• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Anchorage, AK

Kincaid Park DGC

4.325(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Kincaid Park DGC reviews

Filter
18 0
DFrah
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 6 years 245 played 240 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Phenomenal and beautiful! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 1, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Kincaid Park occupies a huge, rolling piece of land on the southwest side of Anchorage, AK. Apparently there used to be a Cold War missile base at this site, but today it feels (somehow) like both a vast wilderness and a multi-use city park at the same time.

One of the many attractions of this park is an 18-hole disc golf course. Having played three other courses while cruising around south-central Alaska on vacation, I decided to wrap up the disc golf portion of my trip at Kincaid Park. After reading previous reviews, I had pretty high expectations for this course. It didn't take long here for me to see that those expectations would be met, and more.

The park is located at the end of Raspberry Road, so I was already smiling before I stepped out of my car. There is a large kiosk at the end of the parking lot showing a map of the course (newer than what is shown here, but similar layout) and the pars for each hole. From the practice basket there is a nice view of the Cook Inlet over some brush.

The course essentially plays out and back from the parking lot along a ridge. From the top of the ridge there are plenty more views of the water to be had. The water is always in the distance, never close enough to come into play. The elevation changes are utilized well on the course too. I don't think any hole is perfectly flat, but I would say the elevation changes range from "very mild" to "extreme". Some of the most memorable holes are:
- Hole 3 plays down a steep section of the ridge, with a view of the water from the tee. A well-controlled drive could earn you a birdie here. Fade out early and good luck finding your disc. A downed tree trunk sits across most of the fairway as you approach the basket, adding to the scene and perhaps making that birdie a little more difficult.
- Hole 18 plays up the ridge to an elevated basket. From the short tee, it's only a 250' hole but it feels like about 400'. Another great view behind you when you reach the basket.
Either of these holes would be awesome signature holes on most courses. Here, it's difficult to say which one is better.
Several other baskets are perched on steep slopes, creating risk/reward chances. I threw uphill at hole 14's basket from maybe 30' out and hit the front of it, then saw my disc roll all the way back down to where I was standing.

There is great variety as well. From the Am tees, distances range between about 200'-500'. From the Pro tees, it's 250'-700'. Some holes turn left, some turn right, and some play straight ahead. There are no wide open holes here, but a good mix from moderately open to tightly wooded holes. Control is a must throughout the course.

The baskets are yellow banded DISCatchers. The tee pads are long, concrete, and all in good shape. There are two tee pads per hole. The red Am tees provide a challenging but approachable round for noodle arms and newer disc golfers. I did not get a chance to play the blue Pro tees, but I think they would provide a difficult technical round even for experienced disc golfers.

Although there are no water hazards here, hole 16 felt like one. On this hole there is a valley of thick brush stretching across the entire fairway, for maybe 150' off the tee. If your disc falls in that, it could be almost as difficult to find as if it were in the bottom of a pond.

Cons:

Other than the kiosk, the signage here could be improved. Actually even on the kiosk, the pars for each hole are nice but I would like to see the distances added too. The tee signs have a weird charm, but I couldn't decide if I actually liked them or not. They are located at both the Am and Pro tees and are labeled "Am" or "Pro", which I liked. They have a very rough map of the hole showing the two tee pads, two pin locations, and a few representative trees in between, which I didn't really like. Similar to another course I played in Alaska, it seemed less like a map and more like a sketch of tee pads and baskets with random trees drawn in between. Not enough info to really determine what a good line to the pin is (with the elevation and foliage, many baskets are not visible from the tee). Like the kiosk, the tee signs show par but not distance which I didn't like. Several of the signs were missing as well.

Wait, back up. There are two pin locations? This was my reaction when I looked at the first tee sign. If that is true, there was no indication on the kiosk (or anywhere else that I saw) which pin location was currently in place. There was definitely only one basket installed per hole.

There is also a shortage of Next Tee signs. The first couple of holes are marked really well, with signs pointing to both next Pro and next Am tees. After that the signage fell off significantly. Maybe a refresh is currently in progress? There is a long walk between holes 12 and 13. I don't really have an issue with the walk itself, but that area in particular needs more signage especially where the path you are following forks off in different directions.

