Cincinnati, OH

Mt. Airy Forest

4.115(based on 123 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Mt. Airy Forest reviews

Filter
5 4
Journeyman
Experience: 27.8 years 36 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

best 3rd best course around 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pro shop on site, concrete pads, fairly well marked. Good use of elevation on many holes with opportunities to really let it rip, with good risk reward.

Good mix of shots needed. A few pin placements are nasty, requiring good approach shots.

Cons:

Signs need to be updated.

Lots of traffic to be played around.

The course has been "cleaned" of underbrush, which does make it easier to find discs, but also made the course a little too easy now.

Other Thoughts:

I liked the course better with the old layout, too bad they changed it. New #1 is a nice hole though, glad they moved it back into the woods.

This used to be one of my favorite courses, then I played the Dynamic Duo of Idlewild and Banklick. Now I would rank this third in the area and farther down my list of favorites. But, do not let that keep you from playing Mt Airy. It is a very fine disc golf course in a pretty place. Well laid out with a good mix of holes, a nice hilly walk and you can buy discs on-site!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
dwsutton
Experience: 38.8 years 19 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautiful course close to city 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Accessibility
- Variety of holes/difficulties
- Layout and directions
- DG Clubhouse! (though closed when we were there)

Cons:

- Road comes in to play often as OB

Other Thoughts:

Huge park near Cincinnati; feels like you are miles from any city. Course is very nicely laid out and obviously gets a lot of play. Well taken care of. Park employees cutting grass paused to let us throw (like on a regular golf course). Would enjoy playing here again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 4
Ben17
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.7 years 119 played 31 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Good But Not Great 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 29, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The sign on the tee is very nice and it shows you exactly where the whole is and where to go to get to the next tee
-Every whole challenges you in a different way
-There is a store right by the first tee and it has alot to offer
-They mix it up between par 3's and par 4's
-Every whole is different some are open fields while others make you be accurate and actually aim for something
-There is no water so you couldn't lose your disc in there
-The baskets are very nice and also very official
-It is located in a very nice park

Cons:

-It is in the woods so on some holes it will be easy to lose your disc
-Some of the par 3's should be par 4's and some par 4's should be par 5's
-There are no par 5's
-It is very hard to do good here and end below par
-On some of the holes the sign isn't even there so you dont know what par is, where the pin is located, and how far away the pin is from the tee

Other Thoughts:

I came here on quite a windy day so i would like to come back when it isn't so windy. That may have been some of the problen. But overall i thought that this was a nice course that could use some work. I know they are redoing many things so the course will be on top one day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
notapro
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.6 years 568 played 281 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Intermediate/Expert 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 31, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Excellent use of elevation changes in most holes. Seemed like there were a lot more upshots than downshots, which definitely increased the challenge. Normally boring wide open holes become a challenge because of this.
- A good use of individual trees on some of the open holes, making them feel like you are in a forest.
- Forest holes not too bad either, pretty lightly wooded compared to some other courses.
- A good mix of left, right, and straight shots. It seemed like this course rewarded a straight shooter above all else.
- Some of these holes were beasts. #5 is an uphill, 700', dogleg right hole that will punish you for straying off the fairway. Thick rough and lots of trees make this a juggernaut of a hole.
- Good tees, baskets, and signage. Also pretty easy to navigate the first time through.
- Maybe not part of the course, but the pro shop, and practice net, was a great feature. Really added to the whole experience.
- I liked the forest hole with no discernible fairway off the tee, just a small walking path through some tall grass. Pretty unique, in my experience.
- Delicious water. Took some back to Illinois!

Cons:

- Course plays very, very close to road. Lots of traffic going in and around area, mostly not related to disc golf in any way.
- Constant upshot after upshot was a little repetitive, and tiring, especially near the end of the course.

