• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Pelham, NH

Muldoon Park - Old Layout

2.635(based on 15 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Muldoon Park - Old Layout reviews

Filter
1 0
sandford
Experience: 14.5 years 31 played 11 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Like 2 Courses In One 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 12, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

OVERALL FUN FACTOR (16% weight) - 3.5 - I had fun playing here, hadn't played a course as short as these front 9 so that was fun to mark some some nice low scores.
COURSE DESIGN (14% weight) - 4 - Variety from front 9 to back 9 is like playing two different courses. The back 9 holes are well layed out and long. It was fun to play. Easy front 9 builds your confidence go do well in the more challenging back 9.
SIGNS/MAPS/MARKERS (11% weight) - 3.5 - tees and baskets were marked and there's a map to help find the way, but I still got a little confused on the back nine finding the next holes
ELEVATION (8% weight) - 4 - Nice use of elevation
SCENIC BEAUTY (8% weight) - 2.5 - nothing too special
BASKETS (5% weight) - 4 - Nice yellow Innova baskets, all placed well for interesting putting
EPIC HOLES (5% weight) - 3 - All the font 9 holes are ace opportunities for sure
DISTANCE VARIETY (5% weight) - 5 - lots of short and long
FOLIAGE MAINTENANCE (3% weight) - 3 - Fairways were very well cleared and liked the wood chips, but if your disc lands off the fairway the woods are pretty thick to throw out of - lots of underbrush, etc.
CROWDED? (3% weight) - 4 - Not alot of people there when i went on a warm fall weekend afternoon
PARKING (2% weight) - 4 - tons of free parking

Cons:

TEE PADS (8% weight) - 0.5 - The tee pads were too small and not level and I didn't like how they were boxed in - see pictures
SHOT VARIETY (5% weight) - 1 - no real variety on the front 9, back 9 has mostly open holes
BENCHES / TRASH BINS (3% weight) - 1.5 - Not much for sitting or recepticle-ing
MIX OF TIGHT AND OPEN (3% weight) - 2 - even though it's in the woods, most holes are still relatively open
OVERALL CHALLENGE (3% weight) - 2 - no real challenge on the front, moderate on the back.

Other Thoughts:

Overall, I had a lot of fun playing here. I pushed my toddler through the course as I played in his jogging stroller without too much difficulty. The last hole dumps out next to a playground which he really liked.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
eng2joe
Experience: 14.2 years 12 played 6 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Muldoon Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 26, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

My 9 year old son really enjoyed the front 9. We ripped through the front nine wicked fast. The course was very easy to follow.

Cons:

Roots in some of the tee boxes. At least one box was on a slope.

Other Thoughts:

For a course that is close to where I am staying this week, it was good. I appreciate towns that have these courses for free.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Everett Evans
Experience: 31.1 years 116 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

A little gem in Southern NH 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 17, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Great baskets
- Plays like two separate courses, as if it were designed that way
- Clear course markings, impossible to get lost the first time through
- Nice mix of holes on the back 9
- Front 9 great for beginners, or short game practice
- Front 9 ends at playground, so the young ones can be dropped off with a non-playing parent
- Other facilities at park are nice and do not interfere in any way with the course
- Stepping up to the tee on a 109' downhill hole causes a different, weird sort of pressure (how embarrased would I be to bogey?!?!)
- Course is in wonderful shape, groomed, woodchips everywhere, clear fairways

Cons:

- Not sure how long it would be before the front 9 just got silly to play.
- Tees could be a couple of feet longer on the back 9, I usually take a three step "walk-up" and there wasn't enough room.
- A couple of holes are technically par 3s, but I would be hard-pressed to come up with the right shot to get there in one due to elevation change, curve and low ceiling (10, 17).
- A few of the distance signs are missing or beat up pretty badly

Other Thoughts:

Wow, I had read the reviews and was very interested in this course, and am happy to say I was impressed. As you have already read, the front 9 is crazy short, by far the shortest holes I have played. Almost joke short. Until you get a three on one, then you realize that short may not mean instant deuce. I didn't deuce hole three either time I played, blowing by the hole both times, even though I threw a putter about as easily as I can (downhill, 109'). My putting was absolutely horrible, I never hit a putt over 20', but still shot -5 and -6 the two times I played the front 9. There are a couple of picturesque holes (9, 15) to keep your interest up, and a few holes that you would be psyched to deuce (10, 11!, 17, 18).
Hole 11 was great, definitely a legit par 4, requiring a 250' drive to the midpoint, middle of fairway, then a 200' approach for a 3. I was fine with the tee placement, it just makes a basic RHBH much harder. I threw RHFH and missed the fairway right.
How the heck do you play hole 17?? I was begging for a local route up through the trees, but decided to try the fairway. No luck, I don't have a 300' gentle, low, uphill, low ceiling, anhyzer RHBH in my arsenal. I'm not sure you can make a disc fly all the way around that low curve, I would love to see someone park it.
About the front 9: Yes it is short, yes the fairways are extremely close to each other, although not quite "crossing" and yes you can shoot a six under in 5 minutes 28 seconds while jogging and throwing only a Pro Rhyno (had to try it). But, you could also play it as a separate course, first driving RHBH, then RHFH, LHBH and finally LHFH, for 36 holes. You could do a lot with those 9 little holes. My three and a half year old son shot a 6 on hole three, and he can only throw about 20' max (haven't really taught him yet, he'll get there).
So, all in all, well worth the drive from Exeter and I will wander to Pelham again a few times, just for the course. Good job Mr. diBona!!

PS. My personal opinion would be to remove the Pro pars of 2, and leave the original pars "as is". There should never be a par of 2 on any legitimate hole, as this leaves no ability to shoot lower than par (an ace is NOT considered an "expected score", it is caused by a bit of luck, lots of skill and usually an overthrown drive which happens to be stopped by the chains). So par on this course, whether Pro or not, should be 55 (hole 11 is definitely a legit 4).
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
solomon.trenton
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.8 years 89 played 68 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A tale of Two Courses 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 6, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course itself is very fun. This is enhanced by the front nine holes being solid ace races. The kiosk on the way to hole one is a very informative and detailed hand painted map with GPS coordinates of the holes listed as well. The Disccatchers are in great shape and look almost brand new. There are distance markers on most of the holes along with large numbered signs by the tee and basket. There are next tee signs as well; although they really aren't needed as it is almost impossible to get lost on this course. The fairways are nice and open, sometimes so much so that a terrible tee shot still leaves you with an easy upshot. There is a small variance of shots needed (good if you only have a few discs with you). The back nine holes give you some pretty tricky basket positions. There is a playground, baseball and soccer fields, as well as a small nature walk available for your family; although they might want to play the front nine. Trash cans and parking are abundant.

Cons:

While the tee boxes are framed in and good sized they arent very even and some have large roots and rocks jutting up. This could easily be solved by backfilling the frames with dirt. While the front nine are great fun ace races, holes two through seven are too compacted and you could easily get injured by a stray disc (one slid right in front of me from a group two holes back). Some of the distance markers are missing. Some of the tee box positions are just silly; most notably hole eleven. It's a fifty foot straight shot, then ninety degrees to the left uphill probably 300` or so with a slightly winding fairway. If the angle of the tee box was shifted fourty-five degrees and moved forward ten feet (two large roots prevent any kind of decent run up) the hole would play much smoother. The rough is super thick and dangerous to navigate at times. The fairways are super close to one another, even a few time on the back nine they are only seperated by twenty feet of thin tree line. There were no scorecards and/or maps to take from the kiosk. Hole 18 ends up near nine's basket: so you have a decent walk to your car.

Other Thoughts:

There are GPS coordinates listed for all the hole on the tee sign. Another regional course done as an Eagle Scout project; Tully Lake Dam (front and back nine) and Pye Brook Park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Hamilton
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.2 years 55 played 49 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Jekyll and Hyde?? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 18, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very nice park setting, well taken care of. Nice baskets (Innova) are always a big bonus. Front nine really pads your ego. I believe I took 5 deuces on the first 9 holes.

Very nice facilities available as this is also a little league complex, plenty of parking when there are no games going on.

All tees have a sign within plain sight marking the hole number.

My memorable holes:
10 - The first real challenge, down a hill and back up with a twist with trees lining both sides to ricochet you into the brush if you go off line.
11 - Wow. Where did this hole come from?? First 10 holes might fool you, but there IS some good disc golfing here. Clear some trees, over a path, then another 300 feet arcing left to the basket, deceivingly long.
13 - Watch your step, the tee pad is fairly treacherous with tree roots. The hole is quite challenging with thick rough though, as I went far left and never recovered.
15 - The "Signature Hole". Very neat, throwing down a hill, and over a pond, scenically beautiful.

Cons:

As others have stated and is plainly obvious when you play here, the front nine is like disc golf preschool for the most part. I wouldn't be surprised if more than one person has recorded multiple aces in one round.
The tees are bad in places. They look like they were framed in for concrete and never completed. Some have eroded out to where tree roots are uncovered, making for trip hazards on several holes.

