St. Augusta, MN

Hidden Lake DGC

4.155(based on 23 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Hidden Lake DGC reviews

Filter
2 0
ThomasOrion
Experience: 20 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Hidden, for a reason 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

I'm giving this a 3 because the layout was decent and kinda fun . Its a neat course for sure. A lot of fun holes. Some bombs some technical. Some water (A few holes play over the water) - This would be a great course if maintained a little more and if it were the fall or winter as the layout is decent

Cons:

Ivy, Thorns, thick. My legs are still burning. Mosquitos galore. Swampy areas. Natural Tees but they weren't too bad.

Other Thoughts:

Decent course layout but Mach 3's and Really rough rough makes this one tough and not fun in July when its full of stinging weeds and bugs
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 969 played 542 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 30, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a very nice course only a few minutes outside of St. Cloud. The course is permanent and free which is always nice. The baskets are mach 3's with the number plates on top. These are nice and helped us realize we accidently played hole 4 after hole 1.They are in solid enough shape and caught well. There are all kinds of different shots here. Uphill, downhill, left, right, straight and a water carry (possibly 3 water carries if the water is high). A good variety in distances too. The shorts range from 202 ft. to 510 ft. and the longs being 245 ft. to 670 ft. There are 2 tee pads on the majority of the holes as well. The tees are natural but were all very level and worked out really nicely. There are signs at both sets of tees. The ones by the shorts are the better of the two. They have a basic hole diagram, hole number, par, and distances from both tees. These are serviceable for sure. The ones by the longs just have hole number, par and distance. The course was also very clean and fairways were in great condition. I also doubt that the course is ever really too busy. We seen 2 other groups of 2 out there and that was it. The course is very beautiful and serene as it's in the middle of nothing. A very relaxing place to golf for sure. As mentioned earlier this is probably not the best course for newer players. I've been playing for over 10 years and this place beat me down pretty good not that I'm great or anything. Advanced players will really like this place and leave satisfied though.

Cons:

The navigation for new players is very confusing in quite a few spots. You'll need to pull up the map on your phone to avoid needless wandering around. Not very intuitive at all. After hole 1 there is a sign that points to hole 2 but the first tee you'll see is actually 4. You have to walk past that and you'll see two. Also 7 to 8 is not obvious as you'll see nine's first. Then after 9 you'll see 16. You actually have to walk about 100 ft. back down 9's fairway to a path on the right for hole 10. Kind of a strange set up. The rough is rough here. If you end up off the fairway you could be searching for a while. Also there are a lot of thorns so shoes and pants are recommended.

Other Thoughts:

All in all this is a very fun and pretty challenging course, especially from the longs. Definitely worth a spin if you're in the area or just passing through as it's only a short drive off of I-94. If they addressed the navigation and tees this is right up there with some of the better courses in this area. Speaking of that this is also a great destination area with all of the other excellent courses nearby. We played this and sportsmans hill on our way up which made for an awesome day of golf. And we'll be able to hit up River's edge, Millstream, Riverside and Calvary Hill tomorrow which are all very close and should be awesome. That's not even all the courses nearby so an awesome disc golf area for sure. But this will be a tough course to top.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
SpencerK
Experience: 6 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Extremely well done course, but beware. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 16, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful use of the lakes and terrain to provide some exciting, memorable shots that reward skill and accuracy, and punish errant drives. The scenery on the entire course is beautiful, but especially when you get back to the lakes tucked away on the back nine, it's a very pretty area.

Great variety and challenge. Some tight shots, open shots, long shots and short shots, they did a great job keeping this course interesting, and ensuring that it was enjoyable and challenging for players of a range of skill levels. Not something I would easily recommend to beginners, but it would not take a high amount of experience or skill to enjoy from the short tees.

Some extremely memorable holes through the course, with the beautiful lake shots, tightly wooded fairways, and challenging and well built par 4's and 5's. The first par 5 stands out to me as unique from the long tees, with elevation change up, then down and to the right, it provides an interesting feel and fairway, with an option off the tee for bigger arms to take the risk of cutting the corner and going for the eagle opportunity. You will need both control and power for this course at different times, more heavily weighted towards control/accuracy.