Other Thoughts:

- There were other people using this park, but they weren't in the way. Not this time, at least.
- I really liked #13, which included a right-curving shot over a small valley (more of a dip), which lead into a downshot with the basket surrounded by downslopes. Very rewarding hole, if you play it right.
- Not as scenic as some of the other nearby courses, but still very scenic. The road kind of kills the atmosphere throughout the hole round.
- Still a great, great course in my book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 4
JohtoVillage
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.9 years 160 played 73 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Compares to Idlewild 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 15, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Situated in a beautiful national forest with amazing scenery, Mt. Airy Park was a treat to play. In my opinion, the course has what Idlewild does not: the fun factor. I didn't feel exhausted at the end of the round and I truly enjoyed playing the course. The par 4's were true par 4's, and hole 1 was one of the coolest opening holes I have ever played. The course had a good mix of open and tight holes, and also had a good mix of some short and long holes.

Cons:

The only thing keeping Mt. Airy from a 5 rating (besides the small navigational issue after hole 6, which could be fixed with a simple sign) was the fact that the course heavily favors an anhyzer throw for a right-hander or a hyzer throw for a left-hander. Off the top of my head, the longest 6 holes on the course favored that type of throw. In my opinion, that is a design flaw because the course didn't offer the opportunity for that type of throw on the long holes. The best throw on those holes was an S curve or a long anhyzer, and the long hyzer throw wasn't really needed.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, Mt. Airy is right up there with Idlewild because of the fun factor. It ranks ahead of Lincoln Ridge in my opinion because of the beautiful scenery. This course was really a treat and seems to really be setup for multiple courses in the park. The pro shop was also awesome!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
16 0
optidiscic
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.7 years 156 played 147 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Is more Airy than Forest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is situated in a large urban park with grassy fairways that meander within the manicured areas of the park and skirt the forest briefly a few times without ever completely providing woods golf. The emphasis is on big arm power as most holes are more open than technical and length is rewarded moreso than precision. Those players who can throw 350+ will often be looking at birdies while the rest will be scrambling to make long approaches and deep putts to keep pace. Get your arm loose and break out the long distance drivers here. You still have to hit your lines and placement drives are required on a few of the longer holes but it is not nearly as punitive as Lincoln Ridge can be or Idlewild always is for missing your lines. Very well maintained park with elevation changes on the back 9. Your often weaving your drivers amongst sporadic hardwoods rather than dense woods here. Elevation is either downhill just enough to help your driver fulfill its flight path and not sharp enough uphill to cramp your distance too adversely. I particularly enjoyed #15, a multi shot hole dogleg R downhill 560 ft to a basket sitting atop a hill that looks like it was made by nature to be a DG green. I'm sure during world's top pros got to that green in one shot due to the attainability afforded by the 50 feet of elevation drop.Also fun was #16 a blind shot but employing a perfect wooded fairway that begs you to trust your strongest hyzer across a sloping bank and let the disc hone in on the wooded green 400 feet away. Many holes reward a player who can perform a long line such as long anhyzers on #5 & #13. So it's a big arm course but requires more loosely controlled drives over reckless bombing. Compliments the tighter Cinnci courses well with its big park like and open feel.

Cons:

Too open for my tastes and not very well marked. Most of the front 9 plays too close to the access road with #2 actually throwing over it and #3 basically playing mando around a busy lot. #5 seemed such a waste as your trying to endlessly make that long right turn and the entire time your close to the road and seeing this amazing woods to your right with steep elevation drops and mature trees (Valley to valley hole anyone) instead your skirting the road and trees and forced to ignore what could have been some killer wooded holes to your right. After hole 6 you do have to backtrack to find hole 7. A few blind holes where you might not know where to throw to or where your disc landed. With all those woods nearby I wish there was some more use of the elevation and trees that seemed to be beckoning my attention as I plugged away in the open and at times mundane fields.

Other Thoughts:

The best part of this course is the Nati DG store that serves as clubhouse and perhaps the center of the Cinncinatti DG universe. I never saw such a well equipped store and I was able to pawn off my old plastic in return for a brand new 80 dollar bag! If the store is open don't miss this one.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Cobra165
Experience: 108 played 10 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Airy is the pinnacle 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

• Good, beautiful, memorable holes with moderate elevation change
• Tough but fun (a GREAT combination)
• Nice mix of short and long--a couple of easy deuces but also several holes where you are really able to let it rip
• Awesome pro shop (not always open though--opened at 1 pm the day we played)
• Driving pad with a huge net to throw into--very nice--have not seen that anywhere else
• Benches everywhere!
• Great picnic facilities
• Ample parking
• Good restrooms (or so my wife said)
• Even the guy on the mower was helpful

Cons:

• Navigation from 6 to 7 (at least put up a sign so players don't wander aimlessly for 15 minutes)
• A few too many tweener holes that give a serious advantage to long throwers
• A few cracked teepads that made me worry more about my footing than shot execution (a couple are bad enough to cause a twisted ankle, and should be replaced)

Other Thoughts:

Much of what I would say has already been said by Jarrod (I played the course with him).