Non-DG walking/hiking trails come near a few holes. They would only come into play on very errant throws though. When walking back to your car after hole 18, you might want to use the paved trail instead of walking in front of hole 2's Pro tee pad.

The brush in the rough (or off the tee on hole 16 per above) was often a little thick. You could definitely lose a disc or two in it. I would have lost one, but a group playing behind me caught up and one of them found it.

Other Thoughts:

Come prepared for moose and bear encounters. Seriously.

Even after 10+ days in Alaska, I read the other reviews of this place and kind of thought, "yeah OK but no way will *I* see one." Still, playing solo I started out my round with bear bells jingling, treading carefully and looking all around on each hole. I saw some other people on the walking/hiking trails and by hole 6 or 7 I had relaxed quite a bit. Around hole 9 or 10 that group caught up to me and found my disc, then let me pass them again on 11. I still had the bells going but wasn't really thinking about it.

Then it happened. On the walk from hole 12 to 13, I hit a fork in the path. Without the signage to direct me, I looked down each fork trying to figure out which one to take. That was when I saw the adult moose sitting on the edge of one of the forks, maybe 100' away. I stopped dead in my tracks and she (? no antlers) turned toward me for a second. Then turned away and started munching on some grass. I took the other fork which turned out to be the correct one. The moose encounter definitely added to the experience for me, but it's something you should be properly prepared for. I would recommend bringing bear bells or some other noisemaker when playing this course, to alert wildlife to your presence before you may see any. Considering that there have been bear reports here, bear spray isn't a bad idea either especially if playing solo.

I had good cell phone service here.

As others have noted, there is signage indicating that the park gates lock at 10 PM sharp. You must be out of the park by that time or you will have to walk out.

Not really a Pro or Con for me, but I think the Am pars as posted on the kiosk are very generous. Shooting par from the Am tees is attainable even for a noodle arm on his/her first visit.

This is the second 4.5 rating I have given. Like the other 4.5 (Flip City back in my home state of Michigan), I would give this course a 5.0 if it had better signage. Everything is subjective, but by my logic if Flip belongs in the Top 10 conversation maybe this course does too. It is certainly a must-play if you are anywhere near Anchorage. I am already dreaming about a return trip!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
20 0
Upshawt1979
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 21 years 550 played 429 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Bullwinkle's Revenge 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Kincaid is a great course in a super scenic setting. The land is ideal for the game, and course layout utilizes it perfectly. There are frequent elevation changes and good clearings through the trees and shrubberies that make great fairways. All holes except for fifteen have two concrete tees, and good signs. The DISCatchers are functioning well. Hole sixteen is the only one that doesn't have an alternate pin location.

18 holes that play as a par 54 from the short tees, and par 60 from the long tees. Either way you try it, it isn't going to be easy. Don't get me wrong, the lines are fair and playable. Playing smart and strategic will keep you out of trouble. If you stray from the fairway the rough can be punishing. Distance can be formidable so every shot counts.

The first two holes are good, but it starts getting wild around number three. A big downhill bomber from either tee, with brushy rough to either side of a fairway that bends to the right. The view from the long tee is worth taking an extra beat to enjoy the landscape. Hole six is a tough one, especially from the long tee. Six is downhill off the long pad, and the fairway has a low ceiling under the branches of several mature trees once it flattens out a bit.

Hole 10 is another epic hole with an elevated long tee box. There is a left to right bend that has a small window to hit where the short pad is. Then a right to left as you continue down the hill toward a clearing where the basket is placed. I would recommend having a spotter if you play the long tee, I lost my Sidewinder that had become my go to driver lately. I also liked hole fifteen a lot. Another elevated tee that has a basket protected by a few large trees.

Cons:

Not the place to go for a beginner. Long holes with heavy rough. Losing discs is not hard to do. A broken tree limb took away a lot of the driving lane from the long tee on hole 7.

I arrived late in the day, and only got to play the front nine before it got dark. Gates lock at 10, so I wasn't taking any chances. Had to play the back nine the following day.

I lost my driver on hole 10 and spent a good bit of time searching. I also had two slow downs from moose moseying through.