Cons:

The rough is very punishing. There are stickers that will cling to just about anything that goes in there, sometimes the entire plant coming back out with you. It's thick, with lots of undergrowth, so it would be easy to lose plastic on a bad shot, but this can be avoided by discing down and playing safe and straight. Par is still very much attainable by playing the small-ball fairway game.

The mosquitoes. Holy moly the mosquitoes. I've lived in a couple states with mosquitoes, and played plenty of courses with them, but this was something special. Even with high grade, 98% DEET bug spray, it was like they didn't even noticed. We played this course starting at about 8am in August, and they were all over the place, the entire time. There was no escape. Cover up and be ready, those mosquitoes are not messing around.

Between the rough and the water shots it would not be difficult to lose plastic on this course, so beginners may want to skip 1 or 2 of the water shots, and everyone should be trying their best to keep it in the fairway and play smart.

Other Thoughts:

This is a beautiful, well designed and maintained course. While the rough is rough, the fairway were perfect the whole way through. The scenery is awesome, and the variety and challenge on the course is enough to make anyone happy. If I'm traveling through again, I will make time to go out of my way to play this course. An absolute gem, and if it weren't for the briars and mosquitoes I would have nothing bad to say about it at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Bitter Mouse
Experience: 28.8 years 92 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Some great holes, but ... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenging holes, some of which are really great. Good variety, some fun elevation changes and panoramic holes.

The pads were a bit rough, but very usable even in wet conditions. You have to be very straight and pretty long, but if you are it is rewarded.

Cons:

Upkeep is rough, but still serviceable. The flow of the course is not ideal, if it is your first time check the map - there are some signs but still it is easy to get turned around.

There is fairway and a horror show of thorns and nettles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Spike Hyzer 23
Experience: 30.6 years 92 played 87 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Best in St. Cloud 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is long and technical, heavily wooded and yet featuring fairways that are...fair (unlike a place like Mississippi River Park).

The first half dozen holes feature moderate elevation changes and exceptionally well guarded greens, with enough distance that deuces are still very hard to come by. The 7th is a spectacular 711' downhill hole that even a modest arm can bomb 500' and get an easy par.

The course just gets better from there. The 8th is a mando that this lefty loved and righties will hate. The 9th was an uphill 510' (am tee) hole that, owing to the snow, took me three shots to ALMOST reach the circle.

The rest of the course winds in and out of heavily wooded areas, over a small lake, cattail swamps, and other treacherous terrain. This is not for the faint of heart. Hole #12 from the pro tee was my favorite and I'd call it the signature hole (though there are far too many to choose from, as either 7 or 15 could also stake such a claim, and the almost blind hump shot on 14 is amazing).

It's simply one of the 10 best courses I've ever played.

Cons:

I have a surprising amount of cons for a course I rated so highly, but here they are:

The first tee you see upon leaving the 1st green is the tee for #4. Backtracking and crossing other fairways is one of my pet peeves. #4 is actually easier from the pro tee--it's a straight shot down to the landing zone and then an easy lay up for par--and the short tee would suffice as the only tee here because of its extreme curve (an almost impossible anhyzer for a lefty to get to the landing zone and make par).

Hole #9 is simply a little too difficult, though I understand why the designer wanted the green to sit atop the hill you've just climbed. The real problem, however, is that you exit the green and see the tee for #16 and the green for #15. There are often good signs directing a player to the next tee, but there are none here. You have to backtrack about 50 feet to a small path to find #10.

The pro tee for #12 is the signature hole and the most beautiful on the course. The unfortunate aspect of the hole is that you have to play directly at the Am Tee about 200 feet away. Very hazardous and not easily re-designed.

The problem with the best hole on the course is exacerbated when you play the Am Tee. Less than 50 feet from the tee is a sign pointing to a path on the right for #13. This makes a player believe that he must finish the hole and then backtrack 250' to get to the next hole. I threw a 250' drive, a perfect 75' lay up, and then LEFT MY BAG BEHIND when I went to clean up my par. I then found a sign indicating an exit from the green to the next tee, so I had to walk back quite a distance to retrieve my bag and move forward.