Apparently the course has changed somewhat, since some of the photos don't match the holes we played. In fact, the photo for hole 7 makes me think that was a hole that had to be taken out, and I'm guessing that now accounts for the aforementioned navigational issue from 6 to 7 (there is a serious backtrack issue there).

I had no issue with the mando (probably because I hit it, whereas Jarrod did not). As long as it is plainly posted, which it was, then I consider that to be "local flavor." Could the hole be changed or even eliminated? Possibly, but then that could cause problems elsewhere.

Hole 1 is just beautiful, a true par 4 with nice scenery. Great way to start the round. Other memorable holes are 5 (which Jarrod 3'd, by the way--big arm), 10, 13, 15, and 17.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Jarrod
Experience: 23.8 years 43 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Break Out the Big Guns 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful setting and well-manicured park that creates an excellent mix of open/wooded and long/short holes. This course will challenge every aspect of your game, especially your ability to control long-distance drivers - there are multiple holes with 400+ foot shots requiring careful turnovers and S-Curves.

Nice little pro-shop for when you finish the course. The help is friendly and knowledgeable.

Cons:

There are a few navigational issues early on (I'm looking at you, hole 7) and the lack of markers for the next tee can be frustrating at times. A few tee signs do not always clearly depict a basket's location (ex: hole 17).

The course clearly favors people with big arms and the distances are such that people who can't throw much past 350 ft are left out a bit as they're always just out of deuce range on a lot of holes on the back nine.

There is a single hole early on with a completely unnecessary mandatory. I suppose that there are concerns with the parking lot nearby but really, this place has an unbelievable amount of land available - it shouldn't be that difficult to work in a different hole sans mandatory.

Other Thoughts:

Mt. Airy is one of the top-notch courses in this area. With Idlewild and Lincoln Ridge being nearby, the three definitely form an awesome trifecta worthy of any serious golfer's attentions.

This course is stunning to look at and only suffers from minor issues that could be easily cleaned up with some small alterations. Excellent, excellent play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
Ace1
Experience: 31.9 years 45 played 7 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Mt. Airy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of the original World's courses. It is a very challenging course. Good for beginners but expect a higher number of throws. The course is rolling with numerous trees to challenge even the seasoned pro.

The course now has a pro shop where hole 1 is located. One can pick up discs, supplies, drinks and snacks.

Cons:

Hole 5 is an almost impossible par 4 due the maturing trees along and in the fairway. A couple holes can get a little slippery with a little rain. A couple holes get close to picnic tables.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a very fun course. Mt.Airy in Cincy, Lincoln Ridge and Idlewild in Kentucky (just across the river) can make for a great and exhausting day of disc golf.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Hitmetal
Experience: 16.6 years 166 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Must hit this one 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 24, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Long, beautiful forest, chains were just recently regalvonized. Proshop on site (need more courses with a proshop) Mix of open and tight fairways. Use of elevation was fun, making no look throws over hills and around ridges. The proshop,
"The Nati" has a huge selection of discs and equipment and a throwing net to practice putting or throw technique, and some pretty cool dudes running it to talk disc golf with.

Cons:

Some sigange was missing and a little navigation complaint with the walk from 6 to 7.

Other Thoughts:

Loved it. Great time, and tests all skills in throwing a disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 4
upfromtheashes
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.5 years 42 played 38 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Above average, but needs TLC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Loved the length. Aesthetically the park was pleasing and the grass was nicely kept.

The pro shop was very nice and carried a wide assortment of plastic. I picked up some Lat64 stuff that I've only seen online otherwise.