Signage is not the best, but adequate. There is a map of sorts on the kiosk, but a printed one (perhaps added to the course page) would work wonders for making out the spider web that is the front nine, and help with navigation on the back nine.

If you want to play while baseball games are going on, parking is going to be very tight, and you risk the chance of a foul ball leaving its signature on your car.
Not the easiest course to find for an out-of-towner.

Other Thoughts:

In my travels I try to make sure I hit every state, and I am certainly not disappointed that I played this course, as there seems to be a distinct lack of DG courses in southern New Hampshire.

My rating of 2.5 is a reflection that the while the course is navigable, and the baskets are very nice, but the first half of the course is in dire need of a redesign. It really is a shame since the land appears to be available to do so, but there may be a lack of people's time to make it happen.

If you are looking for a course to hit up in southern NH, the appears to be the one to play, and it is definitely worth your time if you're in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
rootcanalsarebad
Experience: 15.1 years 21 played 8 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Course, Especially for Beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great course for ace opportunities as the front 9 is very short.
-Back 9 is appealing to those who prefer the finesse game while still feeling challenged.
-Levels the playing field as no huge arm is required.
-Great course to practice your short game.
-Excellent training course for beginners.
-Free to play
-Actually has pretty decent signage throughout the course.
-Nice, pretty new DISCatcher baskets.

Cons:

-Natural teepads cause issues on the back 9, as many of them have roots and stumps within them.
-Parking is definitely an issue if baseball/soccer games are taking place
-Front 9 is almost silly for more advanced players.
-The fairways from holes 3-9 all criss-cross, so it would be difficult if crowded.
-Hole 18 isn't near where you're likely to park.

Other Thoughts:

Muldoon Park is really a terrific course for new players. It's also a great course for introducing new people to the game, and the front 9 would be ideal for younger kids who are starting out.

Players looking for booming drives will not be satisfied, as there really aren't any holes to "let it rip." The natural teepads on the back 9 especially will cause issues, as there are often roots and stumps that will interfere with your throwing motion.

I would definitely return to Muldoon Park in the not too distant future. Even though the front 9 was almost silly, it was a lot of fun! The allure of a possible Ace is quite appealing, and the back 9 is difficult enough to challenge the "intermediate" disc golfer.

I can't really give it more than 3 discs, as it's such a strange "2 part" course. But that doesn't mean it's bad by any means. It's just....unique.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
andapos
Experience: 15 years 9 played 7 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Two courses in one 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 1, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

The front 9 offer plenty of birdie and ace opportunities, along with great practice for your short game. The back 9 is very tight and offers a good challenge with some narrow fairways. Interesting basket locations on a few holes make you think about putting angles.

Cons:

Big arms need not apply. The only truely long hole is the par 4 11th, but its such a tight dogleg that you can't really let it rip. Short front 9 has several holes that criss cross each other, so if its crowded its tough to play. Boarders a park, so if there are games going on, its gonna be very crowded parking. Natural teepads have roots and stumps to trip you up.

Other Thoughts:

This really is a unique course in that it has a split personality. The front 9 is extremely short and (aside from a few trees here and there) pretty open. The back 9 is very tight and wooded and plays like an entirely different course. I think if the front were similar to the back, this course would rate higher for me. Still, the front 9 is enjoyable.

Watch out for softball and baseball games, as those will make things pretty crowded for parking. The course is very easy to find and convenient for Massachusetts players as well as New Hampshire DGers. The course description says that the course starts between the baseball and soccer field, which is true, but its all the way in the back.

All in all a solid course, and worth a play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Smithcok
Experience: 14.6 years 13 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good Intro Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Feb 20, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Front 9 is especially good for beginners. Back 9 is harder, comparatively speaking. Back 9 has some tight fairways and requires well placed shots (10,11, etc). Definitely a course where will you will get the chance to throw a lot of midrange discs. (Front 9 is great putting/short game chance for more experienced players)

Cons:

Could use a few more signs on the back 9 (but once you play the course once, it's not a big deal). If you aren't new to the game, the front 9 will be a little basic - but - a great short game practice in that respect.

If the back 9 tee boxes could be lengthened (and the nasty roots removed), the back 9 would improve significantly IMO.

Other Thoughts:

One of my favorite short courses. You can play the course in very little time, and the change in scenery going from the front 9 (super short game practice) to the back 9 (longer, more technical shots) is a great change.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
blakewlufburrow
Experience: 22 years 12 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 8, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Quiet secluded course, typically not crowded
-Recent Maintenance- repairing of tee boxes and paths.
-Challenging Back 9 - Great warm up with Front 9
-Small crowds means its a great course to practice on.
-Great playground at 18

Cons:

-Front 9 is very basic and criss-crosses other holes.
-Very thick brush/foliage in places (keep an eye on your disc after you throw it)
-Very basic signs and some tee boxes need some work.

