• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Angier, NC

Jack Marley Park

Permanent course
1.155(based on 13 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Jack Marley Park reviews

Filter
3 0
pmay5
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21 years 484 played 248 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Nice small town park, DG is a stretch here. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice DISCatcher baskets, tee pads (although pretty small), decent enough tee signs.
#1, #2 and #3 were all good holes, on open grass away from other park users, I think we all agree on that!

Cons:

Several holes are adjacent to (or on) the walking path, the volleyball court, parking lots and the ballfield concession stand! Real dangerous for the other park users.
A couple of holes were across or next to the pond (on their left). Since this would usually attract families and newbies, no worse feeling then sending your plastic for a swim, then, GAME OVER!

Other Thoughts:

Going back and looking at the aerial of this park, they've really crammed a lot of things into it, pond, walking path, tennis court, sand volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, bocce, picnic shelters and 4 ball fields that can double as soccer, oh and the DG course.
They really should pull the baskets after the first 3 and maybe put 3 of them around the other ballfields, from where they are now. That way they are behind the outfields, less traffic and would finish a little closer to the start. Then donate the extra baskets to another course that needs a practice basket, like Campbell and Anderson Creek.
I think this would make a better family and newbie DG experience and not give us a bad name if someone gets hurt.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
anhyzer09
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Great idea - terrible execution 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

There are baskets, tee pads, running water and bathrooms.

Holes 1-3.

Cons:

Everything about this course seems like wasted money. There could have been a place to put it or a better place to spend the money. When it was first put in, it wasn't bad because the park wasn't busy yet. Impossible to play now with so many people.

Other Thoughts:

Not sure what the idea was here. Pads face the wrong way constantly and most of the holes are waaaaaay to close to populated areas.

Maybe the town can find another location and use the baskets there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
LeeLK
Experience: 16 years 68 played 53 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Mostly annoying 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Baskets are in nice shape. Pads are concrete. Water makes it a bit interesting.

Cons:

Pads are small and often facing the wrong direction. Signage at pads is too close, or missing. Except for #1-3, the holes all play very close to walking paths or ball fields so come on a slow day or you're going to be waiting a while to tee off. #6 is missing?

Other Thoughts:

#1-3 are legit, shortish holes that are good warm ups. #4 and #5 are pretty fun, flirting with water. The rest play too close to structures and are mostly annoying.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
evilempire
Experience: 10 years 27 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great park, nicely maintained and baskets in good shape.

Cons:

Water hazard got 3 of our discs! Be careful (we are new to the sport). Pretty tight course with cars, people walking, lake, and buildings.

Other Thoughts:

Kind of challenging cause you need decent accuracy on holes 4 and 5. We only got that far into the course. First 3 holes are great for letting some long shots rip in a nice open field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
reposado
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13 years 278 played 276 reviews
0.50 star(s)

stop the train 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 4, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice baskets in good shape. Solid tees for the most part. Decent tee signs too. The first three holes, while nothing special, are very playable. Wide open shots across a field but playable nonetheless. For a practice area, it should suffice nicely. There isn't a ton of driving space but the three baskets make a nice triangle with two-to-three hundred feet per side. It's also on nice grass with a creek running along one side. A nice area to throw.

Cons:

The next stretch of holes has some potential but it's pretty much wasted. 4 has a short carry and I was kinda excited to throw it as I walked up to the tee, until someone drove in and parked about ten feet from the basket. He wasn't do anything wrong, there was a spot there, but I wasn't about to throw 230 ft over water with a car that close to the basket. Likewise, 5 could be a good hole, with the lake on the left and the basket on the water's edge. But, most of that fairway passes over volleyball courts and walkways. There was no one there to possibly spike my disc over the net, so I actually played that one. 6 has the potential to be the best hole there. It has the water and it has a guarded pin. But either the tee is directly behind the fifth basket or 5 has the shortest short pad in the history of disc golf.

The last three holes do not have potential. The fairway for these holes essentially is the paved walkway. That's how little space typically exists between two fences. Sandwiching a hole between a ballfield and the edge of the park was not a great idea. Luckily for the pedestrians, Very few golfers likely play this course. Those that do probably get lost somewhere before hole seven anyways.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
mrpolarbear
Experience: 14 played 3 reviews
1.00 star(s)

3 holes. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Holes #1 - #3: Open, Kentucky blue grass short holes. Small creek runs along side hole #2.