Cons:

This is no longer a new course and it's showing it's age in places. Basket/teepad/sign improvements would probably raise my score to 4.0.

I'm not a huge fan of blind shots and this course has several. Maybe it's a matter of personal preference, but we spent quite a while looking for discs.

The layout doesn't flow well, and considering the renumbering of the holes, maps should definately be provided at the first tee.

Other Thoughts:

With a little TLC I'd give this course a 4. That's a very solid course. If I lived in Cincy, I'd likely play this course quite a bit. Unfortunately, I don't live in Cincy, and whenever I make it up that way, Idlewild and Banklick rank higher on my priority list than Mt Airy does.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 4
numbernine
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.7 years 103 played 49 reviews
3.00 star(s)

An average course that could be better 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

- There are a ton of different shots on this course. Long and open, short and technical and everything in between.
- There is a pro shop on site. Though it was not open when I was there, this is always a bonus. They also had practice nets and pads set up near the clubhouse.
- Beautiful park! The course sits in the middle of a national forest and the course has amazing views.
- Concrete pads on every hole that seem to be in pretty good shape. 11 has a very unique elevated pad that makes for a cool shot coming out of the woods.
- This is a hard course over all. it is fair, but it is definitely tougher than your average course. you will get your face handed to you if you decide to take a risky shot and end up in the woods or down one of the bigger hills.
- TONS of elevation changes and blinds. this is probably the best part of the course for me.

Cons:

- The baskets aren't in very good shape on most holes. The inside chains lay against the pole and the outside chains are very close to the pole. There were one or two exceptions to this rule, but overall they were not in good shape.
- The layout is just not great. There were quite a few times that I spent an inordinate amount of time searching for the next tee pad after I left the basket. In fact, the walk between 6 basket and 7 tee is so long that it feels like you're leaving the course. I missed 16 all together because I couldn't find it. the layout was so bad in fact, that none of the locals I talked to even knew were some of the holes were. I got a lot of "yeah, this used to be #1, but they've moved everything and didn't mark it."
- Very poor signage on most holes. I think on more than half of the holes either there was no sign on the tee pad, or just a sign that said what number you were on. this led to me walking out and trying to find the basket before I threw. and there are zero "this way to next tee" signs or arrows or anything to let you know where to go.

Other Thoughts:

This is an average course that could really raise it's game with some very simple changes. Add some signs to the tee boxes, throw some directions out there and fix the baskets, and we're probably talking about a legit 4 star course.

you can see my video of this course here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nFRdVWJ3U0M

let me know if you dig the videos or whatever. I think it helps the review to see the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 3
ElementZ
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.8 years 212 played 197 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Mt. Airy 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 10, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very long and challenging course! It's set in a national forest and the area is basically exclusively used for disc golf. The forest is used very nicely and I'm sure is veeeeery pretty when fall and spring come around.
Some of the elevation changes are a lot of fun to shoot from. It requires more distance throws than any other course I've ever played! Definitely a course for bigger arms and experienced players.

Cons:

I can't even begin to explain how muddy it was. The snow must have just melted or something because I was slipping and sliding all over the place.
Some of the holes are just a tad long for my taste, but other people may really like the challenge.
I think I normally would have given this course a 4, but the mud was really just unbearable and hurt the fun factor pretty significantly.

Other Thoughts:

The Nati disc golf clubhouse is awesome! Definitely drop in and check out the discs and talk to the owners, they are really cool guys! The lost discs are really cheap as well if you need something.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
denny ritner
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.8 years 170 played 113 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One of my favs 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 7, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The park is beautiful, just driving to the course is an enjoyable experience. Nice flora, excellent vistas and some of the best disc golf postcard holes in the game can be enjoyed here.

Several multi-shot holes provide good opportunities to demonstrate course management skills.

It's helpful to have good power here, but the course does demand a well rounded game to score well. A nice variety of holes will give you a chance to throw all the shots you know and you'll certainly have to scramble out of trouble at least once during the round.

The course is seasoned and well-maintained, which means that you're likely not to lose a disc unless you throw a very bad shot.

Mt. Airy is a great place for intermediate/advanced players to develop their games and will still make a pro work hard to go super-low.