Other Thoughts:

This is a championship caliber course, and the beauty of the park is terrific. I saw moose both days. A big bull was grazing in front of the short tee on six, too near where my drive landed. I walked up on him and backed away nervously once I noticed about 40 feet away. Two calves were dining with ma in front of the basket for hole 10, and I kept a close eye on her as I took my tee shot nearby on hole nine.

When I came back to look for my lost disc and finish the course the following day, I walked up on a big bull once again. Probably the same one from the night before, he was resting in the shade in front of the tee for hole fifteen. I went ahead and teed off, and he seemed to be cool with that, but he gave a snort as I lingered to snap a couple of pictures. I took the hint and walked around the back of the tee to a parallel path and bypassed his spot from a safe distance hidden behind a row of trees.

If you visit Anchorage, and want to play a serious disc golf course this is the place to go. One of the best I have played, with wildlife that I had never encountered before. A perfect introduction to disc golf in the last frontier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
schmidtdavida89
Experience: 7 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best AK course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 7, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful
Good mix
Well marked

I love this course. It's fun and challenging at the same time. It's wooded but the fairways are usually fairly open with the exception of a couple of holes on the back 9. Good elevation change across multiple holes. Can be a bit much for beginners but it's easy to learn. If you go in early spring you're almost guaranteed to find some discs. Most people will let you play through if you're moving faster.

Cons:

WILDLIFE. Cannot stress this enough. Obviously not a whole lot you can do about it but we've skipped one or two holes multiple times or sat waiting because of moose. Usually pretty crowded but people are considerate and will let you play through and also if you mind if they play through. Still can take a couple of hours.
If you're a beginner have patience...

Other Thoughts:

One of my favorite courses and not just cause it's my hometown. It's a truly beautiful course. Gates do close at 10 pm but feel free to hike the mile or so back to the course. There's a bathroom in the chalet.
Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Lou Dogg 31463
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best Course in the State! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Like my title says, this is without a doubt the best course in the state! If you're in Anchorage and can only play one course, this should be the one. I promise you that.

-18 holes with Pro and Am tees, A and B looks.

-Signature holes: 3's pro tee, 6b is a hanging basket, 14 may cause you to roll away, and 18b is a Goliath basket. You'll see what I mean :)

-You will see moose there 85% of your rounds.

-I played the course on 3 different layouts in my 11 years there and only saw one bear (black). Many of my friends have seen them out there several times. Yes, this is a Pro, not a Con.

-Plenty of parking. However, Kincaid caters to DGers, hikers, bikers, walkers, soccer, viewers, archery, biathletes, weddings, etc. so it can be tough to find a place to park on certain summer evenings.

-Good use of elevation.

-The course has great flow. Number 1 starts 100 yards from the parking lot and 18 is a 150 yard walk back to your vehicle.

-Kiosk with a full color map and upcoming events.

-Bathrooms at the Chalet and there is usually a portapotty out side of the chalet.

-Lost and Found in the chalet.

Cons:

-It does get overgrown with all the rain and sun Alaska gets. Parks and Rec does not maintain the course. Volunteers of the Alaska DG Association do it all out there. Play the course after the State tournament to play it in its best condition of the year (minus early summer and before winter).

-Since the summer closure of Westchester Lagoon, Kincaid has unfortunately taken a toll from all the extra use.

-No garbage cans and too many people who pack it in but don't pack it out. It's quite sad.

-That damn Devil's Club and Stinging Nettles, haha. Keep it in the fairway and you won't have to worry about either.

Other Thoughts:

-Join them for their Wednesday Night Doubles between May and September. They easily draw 30+ people for their events which makes for a nice payout should you cash.

-Even if you're playing the Am tees, take a second to snap a picture of the view from 3's Pro tee. That will become your background FaceBook picture.

-My favorite course in the state is Peter's Creek but Kincaid is the best course in the state. Not an opinion, just a fact.

