St. Louis (Mehlville), MO

Jefferson Barracks - Original

3.845(based on 67 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Jefferson Barracks - Original reviews

Filter
3 1
brekko
Experience: 16.4 years 51 played 5 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Middle of the Road 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 25, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Multiple pin positions for every hole, centrally located in StL, closer than some of the other quality courses to downtown.

Starts and finishes in the same spot so you don't have to walk a mile when you finish the course.

Cons:

Lack of variety/originality with hole design, it's a decently large scrap of land and there were only 2-3 holes I enjoyed playing or were pleasantly designed (3, 6, and 12) however some of this could be due to the current pin positions, one hole, 14 I believe, is planted directly inside of a stand of bushes, it was like a sick joke by whomever picked that spot.

Poorly connected on many of the holes from one pin to the next pad caused us to spend time asking people where the next hole was (even with the printed map I had) and since they mix and match pin positions on around half the holes I was running up to see where the basket was.

Other Thoughts:

I liked the course overall, but of the 5 courses I played in the St Louis metro area, this was easily the least enjoyable, granted I only picked already high rated ones here on DGCR, but it still didn't earn close to a 4 star rating in my book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
BogeyNoMore
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 19.8 years 479 played 183 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Meet me in St Louis 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plays through a popular, well-maintained, city park city.
• Disc Play: Wonderfully hilly terrain featuring nice elevation changes and some interesting pin placements. Most fairways have enough trees to obscure some routes, but not so many that there's only one or two. Several ways to play these holes, but all require reasonable shot shaping and control. Several holes are fairly open off the tee, playing to well-guarded baskets (depending on the current placement). #15 is a tight tunnel shot, and there are at least a couple of other tight fairways to challenge your precision. Not quite as long as some other courses in the area, there's still a nice mix of distances to encourage using everything from putters to distance drivers from the tee. Current pin configuration has a major impact on hole shapes, as well as overall distance, with some placements being significantly longer/shorter, guarded/accessible, left/right/straight ahead, behind/around obstacles, on or near slopes/flat ground, but it seems they rotate them to provide a decent balance overall.
• Equipment: Single concrete tees are in good shape, so are the baskets. Quality tee signs were free of graffiti and show all possible pin locations and distances. Scorecard w/map at kiosk.
• Routing/Nav: Front 9 is a bit broken up, crosses the park road and walk trails a few times, not optimal, but not the worst I've seen. Loops back to parking after #9. Back nine flows out from parking, then back in an uninterrupted and fairly intuitive layout. Tee markers and concrete tees make it easier to get around, as does the map on the scorecard.
• Aesthetics: The combo of park style setting and substantial elevation changes makes for a pleasant, visually appealing course.
• Fun factor: Routed to provide several downhill tee shots. Many holes open just enough to allow for par saving recoveries if a tree takes you offline. Although the back is a bit brushier than the front, it's not thick brush lining the entire fairway - doesn't seem like there's a particularly high risk of disc loss.
• Rotating pins is a nice plus, but only for locals - that said, I wish my local courses did it!
• Rest rooms near parking, and between #5 & #6.

Cons:

Pretty solid course overall - take these with a grain of salt. Some are more informational than ratings oriented.
• Not disc golf dedicated land and several holes play close to the road and walkways. Far from the worst I've ever seen, but I can see some potential for disc vs. non-player interaction.
• A few of the "guarded" placements seemed ridiculously so - such that they force a layup to set up a good look at the pin, thus nullifying good drives, resulting in less score separation.
• Course is still in decent shape and seems to have aged pretty well to this point, but erosion is taking its toll and is evident in many spots. Some tees could be surrounded with landscaping timbers or stones set flush to the ground to help prevent washing away the remaining soil.
• Some fairways are close together (9 and 10 for example), leading to possible interference - be aware of what's going on around you.
• Visitors may want to avoid this course after a good soaking. Some slopes will be slippery and low lying areas will be soupy.

Other Thoughts:

Not overly challenging, JB is well suited to beginners and intermediate players. It's also one of those courses that would be fun to play repeatedly, and even though they might tear it up, I can see advanced players having a blast here.

