Sparta, WI

Justin Trails - Big Brother DGC

4.635(based on 50 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Justin Trails - Big Brother DGC reviews

Filter
14 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.7 years 256 played 227 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Disc Golf's Biggest Brother

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 2, 2024 Played the course:once

Pros:

- set on a beautiful property and very well maintained
- epic elevation change
- one of the most strenuous, physically taxing courses you will play (yes, I think this is a pro, maybe it's a personal problem)
- great amenities: bathrooms, garbage cans, practice basket, snacks for purchase, ample parking
- large concrete tees (showing their age but still play fine)
- rough is very forgiving in March
- high degree of technical challenge
- diverse mix of hole types, open/wooded, uphill/downhill, etc.
- port o potties throughout course
- good use of next tee indicators
- Prodigy baskets are in great shape with hole numbers
- great panoramic views
- very high risk shots on hillsides throughout
- some alternate concrete tees, though not always well marked
- good incorporation of a few ponds for water hazards
- camping onsite

Cons:

- tee posts do have small maps but are basic and could be improved
- hole 1 is unnecessarily long unless you love driving practice
- some thorny areas in the rough to watch out for
- wind can be a killer near the end up on top of the hill
- a few areas could benefit from built in steps/railings
- a bit of backtracking between holes 12 and 13

Other Thoughts:

Where to begin... Big Brother is an epic course and is largely as advertised. I forgot my tape back in Illinois and was unable to tape up my feet prior to this round and I paid for it. Don't let the hole lengths fool you - it's a long course, but the total walking distance is far greater at 3.5 miles. Most of this is uphill or downhill. I've played many courses with fantastic elevation change, but I think Big Brother may be the most physically exhausting course I have played. Even still, I completed it solo in about 2 hours, although the last third of the course took twice as long as the first two thirds did, so I definitely slowed down!

I expect in summer the rough and bugs could be a lot more intense here. A 60 degree day in early March seems to be the best of both worlds, as I really had no issues despite not having a spotter. Big Brother calls for technical finesse and hitting your line, but it does cater more to the bigger arms out there. This is not one of my favorite courses, as a mid distance at best guy who prefers heavily wooded technical challenge, but I can appreciate what an incredible course it is all the same.

There aren't many major cons here. The first hole feels unnecessary to me, clocking in at over 1000 ft. and wide open and flat all day. I just don't think it adds anything to the course. Some people love long holes like this; I just find them kind of boring. I could throw this in any large park. The rest of the course is leaps and bounds better.

The wind was absolutely brutal for the final few holes up on top of the hill. It certainly adds to the challenge; I listed it as a con but you could go either way there. For most of the course the trees shield you, but these last few you'll be throwing into the wind knowing it's kicking back the other direction no matter what you do, and trying to keep it on the hilltop. There is also some dicey footing on the hillsides but nothing too terrible. A few more built in steps would be welcome. The tee signs are nothing to write home about; they are serviceable but below what you'd expect for a course of this caliber. However, all of the other equipment and maintenance is excellent.

For me, the course got more exciting around hole 5 when you start to climb uphill into the woods more. Hole 8 was one of my favorites, a cool shot along the hillside of a very steep ravine with lots of risk if you don't place your shot well. This was one of the shortest hole but came with lots of fallout for a missed shot. I also really enjoyed hole 12 which played downhill and across a small pond to a relatively sheltered basket back in some trees.

This course could certainly be viewed as a nature hike that also includes disc golf as others have mentioned. The views are stunning and compared to most of southern Wisconsin, the elevation change is next level.

The last few holes also are pretty brutal on par - I haven't played many 500-600 ft. par 3s, even if you are throwing downhill. I think the last 6 holes were straight 4s for me; between the wind and the distance you'd best be ready for a challenge.

Big Brother is definitely the more iconic and notable of the two courses here, but Classic is a beautiful course in its own right and I encourage anyone out here to plan for the time and stamina to play both. This is well off the beaten path so you might as well hit them on the same day. I played Veteran Hills in Viroqua and The Pines in Cashton before coming here and hitting both courses; they are all very close to each other and a good way to spend a chunk of the day if you're up for it.