-Lastly, if you have your mountain bike with you, check out the single track trails at Kincaid. There are miles upon miles of single track out there and everything is clearly marked. Irrelevant but if I was attending Kincaid I'd want to know about this too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Mr. Butlertron
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.3 years 675 played 131 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Alaska's Best Course

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 1, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Course map
- Free course with plenty of parking
- Tee signs with distances
- Full 18 holes with multiple (2) concrete pads per hole
- Clearly defined fairways
- Lots of elevation incline/decline variation
- Hole length variation
- Multiple pin locations
- Bathrooms on location
- Good variation of lefty vs righty flight paths/lines
- Lots of summer daylight in the evening

Cons:

- Park gate closes at 10 pm regardless if you're out or not
- Course can get very overgrown
- Disc that land off the fairway are very hard to find.
- Some tees are blind to basket and need spotters.
- Spotting doesn't guarantee a disc will be found
- Course can get crowded
- Long tees are not always visible from short tees, causes confusion and group overlapping
- Some AM tees are directly in the pathway of Pro tees
- The tall basket on 6 is kind of gimmicky

Other Thoughts:

This is what I consider my hometown course, even though I don't live here anymore. It was one of the first courses I learned to throw on and is probably my favorite course ever. The park, believe it or not, used to be the site of a Nike-Hercules missile facility during the Cold War. Today, it's one of the top outdoor recreation destinations for tourist and locals alike in the Anchorage area.

This is a big course, however it's just a small fraction of the park's overall acreage. The disc golf course itself received a major overhaul around a decade ago, which was a big improvement on an already fun course to play. The layout change gave the course a bigger layout and was positioned further away from the park chalet, which is always either hosting events or just full of non disc golfing park goers in general. The nice thing is that there is pretty much no overlap between the numerous trail walkers and the course layout.

Kincaid is a longer forest style park course that is full of changes in elevation. In fact, there's only one fairway that is flat (#2 B) and even that one has a drop off behind it and also to the left. This course can really be punishing if you have an errant throw or don't keep an eye on where you land, both bodily and physically. Devils clubs and stinging nettles line most of the fairways. If that's not rough enough, the actual rough is thick with vegetation and drops off down long steep embankments around a few fairways. When in doubt, use a spotter.....or two. The course can be really hairy when not maintained, which is most of the summer. There's still a noticeable difference between fairway and the rough, it's just that the fairway vegetation can get pretty long before maintenance happens. I happen to be visiting Anchorage just after their state tournament, so the course is really really great looking.

Even though I love the course I have to point out that there are a few problems with the blue/pro tees. Many of the blues share a fairway with the reds, subsequently putting anyone on reds in the line of fire. There isn't always visibility between the two tees, which creates confusion. Also, because the course is so crazy thick with vegetation, it's not practical to take any other route besides the regular fairways. Sometimes the best throws from blues are layups to the red tees and play from there. There isn't much reward for going big on throws, you'll likely just lose your disc trying. As a result, nobody really uses the pro pads, not even the Wednesday night league players. It's kind of a waste if you ask me.

There are also a few variables that are outside the park's control like bugs, weather, and wildlife to take into consideration. Some wet gloomy summers the yellow jackets and the mosquitoes can get out of control, it depends on the summer. The moose come and go as they please, but usually aren't particularly aggressive unless you get between a cow and her babies or aggravate a bull in rut.


Overall, it is a truly amazing and unique course. When the weather is bad and the fairways are overgrown it can be hell, but when the sun is shining and the fairways are clear it's a little slice of heaven. This is one of those courses where it pays to come prepared. It's a lot of walking and much of the course is nowhere near the parking lot nor the bathrooms, so come prepared.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Magiken
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 74 played 74 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Moose Walkin’ 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 17, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

• A number of interesting/challenging shots with good use of the terrain
• Very good tee boxes
• Easy to find
• Huge practice areas
• Beautiful park overall with lots of interesting sights and features (including an old missile silo!)
• Very good signage noting Pro/Am distances

Cons:

• In spots it's a bit tricky to navigate due to the dense foliage but if you follow the map, you'll be ok.
• Minor quibble: We didn't see any evidence of a basket position indicator on the signs which surprised us considering how good the signs are. This necessitates walking up to check positions, which you may want to do anyway.

Other Thoughts:

Tips:
• Do use the map. One is at the entrance to the course.
• If the reindeer dog lady is there, try one! They're pretty good.