Although it wasn't busy when I played, given that it's one of the few 18 holers in the immediate area, and the fun to play setting, I can see this course attracting crowds. Although it could be played fairly quickly, you might want to arrive early if you plan to do so.

Only 12 miles from downtown, the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
discdanny
Experience: 10.8 years 37 played 17 reviews
3.50 star(s)

JB 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 19, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

JB is one of the most diverse courses in the STL area.. with up to 4 pin locations available. It is set in a historical park with civil war era trees that line the fairways and gentle rolling hills. This park is by far one of the most popular courses in the STL region and for very good reason. This course in very challenging yet it can be shot on.

Added Pros Include-
-Concrete tee pads
-Restrooms
-trash cans
-Pavilions
-Sams Liquor
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Golden Tuna
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23 years 185 played 31 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Still one of my favorites 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good layout - Front and back both loop back to the parking lot - Tons of pin placements - Concrete tee pads - Easy to navigate - Restrooms throughout the course - Convenient store right off 10's tee pad for water, snacks - they even sell discs - Good variety of shots, Always someone there for a round

JB is a great course that offers a good challenge and always looks different when I'm there. Each holes has at least 3 different pin placements and the baskets are moved all the time. During the winter, the course is usually short, around 5,000 ft. But, during the summer it can stretch out to nearly 8,500 ft. You'll also use just about every disc in your bag as there is rarely duplicated shots. Lots of foliage for good shade, but not too hard to locate errant throws.

Cons:

Since this course is so popular it is usually crowded, especially on the weekends. But, as long as you don't mind playing through, or letting other do the same, its not bad.

Other Thoughts:

JB has always been one of my favorite courses. It offers a little bit of everything and, if you don't know your way, there is always someone there to show you around. Nice people, great course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
jjacobs445
Experience: 12.5 years 76 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very Popular 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- great layout with good use of terrain
- front 9 and back 9 both loop if short on time
- good use of woods and open shots
- tee signage has very clear information
- multiple pin locations
- concrete pads
- beautiful park

Cons:

- very busy course with other players

Other Thoughts:

hole #3 is a lot of fun, and so many people have cleared out the brush that finding your disc isn't hard. holes #5 and #9 are nice downhill bombs. holes #4, #6, #7, #13 are good birdie opportunities. tricky shots through the woods make #15, #16, and #17 challenging and fun as well.

i really enjoy this course, and it's obviously popular for a reason. it was always been fairly crowded when i've played, but the players have always been respectful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
bschuff
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

JB 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 16, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great overall course.
Tons of pin locations.
Beautiful well maintained park.
Soft chains.
200 year old huge trees up and down the course.
Extremely friendly park patrons.
Safe and secure park.
Very nice tee off pads.

Cons:

It floods when it rains.
Some trees are a little over grown and could use a good trimming.
Confusing to navigate for first time users of course.
Lots of vegetation make it easy to lose a disc.
Roads are very close to a few holes, make it slightly dangerous at times.
Some holes have a lot of trash around them.
The course can get quite crowded at times since it is such a nice course.

Other Thoughts:

Get out there early and beat the crowds. One of my favorite courses in the metro east. Be ready to find a few peoples discs while playing and don't forget to call them if their names are on them. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
smokey102977
Experience: 19 years 22 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

JB is Sweet! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

JB is a great park course. Multiple pins, a great mix of tight and open fairways, a mix of open and tight greens, some slight elevation change occurs throughout the course, and some complex distances meandering through a maze of mature trees makes this course a must play for those who look for a challenge. and still prefer that park setting.

Cons:

Do not play after a rain! The course has very poor drainage and water backs up into the course regularly.