There's a stocked pro-shop by the first tee.

Cons:

Quite a few of the cement pads had major cracks.

The course could use one or two more sets of tees as it's a bit tough for new players.

As other reviewers have stated, it can be quite muddy at times, which is tough on the hills.

Other Thoughts:

This course is challenging, both from the golf standpoint and the hiking standpoint. If that doesn't turn you off, then I'd definitely call Mt. Airy a "must play" if you're visiting the Cincinnati area.

Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
skottyb
Experience: 24.8 years 54 played 26 reviews
4.00 star(s)

It was a muddy mess... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 17, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I had played this course once before but never had the chance to give it a review. I don't like giving course reviews of just my one time first impression. Here goes after playing it twice. Mt Airy is situated nicely, hole 1 is right next too the Pro Shop (which was closed unfortunately but I understand) and it finishes almost exactly in the place it starts. The course had great flow too it, it demands accurate distance throws. A lot of hyzer flip shots are needed for RHBH players which I love. Distances are perfect, rewarding a nice drive and challenging you too make a good upshot/putt if you miss placement of your drive. Baskets are placed nicely to maximize the risk/reward factor.

Cons:

The tee pads, some were great, others were cracked badly which made it difficult for a solid run up, which is needed on some holes. The course had just been put through a nice snow storm and I played it when the ground had thawed out so it was very muddy. Around the baskets could have used some wood chips or some drainage to prevent standing water. Again I don't consider this a con, heck I was the only player on the course at the time.

Other Thoughts:

I love the distance shots on this course, most of the par 4s can be birdie'd, except maybe 5, and I was fortunate to take a 4 on that hole. It's tough. I love the course though and would definitely go out of my way to play it, I think I'd rather be over at Lincoln Ridge/Idlewild but if I had to come a little farther north then this course would be my top choice in the area. I love the pro shop thats there, can't wait to check it out when it warms up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
richardmmill
Experience: 21.7 years 48 played 17 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Mt. Airy 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Awesome course. Nice concrete tee pads (excluding the new holes still not poured). Helpful tee signs. Nicely kept always mowed. Course is very challenging, Hole 5 wrapping a long way around brush and against the road, very hard par 4. Many blind shots on the course. Good elevation changes in the course. Nice variance of long and short mostly long. Many tight fairways that require a great deal of precision. Fairways are well defined because the rough is pretty dang rough. Long course takes a while to play through, not for a first time player thats for sure. Pro Shop at the course!!! That is awesome.

Cons:

Is heavily played and isn't as beautiful as it used to be. Flow can be confusing.

Other Thoughts:

I liked the old course before they took out the heavy deep woods holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 9
FreddieC
Experience: 15.7 years 44 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 7, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very scenic. Plenty of variety of shots. Beautiful rolling hills. Definitely a must play course in Cincinnati area.

Cons:

Course layout can be confusing unless you know the course well.

Other Thoughts:

Winter time is probably not the best time to try out this course - there was a lot of damage to the signs on the tees and to the bulletin board which kind of
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
Chainchaser
Experience: 15.5 years 41 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

First thing is go to the lodge to find hole one. This was a bit of a problem. It took me a a while to find it.
This course was rather difficult for a newbie like me but I enjoyed all the same. It starts off with a nice par 5 or at least that is what hand written sign had said that went from a open field to the woods. Each hole on this course will challenge every shot you have. From dogleg left's and right's to overhands. Bring it all because you will need it or at least I did. The only thing i don't remember seeing where true tunnel shots. With the surrounding woods you figure they could have had a few. Hole 3 and the end of hole one was probably the closest thing to a tunnel shot I remember. I am trying to think of a stand out hole for me but really I don't remember any that caught my attention. Don't get me wrong though all the hole had chalenges to them and made for an exciting round of disc golf.
This course also has a pro shop but was not open when I was there. It also has a disc screen to practice drive. I am not sure if that is free or for instructional basis by the pro shop.

