• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Flower Mound, TX

Heritage Park DGC

3.95(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Heritage Park DGC reviews

Filter
12 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.4 years 437 played 434 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A true par 3 challenge

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 6, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Big concrete tee pads at every hole
- These Veteran baskets are in great shape and look cool
- A good test of many par 3 holes, birdies aren't assured out here
- Lots of trouble off the fairway punishes bad shots very well
- Land usage it outstanding, took a lot of creativity and vision to make 18 hole difficult holes out here without running into other fairways or park users
- Decent mix of semi open and wooded holes
- Many baskets are in high positions, little cliffs at times and knowing where the problem areas to avoid off the tee are key to keeping scores down, a course you learn more about the more you play it
- Little white arrows built into the bottom of the baskets point you in the general vicinity of the next tee pad
- The creek comes into play many times through out the course
- Excellent use of elevation, most courses in the area are on the flatter side

Cons:

- I felt like RHBH players were rewarded more often and rarely found myself throwing a RHFH here. Even on the holes with a left to right slant most of the danger was on the right side thus RHBH turnover that fades at the end is still safer than a LHBH or RHFH hyzer
- No par 4 holes out there and the listed par 4 holes are just being generous
- I played with locals from DGCR so I didn't have to worry about navigation but we had more than one group come up to us and ask where a specific holes would be
- Many walks between holes and some sections not great for those of us with ankle or knee issues
- Although this course seems better than other DFW courses there is still litter on the course which takes away from the aesthetic experience IMO

Other Thoughts:

I've said it on all of my reviews in this area but it's still true: another really good course in the DFW area. This is a really good one for those who like elevation and challenging par 3 holes. This is a place that will be well received by the vast majority of disc golfers out there. I place it below the S tier courses in the area but this is a good course that is fun and challenging.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 1
Shallows
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 3.5 years 119 played 20 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Much to commend and some to take issue with 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 21, 2022 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-High level course designed by Eric McCabe that will test you to the fullest. Centrally located within the DFW area that's very professionally designed but less busy than some of the other old standbys.

-Masterful use of elevation, with some thrillingly short par 4s that require careful landing zones uphills and some humblingly long par 3s where you gotta punch it downhill with all you got and hope you don't turn over. In DFW in particular this complexity of elevation is a real treat.

-Veteran baskets, beautiful tee signs, well kept fairways and walking paths.

-A nice mix of real nature and gentle park feel. Does the utmost with what it's got. A few holes track along a decently sized river that will hurt your scorecard but not steal your discs if you've got good boots or a retreiver.

-Will test every shot in your bag, perhaps to a fault? There are a few holes that really feel like trick shot holes ala Veterans in Arlington.

Cons:

-It's a challenging course. Which is a plus overall but the course would really benefit from some short tees. An even round on current course is rated a little over 950+, it'd be nice to have a shorter option for different skill levels. Would also be helpful to encourage beginner players to have a faster route to play through the course to prevent backups.

-The rough is real rough in parts and many baskets are on uneven terrain with potential for rollaways. Plenty of places where a bad tee shot forces you to pitch out backwards and more than a couple greens where your drive gets within 15 ft but still end up with a bogey after some rollaway putts.

-Some parts of the course are wonderfully ensconced in the local wilderness, but 4 or 5 holes are just on the back end of a suburban development. Good opportunities to really let some discs rip but you definitely miss that nature feeling.

-Drainage seems like it may be an issue after a rain (which I suppose is rare here), there are some makeshift solutions to muddy pathways and flooding.

-As other reviews have mentioned, there are a disproportionate amount of lefty doglegs, so tune up your RHBH or LHFH.

-Keep your UDISC satellite on hand as signage from tee to tee is unclear.

Other Thoughts:

Ultimately a terrific challenge that is a blast to play even if you're not going to be pleased with your score. It's very difficult. Many of the holes take an absolutely special drive to get a chance of birdieing and many greens are full of danger in terms of obstacles or rollaway potential. I'm a little at a lost for what to suggest...the pars aren't so stringent that I think the holes are unfairly scored or would be worth considering raising the par, it's just that they're all a little too challenging in one small way or another and it adds up to quite a difficult day. I think having some short tees where the distances are reduced by 30-45 ft would do a world of difference.

That said, it's a wonderful offering to the local scene, as it's use of elevation is inspired, and many of the holes are truly special shots that will keep you up at night trying to solve or reminiscing on your crush.

