Redmond, WA

Juel Community Park

Permanent course
2.215(based on 31 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Juel Community Park reviews

Filter
4 0
Vintage Folfer
Experience: 45.7 years 97 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

It's not that bad, really! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Good signage, easy to navigate.
- Pretty good baskets.
- Very good paving-stone tee pads.
- Great practice course.
- Rarely crowded.
- Restroom (portable, better than nothing).
- Kiosk with map, score cards.
- Nice meadow setting.
- Friendly locals, atmosphere.

Cons:

- Completely flat.
- Can get very wet, swampy.
- Grass sometimes waist high.
- No benches.

Other Thoughts:

The setting for Juel Park is a large open meadow surrounded by trees and bushes with a small cluster of tall firs near the middle. It was once someone's homestead/farm that was donated to the city of Redmond. If you're wondering why the neighboring forest at the south end isn't incorporated into the course the answer is: it was at one time, three holes were in there, but there's also a salmon spawning stream in there, so it was redesigned for the salmon.

I play this course a lot (it's near my work), almost every week for the last 2 years under all conditions (just logged my 101st round). Interesting to see all the bad press it gets here in the other reviews, especially regarding its sogginess, you'd think it's a marine park or something. In truth, it's very flat and doesn't drain well so it has varying degrees of standing water on it about half the time, mostly in the winter. The greens on holes 4 and 9 become ponds at times. When this happens: wear waterproof footwear and you'll be fine. I've had plenty of fun games, and the course to myself, splashing along in hiking boots. Even played it in the snow a few times last February. That was the worst I've seen it, with ice covered tees, especially at the shaded south end where the snow just lingers. When it's not wet the other concern is the tall grass in the meadow, where it's easy to waste a lot of time searching for discs even when you saw right where it went. Starting in the Spring the fairways and greens get mowed weekly but the meadow only gets cut once a year in mid-July. So the best conditions are found from mid-July to about mid-October, although any heavy rain will still leave major puddles for a few days.

Nonetheless, it's still a really fun course. It's very open, so it's a great place to practice your drives. For me, that means airing it out on almost every hole. For younger, better players there are 3 holes over 400' you can bomb on. Despite the general openness trees do come into play on most holes, so you still have to think about what you're doing. Hole 4/13 is the only one with no OB or obstacles to consider, just heave it 300' and see how close you can get.

It's a good course for all skill levels, I've seen everyone from beginners to seasoned pros play here (once played a round with a guy who was clearly very good, found out later he's a local pro, one of the best in the state, currently rated 1016). That's another thing I like about Juel: fun crowd, friendly people. Doubles on Wednesdays.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Schreuds2.0
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6.9 years 93 played 81 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Puddle jumping: 5/5, but disc golf... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 25, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-The main pro of this course is that it is accesible.
-There are some good holes too.
-There is tons of room to get creative with your shots.
-Good for beginners.
-Some opportunity to rip a drive

Cons:

In the summertime, there is just one con, and that con is location. Almost all the holes are just in an open field with moderate distance. But in the fall/winter/spring... oh no. When it rains (which it does often) this course is a total mess. I went to this course after a rain storm on part of my weekend mini-road trip expecting it to be wet but playable. It was not. The tee pad of hole 1 had no water near it so I went ahead and teed off. Once it was in the air I said "parked" but when it landed it made a huge splash. When I wandered up to the basket, I was stopped about 50 feet short by a massive puddle. Luckily I had my brand new disc gator from x-mas. I extended it and came up waaayy short. So I waded in. I moved on to hole 2 thinking hole 1 was unique, it was not. The tee box was filled with water, and I went past to hole 3, similar issue. I walked around a little to see if I could play without rain boots but I had not such luck.

Other Thoughts:

Good for summer but not for rain or after rain. If you are in the area on a dry day, hit this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Pactime
Experience: 9 years 25 played 9 reviews
1.00 star(s)

The puddles let me wash off the mud 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 17, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The biggest pro is that it's disc golf. I'm grateful to have a course near my in laws.

I really like throwing at 2/11, 3/12, and 5/14, where there's bits of tree action and some thought to the drives.

