is a fun course. Its not terribly difficult, but requires some touch on a few shots, and good accuracy on most.Park like setting. Easy to play a quick 9 or play twice through. Can play path, rock wall, creek and landscaping / logs as ob, making the course a nice challenge for advanced players.Hard to lose a disc.

Cons:

No tee signage or Hole 1 sign. Layout can be slightly confusing the first time through. Hole 8. Play it, I just don't like this hole.

Other Thoughts:

Parking is found on River road just off 99w. 1st tee pad is right next to the parking and kids playground and plays down the hill, to the left. Hole two goes back up the hill to the far basket (some people mistakenly play 9's basket on 2). Three is the elevated tee playing over the fairway, then it is mostly straight forward from there. Easy to play as a circuit with nearby Ewing Young park which has 12 holes. Champoeg is about 10 minutes away as well. Ive only played in the dry months as Ive heard about flooding issues in the winter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Rakoz
Experience: 19.8 years 33 played 8 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 6, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Short
-Quick Play when not crowded
- Elevation Change

Cons:

- Crowded
- Floods
- Unplayable many months out of the year

Other Thoughts:

Thanks for the park but often too crowded or flooded. Luckily there is another decent park nearby. Don't ever set your heart on playing it before you get there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
Murdoc Loch
Experience: 19.7 years 62 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Elevated Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The course is in a beautiful park and makes great use of little space.
-Great use of elevation, retaining walls, streams and bridges.
-These are fun holes, albeit short, very fun.
-Cement teepads are another nice addition to this short and fun course.
-Nice short variety for only having nine holes and fairly RHBH/LHBH balanced.

Cons:

-Holes four and six have crossing fairways.
-Many of the baskets are crooked.
-Some of the teepads are not level and when muddy are very slippery.
-This course has no tee signs
-Hole five's teepad is about 45 degrees clockwise of where it should be.

Other Thoughts:

-Gets pretty slippery when wet out here, watch your step.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Thrival Time
Experience: 9 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Good use of elevation, but safety issues and confusing holes are frustrating 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 27, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good use of elevation changes (fairly balanced w/flat, uphill, and downhill holes).

Creek presents an interesting water hazard.

Some holes will require different types of shots (ex: using overhand shots to tee off holes 5 and 8, will suggest mixing up forehands and backhands).

Cons:

No sinage and missing pieces on the map makes it difficult for me to locate the holes.

Lack of trees to separate fairways and no mandos or sinage will require you to yell fore if other people are playing on the course, because stray discs can easily cross more than one hole's fairway.

Hole 2 and hole 9 both have baskets in relatively the same flight path from the hole 2 tee pad. Without sinage, mandos, and the hole 9 basket being too close (compared to the hole 2 basket), I even got a "black par" with the hole 9 basket and had to redo the hole the 2nd time I was at this park. Also, inadvertent hyzers or annys will get you closer to hole 9's basket from that tee pad.

Hole 3 and hole 5 do not have the tee pads set up in a way that lets you see the basket while leaves are still on the trees (sinage would resolve this issue).

Blackberry bushes and underbrush are pretty thick with hole 5 and hole 8, lost a disc on hole 5 when the throw bounced off some trees and could not see where it went after that.

Flat hole tee pads are slippery and during wet conditions, unplayable (also slipped and fell on the hole 7 tee pad).

Be careful while running up while teeing off on hole 3, there is a steep downhill slope after the cinder blocks holding up the tee pad.

Saw some bums sleeping on the course during summertime (close to the hole 5 basket).

