• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Bothell, WA

Howling Coyote DGC

2.985(based on 30 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Howling Coyote DGC reviews

Filter
21 0
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 665 played 645 reviews
2.50 star(s)

A Slice Of The Magnificent Northwest

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 3, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

(2.748 Rating) An appealing technical shorty with tricky greens.
- FUN FACTOR - Wow, did I get a kick out of playing this course. It's basically 10 consecutive shotshaping ace runs. Several baskets are in tight protected pockets with slanted elevation. I got a small adrenaline rush from several tee shots. The place was packed full with groups on a Saturday afternoon when I showed up. I could tell the place was well loved by the locals.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course was in fantastic shape. I read a lot of older reviews regarding raw and unkempt conditions, and I didn't see that take at all. It's clearly improved drastically over the years. I loved the constantly changing terrain, the big ferns and the big trees. Of the 612 courses I've played as of this review, I would place this at around 85 percentile for Beauty. I loved walking around in this park.
- SIGNAGE & NAVIGATION - Great to have a course map posted on the way to tee (1). It looked appealing and accurate. Nice tee signs too, with all the needed info on them. The course is jammed together a bit oddly, which is the only minor hiccup affecting navigational flow.
- HOLE VARIETY - For a ten hole course, I thought the hole-type diversity was very good. Lots of elevation change using slopes in different ways and also a mixed bag of tree coverages. There are slightly open shots and super tight technical lines. The biggest omission is length. The longest hole is listed at 265 feet.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - I passed several groups in my round here, and every one of the groups had at least one beginner in it. A couple of groups I passed were nothing but beginners. Disc lost potential is here, but low. Searching and hitting trees will happen, but none of the holes are oppressive beat downs.

Cons:

Needs a basics overhaul for some added shine.
- BASKETS & TEES - The baskets are ok. MachV I think. All were in good shape. The tees however were not the best. A few were ok I guess, but a few also felt like uneven trip hazards. The surface type was inconsistent. Some paved, some natural, some crushed gravel, and some sort of weird carpet/fabric stuff.
- SPACING - The layout is a squeeze job into a park with a lot of other things going on. I didn't see anything egregious in the layout but ricochets off trees or grip-locks will happen and discs will head into other fairways or towards walking paths and trails.
- TIME PLAY - I played on a nice weekend afternoon. As noted, it was completely filled with groups. I would plan on extra time being here for anyone attempting to play here at a prime time. I think it took me almost an hour solo. It was a slog.
- TERRAIN - There are some steep slopes here. I loved the terrain, but anyone with walking difficulties should probably skip playing it. It's not easy on the knees. I don't take off score for this...actually, I award scoring points for cool terrain like this one.

Other Thoughts:

This was the first course I ever threw in the Pacific Northwest! In my trip planning, I had written off playing here, as it opened too late in the morning for my typical early morning bagger hits. However, an hour prior to showing up here, my wife expressed a desire to hit a small park near our hotel so our daughter could run around and play. And voila, we ended up here. Win win for everyone. Such a fantastical place with elements of nature that I had never experienced before. I loved the 5-foot wide douglas firs and western cedars sprinkled in this park. Anyways, I really enjoyed this one. Among niners and 10ers(?) its way up there on my list. Like 90 percentile high up there. If the maintenance were to stop, I think it teeters back to a mid 2.5 on my ledger quickly. The course will work great for MA4s, MA3s and ace seeking MA2s like myself. Probably too short for MA1s and above. Not destination worthy, but if you live in the Seattle area, I'd think its worth a look see at some point. It doesn't remind me of too many places I've played. Perhaps Overly Worman DGC north of Indianapolis or the shorter holes at Rivery DGC north of Austin Texas.
- CHALLENGING - Higher skilled players may find the course to be too cupcake. As noted, a short course overall, but the greens are tricky and protected. 4 holes are sub 200 feet long. I shot 3 down as an MA2, and played bad with 3 discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 7
PHDParrot
Experience: 14 played 11 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Meh 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A couple good holes in there

Cons:

Some of the course is an unplayable mess. Thick brush mess for a couple later holes that are hard to find. Not a well designed course. No facilities or much of anything.