2 concrete tee pads per hole in good shape. Score cards at the park sign and the course is marked well.

Couple spots to really air out on the drive (esp #6)

Cons:

Small, mostly open, and very wet. Not really technical at all, and lots of wide open throws. Kinda just hacking away at distance to get to the basket.

I played once last summer when dry, and it was tall grasses and puffs of dirt. This winter tho? Holy moly! Boots are required. This place is swampy.

Other Thoughts:

Recently found Loutsis park in Carnation and when I'm in the area will go there instead. I'm glad for Juel bc I'm glad for courses to play, but I'd say this is mostly a practice course. As of 3/17/16, at least it was drying out as compared to February, when it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
GainesvilleGreen
Experience: 14 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A bog full of baskets 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 1, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

- A few decent holes: #2, #3, #5, and #9 are actually fun and well designed.

Cons:

- It is basically a shallow bog for most of the year (read: boots required unless you want to clean your shoes after the round)
- Too many open shots
- Very few trees on course: about 10 trees total, 5 of which surround a single basket (hole 5, arguably the best hole)
- Holes #4, #6 are both completely straight with no feature (unless you count the bog you have to dredge your perfectly in bounds shot out of)

Besides hole #2 and the tease of going into the woods, a total of maybe 10 trees are actually part of the course.

Other Thoughts:

This course is essentially a flooded pasture that consists of bog 2/3 of the year and an overgrown pasture the other third. Playing in the months of Oct.- May means fully soaked muddy shoes and dirty discs on almost any throw or missed putt. There no avoiding total submersion of the feet, even if you play a perfect round. Many courses in the area are muddy, but Juel really takes it to another level as you are literally playing in a shallow swamp.

I have only played once in the non-wet season and the grass was really high, the kind that will make a disc invisible unless you are standing right on top of it.

City of Redmond: Please add 2-4 holes in the wooded area between Juel and Farrel McWhirter park, there is some great terrain back there that would also be much more playable for the wet part of the year. As is, I would much rather drive a bit further to play a round at Northwest University, Blyth or Loutsis, which all offer more interesting terrain that holds up much better 9 months of the year.

Kudos for having maps/scorecards, if only the course was worth playing...
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
Strongbow
Experience: 27 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Open course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 5, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of few courses on eastside
Has tee pads, but some are sinking, and moving

Cons:

Wet/Swampy in spring/winter
Grass too high in summer
Few obstacles, open course

Other Thoughts:

Fun course to go out and throw new discs, work on your throw. The major problem with this course is that the grass is so high in the summer its hard to find discs and in the spring/winter the course is a swamp. If this course added some trees, had mowed grass it would be much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
53Clubs
Experience: 10.1 years 23 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Bring a Snorkle... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

It's a good course for a relative newbie trying to work on driving accuracy. Open field with mown fairways and native grasses (mostly 'wetland grasses') between fairways. You won't lose your disc in anything worse than long grass and boggy ground - even on the most errant throw into the worst water areas it is easily retrievable by wading through ankle deep water that has grass growing through it the whole way. The first time through is shorter and the back 9 is longer drives. Good for driving accuracy practice.

Cons:

See UPDATE below -
Its wet.... I mean really wet. I don't mean "if you are really accurate you can avoid the wet" - its just not like that. Even if you ace 4/13, you can't retrieve your disk without wading. On 9/18 (you know,... just before you get into your car) you can't get a disk out of the basket without walking through 3" deep mud (oddly, the only 'mud' you will see is the 6' diameter circle surrounding the 9/18 basket - the rest is clean, grassy water). After that, you find the rest of the wetness valuable because you can walk through some of the clean grassy wetness to clean off your shoes (BOOTS!) before going back to your car.
UPDATE (I left original text as 'wet weather' reference)
- Having been back a few times as the weather has stayed dry, I am finding I like this course more and more. It has dried out (still some areas of water, but easily avoidable). It's not 'exciting', and never will be, because it's really an open field with only a few trees and no elevation change whatsoever, but it uses the edges of the area and the trees that are there well, and everyone I've seen there is friendly and welcoming - really great people.
Changed rating from 1 to 2.5

Other Thoughts:

...No,... a snorkel is not a fancy new disk you've never heard of.... Its a 'J' shaped tube used for breathing while your head is under water.
I expect the story is very different in August/September, but this is May and you need good waterproof boots that will stand up to walking through water above your ankle to get through without very wet socks.If it were a slightly warmer day, I'd consider playing it barefooted.
***Note - the pictures of the Tees are not accurate - Now, all of the tees are tiles like shown in the picture of Tee #1 taken by MilwaukeeMike in 2009.
UPDATE - Much better when drier (still not going to be a 'top tier' course, but its a good 'community course'). The people are great and when alone (I frequently play alone) I can go through both sets of Tees twice (36 holes) in about 2 hours and work on lots of shots from lots of angles along the way. Still, all flat, but its a great place to experiment with different throws and different approaches that you might not want to test out in the woods.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Udon
Experience: 11.1 years 9 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

In a word, "boring" 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Nice, long tiled teepads
- Alternate teepads for longer distances and a "back 9"
- Nearly impossible to lose a disc
- Big, open spaces to air out your discs.

Cons:

Although the big, open spaces are nice, it left very little variety to each hole. Only two holes actually incorporated trees, but they were short and really easy. The rest of the course is pretty forgettable as almost every basket is out in the open and offers no challenge or technical shots.

Other Thoughts:

I will not be returning to Juel Park as it is too far away from where I live (Everett) and not that interesting. Even if one was to make up a Safari back 9, there are nearly no obstacles or opportunities for technical shooting. It would be an ok course if I lived closer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
b-mart
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 66 played 61 reviews
2.50 star(s)

View it as a training course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 9, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Juel Community Park was the only course on the Eastside for years, which gives it a special place in the hearts of many old school players that I have had the pleasure of knowing. I understand that and I respect it, but being relatively new to the game I have to review it as someone would who thought that every course was set up during the same week...

Juel is a great place to work on shot placement and drive distance without having to worry about your score being hurt if you miss your line. That's because most of the holes are wide open with zero obstacles anywhere near the fairway. One thing that Juel does right with this setup is that they only mow the fairways, so any errant shots will sail off into the tall grass (see: rough) and be a pain to find. This doesn't mean that a bad shot will result in a bogey because you still have an open look from wherever you land, but it does mean that you still want to place your shots perfectly to keep from wading through tall grass under a blazing (or pouring) sky.

The land available for the course is used well, and all of the trees in or bordering the field are brought into play in some way during your round. You'll find right and left doglegs and a good variation in hole distance as well, from the ace run that is 9 to the 500' hole 15. All of the baskets are in impeccable shape and catch well. The teepads aren't solid concrete, but they do provide solid footing. This is definitely necessary on some of the longer holes.

Cons:

The best word to describe Juel is "boring". What you essentially have are 9 holes where you throw across an open field, followed by 9 more holes that throw to the same baskets from teepads that are just a few feet away from the front 9 teepads. This means that you see different angles and distances, but when there aren't any obstacles to deal with you can hardly view this as "variation".

I'm not sure how much land is included in the park, but there is a wooded area behind the basket for 3/12 that looks very inviting. There isn't a ton of underbrush back there and it doesn't seem to be getting used by anyone else. I'm sure there's a reason that it isn't used, but since I don't know what that reason is I can't really comment on it except to say that if that IS part of the park they aren't using the property to its full potential.

The long grass does add a nice challenge, but it's a con all the same if you have to spend half an hour looking for a disc. There are definitely times of the year when it's more overgrown than others, and other times it's just a bog. You'll also find yourself exposed to the elements for your entire round. You can rest in the shelter of a tree here and there as you find it, but if it's a hot day or pouring rain this isn't quite as pleasant as Lake Stevens or Howling Coyote would be.