You can see virtually all of the Classic course down below on the last 1/2 - 1/3 of Big Brother, so it gives a nice preview if you play in that order. I also met some of the owners of the Justin Trails property and they couldn't have been nicer people. For both courses, it is well worth the $10 fee and you're supporting a family business run by kind and genuine people.

Bottom line - highly recommend Justin Trails Big Brother, particularly if you like this kind of long disc golf. I wouldn't play this course too often myself as it's exhausting and others are more my style, but it's one you must hit if you want to cover all of the most reputable courses in Wisconsin. You will definitely want to bring snacks and lots of water with you. Hole 18 plays back to the parking lot pretty nicely to reload after the first course, but you'll be out for awhile during the round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
RiversideDG
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Big Brother Justin Trails Resort - Updates

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Amazing panoramic views on this property. Alot of course maintenance has gone into the disc golf courses the last 2 years. Brush clearing and dead tree removel, new alternate teepads and new Teesigns.

Bathrooms, showers, Cabins, Camping, Bed and Breakfast onsite and so much more. www.justintrails.com

Cons:

I wish I was closer to play more often.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Missyrdavey
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Must-Play Course

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 23, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful course with shot variety & elevation;

Cons:

You'll want to have some discs you can throw downhill; also it is useful to send a spotter to help with locating discs that may roll

Other Thoughts:

Big Brother is a destination course in the Driftless area of WI, which will provide beautiful views, challenging shots, & a great day hike. The Justin family has done marvelous work to create a big course on beautiful land! You'll love watching your disc glide downhill toward the basket at this course, especially on hole 18! Pack snacks and carry a light bag; I don't recommend a cart on this course ! At times you'll want to send a spotter downhill to keep an eye on where your disc ends up. This is one of my favorite courses in WI! When done, you can camp or stay in a cabin and enjoy the quiet, starry night alongside a camp fire.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Johnsondere
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 9.7 months 136 played 83 reviews
4.50 star(s)

YUP! That's what I'm talking about!

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 19, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Plenty of parking available.
- So much elevation in play.
- Championship level course!
- Tee pads are decent and baskets are great.
- Challenges every aspect of your game.
- Camping on site.
- The views are amazing!

Cons:

- The rough can get very overgrown.
- Can get buggy in the summer.

Other Thoughts:

Justin Trails Big Brother is easily in my top 5 courses played! This course challenges you both for your play and your endurance. Such a beautiful area to be in!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
jdinfinity
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

A true Wisconsin gem. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 12, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the more well balanced, nicely laid out and beautiful courses in the upper midwest. Only Telemark rivals it for scenic, hills to the horizon, raw beauty. Course runs up and down the bluffs, through the woods, out into the open, and more. Technical merit is 5 stars imo for attempting to incorporate nearly all types of shots. Views are majestically gorgeous, especially holes 15 and 16. Owners are friendly and courteous. Very nice of them to allow their land for disc golf and also camping, hiking and other outdoor activities/endeavors.

Cons:

The overgrowth can be overbearing. As with most wooded courses, basic and advanced players should heed caution as to knowing where and when to spot. And also knowing where to throw to, or not throw to. I'm not going to critique each hole, as some have, but with any sport, you get what you put in, or reap what you sow. Throw a crappy shot. Get a crappy lie. Maybe lose a disc. Be smart. Still however a long walk/hike, so bring lots to hydrate with and be ready to invest 3+ hours for a round with 4 people. The course is friggin' beautiful, but long.