Had a bad experience with some obnoxious "trophy locals," did not encounter this at other courses in the area.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, elevation is good, but if you don't live fairly close to Newberg or want to play all the courses in the area, skip this course. It has the potential to be a 3 star 9 hole course, but that will have to wait for signage and (if possible), redesigning some holes. If you have to just pick one course close by, go with Ewing or Champoeg instead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Beginner 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a pretty small city park, which has a walking path but not much else going on. The only possible interference is most likely going to be from other disc golfers.
- Decent amount of trees here, as well as a small section of forest, to force some tricky lines. #1 has a tree to go under or around, and #4 and #6 have a smattering of skinny trees to avoid. #3 and #8 are both pretty similar, a blind RHFH flick shot around woods. #7 shoots up into a clearing in the forest, while #5 is a hyzer with a couple gaps to hit off the tee.
- Pretty good elevation changes here as well, which appear even more extreme due to shorter hole lengths. #2 and #9 play up a steep hill, and #7 is definitely uphill as well. #3 and #8 are the more extreme downhill shots, and #1 and #5 are noticeable as well.
- Water hazards come into play in the form of a small creek. Four of the holes cross it; #4 and #8 are closer to the basket than the tee, while #6 and #7 have the creek closer to the tee. It's easy to avoid getting wet without much difficulty, but it's a possibility.
- Nice pads, baskets are old but are fine. The map in front is plenty good for navigation.

Cons:

- Since the park is so small, a lot of the holes are extremely crammed together. Some fairways cross (#4 and #6), lots of potential close calls. Always keep an eye peeled for errant (and not so errant shots) from other places.
- Because of that, hole lengths here are on the very short side, with an average of 218'. Some play a little longer due to elevation changes, but it's still small.

Other Thoughts:

- Well, this course has some good features, and some bad features. The holes, though short, are pretty interesting and have decent variety. Different lines and elevation changes help out a ton. But, the short distances, and the crammed layout, really take away from the quality. Best suited for beginners, or a quick round for more experienced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
mbressler13
Experience: 11.9 years 50 played 26 reviews
2.50 star(s)

My Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Quick Par 27
-Quiet a few ace runs
-Good set up for lefties
-Good course for beginners & families
-Hills make for good workout while playing
-Course is well maintained
-Tee pads are decent.
-Baskets are old innova, but still catch fine.

Cons:

-Can get pretty cramped during peak hours of summer
-Holes are relatively short, only one hole is close to 300 feet.
-Water builds up on tee pad 6 and other areas of the course. During wet season, its pretty much a mud hole at the bottom of the valley.
-Holes often cross over each other, which makes for some pretty unsafe throws.
-No bathrooms on the property.

Other Thoughts:

This is the first course I ever played being that I live close by. Course is definitely for beginners and/or people wanting to get a quick round in. All holes are shorter than 300 feet so you could play a round with minimal discs. Holes 3 and 8 are my favorite. The course flows pretty well. Take a look at the kiosk at the top of the hill to get acquainted with how the course flows. This is a good course to go out and practice your putter drives off tee or midrange game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
MCW5379
Experience: 12.8 years 61 played 23 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 20, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Usesthe small area very well. Basically it's in a small valley. So lots of elevation changes. Park cared for well.

Cons:

Two holes (4&6) cross paths so be aware of that. DO NOT GO LEFT ON 5!, heavy blackberries on a steep hill = lost disc.

Other Thoughts:

3 tee is blind so make sure no one is at the hole before throwing. Really like the land usage! I'll be back! Smaller course but fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
mpacker5
Experience: 11.8 years 33 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 2, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great for beginners, fun for the more seasoned.
Diverse holes, down hill, up hill, hyzer, anhyzer you name it. Shorter holes good for beginners to gain confidence and become more familier with their drives.

Cons:

Often muddy. The park can be crowded at times and due to the fact that the course overlaps quite a bit, this can be a problem.

Other Thoughts:

Look out for the creek running down the middle, I've found lost discs more often than not in the murky water.

Update: Visited Oregon over Christmas(2013) and had a blast playing the courses around here. Herbert Hoover will always be a favorite.
I take my in-laws, who don't play unless I take them, this is one of their favorite courses as well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 2
JR Stengele
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.8 years 251 played 191 reviews
2.50 star(s)

HH Park - Unique and Quaint! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 5, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Established in 1998, Herbert Hoover Park contains a beautiful nine hole course within a heavily wooded gully located in the quaint city of Newberg, Oregon. What this course lacks in difficulty it makes up for in creativity, with plenty of elevation and OB's due to a meandering stream that runs along the bottom of the course.