Random Thoughts:
First, let me state that we didn't get to play the whole course. Due to the setting sun and a very early flight out, my wife and I only had time to play 11 holes, but we eyeballed a chunk of the rest on our walk out. Feel free to throw justified rocks at this review later. ;) Having said that, we really enjoyed this course. The emphasis for this course is definitely precision over rear back and let fly length, although you may need a touch of that from the Pro tees (us mortals played the Am's). Personally, I never once felt like I needed to let one loose. I could see that the real objective was to avoid obstacles and set yourself up for a decent approach shot, preferably from somewhere outside the 'rough'. Let's take a pause here and talk about the rough. There's rough and then there's what's outside the fairways of this course. Take trees, bushes, ground cover, and all manner of briar patch fun and mix them all together and this is what is waiting for the errant shot. The good news about the rough ("There's good news?!" YES!) is that there isn't any poison oak or snakes in there. Goooo Alaska! But the other news is that you are basically done if you go into these areas and will be happy to just get back out to the fairway (and not step in any moose pies). This, again, makes you focus even harder on just staying in the fairway and not trying anything silly. This might make you start to think that this course is not fun or unfair, but quite the contrary. I found it to be very fair. You can see the lines clearly. It's not particularly long so the average player has ample opportunity to leave with a par. I actually left the course +1 and really should've been -1 because I did get stuck in one of those 'rough' areas on the first hole (and man is that a mean way to start a course; a sweeping high arching left to right shot, ouch). You'll notice I said "average player" back there. I would not not NOT take a beginner here. They are probably going to hate you and the sport after wading into the bushes all day. But if you have a decent amount of control with around 200' of distance, we think you'll be fine. I also read about the critters that you can encounter out here but we didn't see any. We did see some large and intimidating droppings though so they're definitely out there somewhere. Be aware, but be nice if you see one. Lastly, the views on this course are quite lovely in spots. You can see the bay and watch the planes coming in for some added fun. There's also all the crazy abandoned military stuff scattered here and there to add to the weirdness. I told my wife that there was probably a soldier standing right where we were 50 years ago stating to his compadre "Someday there will be Disc golfers here."

Bottom Line:
This is a beautiful park with a very interesting course layout that makes great use of the terrain. It's not for the beginner set but very fair and fun for the average and above set. If you're in the neighborhood, do check it out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
[email protected]
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

An Amazing Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Par-3s, 4s, 5s, wooded fairways, open fairways, elevation changes, cement amateur and pro tees, dual basket placements, great signage, amazing views, plenty of benches, moose (mostly in the morning), evidence of black-bear, this course has it all!

Cons:

Super-thick rough.

Other Thoughts:

There are plenty of soccer fields to practice on. Restrooms and vending machines available. There's even a lady selling grilled sausage sandwiches near the practice basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
Doofenshmirtz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12 years 122 played 72 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A fun course to play. 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This review is based on a round played from the short tees.

This is a course with an interesting layout that uses lots of trees and also uses elevation well. It rewards shot placement and accuracy far more than distance. There are no wide open holes and only two holes from the Am tees that will require a distance driver. In most cases, a midrange is all you will need from the tees. My current rating is a little under 900 and I can consistently reach 380-390 feet on open drives. I only used distance drivers off the tee on three holes.

Tees are concrete and the course was well kept when I played. The rough is not overly punishing.

There are a number of holes that require left to right shots so work on your forehand, midrange shot. You will need it. Generally, this course will allow you to utilize a lot of different shot types.

I didn't see much wildlife during the round but was told by the locals that I play with that there is about an 80% chance of seeing moose during a round.

There is little interference from other park activities although the occasional hiker will cause a brief delay. The park and course feature some great views of mountain ranges and the Cook Inlet.

Cons:

Signage. There are a number of holes that feature blind shots. Because the course is relatively short from the Am tees, this exposed a couple of shortcomings with the signage. The signs do not do a very good job of giving you a good sense of the basket location and do not indicate at all which of the basket locations are currently in use for the hole. The group that I was playing with, all locals, all threw at the wrong basket location off the first tee. Visitors, and even locals, should probably put eyes on the basket before throwing.