Other Thoughts:

Play this course before they pull it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
harr0140
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 15.2 years 1508 played 475 reviews
4.00 star(s)

To Quote Thomas Jefferson “I’m a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.” 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

1) Incredible stand of mature Oak trees and other hardwoods. These trees help make this course so great. You can throw around or under the sprawling branches of these mature trees.
2) Excellent elevation change on this course. There are rolling hills but also a handful of fairly dramatic drops or rises in elevation. This feature coupled with the sprawling trees really helps to make this course so much fun.
3) You will need to have all of your shots available, but you have choices on many of the holes for which shot you want to throw. Rarely are you mandated into a specific shot.
4) Nice signs with all information, Hole #, Par, Distance, and alternate baskets visible.
5) There are plenty of benches all over this course for you to sit down if you get tired or behind a slow group.
6) The tees are very long concrete . . . they seem smooth but I didn't ever notice slippage. I always appreciate larger than smaller.
7) This course felt a little bit like an IL favorite Anna Page. There are pockets of shrubs and brush all over that you throw around or sometimes even into. There are a couple holes where you actually want to end up in the middle of one of these pockets.
8) There is a very unique shot on Hole #3 where you throw straight out but the ground drop off into a hollow area which is filled with a really punishing sprawling shrub. Ideally you will clear about 75-100' of these shrubs and land in the opening around the basket. I have never really had to throw over shrubs between the tee and the basket like this. My description does not do this hole justice, but it is one of the more unique holes I have seen in my 450 courses played.
9) There was a hole (#13) where a tree (3' diameter) had fallen leaving only the stump to the right of the basket but the trunk of the tree protects virtually the entire basket. I had a putt at the basket and I tried to skip the putt off the top of the fallen tree and into the basket. It was also a very unique hole, while some may have cleaned up the fallen tree, they left this tree as it was as a new obstacle.
10) Multiple pins available on many if not all of the holes. I love when courses can be altered, both from a maintenance standpoint (to avoid compaction and erosion) but also from a players perspective. I get bored when I play the same course over and over and just altering the layout a few times a year is enough to change my desire to play the same course.
11) Pin location markers on the tee signs.
12) Next tee arrows are located on small concrete pieces near the baskets.

Cons:

1) There are a lot of leaves left in the middle of the park. I would think a beautiful park like this would get rid of as many leaves as possible. It was the end of November when I played so the park was likely in the condition it would be in all winter. The leaves can eat up some discs for sure.
2) The remodeling that is happening on 14, 15, 16 area has made some slightly awkward holes. I am not sure if things will be remaining where they are or not, but these holes just felt weird.
3) Lots of compaction and erosion happening around tees and some baskets. This is the worst thing about disc golf courses and we need to come up with some options or alternative to avoid this type of issue. Eventually there will be courses that close because of the compaction and erosion.
4) #10 throws right along and potentially over #9 which is always a nightmare.

Other Thoughts:

There just are not many cons with this course. The course is awesome and it has a bit of everything and presents a whole lot of variety and challenge. This course feels so much like Anna Page in NC Illinois but with additional challenge and additional elevation. AP is one of my favorites and gets a high rating so this one will get an ever higher rating.
I am so happy I decided to drive to St. Louis at 9PM and was playing this course by 9:30AM. It was a 6 hour drive and I got about 5 hours of sleep before the drive. We came for the Crystal City Cave courses but found a whole lot of great disc golf too. I also played Endicott and both of the courses at Foundation Park along with both of the cave courses. This is one of my favorites from the trip across the board and certainly ends up in my top 75 or so courses played. It is getting harder and harder to compare the best of the best. I might only be able to rank courses above 4.5 discs instead of 4.0. If Martin Dewgarita can handle a top 100 list, I think I better try to do the same.

To Quote Thomas Jefferson "I'm a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it."
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
ervin
Experience: 10 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good, but not a great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 25, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It's a fun course overall. Many of the holes have demanding placements of your drives. You can't just grip'n'rip and expect to score really well here. The chains are ultra-soft. Almost like Ozzie Smith's glove back in the 80's, and the course has a variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Overall it's a really fun afternoon of disc.

Cons:

Some of the fairways are really tight, and you're often throwing over or into another holes fairway. The course is often really crowded, but this serves to have a couple of people to play with at all times.