What makes this course so inviting, with the exception of holes #4 and #6, is the way the designer incorporated elevation in to every hole. HH has a nice balance and shot variety, with three anhyzers, one hyzer, and five holes that are straight forward. Holes are all Par 3 and range anywhere from 177 to 295 feet, making the course length 1,909 feet. The DISCatcher baskets are durable, well maintained, and include black spray painted numbers on the top to help with course navigation.

The course seemed to be clean and well maintained. The local club and parks dept. seem to put a lot of time and effort in to the upkeep. The cinder blocks around a few of the tees was a nice addition as well. Locals seemed friendly and energetic.

Favorite hole/s: #7 and #8

Cons:

Because the course was installed at the bottom of a heavily wooded gully in the Pacific Northwest rainfall and mud can be a major issue. I imagine the course can become unplayable during the wetter months due to improper irrigation and elevation. Fortunately, there are a few other terrific courses nearby.

Most of the cement tee pads are in excellent shape with the exception of tee's four and six, which get swallowed during the wet season by the nearby marsh. Tee pad five is pointing the wrong direction as well, making players throw across the tee.

Hole #6 can be a hazard as well, having players throw across the fairway of hole #4. Just beware of pedestrians and other dgers.

Worst hole/s: #6

Other Thoughts:

HH Park is the perfect place for disc golfers to learn the sport of disc golf considering the longest hole is around 300 feet. Most players here use a putter and mid or maybe a fairway driver at most. With Herbert Hoover Park, along with Ewing Young and Champoeg (just right down the road within 15 minutes), they make for a complete round and offer great variety. Although individually they might not be championship caliber courses compared to their big brother courses in the Portland area (like Milo or Pier), together they provide some quality disc golf and make for the perfect day!

NOTE:
This is also the hometown of where our 31st president Herbert Hoover spent his childhood.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 14
gethi.letitfli
Experience: 15 years 8 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

PRESIDENTIAL! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 24, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

alot of people play her in the summer. watch out for the locals, dont get in there way.

Cons:

this course is short and alot of fun.watch out for discs flying towards your dome piece!

Other Thoughts:

ya...ive seen blood shed at hoover.

sorry people i was drunk when i wrote this review so it came across a bit harsh, im not going to change what i wrote tho because its true, in mid summer this place gets packed, so keep a fast pace or people will get pissed, iv litrally seen blood shed at hole 5 by someone that wasnt moving fast enough. its a great course with short drives and good elevation changes awesome for beginners, i mean this is where i learned how to play. but if you cant throw and the parking lot is full chances are your just gonna be getting in the way.cool thing about newberg is that there are 3 courses all within 10 miles of each other. go play a round at ewing or champoeg and wait for the crowd to die down.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 13
CaptianTrilogy
Experience: 19 years 81 played 11 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Muddy but Amazing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 12, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Well placed holes, challenging shots, awesome layout, calm environment. This is a great 9 hole course for anyone. Herbert Hoover is a must play for anyone in the Portland Metro area.

Cons:

Always muddy and down in a bowl so wind can be an issue...

Other Thoughts:

GO PLAY THIS COURSE!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
Miles Barow
Experience: 8 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun little course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 13, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Lots of up and down/ creative holes.
-9 holes takes about 20 minutes to play.
-several hole in one opportunities.
-great for beginners.

Cons:

-Very muddy in the winter.
-Friendly park=lots of pedestrians.
-hole #5 is a disc eater I recommend having a friend stay at bottom of hill to make sure you know where your disc lands.

Other Thoughts:

Love playing it also if your going to play there you might as well play Shampoeg park course 5 miles out towards St. Paul.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 12
innova disc golfer
Experience: 14.2 years 10 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Cool Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

a fun course to play with nicely placed holes. I have played here almost every day for the past 2 months and i love this course.

Cons:

Floods bad during winter, Often verry muddy.

Other Thoughts:

If you havent played here before, i would definately try to soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top