Navigation. The next tee location is not always obvious. I've seen worse, but my first round would have been longer had I not been with locals.

Non Disc Golfers. There are places where walking trails come close to fairways and this can cause minor delays. Overall, it wasn't much of a problem even on a high traffic day.

A few of the holes presented overly difficult lines that make luck factor into the score a little too much. In one case this was caused by a very large tree that had fallen and was suspended above the ground, blocking the apparently intended fairway. In another, there was a group of trees about 100 feet from the tee box that had very narrow gaps, requiring a little too much accuracy (or luck) to get through for a chance at birdie. Even so, it was still not difficult to par even after a poor result on the drive.

Although there were virtually no repetitive holes, there was also very little variety in the landscape. There were no tunnel holes or any holes that were very tight off the tee and nothing very open either. Elevation was a factor in only 4-5 holes.

Other Thoughts:

I had the good fortune to arrive at Kincaid Park on a Wednesday just before the weekly league doubles match started. It was a fun round. Had I tried to play on my own, the round would have been a bit tedious as I would have had to walk forward to determine the basket location on more than half the holes. On a few holes, the next tee location would not have been obvious.

I played this on a trip to Alaska on which I also played Hilltop Ski Area and Tsalteshi Trails in Soldotna. Both the Anchorage courses are superior to Tsalteshi Trails, but other than the additional effort required to play Hilltop, I cannot say that Kincaid is a better course than Hilltop. They are night and day different, but each is fun and challenging with its own benefits and shortcomings. Kincaid is probably the more difficult of the two because it is the more technical course and rewards a number of different techniques off the tee. I would definitely recommend both Kincaid and Hilltop if you are lucky enough to find yourself in Anchorage. Beginners may find this course a bit frustrating, but I would still recommend it as it will challenge you to use more than just your backhand or forehand off the tee.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
SomeChump
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 33 played 33 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Best In Alaska 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 29, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good tee pads and baskets
Great mowing/vegetation trimming
Fun layout

Cons:

Easy to wander between holes
Too many blind shots
Not very many shot options on many holes due to heavy trees/foliage. Forces one shot too much.

Other Thoughts:

This is not a 4 1/2 disc course, nor the greatest I've ever played. It isn't even in the top 5. But it is a very good course and easily the best of the four in Anchorage that I have played. The front nine are really very well laid out, but the back nine could use some additional signs to help with navigation. We did manage to find a map in the chalet, but it was fairly unhelpful and just plain wrong at times. (The one available for download on this site looks a lot better. Stupid me.) There are quite a few blind placements, and it seemed that most of the placements from the longer "pro" tees were all blind. There's no way I'd play those tees on my first visit to the course.

This is not an easy course. There are many holes, even from the short tees, that I (915 rating) would probably never birdie even if I played the course every day for a year. But there are lots of fun and challenging holes and it would be a good course for a tourney as the holes do a good job of rewarding good shots and punishing bad ones.

Somebody went through and mowed down the foliage in all of the reasonable landing areas, which was just awesome. If you missed those, watch out! But I think we only looked for 2 or 3 discs the whole round, which seems to be pretty good for an Alaska course.

I really loved the extra long tee pads. These are the best tee pads I've ever played on. Most are too short for me. However, given the length of the holes, you're going to need that extra long run up! Every tee pad also has a sign with accurate distances, which I appreciated, even if the pictures were kind of generic and not very helpful for actually locating the baskets. The signage between holes needs to be improved, especially from 10-13. The baskets are all perfect, and there was even one hanging from a tree and two appropriately on an extra long hole. The pars seemed reasonable, except for the "pro par" from the short tees on # 18. It was a wide open 250 foot par 4 and my first eagle.

A couple of navigational helps: after hole 9 make a 180 degree turn to the right to find hole 10. After 10, go back and left through a path through the wood across the ski trail. When looking for 13, realize it is a pretty good walk, but there are a couple of small signs that help. You will cross back over an earlier hole. The first hole starts East of the Chalet and runs parallel to a road. The basket is blind but the tees are very close to the practice basket.

Use spotters your first time playing, especially if there hasn't been recent mowing/weedwhacking.