Other Thoughts:

I was really expecting something phenomenal when I saw a 4/5 on dgcoursereview. I liked the course, but no more than I enjoyed playing Endicott and certainly no more than the Centralia course about an hour east of JB. It's not that the course isn't great fun, but it's not in the top 15% of courses I've played. The fairways are ultra-tight and there are more than 4 holes where you're waiting for another hole to drive before you can. It's a solid 18 which is worth the 2 hours to play--just be aware that during Sunday's the course is packed with people and is really untenable in terms of a speedy efficient round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 5
JHern
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.7 years 82 played 49 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Park Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The park and the course are well-kept. Lots of large mature trees to define fairways, and small-scale topography to add a little uphill and downhill to the mix. Good variety of shots, and fun variety of potential routes to choose from on each hole. Some pin positions are set up on stumps and such, making for fun greens. I liked seeing the map of the course layout in advance, we never got lost. The bulletin board was even stocked with score cards.

Cons:

The course is on the short side, there was only one long-ish hole that I couldn't reach from the tee. A few holes have only a very small window to aim for off the tee, or the pin is back in the bushes, such that a bit of luck comes into play. I didn't find the course to be very challenging, and I imagine that local pros probably shoot ridiculously low scores, and that scoring separation is lower than usual (confirmed by looking at the dubs scores posted on the bulletin board). The course flow was strange in a couple places, with 2 consecutive tees next to one another at one point. I think the holes are a bit crowded at 1,9,10,18, the designers were trying too hard to play back to the parking lot twice, while there isn't a lot of space to work with in that part of the course.

Other Thoughts:

With an average DGCR rating over 4/5, I was expecting a great deal more. This is a fun little 18 holer, but it is not a 4. I've rarely seen a worse case of grade inflation for a course in all my experience using DGCR as a disc golf travel guide.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
birdman101
Experience: 14.6 years 59 played 24 reviews
4.00 star(s)

JB 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 21, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is in a large county park, that has biking and walking trails and some other park type features, but for the most part the disc golf course is the only thing in the area, so the walkers, joggers, etc aren't ever really in the way.

Nice large concrete tees, with benches and trashcans at each. Most also have a small brush or broom on the tee sign post, or under one of the benches for cleaning them off. The new tee signs are 10000 times better than the old ones. They show the 4 or 5 different positions on each hole, and have distances, and have a screw next to the distance of the current position.

This course requires a variety of shots, and depending on the pin position each individual hole could require something completely different.

Several holes (3,4,5,10,16, and 17) require you to throw over or around some pretty nasty woody brush, which comes into play on most holes. The other holes play up and down the rolling hills, and under/ through large oak trees.

holes 1 and 10 start right by the parking lot, where there is a shelter, restroom, and drinking fountains. holes 9 and 18 baskets are right by the same parking lot.
There is a small concrete pad next to each pin position with an arrow pointing to the next tee, but some of them need to be repainted.

Cons:

Not many to speak of, but.....

The path from 4's tee to the pins is really rough, you can walk around instead of through the woods, but that takes time and part of the time you will be down in that mess.

Trash can be an issue on the last 4 or 5 holes due to the apartments that run along there. They are a little sketchy but I have never had a problem.

Hole 5's tee can get some shots from 4's tee at it, there is a net in place that should help, but you never know

Other Thoughts:

Several blind shots, so if its your first time you may need to walk some fairways to be sure of where the basket is.

along with that make sure its clear before you throw.

This course can be busy. Seems to be one of the more popular courses in the area. Most of the guys seem to be nice and know what they are doing and talking about.

THERE IS APPARENTLY A WATER PARK GOING IN BACK BY HOLE 15, SO THERE IS MOST LIKELY A REDESIGN HAPPENING.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
catkiller12
Experience: 12.2 years 17 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Jefferson Barracks 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1) This course is definitely not boring. It presents so much variety. No two holes are alike, and each hole presents its own challenge(s).

2) The course is very fair and well designed. Most of the holes are challenging but not impossible. I usually have an opportunity to make at least par if not birdie.