Other Thoughts:

As I already stated, this is a great course to work on shot placement with low consequences if your shot is errant. That does warrant a return if you live in the area. It's a bit of a haul from Seattle and a ways from any other courses though, so I don't recommend it to anyone as a "destination". If you're in the area and want a quick 9 or 18, or want to work on improving most of the aspects of your game (drives, mids, putts, placement) without being concerned about watching your disc bounce off a tree? Juel is one of the best courses I've played with that in mind.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
ForestGnome
Experience: 17.1 years 6 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

not bad 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's a great course to teach your friends on

Some long shots, some good short shots

Can't lose your disc

Friendly People

Doubles on Wednesdays

just outside of redmond proper



Cons:

VERY wet at times. If the sun as been out a few days, it will just be a little muddy at holes 4 and 9. If it rained in the morning, holes 1, 4,6, and 9 will be just awful to play.

Other Thoughts:

Still my most played course. Plenty of places to step out and smoke a cig. Not incredibly easy, there are two holes of the 9 that have some tree hazards. It has second tees if you want to do a full 18, but it's usually just adding like 15-25 feet, or a little more arc to the pin.

I like it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Bstylin
Experience: 17.1 years 12 played 1 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Flooded Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 26, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of room to unleash and work on your power: with concrete tee pads, signs with correct distance lengths.

Cons:

It floods for the majority of the year and boots are a must. Very few technical shots and nearly all the holes are reachable on a drive. Too easy

Other Thoughts:

Just a fun little course to practice on, but I wouldn't make the trip out there if it wasn't my closest course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
johncourt
Experience: 21.9 years 26 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Easy course and great for practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 14, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The course is great for practicing your throws and a casual game. It is also a really fun course to bring people for their first time.

Hole 2/11 & 3/12 are my favorite by far because of their interaction with the surrounding vegetation which makes them stand out from the rest.

Cons:

Wet and repetitive.

This course is always wet - always. Bring a sturdy pair of shoes that can get dirty. Also bring a towel for your discs.

The back 9 should have been designed better. The back 9 are identical to the front 9 except for slightly larger distances. They could have easily put tees for the back 9 facing other baskets to make a unique 18 hole course. This versus the two (almost identical) 9 hole courses here now.

Which brings me to the repetition. Because all the holes are wide open and duplicated, the course can get very repetitive, fast.

Other Thoughts:

Ruined new pair of shoes here because I am an idiot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 6
adstephens221
Experience: 15.1 years 6 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

First time here. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Open Field

Cons:

Open Field

Other Thoughts:

Open Field was OK nice Par 3 course for a beginner. maps and tee pads say 18 holes but there are only 9 baskets with 2 tee pads each. The pads are about 20 feet apart making them more like an alt. pad than a back nine pad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
stingraysteve
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Juel Comm Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee's & baskets in good condition
Great course for beginners or for the first time out in awhile.

Cons:

Not much in the way of obstacles...we went in the middle of the summer, so there were no bogs.
Just a few trees.

Other Thoughts:

Long straight holes
Pretty much tossing your disc around an open field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
rxbandit1987
Experience: 14.9 years 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Open area
-Fairly long tees
-Easy to navigate
-Not a lot of trees in the way

Cons:

-Tall Grass,lots of disc hunting
-When wet you get soaked
-Some people don't let you play through(large groups don't let singles play through

Other Thoughts:

I have played this course a good amount of times and it is very fun. The only thing I'd like to see is some amateur tournaments to spice things up a little.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
nllanos
Experience: 19.1 years 10 played 2 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Juel park conditions 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 2, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Fairly long holes with good basket placements. Tees are also in good conditions and the maps are useful for first timers. Mud is not too bad, but maybe after tonight it could be a different story.

Cons:

Decent winds that are constantly changing through the open field. The grass is also very unkept, so you will spend a good amount of time doin the searching thing

Other Thoughts:

I go here often because of the fact that it is conveniently close to where I live.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
rybob42
Experience: 14.8 years 41 played 6 reviews
2.00 star(s)

*update* getting better... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 4, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Nice teepads and signs
- Two interesting holes
- Maintained and mowed by someone, with two recent basket placement changes (thanks!)
- Hard to lose a disc

Cons:

- So wet during the wet seasons! Bring your rain boots!
- Very open and flat
- "Holes" 10-18 are just 1-9 with alternate teepads only 20-50 feet away from the original. Few alternate teepads makes for a more interesting shot - mostly just longer.