Other Thoughts:

Needs paths, signage, and a major cleanup
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Oakgriff
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great for a mid-day round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well maintained course with some great variety off the tees. All relatively short, obstructed par 3s.

Cons:

Inconsistent teepads, course can get busy

Other Thoughts:

Awesome course to toss a quick round during my lunch break.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Breh
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 192 played 190 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 25, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Howling coyote at Blyth Park is a nice 10 hole course. It's good for family and begginers to learn the sport, as most holes are on the short side. It's got a nice kiosk board showing a map/ nice metal & wood howling coyote sign. The course itself starts off behind the kiosk board. It's got okay baskets, and a decent layout. Targeted for more beginner players but advanced players can have fun on couple holes. Good use of elevation for a 10 hole course. Some nice ob behind couple baskets makes course a little more challenging

Cons:

Some of the tee pads are natural and face the wrong way. No real holes that are super challenging or to throw a max distance driver.

Other Thoughts:

It's a nice little course I could bring new players to have fun at. Not somewhere I would go out of my way for but if in the area a nice little play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Vintage Folfer
Experience: 45.8 years 98 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

My Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 24, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Lots of elevation change
- Lots of tall trees
- Nice variety of holes/shots
- Friendly locals, family atmosphere
- Well kept, clean, beautiful setting
- Restrooms, benches
- Bonus hole #11

Cons:

- Mostly short holes
- Can get very muddy, slippery when wet
- Wicked rolls!
- Chance of hitting pedestrians on some holes.
- Sometimes closed (baskets pulled) for group events in the summer. Watch for a sandwich-board on the sidewalk on the right when you pull in to the dead-end that leads to the park. Sometimes there's info there about closures.
- Trolls. Trolls dwell under ground on Norway Hill and will steal your disks. Holes 5 & 6 are especially dangerous.

Other Thoughts:

Now that I've logged 50+ rounds here I figured I should say something about it. This is my home course, it's where I learned to play 'disk golf' as opposed to 'Frisbee golf'. I actually played a lot of Frisbee golf many years ago but took a long break until one day I noticed: Hey! Blyth Park has a proper course now, with those chain basket things and everything, I should try it! So I did, and had a blast! using my old Frisbee the first few times, even got even par once. But of course, I noticed everyone else using these fancy new discs. So I got a starter pack...

Blyth Park is flat in the main picnic & play areas along the Sammamish river but the course plays along the western base of Norway Hill soaring 450' above the park (takes about 45 minutes to climb to the top, and I can personally attest that there are real Norwegians up there). This is more than a hillside, it's more like playing over and between the feet and toes of a small mountain. You might think you've crossed over to another hill when you get to #4 but it's the same hill, you've just crossed from one appendage to another. The previous few reviews have done a good job summarizing the technical aspects of the course, so read those for a quick summary. I'm going to say something about every hole.

1. This is the only one that's completely flat and not on the hillside. It starts in the woods behind the restrooms. Its distinguishing feature is the curtain of tall trees that cross the fairway about half way down. Lots of gaps to aim for, lots of trees to hit. Since it's the first hole, if there's no one waiting behind me I usually just keep throwing until I get through. It's also the most dangerous hole: wild throw to the right puts you in the parking lot while on the left you have the Burke-Gilman trail to contend with. Fortunately, most errant drives are quickly subdued by one of the many cedar trees lining the fairway.

2. Short blind hyzer shot. Make sure to walk ahead a bit to view the green before throwing to be sure it's clear. I've been on the green a few times when I looked up to see incoming. There's a cluster of tall trunks guarding the green. Stay to the left of them for an easy birdie, or go right and try to fade in for the ace. I was in the parking lot once when someone aced it. I heard the chains, commotion on the tee, a pause, then lots of shouting. Everyone in the park knew about it.

3. Challenging tunnel shot off the tee, OB path along entire right side of fairway. Imagine standing in your dining room and trying to throw through a picture window across the living room, it's kinda like that. If there's a group on the tee, trees will be hit.