Other Thoughts:

Don't pass this one up if you get the chance. It's worth it. Try to show up earlier in the day. It might be a long one if you're unprepared. Also, again, as mentioned above, try to be especially cognizant about knowing where to throw and not to throw, and when to spot, if unsure. Yes, the course is beautiful and epic, but be ready for the long haul. Said beauty and epicness only come with planning, hard work, and effort. Well worth the journey, but only if you're prepared for it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
XC_Eddy
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.7 years 30 played 13 reviews
4.50 star(s)

A Hike that Includes Disc Golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 21, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Arguably the most scenic course in the Midwest. The driftless region of Wisconsin is gorgeous, and the Justin Trails property proves it. The views on the last few holes will take your breath away. Here's some pictures: https://imgur.com/a/iw1PRxr

-Elevation, elevation, and more elevation. And not just downhill bomber holes. Drastic uphill holes, valley shots, and downhill shots with steep dropoffs off the side of the fairway if you miss (#14, #17). #12 is a creative long downhill teeshot with a bending uphill 2nd shot par 4. #12 is my favorite hole on the course. Creative use of elevation is this course's greatest attribute.

-Beautiful fairways on the back 3rd of the course.

-2 sets of tees is always a perk. Teepads are concrete and in good shape. Couldn't ask for better teepads.

-No 2 holes are the same. Good mix of heavily wooded and lightly wooded holes.

-Staying on site is a great experience and highly recommended. Campsites are fine if that's your game. I was there with my wife and at the time 4 month old son, so we stayed in the farmhouse for a few days.

-You won't find better course amenities anywhere. Owners and staff are lovely people. Donna makes excellent breakfast. Almond extract is the secret ingredient in the world's best baked french toast.

-Good culture of returning lost discs. I even had a staff person ask me exactly where I lost a disc so they could look for it. Great service all around. This is especially helpful on a course where losing a disc is very common.

-Pro shop has a good selection of discs.

-You will feel a sense of accomplishment having just successfully completed the course. Few courses possess this trait.

Cons:

-Personal Opinion: Hole #1 is a bad hole. Having a 1000+ ft hole to start the course is cool and sets the tone for the type of challenge Big Brother presents. However, the fairway needs to be about twice as wide. Players are asked to throw max distance shots and land the disc on a 25 ft wide (might be less) farm path in between a corn field and a hay field. Risk/Reward is good hole design, I get it, but the path is just too narrow. Furthermore, if you miss the super narrow "fairway" you are in a cornfield and have to climb through a fence to search for your disc. If you're playing in the summer, it's difficult to find your disc in the corn EVEN IF it's only a few rows deep and watched exactly where it landed. Hole #1 is overly punitive and a bad hole.

-The stretch of holes through the woods (#4-#10ish...Only played the course twice 4 months ago) is extremely rugged and feels like they mostly serve the purpose of getting you where you need to play the rest of the course. You're playing along an ATV trail and occasionally dip off the trail into the woods to get to the basket.

-Can't see baskets from teepads on the ATV trail stretch. Difficult to spot in some cases even when you walk halfway up the fairway.

-One pin placement (6 or 7 maybe?) is located in thick, waste deep itchy weeds, which is not acceptable for a pay to play course. The property is enormous and must be an absolute beast to maintain. Overall, the owners and staff do an excellent job keeping the course maintained. This hole is an exception, thankfully.

-On my above complaint, it's worth noting that I played the course in mid-August, which is peak overgrowth season. Still, weeds that tall right by the pin just can't happen. Maintaining the parts of the course that are not trail or open fairway appears to be difficult and labor intensive.

-#18 is a cool hole, but it's very easy to throw in the hay field or the garden on the way down. Almost unavoidable with such a steep downhill.

-Tee signs are nothing special. They offer distance and a very general hole shape. They may have been replaced since I played the course several months ago. There was talks of putting new ones in, which would be a major improvement.

Other Thoughts:

-Bring snacks and water. It's a hike and could take you 4 hours (took me 3 by myself, but I play fast).

-Wear comfortable shoes.

-Expect to get wet feet if playing in the morning.

-Playing with someone else to help look for lost discs is highly recommended.

-Surviving this course is an experience. Justin Trails is a magical place and you should go.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
JaiM
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Big Brother rules! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

If you like killer elevation, Level and well thought out tee pads, big bombs, technical madness, beautiful views and well groomed fairways, Big Brother is your kind of course.

Cons:

As courses go there is really nothing to complain about. Get some.

