North Plains, OR

Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course

Permanent course
4.15(based on 47 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Horning's Hideout - Canyon Course reviews

Filter
12 0
royvin
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7.7 years 187 played 65 reviews
4.00 star(s)

PNW Disc Golf At Its Best 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 17, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Most holes play through an absolutely beautiful and secluded forest setting
-Nice amount of elevation change
-Good variety of shot shapes required
-Long grippy concrete tee pads
-Homemade yellow baskets in good shape and catch ok
-Nice signs at tee pads indicating hole number, par, distance, flight path and arrow pointing towards the following tee pad
-Excellent course map at tee pad #1- right by the nice parking area.
-Clean, and well maintained course
-Benches and trash cans available at several tee pads
-Two other courses available on the property
-Peacocks and a few other animals at the barn by the parking area

Cons:

-I'd love to see arrows at the baskets pointing towards the next tee pad
-Some blind shots and with the tee signs showing two baskets, I wasn't always sure which was the actual location.
-For me, holes 6-10 felt a little repetitive

Other Thoughts:

Having grown up in this region of the country I almost take for granted the wild mushrooms, moss covered trees, lush green ferns and quiet solitude that is found here at Horning's. It truly is a wonderful setting for some disc golf and one of Oregon's best.

The Canyon Course (intermediate level course) is an excellent and I feel like a rating of 4.1 discs is accurate.
I love the challenge of woods golf and being able to hit gaps.. not that I actually hit them by any means. And the elevation change was great! I really liked being able to thrown down a large hill at hole 18.

My biggest complaint was going back and forth in holes 6-10, but they are nice holes and I wouldn't necessarily change them.

I was surprised for only having to search for my disc one time and that was when I took a huge kick off a tree on hole 15. For how wooded it is, much of the understory is cleared out and it's fairly easy to locate your disc.

For $5, it's well worth one course alone, but obviously play them all if you can!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.6 years 74 played 60 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The Canyon Course at Horning's Hideout is tucked away in North Plains, Oregon. This course rests on a hilly terrain as well as some wooded holes in there as well. The hardware is pretty good with some homemade baskets. Gravel tee pads and tee sings as well. The canyon course offers spectacular views as well as some fun shots.

The views to the trails in between holes make it a course I want to come back to. Admission 4 dollars I believe. Restrooms are very nice as well as a big course map of all 3 courses. They also have some peacock's on the loose around the barn or some sort of building. There are quite a variety of shots on this course ranging from very wide open on hole #18 to very wooded like hole number 5.

Some of the holes play really far in the woods with steep cliff where it is very possible to loose your disc if you throw to long. Most of the baskets are blind in the woods. Some you have to walk far up to see where the basket is.

Hole 13 is a beast straight uphill not very fun I just laid up and took a par. Reminds me of one hole on the tournament layout at Riverbend DGC. Although that hole is was less steeper. The finishing hole here is a big crush top of the world downhill. In the winter there is standing water in the fairway. I would recommend playing in the summer.

Hole 14 is one of my favorites. This hole plays very short but is very tricky. Some guardian trees keep it from being ace able. Hole 15 is also a fun downhill shot that plays straight but with a few trees in the way.

This course is quite a drive from highway 26. You terrain yourself through a bunch of farms and a forest. Once you get there, there is a long gravel road that leads to the gravel parking lot and admission is $5.

Cons:

I like the basket's on this course but they are loud as if you just missed a long put or a short put. Although the basket's are really loud they are the best homemade basket's I have seen so far. Some holes need some clearing.

Some trees are in the way and does not make it very fun if there are a lot of guardian trees. Some of the holes make it hard with the canyon drop off. These holes are easy to loose a disc if you throw long.

If you live in the city it is a little ways to get here. The entrance is a gravel rode that is kind of long. But it is worth the drive.

Other Thoughts:

Overall this course is beautiful I love looking at the great views of this amazing piece of property. Bob Horning did a great job providing 3 courses right in the middle of a great piece of land.