4. Throw from elevated tee across open grassy field to elevated green on the next bend of the hillside, guarded by fir trunks. Some tricky trees to miss off the tee. Try not to go left, OB over the fence that way and tough to get a clear shot from the rough.

5. Probably my favorite hole. Highest tee on the course, with a welcome bench (trail continues from here to the top). Throw across a wide shallow ravine to basket on the other side barely visible from the tee. Front of green guarded by two large fir trunks. Slanted green encourages bad rolls.

6. Most ace-able hole on the course. Short, downhill slight hyzer along the hillside. Use a putter. Hit the basket once, still trying for the ace. Beware of extreme rolls on this one. If you lose sight of your shot uphill to the left make sure to wait a good 10 seconds or more to watch for it rolling by. Almost lost my putter here once, came back the next day to find it. It had rolled at least 100' and wedged into a cluster of sword ferns to the right of tee #7. Once saw a guy who did the same thing only his made it to the 7th fairway and rolled all the way down past the 7th green!

7. Perhaps the signature hole of the course. Very steep downhill shot towards basket perched above the river. Two tall trees at the base of the hill frame the shot nicely but are disc magnets. Feels like you're standing on a rooftop trying to hit a fire hydrant across the street below. Fortunately, plenty of trees behind the green to keep long throws from reaching the river and the local 'Blyth Squad' maintains a backstop of logs and sticks along the back of the green to stop most skips.

8. Throw across open field, after avoiding two large cedar trees near the tee, back to the hillside. Basket is about 50' up the hill. Steep green, beware of rolls.

9. Only serious anhyzer/forehand hole on the course. Bit of a tunnel shot with blind green to the right through a line of large cedar trunks at the end of the fairway. Try not to drift to the left or you're going downhill away from the basket. Watch for odd kicks/rolls that can take your disk downhill.

10. Steep, short downhill ace run. Not as easy as it looks. Stay out of the bushes to the left of the green! I've had to tomahawk my way out of there too many times; once found my disk inside a big hollow log in there.

11. The bonus hole! This one isn't on the course map. It reuses basket #3 from the opposite direction. Look for a rubber tee pad at the base of the hill below #9 (I think it came from tee 5). It's about 225' to the basket. You can actually throw at #3 from anywhere at this end of the park, some people throw from the #8 tee for a good long drive, but don't do this if there's anyone in the kids playground.

So that's Howling Coyote. One last piece of advice: wear good traction shoes when it's wet and muddy and you'll have no problem. I wear hiking boots under those conditions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Schreuds2.0
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7.1 years 93 played 81 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Challenging enough to be fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 2, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Signs help with par and distance, but not location, which is fine because it is pretty self explanatory
-Holes are well designed to fit a beginner and/or intermediate level player. I think of myself as an intermediate player and my personal best is -6
-For the amount of land, this course is perfect, well designed in the woods, only holes 3, 4, 7, and 10 interfere at all with the park, mostly 3 the others are rather negligible.
-Elevation is used great
-Most holes are easy par, reasonable to tricky birdie, with a few ace runs in between
-An excellent course to bring a friend to, short enough to be accessible but nothing is a gimme
-For th most part, there is equal representation of forehand and backhand, if you try hard enough you can really do anything on this course
-Benches! An often overlooked commodity is present on most holes here.

Cons:

-Baskets are not the best, kind of old, Mach V I think, they get the job done about 80% of the time though
-Tees are at best, inconsistent, most are rubber mats, a few are plain old dirt, which gets ultra muddy sometimes
-Very short, it could easily be more challenging, or better designed if Baskets were pushed back a couple feet
-The rough is very unkept, if you aren't on the fairway, you're searching, I've lost two discs here
-Some treacherous hills to traverse, not a problem in the summer, but after some rain, it is a whole different story.
-No garbage cans, sometimes there will be garbage which is always disappointing