Highlights:
-Hole 2 seems like an easy uphill throw, but if you end up short you're gonna have to lay up for par and God help you if you go long as you'll drop 20 ft down and 20 ft long.
-Hole 7 is a nice par 4 with a tricky placement shot on your drive. Do you just try to get through the gap with a putter and then go long on your approach or do you throw a big old stall anhyzer over everything to try to get halfway there?
-Hole 9 is a puzzle. A LHFH flex is probably most natural but maybe a RH can throw a flex and get it to work? 90% of the good drives will end up in a ditch and you're laying up for par as running it and missing leaves a long uphill comeback with plenty of ninja branches.
-Holes 10-13 are a bunch of fun, with tight gaps and plenty of danger. If you escape +1 or +2 count yourself lucky. Hopefully nothing kicks right into the river.
-Hole 18 requires a short placement shot to the bottom of a severe hill, but your approach better crest the hill and then some, as the basket is up high and further back than you would expect. Stay left on your drive and maybe you can play a forehand over the hill to skip up to the basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
Clarbret
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Not as good as people say 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 24, 2021 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good technical wooded course for right handed throwers. Tight lines. I really do not have many pros.

Cons:

Where to start?

Needs better signage from hole to hole as it is easy to get lost with-in the trails scattered throughout. Weather has eroded the surfaces creating unsafe walkways through the water run off. Hole 5 to 6 is very dangerous.

I feel like they really missed with this course as it favors Right hand dominate players. If you are a back hand dominate lefty, go elsewhere, do not waste your time.

Most to all shots are blind doglegs come with a spotter for first few times.

Other Thoughts:

Bill Allen or Old man for the win... If you have the time hit Cedar Hill
Was this review helpful? Yes No
21 1
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Heritage Park DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 23, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Heritage Park was a fantastic course. Great teesigns, Veteran baskets and challenging holes. Really challenging course that makes you consistently put shots together to shoot well. There are also not too many holes that are makable in 2 shots so you really have to take advantage of your opportunities to counter balance the 4's you take throughout the round. Eric does a really nice job of making use of all the land he had to work with. Lots of elevation, tight wooded shots, a creek, blindshots. In terms of the elevation, there are downhill shots, uphill, up and over ridges as well. Really nicely done. Heritage lets you bring out all the discs in your bag of tricks with RHBH, RHFH, flex shots etc.. Pedestrians don't really come into play during the course besides 16 and 17 but the sidewalk is literally 5 feet in front of you so obvious if someone is approaching. Course is centrally located, where it is easily accessible for people across the metroplex.

Cons:

Navigation was an issue for first time course goers like myself. Hole 1 to hole 2 was a little confusing. I was looking at the map provided on the site and saw it was across the street. Not realizing you could go underneath the bridge opposed to crossing the street. I figured it out when coming back when going from 17 to 18. Another navigation issue I ran into was after hole three, there was a red sign that said hole 4 this way (over the bridge) I followed it not realizing that was for the alternative 9 hole course. Thankfully, I ran into some other players and they accurately directed me to 4's teepad. There are also quite a few holes you have to run halfway up the fairway to see where the basket is located (but this is also fun shots since it is different than most courses in DFW). A few more RHFH shots would of been a nice touch as well.

The only other thing I can think of, is after a rain some of the holes would be really difficult going up and down the elevation. Course may not be playable at that point.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this is a fantastic course, I will definitely play it again. The few cons that I mentioned above won't really matter in the future for me as I will know how to navigate the course and where the baskets are located. I look forward to better taking advantage of the opportunities I provided myself. This is one of the better courses in the metroplex. I can see this becoming one I play pretty frequently.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
22 1
dgaficionado
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 34.1 years 282 played 37 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Ambitious, Adventurous Design Amid Rugged Terrain

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 1, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great design cuts a demanding route amidst walking trails and creek.
+ abundance of trees mixed with elevation changes offer a considerable challenge
+ course demands both power and finesse shots
+ excellent use of available land bordering wooded creek
+ helpful arrows in bottom of baskets show direction to next hole
+ well maintained, especially considering rough terrain

Cons:

Several tough roughs and blind shots increase difficulty and frustration.
- blind tee shots on roughly two-thirds of holes require familiarity with course or need to walk fairways to find baskets
- ubiquity of blind shots plus challenging terrain increases odds of losing sight of throws, thus requiring additional time to find discs
- punishing roughs, especially downhill roughs, on several holes can be unforgiving
- often crowded due to its popularity
- basket on #15 sits dangerously close to roadway
- awkward transitions between a few holes (#1-2, #14-15 & #17-18) for those unfamiliar with layout

Other Thoughts:

INFO
Park land suitable mainly for hiking trails due to its varied terrain was reimagined to create a dedicated disc golf course that now lies on the outskirts of ball fields and a dog park, beside runoff creeks, within copious stands of trees and between meandering sidewalks. The course starts near the entrance of Heritage Park and quickly crosses under Garden Ridge Blvd to continue with hole #2. Subsequent holes proceed northward alongside a shallow creek and then turn around on the other side to ribbon back and forth until finally returning under the boulevard to finish with hole #18.

EVAL
Distinctive stone tee box signs appropriately introduce players to the rugged terrain of this ambitious course and its adventurous design by Eric McCabe. Holes progress up and down gullies, over meadows and between trees with interesting elevation changes not only from hole to hole but also down several fairways. Fairways play longer than expected thanks both to these elevation challenges and the plethora of trees on most every hole. Rounds of play test straight drives and shaped shots, long throws and short shots plus everything in between. It's a small hike to walk this course and a big challenge to throw it well. This is an exciting course with many nooks and crannies to explore, especially when throws go wide of intended targets.

NOTE
This 18-hole course doubles as a 9-hole course by designating holes #1-3 and #13-18 as an alternate layout for a shorter 9-hole round. Actual layout of hole #15 differs from its tee sign description: the layout is now a dogleg right shot. (Apparently, the sign was printed before the layout was finalized.)

LAYOUT
The first hole, a tree-lined hallway with its basket set off to the left, leads toward a boulevard across which the course continues. (A path downhill from #1 leads under a bridge to #2's tee.) Hole #2 is a blind, uphill, dogleg left shot into woods with the potential for rollaways downhill off to the left. At the bottom of the hill, short hole #3 exits the trees. The next three holes #4-6 follow along an open path for maintenance vehicles beside a shallow creek and ends with a throw across a bend in the creek to an uphill green. (A short walk along the ramped sidewalk on the other side of the creek leads to the next hole.)

Hole #7 opens up past an initial narrow gap between trees into a wide, grassy basin beside a ball field. Hole #8 stays in the open and throws across a drainage ditch, whereas #9 returns into the trees at an awkward angle to reach a green perched above a dirt ditch. The next few holes lie entirely within the woods with generously carved fairways to follow. Hole #10 is a downhill, dogleg left shot; hole #11 throws slightly downhill past trees and a stony rockfall; hole #12 sits atop a ridge with precipitous drop offs on either side leading to an equally treacherous green; and hole #13 curves slightly left along an uphill slope.

Coming out of the woods temporarily and across a sidewalk lies short, curved hole #14 with its basket planted near the outfield wall of a ball field. Across another sidewalk, hole #15 requires a dogleg right throw over a drainage area to a basket parked close to Spinks Rd. Hole #16 is a downhill, dogleg right into a pinball field of young tree trunks. (Follow the sidewalk across the creek and to the left to #17.) The next to last hole throws up to an elevated fairway and straight through a cleared path in the trees towards the boulevard. (Cross back under the bridge near #2's tee and across the casual creek to reach hole #18.) The final hole throws from just under the bridge across the creek and uphill through trees to finish on a hillside green. (Straight ahead past the basket and across a sidewalk lies a narrow, dirt path through trees that returns to the start of the course.)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
dwalk77
Experience: 16 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Nailed it! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- This course feels like it was designed by a pro (and it was). When I play this course, I feel immersed in the sport of disc golf.
- The holes are secluded from pedestrians
- It's wooded golf, which is not the norm for these parts
- The nature itself is top notch. Other than a huge sidewalk that winds through the park, for the most part you're excluded from civilization. No visible houses or roads, just you, the basket, and nature.
- There are several throws that make you pause and think. It's technical with options.
- If you miss your line, you'll be punished. There are consequences for bad shots. On the flip side, if you execute a good shot, it can feel very rewarding
- The wooded/technical theme is consistent throughout. it's not half wooded/half open...you get the full experience
- Even though it's easy to miss the fairway, unless you go way off line, it's usually fairly easy to find your disc. Lost discs haven't been a big concern for me
- Veteran baskets are great

Cons:

- It doesn't drain well. if it's rained recently, you'll probably want to wait a few weeks...or be ready to get muddy.
- I wouldn't recommend for beginners. If you're new to disc golf, I'd recommend an easier/more open course to start out on
- If your group is larger than 2, it's going to take a while. A long round isn't necessarily a bad thing, but in the Texas heat it adds up. If you have multiple people hacking their way through, it can also add a lot of time.