The first sign should be eliminated. It's nice for a local to know an early escape route, but this sign just baffles anyone else. It's a mistake.

We also have to backtrack across the fairways of 16 and 17 to get to the tee for #17. 16 and 17 are only slightly different versions (distance is 30' different) of the same hole, so it seems as if a re-design of that area might be in order. I was able to backtrack across an area that didn't cross either fairway, but it was winter and the summer photos showed me that it is a cattail swamp that can't be navigated in summer.

Other Thoughts:

The directions on this site are terrible! There's a reason this is the Hidden Lake.

If you are coming from the south on 75, as I was from Sportsman's Hill, you will not see a sign for 115 and end up at the truck stop by the freeway after 75 curves to the right. When coming from the south on 75, take 245th Street from 75 and it becomes 115.

When coming from the north and taking the 75 exit from the freeway, you will also believe that you must take a curve to the left for 75. This is also wrong. This will simply take you down 75 and along those high numbered streets of St. Augusta. Keep going straight on what is now County Highway 7. You will soon reach 115 to the right (245th Street to the left) and it's very simple from there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 5
khengxiong
Experience: 12.4 years 4 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of Minnesota's greatest course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 29, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1. Extremely challenging
2. Technical
3. A lots of Par 4's which courses need more of
4. Fairways play very fair
5. It's beautiful
6. Dirt tees make it less harsh on your knees
7. Great course design
8. Elevation
9. Long and medium range placement shots

Cons:

1. No cement tees
2. Dirt tees get uneven over time
3. Getting off fairways it gets really ruff with thrones.
4. ticks and mosquitoes

Other Thoughts:

This course isn't beginner friendly unless you really enjoy a challenge. The course is mostly wooded with tight fairways and you'll need almost every shot in the game to score well. (Hyzers, anhyzers, straight shots, side arms, backhands, thumbers, and tomahawks). This course is definitely one of the toughest MN has to offer. IMO a great course doesn't have to look like the Hobbits homeland in LOTR. It's all about course designs with multiple par 4s, 5s with tough approach shots. Pretty courses will feed people mentally, a well designed courses give a real testament to your game and it will make you see your mistakes and want to improve. This course is what keeps me coming back for redemption.
Warning! Avoid course in summer. I only come here in spring and fall to avoid the bugs.
Also the only thing negative about the course is the 18 hole, 3000 ft course players complaining about it. Go play the Hobbit course! No offense..
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
BirdieMachine
Experience: 32.9 years 58 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great but could be better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Long, elevation, challenging, unique layout

Cons:

Thorns, overgrown in spots, no paved tee pads. Par is too easy on some holes (420) foot 16 Par 5 for example.

Other Thoughts:

With a little bit of trimming on many holes and paved tee pads this would score a 5.0. However the thorns and some ridiculous windows (some holes have 6-8 foot gaps with tree limbs hanging across make me deduct a point. Still a fun challenge, not a beginner course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
alexjensen
Experience: 15.5 years 42 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

The Best Course You Never Heard Of 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 16, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is my third favorite of all time. I've played hundereds of courses, but this is why I think this is one of the best.

1. The wildlife is amazing. The course skirts a nature trail that is truly awesome. Also the fact that it is still a fairly new course helps. The deer, coyotes, and birds have not been scared off yet and the lack of foot traffic over the very slow course as helped with that.
2. The shot variety is incredible. I literally brought my entire bag and played almost every disc. you will play shots from 200' straight shots to 711' bomb drives over an open field to 350' tight hiezers through the woods. I promise you will use every disc in your bag when playing this course.
3. It is very well marked. Though I think the layout could be improved on, there are signs for every hole that tell you where to go.
4. It is pretty slow. Because the course I kind of in the middle of nowhere I strongly doubt you will run into a lot of foot traffic. In fact we were the only pair on the course for 36 holes!
5. The elevation changes are awesome! Though the course is only moderately hilly, they do an awesome job with these hills. You basically throw up and down on about half of the course and the elevation will really throw you for a loop.
6. This course is incredibly challenging! I Have played hundreds of courses and this course challenged me more than most of them. It is very tight and the woods are pretty tight. Normally I post very consistent scores, but here it could go many different ways depending on the day.
7. They allow drinking! No distributing of alcohol is allowed but there is an awesome new liquor store about two miles away with a great variety of craft beer. The course has plenty of garbage cans and no one will bat an eye over a twelve pack of beer.
8. Alternative tees! Every hole has two tees to throw from. We played all 36 holes (if you count the alternative tee pads) and it really was two different courses. Each tee pad shows the distance from the tee and most are very different shots.
9. You get to throw over water. Enough said. I love those shots!