3) Most of the course's scenery is simply beautiful. There is a lot of green and there is no shortage of trees. I find the trees quite nice (except when they get in the way of my discs) during the summer months. They provide excellent shade during a hot summer afternoon. The course is well maintained and very clean.

4) I usually go as soon as the park opens, and there aren't very many people on the course that early in the morning. When I do encounter other players, they are very friendly or at the very least, mind their own business. If I had a question, I wouldn't hesitate to ask other players on the course.

Cons:

1) The course might be a little confusing to navigate for first time players. The first time I played there my father-in-law and I were a little lost sometimes finding the next hole. The signage wasn't that great back then, but the new signs out there are a big improvement.

2) Sometimes the baskets get moved around to different pins, which is nice for the sake of variety, but sometimes I have to search around for the basket to be sure I am throwing the discs in the right direction.

3) Be careful on holes #3 and #4. Those holes have a ton of vegetation, which makes drives interesting if you make a bad first throw. I've almost lost a couple of my drivers on those holes. I did lose one driver on hole #5 so be careful when trying to toss over that heavy brush.

Other Thoughts:

This is my favorite course in the St. Louis area. I am relatively new to this sport, but by playing mostly at Jefferson Barracks, I have watched my game improve dramatically. If you are a newbie, don't be afraid to play this course. It's a blast! I usually feel disappointed when I've finished hole #18. Sometimes I just have to satisfy myself with another round of 18 holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Jonnykatz
Experience: 40.8 years 17 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Probably my all-around favorite anywhere 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Excellent layout. Challenging. Plenty of variety. Love the last tee with the basket hidden in the trees. Absolutely beautiful park. Used to run x-country here and it was my favorite place to run races also.

Cons:

A little confusing for first timers. It's been a while since I played. It helped a lot when I joined up with a local player.

Other Thoughts:

Probably my favorite anywhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
poorredz
Experience: 27 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Show Me State 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well manicure city park with huge mature trees to shade most holes, even in the summer sun. The course is what you make of it,there were beginner players having fun and bypassing some of the real technical hole elements.There is plenty of room to let some shots rip and glide, and some narrow alleyways through the woods that will challenge even the straightest thrower.Lots of blind shots from the tee with no pin in sight until you get halfway down the fairway.

Cons:

Every tee has a nice map with multiple pin locations listed, but no markings where the current pin is....have to walk half way to find pin before you shoot or just spray and pray. On a thurs. morning the park was empty, I needed to pair up with someone that knew the course.

Other Thoughts:

One of my top courses to play...well laid out,challanging, great variety of play. The winter pictures dont do it justice, it is very beautiful in the late spring.......
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Beginner/Intermediate 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Course is set in a city park that has lots of traffic. Pedestrians, dog walkers, bikers, etc. are present, but there isn't too much interference with the disc golf. Some park roads are close to some holes as well.
- Lots of vegetation is present here, there are the usual mature trees scattered around, but also large patches of dense woods in many spots. These are used well to force line shaping and provide landing zones. A couple of valley shots over these patches, like #16 and #17. #3 and #4 as well, with gaps to hit on top of that.
- Other holes demand shots around the thick woods, like a RHBH hyzer on #10, a straight shot on #7, a RHBH flex shot on #12, a little tunnel on #15, and a tough tee placement in the woods on #14. #18 has some more guarded pins as well. Remaining holes are typical park-style shots; picking a line through mature trees and keeping clean.
- Constant elevation changes keep things very fresh here, almost every hole has a significant slope up or down. Makes the wooded valley shots very punishing if you drop down, getting out and up is no easy feat. Overall, a lot of fun downhill shots, emphasis seems to be on enjoyment over challenge in that regard.
- As mentioned, some tricky basket placements. A few positions are on sloped ground, some are next to or inside the woods, and a few others are near some road OB. A small creek also provides a hazard on a few holes.
- Good teepads and baskets, signage shows distance and which position it's in. Navigation is a little tricky, crossing some roads, etc., but not terrible. Plenty of maps in front.