Other Thoughts:

I love it. For me personally, it's more of an occasional course than a regular one. That's b/c my skill level isn't there yet and hitting trees sucks. But I want to keep this in my rotation b/c it's great practice and a good barometer as to how I'm progressing and what weaknesses I have
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 2
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.2 years 388 played 318 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Feels like the Hill Country 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 8, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

-awesome piece of land with great natural features for golf: tight woods, lots of mild elevation changes, a creek
-good equipment: Veteran baskets (most have arrows to the next tee), concrete tees, pretty good signs (more on that later)
-a variety of challenging shots but leans heavily on straight tunnels and hyzer finishes
-the hole lengths only range from 219' to 423' but the heavily wooded fairways make a number of holes feel longer
-the park itself is very nice with restrooms, water fountains, and is also surrounded by other parks with all kinds of sports fields and such
-plenty of parking
-practice basket in the parking lot (if you're standing at hole 1, it's directly behind you)
-walking paths throughout that do not interfere with the course

Cons:

-i wish the baskets were numbered, why would you not do that? most of them have arrows toward the next tee built into the pan but at least one noticeably did not; i think it was hole 6...
-and after hole 6 really needs some navigational help, the longer walk to hole 7 follows a concrete walking path but there is no sign telling you that you're headed the right direction
-some of the tee signs are a bit inaccurate/deceptive regarding the line or exact basket location, particularly hole 15 where the basket is much further right than it looks (the opening you see straight-ish ahead is not the gap, it's further right)
-a few baskets and next tees are a bit close together, it's not that bad except for holes 2-3 where the basket for 2 has a steep drop-off behind it and tee 3 is right at the bottom of that descent
-the design is definitely very RHBH friendly; only holes 15 & 16 require a forehand

Other Thoughts:

Heritage Park is a large, very well-maintained city park with a disc golf course that is mostly secluded from other park users. There are walking paths throughout but the course design expertly avoids interference with them for the most part (it's there on 1, 16, 17 but in clear view). It also makes great use of the heavy woods and erratic, mild elevation changes. A creek is also in play on a handful of holes. It is in a small ravine so while it's not too deep, accessing it in certain places can be tricky.

The holes are mostly challenging with lots of tight lines in narrow tunnels. It is definitely reminiscent of an Austin course, maybe comparable to parts of Wilco, Searight, or Rivery. While there are a variety of fairway shapes due to the trees, there is a preponderance of left-finishing shots. There are many flex-hyzers in the more wooded fairways and dogleg lefts on the wider tunnels. Luckily the variety of elevation changes prevent the course from feeling too repetitive. There are two forehand holes, 15 and 16, where a forehand spike and a forehand skip are the birdie plays, respectively. Hole 5 moves to the right but it's more of a backhand turnover shot. Several holes will definitely reward accurate overhand shots.

Holes 7 and 8 (both 423', the 2 longest holes) play in an open area and are a nice last chance to air one out before heading into the tighter woods for nearly the rest of the round. The stretch from 11-13 has the most narrow fairways and some of the most interesting elevation. Hole 18 is a cool finishing hole that moves steeply uphill once you reach halfway up the fairway. There are a number of memorable holes and the challenge is mostly white level with a few shorter, blue level shots mixed in for good measure. There is certainly something that could go wrong on any given hole so bad shots will be punished. The pars are pretty soft for the pro level but right on for AM2/AM3. I think the rating is right at 3.75 but for now at least I'm rounding up for the new car smell.

Heritage Park is a great addition to the course lineup on the north side of DFW. It's more challenging than most of the other nearby courses and it's a beautiful walk too. The course is still pretty much brand new but it looks like some of the rough is already receding. Time will tell how it stands up to the weather, it seems to get pretty muddy, but I look forward to many more rounds and figuring out some of these lines. Thanks, Emac!