Cons:

1. The tees are not cement. They are gravel tee pads, and they were a little muddy when we played.
2. The layout could be better. You walk backwards on several holes to get to the next tee pad which could result in backups if the course was busy.
3. During the summer the course would be very overgrown. It's wooded, and nature filled. Buckthorn has overrun the trees and is annoying. Watch your disc! It could get lost.
4. Some holes are stupid. There are a few holes that aren't exactly unmakable, but are just too difficult to be fun. Some trimming may need to be done on a few holes.
5. Some ass holes ripped off the hole signs on a few holes.

Other Thoughts:

Honestly this course is one of my favorites ever. you honestly feel as though you're playing in nature. It is almost like you are playing in the middle of a nature preserve, but really you're just in the middle of nowhere. If you ever get the chance to play the course, DO IT!!! You will not regret this awesome experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Money_Shot
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.7 years 125 played 39 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very Difficult 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 15, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There is a wide range of holes on this course. The layouts/obstacles each hole presents are different throughout the course. It starts in the woods, at times requiring ridiculously tight shots to hit sliver gaps between trees. Clearly there must be a plan to clear things out just a bit more, or perhaps maybe not. The holes in the woods not only require tight lines, but also will require you to throw those tight lines up hill and some distance. Now for those of you that get good distance this shouldnt be a problem, but i lack good distance, however, have the technical aspect of my game in tact. The distance makes those holes extremely tough for me to get a 3. Once out of the woods the course gives you a bit of a break and opens it up outside for a few holes, allowing the largest of arms to give it full throttle. Then back into the woods for more tight lines with some fun throws. There are several water holes throughout the course including a monster of a section of a lake/pond to a gap on the other side. I played this course for the first time last year and must say with continued work and growth this course really could make a top list in MN.

Cons:

Beginners/learners beware of this course. It will discourage faster than it excites you.
-some of the lanes are just too tight out here considering the distance included in the shots.
-in general this is a great course for

Other Thoughts:

This course is a pro level course in my opinion. I have played quite a few years, however, dont seem to be able to put up good numbers out here Experienced players will leave enjoying and appreciative of the course, but likely feel defeated and wanting revenge. Pro players will leave challenged and satisfied. Beginners will leave half way through unless their pride gets in the way.

Update: I took an out of town friend up to play this course and must say I was completely unimpressed with the lack of maintenance out here. The first I believe 6 holes were so overgrown it was unbearable for us to play. We decided to skip 6 even, which I rarely am willing to do. The fairways had closed in so far with extremely thick underbrush that every throw, even good throws, typically resulted in either a long search or a lost disc. It appears they may have bit off more than they can chew while trying to maintain this very long course/park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
dpduncan
Experience: 12.3 years 26 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Easier in late fall 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 29, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well wooded, mix of left and right doglegs. Well covered by other reviewers.

Cons:

lots of thorns off the fairways, yet another motivator for accuracy vs. distance.

Other Thoughts:

In late October the water levels were down a lot, I estimate 6-8 feet. This, together with the bare trees, made the course a lot easier than I guess it would be in the spring or summer. Some of the holes have too high a par for late October conditions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set on a large piece of land, with lots of hills, woods, and a good sized lake. The area appears to be completely devoted to disc golf, with a walking path being the only possible source of conflict.
- Lots of tight, tough wooded holes here that force very, very accurate shots off the tee. #1 is a straightish tunnel shot uphill, #2 is a downhill hyzer with a very tight tunnel finish to the left. #3 is a tight uphill gap from the long tee, #4 is a long dogleg left with a flex shot off the long tee, #5 has a two-tree gap up the fairway, which then curves down and to the left. #6 is a steep uphill to the short pad, then another tight uphill hyzer to get to the pin. #8 is a very sharp RHBH anny or a RHFH flick shot. #10 is a nice little hyzer shot, a little easier. #13 is a tight uphill valley shot, with a nasty pinch point to hit off the long tee. #14 is a VERY tight downhill tunnel shot; with the option to go way over everything. Lastly, #18 is a tight uphill shot, with a few different routes including a RHBH hyzer.
- Most of these wooded holes are tough. Especially from the long tees. The lines are pretty much clear in that there are no trees splitting the fairways, but the pinchpoints are non-negotiable, and there is some truly horrible rough off the fairway. A nice mix of flat, uphill, and downhill, left and right, long and short, tough and a little easier. Laying up might be a wise choice in many spots... but not necessary.
- Other holes don't have quite as many trees, as least not so close to the fairway. But there are still windows to hit with some other hazards to worry about. #11 plays into some woods, over a smaller valley with a swamp on the bottom. #12 plays to a small gap, over a nasty, deep valley with all kinds of nastiness. It then has a sharp dogleg right into a low ceiling tunnel. #15 is a big downhill shot over the lake from the long pads, into a gap way on the other side of the lake. The short pad is much more forgiving, just a RHBH anny through the same gap. #16 is a pretty steep downhill shot, with a patch of tall grass/swamp before the gap to get to the green. And #17 plays over a marshy area with another gap to get to the green.
- These holes are more open than those in the woods, but are definitely no walk in the park. #12 is a true par 4, just getting to the landing zone to see the second leg takes a very good shot. #15 is a true bomber shot over the lake, playing from the short pad might be necessary for the smaller arms without conceding a lost disc. #16 is pretty straightforward from the short pad, but the long pad again takes some good distance to reach the pin. #17 isn't too bad, but it does shoot over the water again.
- The last two holes that haven't been mentioned yet are different - fairly open bomber holes! #7 is a big downhill shot at 711', a chance to air one out after being in the woods. There are some trees halfway down the hill to snag the rec player's short shots, and some woods behind to offer a tricky approach. #9 is the return shot back up the hill, with some grass on the right, forest on the left, and a few trees on the fairway. Mostly just a test of raw distance.
- Practice basket in front, good baskets overall. Signs are good, with maps at the short tees. Navigational aids help to get around, the only tricky spot is a little backtrack after #9, and maybe #16. Tees were in immaculate shape when I was there in July.

Cons:

- A few spots with some weird navigation. Walking back from #9 and #16, for instance. I may have just completely missed the path to #17's basket, but I ended up walking back on #16's fairway. Kind of a pain if that's the only way to go, but I am not positive on that.

Other Thoughts:

- Wow. This is a serious course with some major difficulty, plenty of hazards, tight lines, places to bomb, places to lay up, places to really think about what shot to use. Short and long pads are both high quality layouts, for sure. Beginners will want to stay clear of here unless they want a real challenge; it is definitely better suited for expert/advanced players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
djschnabel
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 27.2 years 253 played 27 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Someday (soon), perhaps the best course in MN 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

From the beginning...
Great map and sign at the beginning. Scorecards (Ball Golf-like).
Practice basket
Dual Tee pads on every hole.
Great Signage at each Tee Pad.
Directions towards the next hole.
Easy Flow, no back-tracking (except for hole 9).
Legit Par 4's (and 5's?)
Elevation.
Trees.
Prairie.
Water.
Tight Fairways.
Open bomber holes.

This course reminds me of what I thought about Blue Ribbon Pines, in it's infancy. I've played it about 2 times a year for the past few years. Pars are possible on each hole, but a four is often appreciated. The roughs are just that = rough. This has to be the most challenging course I've played, as there are only maybe 2-3 'easy' holes, and when you hit them you are ecstatic even then with a birdie. Signature hole #15 has you throwing 400+ feet across the lake, anhyzer or hyzer, it's available on this hole.