Other Thoughts:

Plan for the day. This course is a commitment, bring snacks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 5
ClockworkOrange
Experience: 3 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Greatest Hits 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Plays like a greatest hits of all the best Minnesota courses:
*The elevation and challenge of Kaposia,
*Wooded lanes and distance of Hidden Lake
*Amazing vistas and signature holes of Bryant Lake,
Even more remarkable is the exquisite maintenance of this enormous course. Tightly mowed fairways, brush hogged rough and well maintained trails. The amount of effort the Justin's put into course maintenance is staggering. This is better manicured than most suburban courses.
Highly recommend the camping, the two courses are far too large to play all tee placements in a single day. The campsites are amazing, located right off the tee pads and are well stocked with firewood.
Truly amazing course!

Cons:

It's not located in the Twin Cities metro area

Other Thoughts:

Somebody call Highbridge and fact check their claims on Blueberry Hill. Big Brother at Justin Trails is hands down, far and away, the very finest course in Wisconsin. Indisputable
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 6
steelestuff
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

One Of The Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

EPIC!

Take it from a Wisconsinite who has played all over the country - up in the Colorado Rockies and out in the Oregon Cascades - this is one stop you shouldn't miss. If you are in the area, visit this establishment. If you are taking a roadtrip, visit this establishment. With an easily-accessible location off I-90 as well as ample camping and rooms, this bed and breakfast set on a retired farm amongst Wisconsin's rolling hills is an ideal eden to find a breath of fresh air. The scenery is beautiful. The owners are incredible. The stargazing amazing.

The Big Brother, the bigger of the two exceptional courses, took me, a seasoned veteran of disc golf, a little over two hours to play. With plenty of elevation change and par 4s and 5s, this will test your every skill shot - and your resolve. So much fun.

Huck some plastic and spend the night. Seriously, this is worth it.

Cons:

Nope.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Darkgreen
Premium Member
Experience: 12.7 years 404 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Worth the drive 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There isn't a bad or mediocre hole on this course. They are all interesting and fun. A nice variety of shots. Open and wooded, up and down, valley shots, left and right. Great replay-ability. The fairways are fair but difficult.
So many of the holes just look great as well, not to mention both the wooded scenery and the views from the hilltops.

Cons:

I never like baskets on steep grades. I know some people do. Seems unfair. One person hits metal and misses but the discs sits, another person hits metal and the disc rolls. This is however a small thing compared to all the wonderfulness going on at Justin Trails.
What does knock Justin Trails down a bit for me is the tall grass on the open holes. Also, the tall corn in late summer and autumn. There is a fairway cut but it isn't nearly wide enough for shots that go even just slightly errant. If your disc goes in the tall grass then there is an excellent chance that you will not be seeing it again because it is thick. Even in early June it was bad. You almost have to be standing on top of your disc to find it. The corn as well can be a major obstacle to finding an disc. If there was some better mowing or a change in design away from the corn then I would give this course an easy 5 rating.

Other Thoughts:

$5 to play all day is fantastic value for your disc golf dollar. The people at the resort are very friendly. If you make the drive there, the Classic course is worth a spin. Plenty of hiking up and down hills but well worth it for the shots you get to throw.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
cbyroni
Experience: 25.9 years 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

One of Wisconsin's Best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 20, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Big Brother is one of the top courses in the Midwest and turns Justin Trails Resort into destination.
A 1000-rated round is generally around 55 with par 4's and 5's
Playing this course alone is not advised.
A player needs to be proficient with a variety of different types of shots to have success on this course. Most tee shots require booming drives or accurate placement shots. There is a good mix of wide-open holes and holes that wind through the woods. The wind can be a big factor at the highest point on the course.

Even with the drastic elevation changes, the course is fairly cart friendly.

Cons:

Players must be in good physical condition to play this course.

Other Thoughts:

This course is incredibly demanding and every hole is fair. Playing clean on this course is very satisfying.
The views offered on Big Brother are breathtaking.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
deadbody
Experience: 20.1 years 152 played 68 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Brutal but enjoyable 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Huge. Tons of different shots.