Although this course is a beast it is worth checking out and to do all 3 if you feel ambitious. I did the Highland course and the Canyon course in one day. It was a challenge but it was very fun and awesome.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
DarkRye
Experience: 30 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Favorite course in Portland 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Best of the best when it comes to navigating interesting fairways in the Portland area. Absolutely gorgeous area. Good signage, well maintained. Peacocks roam the grounds which could be a pro or a con, but they are gorgeous birds.

Cons:

that one hole that makes me feel like im 700 lbs. Haha there is a par 4 that has like 100' elevation gain and its pretty gnarly. I guess make sure you're physically capable before tackling this one.

Other Thoughts:

This is my absolute favorite course in the Portland area. You ready to test every shot in your arsenal? Downhill shots, sidehill shots, uphill shots, gaps, this has it all. If you are an intermediate player, and live in Portland area, you're missing out if you skip the chance to play here. The other courses on the property are lots of fun as well. Sure it costs $4 but imagine if this was ball golf. Totally worth the money.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
MNDiscgolfTransplant
Experience: 14.2 years 48 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 6, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well kept course. Have played it during the summer and in the winter. There's maps for a 3 courses. Good mix of left and right doglegs.

Cons:

Don't know if they move baskets on a schedule, but there are a few holes that have alternate positions. (5,11,12)

Other Thoughts:

Homemade baskets are on the Meadow Ridge(Has homemade and actual baskets so you can play alternate holes without having to have the baskets moved) and Highland course (Only homemade baskets on this par 3 course)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.7 years 545 played 429 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Happy Canyon Camper 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 30, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Canyon course begins with a hole that is less than impressive, the tee right beside the course maps and pay station. It is open, and plays next to the road that enters the grounds. There is a slight dip between the tee and pin, which are roughly at the same elevation. It is a good warmup toss and chance to grab an early birdie. As you progress towards the wooded areas that are home to the bulk of the layout, quality of the holes increases rapidly.

Hole 2 is a fun drive that is left to right downhill, and is longer than most of the holes on the course. There is a mando early and plenty of room to fly once you clear it. 3 is similar in shape to hole 2, but short and protected by a stand of trees in front of the pin. At the fourth tee you get the first fairway that is pinched to a narrow gap in the trees about halfway to the basket. As long as you get through, a nice shot with a midrange can get you near the pin that sits slightly downhill and left of center.

Hole 5 is framed beautifully by trees, and funnels to a pin that has more trees around it as you approach. 6 will require a pretty tight line to split trees and slide past a couple standing right in front of the target. Several holes in the middle portion of the course are fairly short distance, and mix doglegs left or right, uphill or down, with pins tucked into very woodsy locations. 9 is an exaggeration of this, longer and having a big arc to the left through many trees.

The trends break at hole 13, which is the first of two par four holes. It is open, and climbs a steep, grassy hill out of the tee box. There's a hard left corner around the edge of the woods as you reach the crest of the hill. and flat stretch approaching the bucket. 14 gives you one more dive into the shadows, with a fairly flat hole that has a strong left to right with dense trees defining the line. 15 is a nice downhiller, slightly right to left with the trees allowing more airspace.

16 and 17 are nice holes that emerge from the forrest using the trees on the fringe nicely to shape throws that use grassy areas before diving into nice pockets that nestle the basket amongst the trees. 16 turns left, and 17 turns right. Hole 17 does have more length and the trees form a tougher barrier. Hole 18 is a long par 4 to finish it off. 700' long to be exact. Two mature trees in front of the tee create a mando that you have to go left of. Just past the mando elevation falls downhill quickly, with a big right to left bend around the woods lining the left side. A pretty good final hole, that will steal a stroke or two if you're not careful.

The equipment here is all good. Concrete pads, and nice tee signs. The bright yellow homemade baskets are consistently good quality, and treated me well all day long. Bathrooms near the first tee are nice and clean. I think I remember seeing vending machines and a source for drinking water.

Cons:

The layout is kind of kinky, so pay attention to the hole sequence. I turned the wrong direction after hole 11, and nearly played hole 8 a second time.