Cons:

Thorns. Buggy at times. Thick, thick, rough.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. As said, this is similar to BRP when it just opened up. I think this course has a few more years before the rough here is as forgiving as it's become at BRP, but with that being said, it forces you to play smartly. You will play for a 4 at times, even with three smartly placed shots. That's okay. This course is rarely visited in the St. Cloud area, and it will force you to use and make every shot in your bag. My only real gripe is that on some holes (6,11, 13) it forces you to land in a small area which will take much more luck than skill. As the course improves, I think these holes will be more easily played, but I enjoy the fact that they are as difficult as they are. I've seen the caretaker (I don't know what else to call him) spreading chips and grooming the course. There is a lot of care into this course now, and it will only get better with age. If you are an out-of-stater, this has to be number one on your must play courses in St. Cloud. Others will allow you to feel good about yourself (lower scores), but this will challenge your manhood.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
J Blaze
Experience: 23 years 67 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

St. Cloud's Finest (easily) 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I've played quite a bit of disc golf at the High Bridge Disc Golf Mecca in Sconny and let me tell ya: this course would fit in there perfectly. It's like a cross between the Granite Ridge course and the Woodland Greens course at HB. Every single hole is a complete challenge and utterly beautiful, to be honest.

It is very challenging, mixing precision and power at it's finest. The rough is so thick and dangerous....you need to have every wit with you on every shot. Is that a pro? Could be a con if you are a rec player, looking to have a fun

We did not see one other discer or group of people whilst playing. A huge plus.

It was easy to find every hole, even easier after snapping a photo of the map on the front sign on my phone.

This course is now the course I think of when I think of the ultimate challenge in Minnesota.

Cons:

Need better fairways, wider.

Cement tees maybe? one there a pretty nice, though


Other Thoughts:

I rank the St Cloud area course like this now:
Hidden Valley =4.5
Millstream= 4
Riverside=3.5
Calvary=3.5

all others about AVG
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.8 years 1563 played 1507 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Not For The Weak Of Heart! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Warning! This course is not suitable for:

Youth or
Beginners or
Recreational Players or
The Old or
Weak Armed Players or
Those Who Can't Throw Straight or
Wimps or
The Faint of Heart or
Weak Minded or
Causal Weekend Players or
Course Baggers or
Girlfriends/Wives or
The Feeble/Infirmed or
Players Who Aren's Seeking the Ultimate Challenge.

Seeing how I resemble most of the these, I have determined that this course was definitely not designed with me in mind.

Now that we gotten that over with.

The PROs. The course ranks right up there with Blue Ribbon Pines and Kaposia in both it's difficulty and challenge. If you are a strong intermediate player or better, you need to get out here and throw yourself against this course and it's length, it's tight fairways, it's sometimes narrow little windows and it's treacherous rough and blind baskets. The over the water shots, such as # 17, require the guts of a burglar to hit a miniscule (20' X 20') window at about 250'. Any slight miss splashs down in the swampy waters, forever to be swimming with the gators and whatever the hell else is lurking below the brakish waters here.

The course starts out with an great course map and a mailbox with professional "St. Augusta" scorecards. The baskets are DGA with the red numbers. The Natural-gravel teepads are not the best feature here.

Cons:

Gravel/natural teepads need to be improved with either patio blocks or concrete for this course to take the next step. So many blind basket especially early in the round. Misquitos-Ticks-Bugs! Brackish-Ugly-Swampy water is challenging but not enjoyable or beautiful by any means. The course is basically flat.

Other Thoughts:

This course is an easy 5 in terms of it's challenge. It's one of the maybe 10-20 hardest I've played (out of 375) in terms of it's challenge/difficult nature. But most of that difficulty was due to it's extremely long tight fairways with imprenetrable roughs, blind basket placements and technical throws over swampy waters. The course was most definitely way, way over my skill level. I concede that. What I find here, is a course that is going to appeal to a very limited percentage of the disc playing population. That being those younger gung ho, intermediate or better players, looking to really challenge their manhood. And advanced to pro players will find it to be one of the few courses around to really put their their skills to the test. Good luck and enjoy yourselves men. I can't say that I really enjoyed my experience here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Double Helix
Experience: 34.8 years 192 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

CHALLENGING but fair 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 28, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Bring every shot in your arsenal. Technical and long, this course will intimidate and dominate. A rare combo of length and precision, this course will test the best. Nice baskets and a great layout, Hidden Lake will make you pull out your A-game if you want to keep it anywhere near par (54). Good upkeep from the park staff and local players. Not a lot of play so it's almost private style.