Other Thoughts:

If you want a relaxing day of disc golf this is a great course. Don't expect to be too challenged.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
NH Disc Dude
Experience: 16.1 years 44 played 7 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good Learning Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 9, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great for beginners or teaching someone the ins & outs. First nine are perfect for warming up and fine tuning your putting. Once your in the woods its peacefull and quiet.

Cons:

Not great for practicing your driving, short holes lots of trees. I used my Approach disc for all tees and used my putter all other throws. Fairways on back nine tight and blind basket location.

Other Thoughts:

First hole is right outside a little league field and is distracting to ballplayers and golfers. I went on a Saturday and the park was PACKED, but only a few groups on dgc once you got into the woods. Later in day on Sat. probably better as I went at 1:30.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
shamroc333
Experience: 15.7 years 10 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Different 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

It is a very playable course. The front nine is great to improve anyones short game. The back nine then gets longer and alittle harder. Very good for beginers

Cons:

They don't tell you the par of any of the holes or I couldn't find them. They could have marked every hole alittle better. You can find the front 9 no problem but after that it get hard.

Other Thoughts:

After I made up my owe pars for the holes. Which was all par 3 execpt hole11. It was fun. Much better the second game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
frizgolfkiller
Experience: 24 played 11 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Good for putting practice 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 31, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

If you want to just get out there to practice putting then the front 9 is great. Tees are well marked.

Cons:

The holes on the front 9 are too short for anything but a putter. The back nine is a mixture or really short holes and really long ones going down narrow winding paths through the woods. Some of the back 9 you'll be scratching your head trying to figure out where the basket is that you are shooting for.

Other Thoughts:

This course could be more enjoyable on the next play through after knowing where all the baskets are.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
whitewaterhelix
Experience: 15.8 years 30 played 8 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Pitch and Putt then a solid back 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Only course in the local area, quiet and uncrowded, good baskets, great to introduce beginners as front nine is pitch and putt 100-200ft holes, back nine is a reasonable challenge for most players with one par 4 (#11), some tight lanes and a few technical shots needed.

Cons:

Teeboxes on back nine are way too short and are "boxed in", short holes for the most part but you can still use drivers on a few and reach the basket for birdie attempts (all except #11, unless you can throw 400ft down a dogleg), no signage for each hole except a small post indicating distance (some missing)

Other Thoughts:

This is the closest course to Lowell, where I live so I play it often as a practice course. With some more development this could be a really nice course. In order of importance, here are the things I'd improve: 1) Signs for each hole at each tee, as well as some nicer directional signs. 2) Improved tee boxes on the back nine, coupled with some alternate tee placements throughout the course for a more challenging course would be a great upgrade. 3) Removal of some of the dense underbrush in some areas, but leaving it in others where it provides good risk/reward for good/errant shots.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
buzzman
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
1.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 1, 2007 Played the course:once

Pros:

There is a little terrain to contend with. Second 9 has some good distance.

Cons:

When I played the course appeared to be under construction. There was alot of undergrowth, poorly marked tees with few signs. The first 9 holes were short and crisscrossed too much within one big open area cut into the woods.

Other Thoughts:

Appeared to be under construction when I was there (2007). Just needs some basic work such as signage and marked tees to make it worth playing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Doktor John
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 35.4 years 423 played 64 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2 courses in one 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 13, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very wooded and technical
Good use of space
Nicely cleared fairways
Fairways/basket areas marked with orange tape
Accuracy rewarded--stray shots punished
Strategic shot selection required
A wide variety of shots is mandatory

Cons:

Some natural tees very eroded and uneven
Fisrt 7 holes very short and criss-cross each other
No signage at tees

Other Thoughts:

Despite some of the cons, I enjoyed playing this course. The first 7 holes are basically pitch and putt--uniquely set in a round clearing in the woods. If the course was crowded, you could be really frustrated on the first 7 holes because they are so close and the fairways cross each other.
The rest of the holes make up for the short/easy ones and some of the later holes are very long and involve some radical doglegs (left and right) and a couple of fun S curve type holes.
The fairways are very well kept and on holes 8-18, if you veer off the fairway you can be severly punished. We spotted each other on the blind holes and never lost a disc.
All in all, I think this is a course worth seeking out if you enjoy being forced to be accurate and use every shot you know--if you like a more wide open course then this course will frustrate you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top