Cons:

- Some pretty open holes here; making up a line can be pretty easy to do on the park-style ones. Different basket positions mix things up well, but some are pretty simple.
- Roads are very close to the course in a few spots. It adds some good challenge, but it also can be a nuisance with lots of foot and car traffic.
- A couple odd layout issues, #6 really breaks up the flow as you have to walk next to the fairway all the way to #7. Heads up on #5's teepad as well, short hyzers from #4 are dangerous.

Other Thoughts:

- Overall, a very fun course with a decent amount of challenge. Elevation changes are used well to make each hole enjoyable, and the woods/trees are well used to define the holes. A fair amount of gaps to hit, valleys to cross, and blind shots that must keep clear of the woods. Beginners will find good challenge in the rough, experts will be able to carve it up. Worth a play at least once for everyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
RustyStrings615
Experience: 22 years 38 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

City Skunk Surprise 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

A very scenic and relaxing city course named for the military complex surrounding it. The course plays mostly open with big hardwoods framing most of the holes. There are a couple of lightly wooded spots on both the front and back 9, which mixes up the flow nicely....also some nice use of elevation throughout. Holes are not too long for beginner/intermediate players to shoot pars...but long enough to still give a challenge for more advanced players to shoot lots of birdies. Overall...the holes are well designed with good flow...and the lines were fun and interesting to throw...I was tempted to empty my bag often.

Cons:

The back 9 plays near some pretty sketchy looking apartments...had me watching over my shoulder.....I don't think I would play here alone again unless there are lots of other golfers around.

Other Thoughts:

Ran into a very confused looking skunk behind Hole 18's basket...he seemed to have no fear of humans whatsoever. He was just chillin' I guess.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
twiggycdxx
Experience: 24.8 years 42 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Spring Playing 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 8, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I nice course with different types of shots needed. Some left and right hand curves. Along with some short and some longer holes.

Cons:

Holes 3 & 4 are very wooded and kind of ridiculous. My buddy playing for the first time lost a disc on hole 5. Shouldn't have happened, but what can you do. If you find a white Tee Bird with a bunch of marker drawing on the front enjoy:)

Other Thoughts:

Course has good maps at the first tee and the course follows nicely.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
Jashwa
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.8 years 173 played 86 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Epic 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This was an awesome course. Here are the pros

*Variety!!! In my opinion, this should be this course's "claim to fame." Shots of varying types on every single hole! Several holes forced you to decide if you wanted to go for it all or lay up and settle for a three, rather go for a 2 but risk getting a potential 5. Each hole has about 4 pin placements each of which are very different from the others on the same hole. If for some reason you don't like the course at a certain time of the year, try coming back in a little bit; it is likely it will play completely different.

*Upkeep... the local club has invested lots of money into this course and from what i've hear, they'll keep doing it. Nice VISIBLE signs indicating mandos!

*Elevation... very unique use of elevation when i was here. just about every had some uphill or downhill element

*Challenge. Enough trees here to force a player to have good technical shots, but enough distance here to force a player to bust out the drivers.

Cons:

Flow here is bad... signage could definitely be improved. If we magically lined up the holes so that each tee pad could easily be seen from the previous pin, and made more descriptive signs, it would be a perfect course!

Other Thoughts:

If the St Louis Disc Golf Club keeps up the good work and gets new tee signs, this course just might notch a 5.0. Definitely worth going out of your way for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
discdoh
Experience: 30.8 years 4 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Please spread my ashes here! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 8, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Awesome variety of disc golf shots - uphill, downhill, righty, lefty, long, short, heavily wooded, mildly wooded, open, treacherous greens...you name it and its probably got it!
- Friendly locals that love to show visitors a good time (and possibly a little friendly competition).
- Pins are moved on a regular basis.
- Front and back nines loop at the same parking lot with restrooms, a drinking fountain, and a tournament shelter.
- Trash cans and benches on every hole.
- Buried concrete pillars 6 feet from almost every pin position with a painted arrow pointing you directly to the next tee. If you know this secret, you can't get lost. Even if the last pin you played for some reason doesn't have one, just check one of the other pin positions on that hole.
- Great kiosk that is chock full of information, scorecards, and pencils.
- Beautiful landscape under some awesome old growth oaks that makes for a great walk, even on the worst of golf days.