Other Thoughts:

overall, a good course, definitely one of the ones I play often, it is about 30 mins from Seattle/Bellevue.
Great course for practicing midrange/putter tee shots
Gets muddy with the rain, this course and Juel Park are probably the worst in the area with rainfall
This gets a 3/4 on the new shoe index as an average of weather conditions
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
n8_b
Experience: 18.1 years 35 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great short technical course with variation 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 25, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Technical holes that reward accuracy
-Good use of elevation change throughout course
-Nice variety of holes
-Quick to play
-Lots of opportunities for ace runs
-Great local group

Cons:

-All holes are under 300' so you can't air it out
-Can get quite muddy in the fall through spring (especially holes 2 & 5)
-Gets crowded on summer weekends
-Easy for beginners to lose discs with all the vegetation
-Can be hard to navigate if it's your first time there

Other Thoughts:

Howling Coyote is my home course and is great for working on technical, short shots. I really like the variety of shots with the terrain and elevation changes. Every hole has an opportunity for an ace run but you have to place your shots well as there is also a ton of obstacles.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
prettyboyfloyd
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.2 years 16 played 15 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good course, but small 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 9, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Best use of the area they were given. I only had one issue navigating the first time, but the course map at the kiosk in the parking lot was excellent. I took a picture of it with my phone and referred to it only once.

Its a multi-use park and the design kept the discs away from the playground/picnic areas.

Good use of the trees and elevation. Reminded me of Dexter outside of Eugene, OR at times. Hole 7 , especially (super downhill). The baskets are modern.

Cons:

It is a short course. Hole 1 is the longest and the most flat, which is kind of a bummer the rest of the time. Holes 2 & 5 were as muddy as it gets in the PNW. I'm sure it'll be better in the summer, but watch out if it rains.

I do not have a giant arm and I came away thinking I could've used only my putters and would've scored well. I only used a fairway driver on 1.

Other Thoughts:

This is a classic case of the designers using the most of what they were given. There was a ball golf course adjacent to hole 7 that had me sighing at the potential space in the geography.

I aced hole 6, which made the round. R pro dart, standing from the tee. That sums it up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
rcd1649
Experience: 11 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun, quick course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 1, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well thought out
Interesting use of elevation to set up down hill, up hill shots
Nice setting
Well signed, easy to follow

Cons:

Small area to work in for course design, all holes <300 feet
Very muddy in spots

Other Thoughts:

I enjoyed my round here. If you live close by or are in the area worth a play through, but if not I wouldn't travel to get to this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
longandwrong
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.4 years 59 played 39 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Birdies in the trees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Reminded me of an 'executive' golf course, you know show up after work play 9 holes. Enjoyed my 2 times around the course. Loved the course challenges thru the trees and turns with 7 holes on the side of a hill. Every hole gave a person an opportunity to throw a 'bird'. Hole number 8 throwing from the woods across the lawn was a great ace challenge. But watch out, if you throw too hard the water on the down side of the hill is right there.

Cons:

couple of holes directions from one basket to next pad were missing (followed the main trails and was able to move thru the course pretty good.) Hole #1 pad when you first show up seems backwards. Basket is back toward parking lot.

Other Thoughts:

Didn't understand why there was a hole 10. I guess you can play it any way you want. I played 1-9 twice and then for funzies I played 10 both times for ace throws (didn't count it in my 18 hole score.)
When in the area I will play it again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
chonkyman
Experience: 16.2 years 92 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Easy to navigate
- Quiet park with beautiful surroundings
- Fun holes and not too much vegetation to lose your discs
- Plenty of holes are birdiable

Cons:

- Only 10 holes

Other Thoughts:

Out of all the disc golf courses in the area, I think I enjoyed this one the most. Better than Mineral Springs or Terrace Creek. This one was much easier to navigate and had some character.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
EverettSilvertips
Experience: 221 played 9 reviews
3.00 star(s)

home sweet home 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

very techinical, wooded area, have up and downs throws, have few OBs to worry about, open area to throw, it is great 9 holes of balance.

new additonal basket, 10th basket, right after 9th hole, and it is an ace basket!

mostly have signs everywhere!

have trash cans, bathrooms, and water fountain.