If you're in Anchorage, don't miss this course. Bring water and bug dope, but sometimes you'll get lucky and not need either.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
xamathaonx
Experience: 20 years 31 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

One of my all-time favorites 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 10, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the most beautiful and challenging courses I have played. The constant elevation changes, ravines, cliffs, and wildly deep brush present plenty of obstacles.

Cons:

Plenty of chances to loose your discs by over shooting some of the many ravines.

Other Thoughts:

Really miss playing this course. It is one of my all-time favorites.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
professorapoc
Experience: 13 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great mix between long and short holes. Pro & Am tee pads. Maps of each hole at each tee. Plenty of benches to give you a break after climbing the hills and waiting for other people to throw. Challenging course, but fun.

Cons:

Thick underbrush making it easy to lose discs. A couple instances of poor directions between hole and next tee, probably because of vandalism but it's not a huge deal.

Other Thoughts:

Very advanced. Controlled throws a must! Can't even see the holes from the pads at times, check out the map on each tee for an idea of where to throw. Expect to spend about an hour and a half playing 18 holes casually with one other person. Lots of elevation and distance. Some holes aren't affected by wind because of trees. Great view of shoreline as well. Definitely will recommend this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
gdogg4250
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Our favorite in alaska 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A combination of scenery and challenge make this our favorite course to play in Alaska. There is a good mix of short and long holes, plenty of benches at the holes to wait while your party tees off, and not to heavy on traffic.

Cons:

Although well marked for a course this size, it wouldn't hurt to have a couple more signs between some of the holes that are a little farther apart. And be prepared to get your legs scraped up a bit if you go into the rough on some of the holes. Also, notice a lot of empty beer/alcohol containers...no problem having a drink here and there, but carry it out when you are done.

Other Thoughts:

Gourgeous course, with plenty of challenge. My wife and I have been able to improve our scores each time out, but the improvements are slow enough that it is still a fun place to play; far from easy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
akdiscgolf
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course/Great Views 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 3, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice long holes. Challenging.
Good local scene and fairly low crowds.

The layout has ALOT of variety. Up hill, down hill, dog legs, over ravines. You name it. Never had a bad time here.

Cons:

None

Other Thoughts:

This is basically the best course in Alaska
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
CC35
Experience: 17 years 7 played 4 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

If you like a long tough course this is it. Excellent layout with creative basket placements (like a 10ft. basket on a hillside as you see in the profile picture). Quite possible you will see wildlife to go along with your round.

Cons:

Again, wildlife. Be aware of your surroundings. Bear and moose are very common in this area. Mosquitos can be bad at times so always have bugdope.

Other Thoughts:

Gates close at ten but you can still park outside, walk or bike in, and then play all night during the months of June and July.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
RraTim
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Beautiful scenery--I've seen moose and porcupines on this course; forces a lot of creative shot making; long summer days mean playing late (be out by 10!)

Cons:

Bring water because this is a long course without any real ammenities nearby, particularly once you get going; very wild course--take spotters if you can; a lot of Devil's Club--consider wearing pants

Other Thoughts:

This course was redesigned/relocated in '08, and they did a great job with it. As with much of AK, bring your bug dope if you play. If you don't like having to wait for others or don't like the "riff-raff" of other courses, this is a great course for you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
danhal87
Experience: 16 years 11 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 5, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice course with beautiful scenery. Pretty long course (only 1 below 300 feet). Many types of shots. It has a couple of valleys that you have to throw over, and hole 14 is a doozy. Good signage.

Cons:

Course can take a toll on your discs, or very easily steal them from you.

Other Thoughts:

Possibly the biggest moose I have ever seen was lounging on the part of the path that you have to go past many times throughout the round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
MadDog
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2007 Played the course:never

Pros:

This is the most beautiful course I've ever played, Ocean views, interesting rolling terrain, challenging course. Best played in spring.

Cons:

In summer the brush gets thick, and many lose discs in the thickets, If you decide to look in these areas for lost discs, remember that those areas are where Bears will be hiding from you. Lots of fresh bear scat on course so be aware!!

Other Thoughts:

bring water, the course is long and hot on sunny summer days. Get a map of the course at the visiters center. Restrooms are there too.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top