Cons:

- Poor tee signage. This is only an issue for literally the next week, as the new full color signs are on the way! I have seen them, and it will be a HUGE improvement.
- Trash. Unfortunately the apartment complex neighbors don't seem to care about hitting the dumpsters when they take out their trash. One day it can be clean as a whistle, and the next it can literally look like someone flung their trashbag into the park intentionally. It's a shame, but it only happens in that particular part of the course.
- It can be a bit crowded. It's a great layout, so what do you expect?

Other Thoughts:

This is quite possibly the most played course in all of the STL metro and surrounding areas. It started off its life as a 9 hole layout sometime around 1991 and eventually turned into a 18 hole layout in 1994. The original 18 hole design utilized 1 pin position and 3 tee positions (natural) per hole. The short positions (red) were just a bit more than a pitch-n-putt and the long positions (blue) added quite a bit of distance and challenge, turning the course into a true tournament layout. It certainly offered a unique range of play, to say the least. Sometime around 2004, it was decided that concrete tee-pads were the next logical step and the course underwent a major re-design. More land was incorporated for a few holes and the overall layout was spread out a bit. Over the period of the next few years, 2-4 extra pin positions were added to every hole, once again giving it a great amount of variety. You can rest assured that no basket will ever get rusted in place, as the baskets are continually moved around by a handful of dedicated course addicts and league barons. The course has constantly been upgraded with custom benches on every hole, bridges throughout, trashcans at every tee, brooms on almost every hole, next tee guidance arrows, and other various beautifications. It is obvious that this course is loved by many. The old Mach III baskets (originally under water at Creve Couer Lake during the Great Flood of 1993) were replaced in 2011 with new ones with custom number plates.

This course can be described as a long par 3 for the most part. In its longest settings, the course maxes out well above 7,000 feet, with only a few par 4's mixed in. It is a technical layout through beautiful old hardwoods (100+ years old) and tough, but not too taxing, rolling hills. It has a great mix of every shot in the bag. With 4-5 pins per hole, the combinations are literally endless. There are a couple of opportunities to really air it out, but there really aren't any "open" holes. If you aren't hitting your lines, this course will let you know it...just ask Barry Schultz (had his worst rated round here in the 2009 STLO). It fits the true definition of a course intermingled with the rest of a multi-use park. There are walking paths, parking lots, and other amenities that surround the course, but only come into play if you really try to do so (or have a really bad shot). The course is maintained by the park staff and recycling locals quite well, so there isn't too much trash to deal with. The only exception to this is along the parking lot of an apartment complex on holes 15-18. The locals do their best, but it unfortunately is an uphill battle. If you are playing the course, chip in, and help us pick up a few pieces of trash.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Shade Seeker
Experience: 19.6 years 111 played 10 reviews
4.50 star(s)

My new favorite course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 29, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I love park-type courses with old oak trees and this is the most superb example I've played. My brother and I got a kick out of the "acorn rainstorm" those old oaks threw at us. Three pros make this course really shine, in my opinion. 1) There just aren't any bad or boring holes (ok, except for #6). In fact, many of the holes were those kinds of "wonder holes" that I only find one or two of on most courses - you know, the kind where you stand at the tee box and break into a smile about just getting to take a shot on such a beautiful hole. 2) This course penalizes you if you miss your drive. It's not easy to scramble back for a 3 if you don't hit the right lines. And, while I don't like that on my scorecard, I do appreciate that kind of fairness on a course, and it's rare. 3) This course makes you turn your disc to the right. It must be so easy to give in to the course design temptation to fill a course with those hyzer shots that come so naturally to right handers throwing backhand. It's hard to get a disc to turn right - but you better learn how if you want low scores at JB!

Cons:

No negatives, in my opinion. Yes, there is a lack of signage, as everyone notes. But that is cancelled out by the friendly locals who are glad to point you in the right direction. There seemed to be no lack of such locals even on a Thursday morning.

Other Thoughts:

I like JB a thousand times better than Sioux Passage!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top