There are a few patches of heavy rough and low areas you want to avoid throwing a disc into. Course was dry at the time of my visit, but could be messy in areas after rainfall.

Other Thoughts:

I loved the Canyon course at Horning's Hideout. It has all of the magnificent forrest tranquility of the Meadow Ridge course, but the layout is scaled back slightly. Not quite as much elevation, shorter holes, and the gnomes and pixies only move your disc closer to the pin while you're not watching.

Still, it is one of the best courses I played on my road trip, and I earned my best score on this one. At the end of the round I was 4 under (52), and only took 1 bogey at hole 4. Had chances at more birdies, I would love to get in a few more rounds on this one to see if I could go a little lower.

The Hideout is a disc golf destination that you should absolutely add to the wish list. I only played 2 of the 3 courses, and they were both fantastic. The fee is only $4 per day, and the facility is incredible.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 191 played 189 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 10, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Super fun course, hornings is a destination disc golf place without question. From the peacocks you see around and the deer. There's arguably no better place for disc golf in Oregon. Canyon is the middle difficulty course. It has a great variety of backhand/forehand with fun elevation shots. There's some birdies to be had for sure but a couple par 4s and holes that can test advance players as well. Great tee signs and not to bad navigation. Some holes that have cliffs behind them really make you think about drive placement.

Cons:

Some may say the homemade baskets are cons, and you can defiantly get dead center putts to pole kick out but I didn't have much of a problem with them. Honestly not to many cons besides the baskets, and might not super test open players.

Other Thoughts:

The road here could get sketchy in bad weather conditions as you go down the gravel road turnoff for around a half mile. This is a must visit site for all disc golf and thanks bob for this amazing place of land
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
handwasher
Experience: 11.7 years 106 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great mix of short and long 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

You get a mixture of short shots you can probably throw a putter or mid on, and big bomber holes where you can really cut loose.

Cons:

If you don't like trees, the trees are everywhere. Also lots of natural OOB with thick woods and drop-offs in several places.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 10.7 years 89 played 85 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Oct 1, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Horning's Hideout is a beautiful 54 hole disc golf complex located way off the beaten path near North Plains, Oregon. In addition to this course, the original one (medium difficulty), there is also the Highland course, with short throws <250 feet, and the monster Meadow Ridge championship level course. There's something for everyone.

-To reach this place, you have to drive 25 minutes along a pretty country road, before making the turnoff to Horning's Hideout. It's another five minutes on the narrow, twisty gravel road that takes you down through the woods and to the main area. A very friendly woman came up to us, collected our fee, and told us where each of the three disc golf courses were, where to park, and where the course map signs are.

-The woods that most of the course plays through are absolutely stunning and serene. There are plenty of hills to add to the beauty.

-The bathrooms at the start are really nice. Make sure to use them. There are some port-a-potties on the course but they look old and they stink.

-The tee signs were made by John Houck design(!) They were the best I'd ever seen. They are in full color, and show every tree in the fairway, plus the elevation for the hole. Also they show all the possible routes you can take and the route to the next tee.

-My favorite holes:
3, 5, 6, 8, 14, were all fun downhill shots through the woods. There are a lot of trees but always a line.
Hole 18 is a 700 foot par four demanding a long left-to-right drive to get around the mando tree, then a long downhill crush hyzer to the basket.

Cons:

-The baskets aren't the greatest. The chains are too close to the cage, so if you throw one low or weak side, it'll likely skip out. Bounce outs off the center pole are also common. If you hit one off the solid iron cage, it sounds like you just rang the Liberty Bell. On the flip side, they are bright yellow and easy to spot.

-There were a few silly holes. Hole 2 is such a hard dogleg right, it's next to impossible to reach the pin. Hole 13 is a 450 foot par four with a 90 degree dogleg right. The tee shot on this hole is unbelievably uphill.

-It is the Canyon course, and there most definitely is a canyon. Make sure not to overshoot the basket on holes 6, 8, and 10. There's a pretty steep drop off.