Cons:

vandalism need to be stopped! last time i visited there, the head of howling coyote statue was cut off. also in 2013, i had few friends played there, we was in wooded area, and some punk broke in 3 different cars, robbed few important things.

natural grounding.... the more we play the ground get muddy on wet days and getting more sinking in.

9 holes.... most of us prefer 18 holes.

Other Thoughts:

fun and nice gateway from my home.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
Strongbow
Experience: 27 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Short technical shots 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 8, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Some good technical shots

Cons:

dirt tee pads
people always sitting in fairways
busy park on weekends, no parking
short

Other Thoughts:

I rarely play here due to the normal park crowd sitting on fairways and if its a nice day the parking lot is full. There are a few decent holes with technical shots. I wouldn't recommend this course unless its close to your home and you want to play a quick round after work.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
TheMinnesotan
Experience: 14.2 years 25 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Little Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is very clean! The layout makes great use of the space and creates opportunities for different shot types.

The course can be played very quickly. Great for a quick round, or can be played through multiple times with relative ease.

This course is also pretty forgiving. This would be a great spot to bring a new player. The chances of losing a disc are not too high, so bumming a buddy a disc for his first round isn't too much of a gamble on your part!

Cons:

The course is short... If you are looking for a spot to "Grip and Rip" this course isn't it. Only two or three holes actually require a full powered driver.

It is only 9 holes. Maybe it's just me, but I like playing at least 18 different holes in a round. But, there just doesn't seem to be space for more.

Other Thoughts:

I like this course. Its only 9 holes, but I played it through 4 times on my first visit. I see this course as a great spot to work on finesse and midrange shots. The people I met while playing this course were very friendly and courteous. I do wish there were a few more spots to stretch out my drivers, but in reality the mid-short game is more important (IMO). After just moving to the area, this has become my new "home course."
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
53Clubs
Experience: 10.2 years 23 played 10 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Very nice park just across the river from Bothell 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very good beginner course.
Great variation in terrain and shots - uphill, downhill, right turn, left turn, open field, woods, holes with lots of obstacles, holes with a few well placed obstacles.
Great parking and facilities.
Golf basically does a circle around the outside of a nice family park - bring the family and everyone will be happy and occupied.

Cons:

A couple of holes cross 'park accessible areas' - if there are people there, skip the hole and move on - please don't make enemies for golfers. You'll run into this about 20% of the time on #4 and maybe 5% of the time on #8.
The park can get crowded and sometimes on #3, even in exactly the shot you were looking for, a 3 year old will get excited by the flying disc, and come and get it, and you can spend 10 minutes chasing the disc and the kid around the playground (and possibly looking like a pedophile in the process - until you finally retrieve the disc, then everything is understood).
Only 9 holes and no alternate tees (really no good place for them either).
Short - you're not going to air out any drives here.

Other Thoughts:

This is a great course for casually playing on a sunny day. I expect it could get wet and possibly slippery/sloppy on 2, 5, 6, and 9 if it is or has been rainy. Really not conducive to 'intense play' - though if its grey out, you can probably get in several rounds without running into many people other than just players.
The first tee sits next to a picnic table. The table serves as a great meeting place and resting place for players between rounds and you'll almost always find someone else there to play, but hanging out at the first tee before or between rounds.
*A note on hole 7 - its a long downhill then across a field to the basket. Fun from the tee - DON'T OVER SHOOT IT! Its easy to catch a great glide and have the disc just float on a cushion of air all the way across the field until you start yelling "Come Down!... Please Come Down!" - when it doesn't, you are not nearly as frustrated as you become once you get down to look for it and find that the drop off behind the basket goes downhill to the river... deep,... dark,... slow river... gross, muddy, duck sanctuary of a river - reach into the bag for another driver and wipe the tear from your eye,... that was the last time you'll throw that disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Phlick
Experience: 42.3 years 134 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice Park Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 14, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* Lots of parking
* Running water bathrooms on site
* Well marked tees with yardage/flight paths
* Benches on most tees
* Good flow/easy navigation
* Good use of elevation/available space
* New baskets

Cons:

* Only 9 holes, no alternate tees
* No practice basket(s)
* Dirt tees/Mats (get muddy/slippy)
* Short course, no need for the fast plastic.
* No alternate pin placements
* No trash cans on the course

Other Thoughts:

Nice little park course, great for a quick after work or lunch time round, certainly not a destination course. Most of the holes play very short and are well guarded. Good course for beginners or to introduce new players to the sport, but still challenging enough for experienced players to have a good time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
bizweasel
Experience: 14 years 14 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Best eastside course ... for what that's worth 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

* A nice semi technical course, with shortness offset by being narrow with a lot of thread the tree needle shots off the tee
* Good use of the available terrain and pretty good flow, good mix short and medium length shots.
* Hole #7 is an awesome downhill shot with this madrona tree sticking up like an evil pitchfork ... stick a good drive on this one, you'll remember it for months
* Interesting terrain around some of the baskets like slants to punish missed putts and make them roll away
* A good local course for us eastsiders

Cons:

* 6 months of year, some holes can be muddy especially #2
* #1 is fairly boring, wish they'd redo it, it's also out of character with the other holes
* Harder to play on weekends because some fairways cross places where people think it's OK to have a picnic in the middle of your approach angle
* Some slightly fierce brush off the narrower fairways

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice little course, The designer did well w what they had (w possible exception of the #1 hole). I really wish the eastside had an 18 hole layout but for now this is as good as we got, it's fun enough that you can play it twice to get your 18 in, I suppose. It's not usually too crowded .
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Udon
Experience: 11.2 years 9 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A Fun Stomp Through the Woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Excellent use of obstacles without being too difficult for new players.
- Clean, well kept park
- Variety of shots needed to par/birdie many holes.
- Park goers are mostly out of the way of the course and are rarely threatened by errant discs
- Locals are friendly

Cons:

- Tee pads can be full of puddles after a rain making almost half of them unusable.
- Lots of mud around some baskets and throughout the park; definitely a good idea to wear boots.
- Blyth park has enough space to have been a 18 hole course. There isn't really much options for a safari back 9 either.

Other Thoughts:

Blyth Park is built around a watershed of the surrounding rivers. Because of this, it is notoriously muddy until about June when most of it dries up. Despite how wet it can be, I love this park and the DGC that is a part of it. The holes are well spaced, and it is challenging without being frustrating. This is a great course for a beginner to learn how to drive due to good use of trees as obstacles and the open fields several holes open up to. This one is going on my favorites list and I will be returning for many rounds in the near future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
medikated
Experience: 25.1 years 32 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice little 9 holer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 8, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-good variety of shots needed, clean park, never crowded
-course is easy to navigate and has a nice flow to it
-the use of the land so far is outstanding, very good design

Cons:

-is very short, I can play all 9 in 30 minutes or less, doesn't mean that it's an easy course though, technical/tight lines provide the challenge.
-can get muddy, needs major erosion control in order to maintain course layout

Other Thoughts:

-very fun course, really wish that secondary tee pads could be added on every hole to add distance/challenge
-The first tee can be tricky to find, if you walk behind the bathrooms you'll find it
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
forehandfranz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.1 years 226 played 128 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Little NW gem 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 3, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Though a small course, it's a perfect example of half NW terrain (large fir trees, and ferns on hilly terrain) and grassy fairways framed by trees. It is a great way to practice up on some technical shots, and like others have said - it's birdy runs for advanced, and a great learning game for beginners. Most of all, this is a really fun course with some interesting putting greens when you are in the woods.

The park was not crowded on a sunny weekday either!

Cons:

Yes, mud was present, but the parks are doing their best to alleviate some spots (parks guy was laying pine needle trimmings on a muddy spot on hole #2 which has a spring coming up near the pin).

The tees are still gravel, but acceptable and fairly flat. Obviously, this would hopefully be the next improvement, other than more wood chips in the the muddy areas.

Very small nit pick - but the course does favor the RHBH more than RHFH shot.

Other Thoughts:

They have 1 or 2 alternate tee pads that we spotted. If they could put them on every hole - it would be a huge asset (a.k.a - Northpark).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top