Cons:

Hole #4: Over the short corner of a retention pond. Unfortunately, there is a sidewalk running right in front of the pin & a park bench in striking distance as well.
Hole #5: Runs along the pond on one side and a volleyball court on the other. Too close.
Hole #6: MIA. Hole #6 was removed to extend the parking lot.
Holes #7 - #9 Wrap around the ball fields with very little "fairway". Hole #8 for example, catch a crosswind & your disc may be in someone's fenced back yard, or worse yet, in their living room. Grip-lock & your climbing another fence into the locked ballpark.

Other Thoughts:

I have to echo what someone else wrote regarding this course. Holes #1 - #3 are nice practice holes. I'd recommend playing them a few times each and skipping the rest.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
New013
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.9 years 179 played 120 reviews
0.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 9, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

All the baskets were there.
Holes 1-6 didn't piss me off.
The baseball fields looked nice.

There were 2 hookers or normal Angier women strutting around (I would put the hookers in the Cons section but they were still alive, when I find dead hookers i will put it in the cons section.
The grass was good for my bare feet.

Cons:

Everyone else at the park.

Think of a thing you hate about small, underfunded, poorly planned dg courses and this has it.

My 2yo who spends hours taking tops off of things and then putting them back on got bored.

Other Thoughts:

As another reviewer said... just play 1-6.

7-9 will lead you on an Indiana Jones adventure in which the lead character gets mauled by a redneck bear on steroids with a baseball bat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Mpconrad
Experience: 13.5 years 5 played 5 reviews
0.50 star(s)

DON"T GO HERE! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 5, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Open area short holes make for great ace opportunities

Cons:

9 holes, Short, Deep pond, LOTS OF PEOPLE who don't get out of the way and possibility of killing a kid. Baseball fields are right beside holes, and course ends NO WHERE near parking area

Other Thoughts:

Wouldn't waste your time unless you live within walking distance and don't feel like driving to Campbell's Course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
PDaddy
Experience: 14.3 years 46 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Treeless 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 14, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

No trees! I wouldn't want to play this course regularly, but it was nice to get to sling the disc toward a goal with out so many obsticles. This course allows you to practice your distance throwing.

Cons:

Like others say, throwing around the ball fields cold be a problem, but at lest there are gates in the fences if your disk lands on the field.

Other Thoughts:

After playing the nine holes, we repeated 1 through 3 a couple more times. These three holes reallly allow you to let loose and make a big triangle that allows for repeating these three as often as you wish.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
uncjibble
Experience: 25 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Work with what you have 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 27, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

First of all it was a real surprise to find a course in this area, as I live relatively nearby and any other course is close to 30 min. away. Like the other reviews said, the first 6 holes are fine. The ones where the lake comes into play are great (except for the occasional jogger). They did a good job of making use of limited space. One thing that hasn't been mentioned is that the park lighting pretty much follows the course. With the exception of 1-3 being a little dim, you can play this course after dark!

Cons:

Unfortunately, they really ran out of space after 6. 7-9 are around the baseball fields and are unplayable about 90% of the time once baseball starts. I've tried before b/c I think disc golf has just as much of a right to the park as baseball does, but after a while its just not worth it. I've hit empty bleachers enough times to not want to risk it on full bleachers. Also on hole 4 there are parking spots within 30 ft of the hole. There are not usually cars there, but I hate throwing at when they are there, since you could have a pretty solid shot and still hit a car.

Other Thoughts:

I work nearby, and I come over to play on my lunch break every now and then. In the middle of the day during the week, the course is uncrowded, and most of its problems go away. If you catch the course at a time like this, its actually a pretty decent course. I'm really glad they put this course in, and I think they did the best they could with the small amount of land they had. Considering there are no other courses nearby, its nice to have it when you don't want to drive 30 min to Middle Creek or 45 to Kentwood, Cedar Hills, or Buckhorn.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
DWill
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 46.1 years 324 played 45 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Three Three Three 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 25, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very scenic park with a nice pond and wild life. Nice Discatcher baskets, strategically positioned to use the water to increase the difficulty of some holes.

Grass was very well maintained, plenty of parking and nice bathrooms.

Cons:

Located in a multi use park, so there is the potential for a lot of pedestrians walking through the course. The last 6 holes are basically unplayable if there are too many people walking around.

Holes 4-6 wind along the one side of the pond, but there is a sidewalk that runs parallel and through most of the fairways. There is also a beach volleyball court in 5 fairway, which could be dangerous if a game is taken place.

Unfortunately, the last 3 holes are located around two baseball fields and unplayable if a game is present at either field. Basket and fairways too close to the bleachers and/or field, makes some very dangerous throws.