Cons:

No concete tee pads (which I would expect fron a course of this high caliber). Bugs in the summer. Brutal rough - stay in the fairway. Floods in heavy rains. Not for novice or beginners at all.

Other Thoughts:

The most challenging course in the state and maybe top 5 challenging in the region (if not the country) in my opinion. Focus and technique are key. I'd play in the semi-early spring or after the frost in the fall to avoid the bugs. Definately worth the trip for more seasoned players. You will be improved and impressed after a round here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
joe po
Experience: 20.6 years 70 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

St. Augusta National! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Most of it has already been said, but the effort that was put into desinging/building this course was excellent.

Great Challenge- this course is super intimidating from the tips. Still a great test of skill from the short tees. Lots of tight shots, but I didn't have such a tough time with the woods. Thought there was plenty of room to work with in the woods. If you nik a tree and kick into the woods, you definitely will pay in blood. I also managed to get tangled up in barbwire on #3. However, this course is so amazing I didn't even care!

Signage - professionally done! Great course map by pakring lot. Scorecard is well done, too! Best scorecard I've seen at a free course.

Tucked Away - I love out of the way courses in the country. Keeps the traffic down, and gives you a sense of being away from it all. Hidden is quite the reality. Once we got deep into the course, we found ourselves wondering were we were, definitely had a sense of being lost... the good kind of lost.
Beaufiful area - go see it.

Practice HOLE - not just a practice basket, a practice hole with tee pad. Found right by the parking lot, pad is by the fire hall.

Friendly staff - two guys were out mowing and hauling out cut wood. The older gentleman mowing came up to us on the practice hole and offered some advice. He chuckled alot when discussing the difficulty of the course. The younger guy hauling out wood helped us navaigate 9 to 10. One of my drives nearly took his head of when appeared around a bend, but he just laughed it off.

Cons:

....the map on the scorecard could be more detailed.... maybe some more trash cans, and a outhouse on course...

not alot to complain about.

Other Thoughts:

Championship caliber course! This track blows everything else in Cloud out of the water. I've played just about every "great" course in the state and this is definitely a top five track. I just hope it gets the respect it deserves, keep it clean, keep it nice!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
kogr0601
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great St. Cloud Area Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 4, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course has a large variety holes with multiple tee boxes. Hole #15 is the best, its a long shot over the lake with a medium sized gap to hit on the other side to get a shot at the pin. If you don't hit the gap you'll probably get a 3,4, or 5 but if you do you can get a 2 or 3 depending on where you end up. Ending up in the lake isn't that bad either as long as you get somewhat close to the shore on the other side. I've had to walk in there a few times and have been able to get my disc back. Since the pictures of that hole have been posted the gap has cleared out a little making it more manageable but its still difficult to hit.

Cons:

I'm not really a big fan of going off in the woods through thorns to get discs, I played this course a lot fall 2010 and my arms got covered with scratches from all the disc I through in the brush. In my opinion there needs to be more clearing of the low brush, maybe like a happy medium between the way it is now and Riverside. The brush really isn't that big of deal though just an annoyance. St. Augusta parks dept will probably keep clearing it. Foot traffic helps too.

Other Thoughts:

Don't wear sandals! There are red ants all over the place here and they bite. They get pretty bad in some places in the middle of the summer and if you take your time you'll get attacked. wearing shoes solves this pretty easily.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
Mopbrothers
Experience: 12 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Expert Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I love the variety of holes on this course. The scenery is beautiful and the walk from hole to hole is fun (unlike Riverside). This is also a cool place to disc hunt if you're a total nut about having more discs.

Cons:

This is a very difficult course for any player. There are tons of trees and thorny bushes everywhere. There is one hole where you have to throw over a lake. There's also a lot of bugs.

Other Thoughts:

If you like the majority of wooded disc courses and difficulty doesnt scare you, go ahead and check this out. If you've never played disc golf before, go to Calvary or somewhere easier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Martin Dewgarita
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.3 years 1559 played 93 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A grueling deathmarch of the best kind! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 15, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

When I'm looking for a challenge from a "local" course, this is where I go. Usually I ended up swearing at least once per hole, I usually ended up bleeding from more than one spot. A brand new course shows its youth, in years to come it can only improve - they have a great thing going here.