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
SillyPeddy
Experience: 3.1 years 15 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

PLAY THIS ASAP! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Variety of shots off the tee
- High bombs and tight lanes make a great mix
- Very scenic
- Great baskets with next tee arrows
- None of the baskets feel out of place!
Course maps are wonderful

Cons:

- Signs made it seem like the OB were closer than actually were.

Other Thoughts:

The basket placement on a few of the holes makes for some awesome views with the sun popping through in the backdrop.
Super fun park to play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
allenbosox
Experience: 15.1 years 20 played 9 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Fun Challenge 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 2, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great challenge, but still playable for the average or better player. Great elevation changes as well as challenging, but mostly well-defined fairways. Course is well marked and maintained. Good blend of water holes, but these are small streams where retrieving your disc is not too difficult.
Clean restroom facilities and water fountains at parking area.

Cons:

The only con to me was that several holes are blind from the tee. This is only a problem the first time you play the course. After that, you should know where you are going.

Other Thoughts:

This course is on a par with the top 2-3 courses in the DFW area, and much needed in the northern part of the metroplex. This site rounds off all scores to .5. I would give it a 4.8 if I could.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
34blast
Experience: 27.1 years 50 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good solid course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Hilly and lot's of terrain change
Technical
Trees
Tunnels
Good Tees
Good baskets with arrows on the bottom pointing to next basket
Warm up basket by parking west of hole 1

Cons:

Off the fairway can be really rough, thick thorns and burrs
Mosquitoes now
Chiggers are bad in the tall grass (I regret not spraying down with spray)

Other Thoughts:

The first time I played I thought this was a definite 5 star course. After playing it many times, I would say between 3.5 and 4 stars. There is only 1 hole #8 where you can really air it out without fear. This can be a very punishing course if you are out of practice or a beginner. My biggest complaint is when it is busy it is a super slow moving course. I don't think it is too cart friendly either.

My scores here have varied wildly. I'm usually pretty consistent, but I have scored from 57 to 72. 3's can be easy if the first throw is good, if the first throw is bad, it's pretty easy to double bogey


Tips -
warm up good as hole #1 is challenging and requires a long straight throw
Bring deet in summer if you have to go off or you will get chiggers like me
Watch for sharp thorns off of fairways or your legs will get all cut up like mine
First time out, you might go look where the baskets are many are blind shots

I suggest to read the hole info and pictures before playing. Below are my notes
Hole 1 - long tunnel show with OB sidewalk near basket. I made 2 once, but alot of 4s
Hole 2 - Walk down under the bridget tee is under the bridget it is a blind uphill shot. I found a flex shot to be most effective for RHBH
Hole 3 is a shorter hole from the bottom of a creek bed. You can't see the basket but it is to the left. There are 2 paths to go out wide right on hyzer or through narrow trees then left
Hole 4 - Is about 300 feet straight then the basket sits halfway up a steep hill. Creek on the right and trees on each side of tunnel
Hole 5 - is about 250 straight then a slight right for maybe another 50
Hole 6 is probably the easiest hole. Just over 200 feet I would say, straight hot over a small valley. Creek on right
Hole 7 - Another blind shot, the basket is over 400 feet away but one issue. There are very tall trees about 100 - 150 feet away. You need to sky it over the trees for best results. Once over trees it is clean fairway and grass
Hole 8 - is longer and downhill over 400, trees on right and baseball field on left. Basket is halfway up a steep hill.
Hole 9 - another blind shot. I have taken 3 effective strategies big sky hyzer over the trees or a mid to half way. Then big left up a hill
Hole 10 - fairly long tunnel then big left.
Hole 11 - is a crazy tree shots. There are trees everywhere and a creek on the right. My strategy has been a flex once again
Hole 12 - is alot like 11 but fewer initial trees
Hole 13 - almost like 11 except the basket is up a very steep small hill, putting is not easy
Hole 14 - Isn't too difficult. You need to throw it about 200 feet straight then about 30 feet to the left about 45 degrees
Hole 15 - you guessed it blind shot. It starts straight then turns right then staightens again. A forehand or turnover will work for the first shot. Then a skilled upshot and you can get a 3. I have not seen anyone get a 2 yet
Hole 16 - Another blind shot. This hole is short maybe 175 straight then 75 to the right
Hole 17 - My least favorite hole. It is like the reverse of #1, but I play at night an it seems like I'm always looking into the sun from a sunken position on the tee.
Hole 18 - is my favorite hole. You throw from under the bridge up the creek bed way up hill with trees in the way


Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 2
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course in the Middle of DFW 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Heritgae Park is a brand new course smack dab in the middle of the DFW metroplex. It is an awesome park, with a great disc golf course that meanders away from many of the park activities other than the walking trail.