Well maintained. Nice tees and baskets. 18 different holes. Some tight shots. Some huge bombers.

Cons:

Huge. Super distance and elevation. Serious workout. Not for the faint of heart or the noodle or arm
Was this review helpful? Yes No
14 0
smarkquart
Experience: 18.9 years 185 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Come with a spotter, some refreshments, and a whole day, and you will leave happy. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Large course that is not a Par 54. While a Wisconsin course, close enough to Minnesota to make this claim: so few local course have the room or features to pull off anything more than a 58. It gets a little repetitive, leaving courses with only one or two marquee holes. Big Brother is filled with tight lines, open bombers, and elevation both slow and fast, up and down, and sometimes all in one hole.

You really are in the middle of nowhere, so the course will not be packed, allowing you to take your time. You might need it if you throw off the fairway.

Fairways in the woods are tight but fair; and it they are often more about making placements shots to make bootlegs and corners than necessarily distance. Open shots are big, but with the elevation, you better know how your disc will behave. If you are playing with your friends, I bet no one's scores will be close. It may not test every shot you have, but at some point you will likely throw every disc you have in your bag.

Sets up well for best-shot doubles or other formats.

Classic is a good cool down or warm-up course; while maybe half the size, it is no slouch either.

Camping onsite is a huge bonus. The whole place is a bonus, and they really appreciate you out there.

Cons:

Not many cons, but more just a matter of being prepared.

Out in the middle of nowhere; pack everything in your bag. It is going to be a long round. That includes fluids, snacks, sunscreen, bug spray, and a disc retrieval tool.

Only two courses, so if you are going to camp the whole weekend, make sure you like playing big and difficult courses. Not many ace run opportunities. If this is not your style of play, you are going to be bored or frustrated quick, and you have several more hours in front of you.

Other Thoughts:

Time, money, and family commitments have always kept me from going back. This is a great weekend getaway with golfing if the weather cooperates. I would go back in a heartbeat if I could swing a few more people who would join me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 1
Martin Dewgarita
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.5 years 1600 played 95 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Conforming Calamity 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Of 1300 plus courses played, this one will usually come up in the discussion of "top 10" or at least cracking my top 20. I don't have any specific criteria for my favorite courses, I pretty much just go by feel - how bad do I want to return, how much would I recommend it, the "awe" factor, etc. And this one scores pretty high marks in all categories.

Variety of holes. Tight short ones. Open long ones. Ones with big elevation. Ones that are open and wooded. Placement shots. Multiple throw holes. This course has just about anything you could ask for.

Amenities. Lodging or camping available. Breakfast served. Great generous hosts.

Adventure golf. This is my favorite kind of course.

Cons:

Pack a lunch. This one is a hike, and you won't see the car or water or the pro shop for the entire journey.

A little rough around the edges.

Other Thoughts:

This course is well worth the journey. I highly recommend playing both courses on site. If you only have the time for one, and you like a good epic adventure course, make time for big brother. Plan a weekend stay. Come in the fall when the leaves are changing. Come in the spring when the flowers are blooming. Come in the winter when cold and snow creates a beautiful serenity. Come in the summer and pack plenty of water.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
JuStYwHaT
Experience: 8.9 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Big Bro 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Big bro is one of the best around. Challenging in all aspects. There is elevation, woods, wide open shots, righty, lefty, forehand, backhand...water shots... You name it, it has it.
One of my favorites, and yet one of the most frustrating. Takes all you have to post a good number.

Cons:

It is long!
Not really a con. The crew has done grear work on clearing up the "rough".

Other Thoughts:

Go play this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
Andreas P-B
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Big Bro- it will test you! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 23, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Justin Trails is a truly epic experience. Bring your A game! Big Bro has a superb variety of wooded and wide open holes, elevation changes, great risk/reward shots and beautiful views on almost every hole, with holes15-18 being an almost perfect ending to the course (you have to experience it to understand). Beautiful views on almost every hole, nature is in it's prime out here. The course is never crowded and most everyone that you meet (if you do) is also pretty cool and also impressed with the course.