Basket 9 might be the worst designed hole I've played. There is a walking path through the length of the fairway, with a blind corner near the basket. Pedestrians come around this corner into 9 fairway and can easily get hit with a drive coming towards them.

9 basket ends near #6 basket, a long way from #1 tee. Maybe if no one else is playing the course, you might be able to play holes 6 to 3 backwards to return back to #1.

Other Thoughts:

This course could potentially be very good. It already uses the pond to it's advantage, but it needs some tweaking to really make it good.

If it could circle the pond, it would add difficulty, avoid non disc golfers and return back towards #1.

Best time to play this course is when there isn't an athletic event happening. Early or late in the day would be best, but there are still plenty of walker/joggers to avoid.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Sp00ks
Experience: 35.1 years 20 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Played here twice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 5, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I have to agree with Olorin almost 100%. However, it appears that I enjoyed the course a little more.

Holes 1-3 are gorgeous albeit a little short.

Cons:

7-9 are not as enjoyable. Ball fields, people, fences etc. I would fear playing these holes with a ball game going on.

Other Thoughts:

There is a danger factor here. We had a family picnicking and were oblivious to where they were sitting and the danger they could be in. They sat in a place that they could be struck from two different holes. We ended up picking up and not playing 9 for fear of hurting someone.

I was surprised to even see a course in this little park. I commend whomever built the course for the undertaking and fear this will never be a viable option for most but if you live close it is good for a quick round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
Olorin
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 45.1 years 978 played 118 reviews
0.50 star(s)

3 sections: the OK, the Good, & the Bad

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 23, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course plays in 3 distinct sections: 1-3 "the OK"/ 4-6 "the Good"/ 7-9 "the Bad".

"The OK", holes 1-3, are short, open, grassy holes with only 1 tree in play. I will say that hole 2 is a nice little open plum just begging to be aced, so that makes it fun to run at.

"The Good", holes 4-6, are still short, but they have water in play or at least in view that make these the best on the course. They're the most scenic, have the most risk vs. reward, and are the most fun. (Comments on holes 7-9 are below.)

There are good tee signs with a map of the hole.

Cons:

"The Bad", holes 7-9. The first hint of things getting worse is that after basket 6 confusion sets in trying to find tee 7. You see a basket nearby, but it turns out to be number 9. So where is tee 7? It turns out that you have to cross the hole 9 fairway and walk a ways to get to tee 7. Lawyers looking for lawsuit clients should hang out near holes 7-9 and just wait for unwary park patrons to get pegged with discs. These threes holes play on the sides of two baseball fields. On hole 7 the shortest route is over the baseball field, plus there's a walking path the whole length of the fairway. On holes 8 and 9 you throw over the walking trail and over bleachers that may have parents watching little league baseball games! Holes 1-6 are a little below average, but holes 7-9 pull that rating way, way down.
-Safety issues- There are also safety issues galore! On six holes you need to watch out for people in parking lots, on walking trails, on baseball fields, or on volleyball courts. If you play after 5:00 p.m. when the joggers and walkers are out, or on weekends when little league teams are using the ball fields and bleachers, the park is very crowded, so watch out!
-Tees: The tee pads are way too short (~6 ft long), and some tee pads (1, 3) are put in at awkward angles to the flight path.
-Signs: Some tee signs are at the right front corner of the tee, so a RHBH follow through could get a whacked hand (3, 8, 9).
-Length variety: quite low: 6 holes of 205-255/ 3 holes of 315-330
-Elevation changes: The course is almost all flat with a 4 ft drop as the biggest change.
-I'm pretty sure that holes 1-5 are actually quite a bit shorter than the lengths on the tee signs.
-After you finish hole 9 there's a very long walk back to the parking lot near hole 1. You can decrease your walk back if you park near basket 4 or 5, but then you have a long walk just to get to hole 1.

Other Thoughts:

Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925.) Holes 1-6 are pretty short.

You be the judge-

As far as amenities go there are good bathrooms, and some park benches on the walking trail (that can also be in the fairways), but not much else. The course is still new, though.

I realize that it takes a lot of work to get a disc golf course put in, so I'm sorry that I have to be so negative in my review, but this course shows how necessary it is to use a qualified course designer. The course might even be improved by taking the drastic, and very unusual, step of removing holes 7-9. In my opinion, if the course only had the first 6 holes it would be better than the current layout. As it is now, you shouldn't go out of your way to play there, and after you've played it once there's not much reason to go back.

Note: If you want to read more specifics about my evaluation, please send me an email to <playdiscgolf(at)gmail.com> and I'll send you a file with more details.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top