This really is not a course to let loose. It demands a good amount of length combined with carefully placed shots to score well. Most of the holes have brush on both sides. Though, there is a good amount of parity in terms of hole length, from short <200' to more long nearly 500' holes.

There is a good amount of elevation here, and the course utilizes it well. Many shots need an uphill carry, so the hole plays a lot longer. Hole 17 is a great example of this as it is a shorter par 4, but has a pretty significant uphill throw off the tee.

The course has brand new Discatcher baskets, nice sized concrete tee pads and tee signs pasted on giant stones. It very much feels like an Austin style course in the middle of DFW, which is definitely a good thing in this case.

Cons:

A lot of the holes have a favor towards RHBH player as they play from right to left. This could be because of who designed the course, and his preference towards almost exclusive backhand shots.

Navigation is a bit tricky, there is a shorter 9 hole loop you can play with a few of the first and last holes. I did not realize this, so once I got done with hole 3, I saw a sign pointing me towards hole 4, but then it took me to hole 13, but it's marked as hole #4 on the 9 hole layout, so that was not too much fun.

The walk from 1 to 2 and then 17 to 18 is a little wonky. For a new player to this course, I walked across the busy road without realizing I could have taken a trail on the underpass. There could be a sign after hole 1 signalling where you should go to avoid crossing the busy road.

In other places around the course, the navigation was still tricky. From basket 6 to tee 7, you just assume you are walking the right direction on the concrete walking path without any signs signalling you are right.

The mesquite thorns are no joke in the brush. I had one go all the way through my shoe and a disc. Be cautious and keep it in the fairway.

Other Thoughts:

From a sheer disc golf perspective, this was an awesome course. There was a new challenge at each hole. Though with the navigation issues faced, I do not think I could give this higher than a 3.5. Still, this course is definitely worth checking out. It will only get better with time as it still is a little rough around the edges.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.8 years 327 played 254 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great new course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 16, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-- Fabulous piece of land with a ton of elevation changes. Sometimes, you are throwing downhill and uphill on the same hole. This is a beautiful place to walk/hike, even if you are not playing disc golf.
-- A fairly narrow creek is in play on a bunch of holes on the front nine. You can retrieve your disc from there, but you will pay a price.
-- The park itself is tremendous, with first-rate facilities (restrooms) and excellent walking paths.
-- While there are not truly long holes, hole variation of 220-430ish with plenty of trees and forced (often tight) lines gives you plenty of variation.I threw mids off some tees on longer holes because I knew I couldn't reach the basket, so I opted to try for placement over distance.

Cons:

-- The rough is really rough. While there are a few places that seem like jail, this is more of an issue of briers so thick you will leave some DNA recovering your disc.
-- Some tees are too close to the preceding basket. This was especially true on the front nine. Three/four and 5/6 are the biggest examples.
-- The sign on 15 indicates a nearly straight shot from tee to basket when in reality, the path is a pretty hard right turn for RHBH throwers.
-- The pro of uphill and downhill can be a con because it is frequently difficult to see whether the hole is clear. We frequently had to walk ahead to see, and once (No. 12) we overlooked a group down in a ravine and plunked another disc golfer.
-- Holes 2-17 are across the road from 1 and 18 and the parking. That (and some other issues) create some long walks between holes. It also creates an issue that forces people walking from 17 to 18 to walk directly through the No. 2 tee. When it happened to us on No. 2, I assumed we were dealing with a lazy or lost group. Nope. They were following directions.

Other Thoughts:

-- I have listed more cons that pros for a 4-disc rating, but the pros are so strong that they outweigh many of the cons. And some of the cons will get better with time and play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
RedbirdinTX
Experience: 18 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Play this course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 24, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A wooded course that has great elevation changes but also lets you throw big. The course is challenging and long. I would not recommend beginners come out to this course. The baskets are brand new, the tee pads are fresh and the facilities are nice. There is a plumbed toilet for both sexes at the beginning of this course with 2 water fountains. The course is laid out very well and the baskets have arrows in the bottom to show you where the next hole is.