-There's a drop off immediately in front of some of the teepads (5 and 6 especially). If it's raining, make sure not to slip.

Other Thoughts:

-It costs $4 per person to enter Horning's Hideout. I think this is completely worth it. This course is one of the best I've played. I can't wait to go back, hopefully when it isn't raining, and play the other two courses here.

-It is quite the drive, about half an hour from highway 26. Being an hour away from Portland, this is a place to come only if you have all day.

-The sheer beauty of this course is not something you find every day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
JerichoBronco
Experience: 9.9 years 36 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Decent Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 20, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Scenery
Great signage

Cons:

LOTS of brush and undergrowth. You are going to be looking for a disc or two before you are done. Lots of stinging nettles, pants are a plus!

Other Thoughts:

2018
I left my original review on here to show as a comparison. I had been playing for 1 year when I first went here. Now in year 4 my thoughts are very different. I agree with my first statement that the course does have a mix of shots, non of them overly challenging, just lots of little trees to miss. The first time I played this I used my driver... a lot. Now, I used my putter on the majority of the holes off the tee. There is a lot of elevation changes on the course and I had one of those days where I hit the cage and would have LONG roll-aways due to the terrain. I didn't find the course very challenging, I would have been several strokes under par if it weren't for the bad luck and one bag hole. There were at least 2-3 holes that just felt very poorly laid out to me too. The course was ok, but it didn't feel like it was professionally laid out if that makes sense. The scenery is nice (except for the nettle), but you wouldn't want to be there on a wet day, footing is nuts in certain spots. This course is good for a Nov or Rec player, maybe and Intermediate player (my rating is that of an int). I have to say I was disappointed in the course, I guess I remember it being longer and harder. This isn't a course I plan on playing again very soon, once a year would be sufficient.

5/20/15 This course has a great mix of being challenging but not overly frustrating. You are going to use most of your discs by the time you are done here, do to the variety of shots needed and that's one of the positives of this course. Every hole feels very different.

This is one of my favorite courses. I don't know what they could do to make it better other than eliminate some of the brush and those darn stinging nettles, I always seem to find those.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
Scott64a
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Sweet!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is fantastic. Lots of grassy fairways to bomb down, and many lefts and rights to work out your shot repertoire. The setting is gorgeous as well. Lots of tall conifers and some rather stunning landscape to play in and on. Bob's disc catchers are groovy... they make a gong sound when you hit them right. Then again, if you REALLY make them gong, you've missed the chains! Doh!

Cons:

Not many, except in the middle of the course, (holes 9 -14 I think,) get sort of repetitive. Back and forth through a piece of woods. I guess this is inevitable when planning a course though, as space can be limited and this has to happen sometimes. It's not a deal breaker.

Other Thoughts:

This is an awesome course to finish a 54 hole run on.

Play all three: Highlands, the Meadow Ridge and Canyon. You'll love it. I met Bob Horning and he's a great guy. Cheers, Bob!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
volklaero
Experience: 9.7 years 10 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great intermediate course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 2, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great signage, tees and fun hole design
Difficult shots, with some tricky basket locations.
Challenging but satisfying.
Nice drive out/scenary
Mix of long and short holes, open and wooded.

Cons:

4 Bucks (I dont mind paying for this, but its not a pro)
Closed for tournaments at times.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a flick shot.

The intermediate course out of the three, canyon is my favorite. Its a course I can play through twice in a day and love every hole. Meadow is a one and done course and Highlands is just too short for my liking. Canyon is the Goldilocks course IMO.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 12
Christofu_xc
Experience: 15.7 years 52 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Variety of shots throughout the course
-Baskets are yellow so are visible
-Shaded
-Not many people
-Nice teepads

Cons:

Where to begin...
-Barely any signage inbetween holes. Very easy to get lost and can take 5-10 min to find the next hole
-Homemade baskets seem inconsistent and are not PDGA approved.
-Parking fee is $4 PER PERSON?! ..how? How is parking a per person type fee? Plus the teller guy to collect it is a total asshole.
-There is a canyon that runs along the backside of many of the baskets. Very easy to lose discs.
-Many blind shots, takes a while to locate the basket even if it is bright yellow from some teepads.