Cons:

Big Bro is not for beginners. It is very long and you will want to be sure to have water and a snack along for the magnificent journey. It is a commitment, but worth every moment.

Other Thoughts:

There is an energy that emanates from the land that brings one a sense of happiness and enjoyment that I haven't experienced on other courses in the midwest. This is a course that everyone who loves disc golf should try. You will NOT be disappointed
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
ChuckHeiam
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Big Brother 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 23, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The course has come a long ways from when it was first constructed and has a good mix of both long open bombs and short technical woods holes. The view from hole 16's basket is beautiful. Hole 18 is a great way to finish with a huge drop shot and spectacular view.

Cons:

If you are in poor physical condition you might want to skip this course but they do have another on the property that is easier.

Other Thoughts:

This is a physically demanding course that will test your skills. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting with some spectacular views. While if you get off of the fairway it can be a tough play they have made it much more friendly each year and continue to make improvements. The onsite camping includes all the firewood you can burn and free hot showers. The place also offers a Bed and Breakfast if you aren't into roughing it. There is also another course on the property.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Tom McManus
Experience: 46.9 years 221 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Big Brother 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 9, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Super fun and tough/rugged course. Lots of walking up and down hills. Fun/tough shots. Some holes are wide open, others are in the woods. Fairways are fair, but if you get off the fairway you will pay the price. Every year the course improves. Concrete tees and nice baskets. It is located at a beautiful resort and the views are spectacular.

Cons:

Not a con, but this is not a course for inexperienced players.

Other Thoughts:

In my top five courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
Dr.Smooth
Experience: 29 years 4 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Epic Views 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 18, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

Their is a lot you could write about on this course review. This area of Wisconsin is the driftless area. Meaning extremely hilly with deep valleys. The lay of the land beckons one for autumn drives, hiking and yes- a great dg experience.
When you put a great course on a great piece of land you get an Utopian like setting. An epic disc golf experience awaits.
The classic course offers a basic pitch and putt type layout that utilizes the bottom of a valley here on the farm. So much fun to play!
Big Brother course works its way up a ridge. The extra work of elevation increase is rewarded with amazing views. Best views of any course I have played in the Midwest. Twenty plus years of playing random courses so don't take that statement lightly.
Big Brother will challenge you with long holes. Major elevation changes and greens that can be unforgiving.

Cons:

Plum/level of baskets to slope.

Other Thoughts:

This course is a resort/farm. Has non dg activites so bring a friend along for the view, country setting, hiking etc..

PUT THIS ON YOUR BUCKET LIST!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
TeebirdDan
Experience: 20.9 years 90 played 24 reviews
4.50 star(s)

J TRAILS ,,,wholesome round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 13, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

hole 1 kinda sucks its a thousand ft by a cornfield but after that , the course is really fun .hole 2 is up hill ,and if your not a power arm ,throw for a good second shot .hole 3 is the first spectacular fairway ,down hill fun .The next two go up a logging type road.getting off these fairways is bad ,basket locations are a challenge too. hole 6 is up top of the hill the last two fairways went up . the veiw to the side of this fairway is awsome. the fairway has woods on both sides and drops off steep to either side of fairway . The rest of this course is just as climatic as i described holes 2 threw 6 to be .extreme elevation threw out , some wooded and open fairways . hole 12 has a deep little pond in a spot that really comes into play with the wind sometimes. 18 is a huge downhill for 600+ feet .this course demands your best throws and severely punishes bad ones.

Cons:

the worst part about playing this course is not staying on the fairway on the open holes ,these hills are several hundred ft tall and the grass gets thick n high . thiss can mean your disc went hundreds of ft down hill off the fairway into waist high grass .throw plastic you can except loosing is advised .

Other Thoughts:

SO great to have courses in this area of western wisconsin hill country ,wish there was more of them . this place is really beautiful . Even though the owners are not themselves discgolfers ,they are really nice and welcoming to us . Remember to bring as much water as you can carry and a high protein snack this course is a real workout just in terms of hiking .
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top