Cons:

The biggest con I think is the proximity to the roads of a lot of holes. Being a lifelong resident of Cincinnati and actually hanging at this park when I was a younger man it seems they could have used the surrounding woods to a little more of their advantage than they did. I noticed some old tee pads in the woods and thought I had missed a hole but they were just that, old tee pads.
To get around on this course can be difficult for the first time user. Lack of direction signs and tee signs(select holes from vandalism) takes this course from a great one to a very good course for me. If you are going to this course for the first time go to www.cincinnatidiscgolf.com and print off a map it will save you some time and confusion.

Other Thoughts:

This course could be a great course with a just a few minor aesthetic things done to it. If your in the cincy area though make sure to put it on the list to play. It definitely compliments Lincoln ridge and idlewild. Even with all it's faults though this course is definitely a must play
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 831 played 767 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Another fun Cincy course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a large park with rolling hills. There is a really nice mix of open grassy areas with scattered trees, and more heavily wooded areas with some brush off the fairways. Both types of terrain are used well to add variety to the course, and keep it interesting throughout. The design made good use of elevation, with uphill, downhill and cross-hill holes, along with some interesting greens that added some risks on putts.

There was a good mix of some holes that let you open up a little with shorter more technical holes. The course does a pretty good job of encouraging the use of different shots to score well. There is some punishment for errant shots, and accurate drives are rewarded here.

There were concrete tees, and most holes had signs with some hole information. The park was beautifully taken care of with nice grass and almost no trash. The park is beautiful, and it's always nice to play in such a scenic park. Though it wasn't open at the time, locals told us there is a pro shop which is always really nice to have at a course.

Cons:

There were definitely some navigation issues here. Some holes have clearly been moved without good signage to direct players through the new layout. Many hole signs were vandalized or missing, which added a little to the navigation problems.

Some tees were cracked or broken, though all were at least level. Many had large drop offs to the ground which limited run ups and follow throughs. There were some spots where walking paths and roads were in play, and that meant a little bit of waiting for other park users on some tees.

Though there weren't any real bad holes on the course, I didn't walk away with vivid memories of specific holes like I did from Lincoln Ridge or Idlewild. The tee and sign issues along with the lack of real signature holes are what knocks this course below the other two for me.

Other Thoughts:

This course is not all that beginner friendly. There aren't any short tees, and there are plenty of spots to lose discs on errant shots, and some difficulties with navigation. More experienced players will really enjoy the variety and challenges this course presents, and everyone will enjoy the natural beauty here.

If you are in the Cincinnati area, definitely make time to play this course. Any one of the top three area courses are worth a trip on their own, and if you can play two or all three of them while you're here you won't be disappointed by any of them. I'm always jealous of disc golfers in this area whenever I play here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
TheTennesseeFireman
Experience: 21.7 years 13 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

No-Nonsense Cincinnati Highlight 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pro Shop- I got lost for a bit on the way in, assuming that the "lodge" was some random park building. I was sorely mistaken. Helpful staff and many shelves of discs, bags, etc are a sight to see for one who is used to the homegrown nature of disc golf.

Challenge- Mt. Airy seems to work well as a "barometer" course; you can always improve your score here. The distance can make the course very difficult at times, especially on the holes when the elevation change is minimal. Holes 1, 5, 15, and 17 in particular will test you. Recovery shots are particularly tricky as the deep woods will not let you out without a fight.

Incline- The elevation changes make this course what it is. Sweeping doglegs and downhill shots erase the otherwise average feeling you would get from many of these holes. You will have a better chance to air it here out than anywhere other course in the region.

Cons:

Creativity- The major flaw with the course. While the course provides a variety of holes. Mt. Airy doesn't deliver when it comes to uniqueness. You can easily get away with throwing purely straight shots on many of the holes. The course is no-nonsense to a fault, with no significant hazards or "signature" elements.

Natural Beauty (Only slightly con)- While this is no fault of the courses, the Cincinnati woodland scenery is as a rule only moderately interesting. Woodland Mound's brevity works well with the format; at Mt. Airy, it occasionally feels dragged out. The closeness of the course to the park roads also brings it down slightly.

Other Thoughts:

This course rewards talent in spades, and as close as it is to the city it should be appreciated as a great piece of parkland. This course has probably been made as good as it can be; however, it still falls short of true greatness.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top