Other Thoughts:

If your traveling from portland or farther, honestly this course is not worth it. Considering this is the best out of the 3, dont bother. Its not worth the $4 per person fee to lose discs and get lost throughout the course.

ALSO: the 6 mile road leading up to the park, for some reason has been smothered with gravel, which is completely unnecessary. I was driving up to the course, when someone sped by me and flung a rock into my windshield. SO on top of a mediocre experience, I have to purchase a replacement windshield.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Murdoc Loch
Experience: 19.7 years 62 played 15 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Almost Perfect 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- This course has a lot of variety! Righty holes, Lefty holes, tunnel shots, open shots, short and long holes, par fours, blind holes, mandos, water hazards, OB, elevation changes. This course has it all!

- This course has great signage. The signs are very detailed with all of the distances and elevation changes right there on the sign. Steep drop-offs and mandos are all on the sign. They even tell you the direction to the next tee after you're done with the hole.

- Clean bathrooms right next to hole one. Also there are usually a bunch of porta-potties near hole 14/17

- This is a pretty clean course, not much trash gets piled up or if it does, it get's cleaned up pretty frequently.

- Sweet custom made and PDGA approved baskets made by Bob Horning - They make a really nice sound when you hit them too.

Cons:

- Some of the trashcans can get pretty bug infested, bring bug-spray if you got it.

- It's very rough down in the creek. I have left a few discs down there, not wanting to even try to find them. That's how rough it is.

Other Thoughts:

I think maybe the only thing this course is missing is more benches - there are some places to sit but there are more holes that don't have seats than do.

Also I'm shocked that they don't have a pro-shop on the property - with three courses and plenty of space, it seems like a no brainer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Rusty Shackleford
Experience: 11.7 years 27 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Good Times 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 30, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a well designed course. There are good routes to the basket but the routes require some thinking and shot shaping.

This course has everything. Holes that require you to gun it, holes that will punish you for gunning it. Wide open shots, tight wooded shots. Left turns, right turns, straight shots.

Fairways are fairly clear of brush, but it feels like you're in a forest rather than a city park.

Tee signs are great and have all relevant info. Baskets are awesome.

Cons:

It would be nice if the baskets indicated where the next tee was, but we were able to navigate it without a map the first time.

Drop offs behind baskets. #6, #8 and #10 are in front of big drop offs that would probably swallow a disc. A number of the others are in front of drop offs that could be frustrating, but probably not disc disappearing.

Some steep muddy trails. Probably not a course to play when it's wet.

Other Thoughts:

This is a course you should play if you ever have an opportunity. With great onsite camping and 3 separate 18s Horning's is a place you should hit.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
longandwrong
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 59 played 39 reviews
4.00 star(s)

No Rain this time just discing! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 23, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The homemade baskets are great...when you hit the bottom, it gongs nice and clear. Course is in excellent shape. Very playable with okay parking and good bathrooms. Canyon course is just what it suggests...in very forrested canyons. I will come again! Signs to pads and baskets which were good.

Cons:

Update: Holes 15,16,17 seem to be a last minute thought. They play really tight with each other. A few signs exist for directions to the next hole but there could be more of them. Otherwise not very many cons.

Other Thoughts:

Update: I finally made it back. I really did enjoy the Canyon course and my thoughts about being prepared for the weather still are true. (Old comment-Because the courses are in the hills of the coastal range of Oregon be prepared for weather. I didn't come fully prepared and I had to walk away, sad!)
One more thought...if coming to play 2 or 3 of the courses here...you should do this course last or second to last, do the Meadow Ridge first and then take 1/2 hour break :)))
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Pat Edwards
Experience: 3 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

GREAT COURSE 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice terrain elevations, marked and easily visible tees, There are 3 courses here and any one of them is a MUST PLAY! I will be returning frequently. I simply Love this course.