-Variety of holes. Each hole is a new challenge. Wooded technical holes, long doglegs (a good variety of left and right) 2 is a difficult dogleg left 4 and 5 are long dogleg left shot; narrow "thread the needle" wooded fairways, 11 and 13 are incredible tight fairways; wide open long bombs, 7 is a beautiful 711 foot downhill bomb, with the wind i could rip it about 450, 9 is a long 670 foot uphill run; Water beatifully comes into play on a few holes, 12 and 13 cross a swamp (doesn't really come into play, unless it's a bad toss), my heart always skips a beat when I walk up to the tee of 15, I have to convince myself that I can do it it's an amazing throw across the lake, 16 plays across a swamp, and then 17 I'm sure is a wonderful hole during normal water levels, but when I was there it was nearly impossible to play, completely surrounded by water except on the right side it was blocked by an impenetrable thicket.

-Map/Scorecards. Beautiful map at the beginning with a mailbox full of score cards (the best looking scorecards I've ever seen, all they need to do is put some sponsors on it to make some $ for the course!)

-Practice Basket

-Map and Scorecard at the start, nothing like being provided with a wonderful scorecard with a map on the back to help with navigation along the way

-Relatively Quiet Compared to the other courses in the area, Hidden lake is usually much less crowded and visited by more serious players as it is so difficult, not many shankers find their way here.

-Navigation Signs, Though some signs were only cardboard stapled to a tree, the signs were quite helpful in directions to the next tee, even between 11 and 12 (put on your walking shoes) as soon as I felt like I had been walking too far, I would notice a sign that said I was still on the right track (after what seems like a mile, I finally made it to the 12th tee box).

-Challenging. This is a draw for many that want to get away from the St. Cloud courses, and this also keeps out the riff-raff of the local college students.

Cons:

-Tee Boxes, the gravel tee boxes were more like sand boxes when I played, mostly the were playable, but on a few holes I found an alternate place to tee off from, I need to protect my knees. Hopefully something is done about this soon, this is my biggest gripe about this course.

-Brand new, Built in 2009 this course shows its youth, with many stumps yet to be cleared, some rough cut fairways, and temporary (hopefully) navigation signs will all improve with age.

-Not for Beginners, this would not be a fun place to learn the game.

-Multiuse park, I only put this in the con section because I had to wait for others enjoying the area a couple times (personally I think it's great that disc golfers and other reacreationists can survive in unison in such a beautiful park).

-Water, not really a con in my mind, I think it's a beautiful use of the water, but, it is only a matter of time before I lose a disc on this course if I continue to play.

Other Thoughts:

Of all the courses in the area, I would recommend this one to anyone that loves the game of disc golf (not beginners). It is a beautiful, fun, challenge with a great variety of holes and by the time I reach the end I always feel accomplished, like I survived the gauntlet. This one is worth going out of the way for.

Favorite hole:
Number 15, This hole is in the back of my mind the entire round, I'm looking forward to it, I'm dreading it. As I approach the tee my heart begins to thump, it's a challenge not to let my mind get the best of me as I let it rip. It's a beautiful shot, I can only imagine that there's hundreds of discs at the bottom of that lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
fixed1313
Experience: 16.7 years 12 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Fairly new to disc golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 28, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is probably the best course in the St. Cloud area. I have only a couple of years into disc golf and have only played courses in the St. Cloud area but this one is by far the most dificult course I have played. At the same time it is also the most entertaining due to the changes in elevation and scenery. I look like the noob that I am when I play here but it forces me to improve my game.

Cons:

You will be looking for discs if you are not spot on with your throws. Bugs are bad later in the summer. Water crossings if you are a noob.

Other Thoughts:

This course was only opened in 2009, it will get better with use. I feel this course has the potential to be a championship course in the future. It has the makings of a great course so please bare with the growing pains. If you have suggestions please contact the city, the web site can be found online. I do work for the city but not on the park side of things. I have been trying to get this for a few years and I am glad to see it come to life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top