Cons:

This course needs the mesquite thorns cut out ASAP. Throwing in the rough can break your spirit quickly if you allow it. When it rains, this course is muddy and seems to have some drying issues. This will probably not be true in the warmer months. The pads will be muddy, rain or shine.

Other Thoughts:

Like many have said, this course is difficult. However, it is the best course on the north side of Dallas. (I still love you Lake Park, but it is true) This is a true gem, and if they take care of the thorn issue, this course would get a 4.5. When you play, bring a snack and a good amount of water. Our foursomes were carrying a near 3 hour game time.
Edit: Left a dangling sentence that needed me to finish up my thought.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
jamminbales
Experience: 7.6 years 46 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

An Austin-Esque Course in DFW 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 2, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great tunnels
More elevation change than any other course in DFW

Cons:

Extremely punishing rough (both in score and thorns)
Sometimes impossible to reach basket by following the fairway, must throw over the top for a birdie.

Other Thoughts:

Difficulty (4.5/5): This was a tough one to measure. There are narrow fairways with extremely dense rough, which is going to create a large gap between amateur players and pro players. Especially considering that the Par 4's would be "soft" for pros. ~350 tunnel for a Par 4 can make for a lot of birdies and eagles, but if you kick off the fairway, the best you can do is pitch back out. I am firmly in the amateur camp though, so this course is more than enough of a challenge for me.

Maintenance (5/5): The course has only been open for 2 weeks, so take this with a grain of salt. But the amenities were top notch here. Benches, concrete teepads, brand new baskets (obviously). Informative, colorful tee signs. I can't think of anything I would want to add to this course as far as maintenance related things go. Hopefully the grass is mowed frequently.

Variability (3/5): The bulk of the holes have some sort of right to left movement on them. Then there are a handful of straight shots, and only a few left to right. The exact shape of the shots are slightly different each time because of trees and elevation changes so it's not a pure hyzer fest. But for the most part, you're stepping up to the tee and trying to hit a gap and fade left.

Flow/Experience (4.5/5): Each basket has an arrow built into it to point to the next tee, which was fantastic and accurate. Made navigating an afterthought. Hole 1 and Hole 18 are on the opposite side of the highway from the rest of the course, which provides for the longest walks in the round, but it's really not a problem to find your way.

Other Thoughts: This course reminds me a lot of a course you would find in the Austin area. Tight woods, punishing rough, and lots of elevation change. It would likely be an average to somewhat above average course in Austin, but is a phenomenal addition to the DFW area because of how unique it is compared to other, nearby courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
JeremyKShort
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.5 years 80 played 33 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Thank you, E Mac! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 24, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

People say in reviews all the time that "it has really unique shots". I say it a lot. But this course really does.

There are some strange shaped fairways here, and I mean good strange. Elevation makes these holes even crazier. I stared down the holes while waiting my turn, and tried to decided between 5 different shots in my head that won't quite do what the hole requires. It'll challenge you. it's very difficult. And it's awesome.

The elevation's affect on this course can't be overstated. It's not a bunch of crazy elevation change, it's just having elevation change at the critical places that strengthen the holes. This in addition to the tight lines make it very challenging.

This course is in a very, very nice park. And while a nice atmosphere is not an absolute necessity, being in a park in a town that has money to keep in looking awesome is a major plus.

Cons:

There are a few things that I'm listing that mainly have to do with it being a brand new course. I think these will be corrected, so understand that I'm listing these just to accurately describe the course as it currently is. The rough is really rough. I don't mean "there's no way to throw out of here" rough, more "there's brier vines and thorns and other sharp crap all in here". Over time these will get worn down by traffic in the places people throw into all of the time, but it's pretty bad right now. It's also very muddy in many places, a lot of that due to recent construction (fresh dirt torn up in places). What mud is from this and what mud will be permanent remains to be seen.

The biggest issue I see here is how close many of the tees are to the previous pins. Many are really much closer than what is comfortable. This isn't going to be an issue for the very best players. But you get a lot of guys that just throw the piss out of it with no control, and some of these tees are going to get thrown on, especially in a tournament, so watch out.

The transition to hole 2 is kinda awkward, you have to know to go under the bridge. it just needs a sign or something.

Other Thoughts:

I was going to wait since I didn't want to be the first reviewer, but I guess I'm just gonna post it now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top