Cons:

It's hard to add any Cons about this course... Some of the pads are not concrete, but that did not disturb my total enjoyment. However if it were raining, this course might be not as much fun. Go on a dry days if you can because some of the terrain changes might be a bit difficult to negotiate in the wet and if muddy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 13, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set on private property that is set up for a few different activities. But, it seems like if the course is open, then there won't be any interference by default!
- Holes are pretty evenly split between open areas and some moderately populated forest. Some of the more interesting open holes include a wide, wide RHBH anny around a mando tree on #2, a big, long uphill dogleg left around the woods on #13, a long downhill anny shot into some trees on #17, and an up-then-down bomber around a giant tree on #18. These all take a very particular shot off the tee, and are long enough where placement is important for the second shot. A couple others are more straightforward, like a straight shot on #1, and a little RHFH flick shot on #3.
- The rest of the holes are all in the woods, which provides some tighter windows and forces line shaping. There are a ton of straight shots of varying difficulty, due to different sized gaps, like #4, #5, #8, #15, and #16. Also some obvious hyzers; #9 is a longer trickier one, and #12 is a tough uphill one with a kink halfway up. Anny/flick friendly holes as well, like #7, #10 can go either way, and #14 is a sharp turn around some trees. Pretty good variety.
- Elevation changes are definitely a factor in many spots. The biggest ones are the uphill trek on #13, the big downhill slope on the back half of #18, and an elevated tee over some nasty rough on #5. Some more subtle ones as well, like the uphill on #1 and #12, and the downhill on #14 and #17. Definitely helps to keep things interesting.
- Swampy area on #18 is in a good spot to possibly force a lay-up shot, if it isn't too dry. I was there in the dry season, but I can imagine it becoming a major factor in the rainy months.
- Homemade baskets are sweet! Tee signs are very nice, as well as the teepads. Navigation can be a little tricky in some spots, with a few different baskets/tees in sight, so the map can help save some time the first time through.

Cons:

- Some parts of the course are really crammed together, particularly #6-#10. These five holes are stacked together like sardines in a can, look out if other people are playing here!
- While there are some long holes here to crank some drives, a good amount are on the short side - especially in the woods. Eight of the holes are at or under 252', with pretty simple lines. Not super exciting.
- A little rough around the edges in some places, like a huge dumpster next to the green on #17, port-a-potties scattered here and there, and some roads in play. Not a big deal, but it hurts the ambiance.

Other Thoughts:

- All in all, a fun course that has a good balance of wooded and open holes. Some of the holes are pretty tricky, but there are also a ton of birdie opportunities to be found. Well suited for an intermediate-level player; a little too easy for expert players, and some spots might be a little rough for some beginners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
ninja-don
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.5 years 29 played 25 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Middle child of the Hideout. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Baskets here are all home made, painted bright yellow with giant black numbers on them (very easy to see), and well made at that, they catch disc very well... maybe beter than any other basket I've played.
- Tee signs are excellent!!! they are very nice and accurate. They also have the elevation change for each hole from tee to basket (EXAMPLE: +11ft or - 25ft), this was nice as it made me think about if I need more or less on my shot, which I rarely pay attention to otherwise.
- Tee pads were long, concrete, and had a good circular brush pattern for traction layed in them.
- This course was great, it had all kinds of shots, open to protected, left to right, to straight. Elevation changes throughout... a great all round course.
- Faily easy to navigate. The trails help a great deal, I only really looked at my map once... to realized that I had just missed a trail.
-You can get towles from the house were you pay. The towels are free to use, just bring them back where you got them.
- Normally a pay to play course is a con for me, but $3/person for ALL DAY and for ALL 3 courses... that is a deal!
- Drinking water available for free (not bottled).
- Porta-potties all over the place. Not so many on the courses but before and after for sure.