Other Thoughts:

After wondering if this course would ever dry out, it finally happened in July and became more tolerable to play. In addition, some of the baskets placed in really boggy areas were just moved, and perhaps it won't be a problem in the wet times like it was this last spring. You'll still have hard-to-miss boggy and muddy spots, but at least it won't be unavoidable (like right around the basket, as it was).

Of the nine holes, there are only two where the basket is protected by some trees, three with a tree or two but not really blocking or protecting the fairway to basket, and the final four are as open as can be. I still don't understand the alternate tees (or holes 10-18) -- they're too close to the original that they add little value to the course.

I decided to update my review for the care that's going into the course. Moving the baskets was wise. That's impressed me and helped the course, and I have hope for things getting better over time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
rstaats
Experience: 22.9 years 21 played 4 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Soggy and Simple 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 20, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Nice tee pads, pavers hemmed in with wood
- Decent lengths

Cons:

- wet most of the time
- wide open, very little obstruction
- very busy

Other Thoughts:

The most difficult part of this course is waiting on the group in front of you. If you swing by on the way home from work on any remotely nice weekday, there's generally 2-5 groups playing the course.

This course is a mud pit when it's been raining, and remains soggy for quite a while.

The course is wide open, very little to no obstructions what-so-ever. This does make it a great place to work on throws you'd normally not feel comfortable with in a narrower, groomed course as your worst throws are still going to have line of sight to nearly every basket on the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Rolly
Experience: 18 years 29 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Juel In the Rough 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 23, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-NEW COURSE LAYOUT!
-Boxed in concrete stones, making exellent tee boxes.
-More shot choices.
-Not easier, just different. Scores for most part are staying the same.

Cons:

-Pretty Short.Making lots of holes too easy.
-Couple of Boxes conflict with tee shots.
-Gonna be interesting during the wet winter months.
-Can be confusing if new to course.
-LOTS OF NEWBIES, not so much a con, just a warning!!

Other Thoughts:

-FINALLY! We got something done at Juel. For the better, we put in Teeboxes, and moved several of the pins around creating a different layout. THANKS FOR ALL THE EFFORT FOR THOSE OF YOU THAT HELPED! We haved talked with the city and benches and trash cans are the next installment! New signs will be up soon, as will new photos and a overview of the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
mndiscg
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 483 played 478 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Good for families, beginners, practice.
-Great for throwing mid to long range drives.
-Some decent ace runs.
-Decent baskets.
-Nice park and nice people, good neighborhood of Seattle area.
-Signs are good and you can see baskets so its not hard to navigate.
-Not alot of walking between holes and loops right around to bring you back to parking lot.
-It is relatively scenic, like most of the area, with its large trees and creek.
-Has a porta potty if you need to use it.
-Not busy at all.
-2 tees for most holes.

Cons:

-As said before it is very open and unimaginative.
-Floods in spring but is otherwise playable mostly year round due to climate of Pacific Northwest.
-Some tee boxes were bumpy. They weren't too bad when I went, it probably changes every time they get wet which is often.
-Multiple pin locations, especially more difficult ones, would be very beneficial.
-Concrete tees would be even better! Especially if there is any moisture in the ground!

Other Thoughts:

Play it if you are a beginner, family, want practice, are getting as many courses as possible or happen to be in the area. Otherwise leave it alone. Lakewood is a good course a half hour away in south Seattle.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
sillybizz
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 22.2 years 412 played 393 reviews
1.50 star(s)

New Layout 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 25, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course is in a well maintained park that doesn't get use from many other activities so the disc golfers have the park for thier own. The flow of the course leads you right back to the parking lot. The baskets are in nice condition, There are a couple of holes with some good length to them which makes it a good course for practicing drives. Little chance of losing a disc. Navigation is easy and tee signs are in the ground for both tee pads per hole. New concrete tee pads.

Cons:

The course is so wide open and the holes are generally dull and unimaginative, after a couple of plays this course gets boring. Better pin placement could make the course harder. The course gets flooded with water during the rainy season which is often. You will be waiting on numerous groups of people when the weather is nice.

Other Thoughts:

If you live in the area it's not a horrible course for practicing drives in open fields but that's about it. If you like technical courses this is not for you, it's basically a "family friendly course" with just another fifty percent more length added.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top