Cons:

- I know it's not the courses fault, but plan accordingly to not have cell phone service here. (It works before you start down the dirt road so it's not that far to drive back out if you really needed to make a call).
- Also not needed, but kind of a con for me since this place is so great for disc golf is the fact that they don't have disc for rent or for sale. (This would really put them over the top in my book, as it is the only really major thing I think this place is missing).

Other Thoughts:

- Be prepared to drive down a narrow dirt/gravel road with blind corners. (I drove a lowered honda and made it just fine, but it wasn't ideal) I don't think there is any car that couldn't make it, just be ready for it.
- This course is harder than Highland but easier than Meadow Ridge... however is challenging enough to be well worth playing.
- This is the middle child here at Horning's Hideout; that being said if you need a warm up or cool down before this course try the shorter Highland course (only 30-45mins), if you need more of a challenge you can try the Pro rated Meadow Ridge course.
- Camping and fishing available here... I paid $15 dollars to camp on site... it was well worth it since I was in the middle of my trip and wanted to play all these courses.
- I was able to play all three courses after palying Pier Park and taking lunch and dinner breaks. If you have the energy... it's completely possible (and recommended) to play all three courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Hector Chain
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 222 played 189 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Like Fern Gully, but more enjoyable 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Unlike its exalted neighbor Meador Ridge, the Canyon course will challenge you but not defeat you. The course begins out in the open with an okay uphill hole and a nice sweeping right-to-left hole, but then the holes get wooded until the end. Pretty much all of the holes involve some elevation changes, as the name of the course indicates. You'll need to be able to hit some lines, but I don't remember any of the holes being frustratingly tight.

The course finishes out in the open, climbing a steep hill on a nice dogleg uphill hole, then playing some semi-wooded holes at the top, and then back down. #18 is a great hole, throwing a big left-to-right tee shot around a mando (a legit mando; otherwise you're throwing in the faces of the people coming up the hill) and then a huge downhill shot with woods on the left and a marsh acting as a big moat in front of the hole. I'd like to replay this hole.

This course has more porta-potties than any course I've seen. If you're incontinent, this is the course for you! (I'll be honest, I don't get to use that review line nearly enough)

Unlike Meadow Ridge, there are multiple pin placements here (but just one basket in use at any time on each hole). The tee signs are great, showing distances, elevation changes, and the basket locations along with possible alleys.

The homemade baskets are mostly a pro. Their bright yellow is very visible through the woods. They have three sets of chains, so spit throughs are almost impossible. But the bottom part of the basket is not as wide as normal baskets, so you won't get some makes that you would on normal baskets.

Cons:

This course has much more undergrowth than Meadow Ridge, and losing a disc is a distinct possibility. Also, on some holes the path from the tee to the basket winds around, so by the time you're there you're a little disoriented. Spot your disc well.

Navigation is okay here but not always simple. A couple times we set off down the wrong path before finding our way to the next hole.

A few holes have steep drop-offs if you overthrow the hole.

This course is much busier than Meadow Ridge (which had no one on it when we played). It wasn't overrun, but we played through several groups.

On hole #1, you tee off over the road leading to the parking lot. We had to wait for cars that kept coming through. We were there on the 4th of July, though, so it's probably not usually this busy.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course to play in tandem with Meadow Ridge. Maybe play it first as a warmup. Or play it second, as we did, to remind yourself that you're not quite as inept at the game as your score on Meadow Ridge would indicate. But this course really stands out on its own as well. I had a good time here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
templink
Experience: 20.6 years 124 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A must play when in Oregon 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Absolutely fantastic new tee signs. Best I've ever seen. Everything you want to know is on the signs: distance, par, elevation, trees, etc.
-It was raining when I played here, but even still the course felt like walking through a rainforest. It was a transporting experience.
-great variety of shots required on different terrains and elevations.
-Peacocks and homemade baskets add to the unique atmosphere of the course.

Cons:

-high chance of losing discs in the canyon
-a few holes in the middle felt repetitive

Other Thoughts:

Truly a fun course, and there are 2 other courses on the property. Will definitely play this course again next trip to Portland. A disc golf mecca with such a high profile as Horning's should have a pro shop, though.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top