• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Lambertville, MI

Parmelee Park

3.195(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Parmelee Park reviews

Filter
3 7
Knightshades
Experience: 9 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very short easy par threes, makes it good for a beginner. A lot of shade. Very well Marked course.

Cons:

Not very long fairway shots off the tee. Some places can be pretty dark if there's an overcast.

Other Thoughts:

Need some type of water hazard. very technical, and the funnest course I've ever played. Each hole is very well marked, and it's almost impossible to lose a disc. even if it's really hot and muggy 15 out of 18 have shade. a good course to work on your short game and technical skills.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
JerrodStevens
Experience: 8.1 years 10 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Heavily wooded course, but despite this, it is very hard to lose a disc, as there are very few large areas of brush.
-No poison ivy
-Nice teepads and pins
-Never very crowded
-Benches at almost every hole in the wooded area

Cons:

-Porta potty is the only restrooms
-On hole 1, it is possible, although with a bad throw, to have a disc fly into a backyard of one of the houses bordering the park

Other Thoughts:

11 of the holes are very short and play through heavy woods, and the other 7 are fairly open with a few trees, and longer.
The course through the woods is mostly just tall trees, with hardly any brush.
This course has the feel of a professional course, just with shorter distances.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Caveman1829
Experience: 13.8 years 8 played 8 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Favorite Local Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-A mix of open holes and wooded holes
-Concrete pads
-Well marked and easy to follow course
-The park gets very little traffic besides from disc golf so no issues with walkers/bikers/etc.
-As not a long thrower I love this course and feel beginners will too for the majority being short holes. The skill comes in the woods around trees rather than distance.

Cons:

-Sometimes grass on first few and last few holes is long, and in the fall the leaves in this section make it easy to lose a disc
-Not too many long holes (2-3)
-Crowd can be some pot smokers (we go often as a family, just conscious of time of day we go)

Other Thoughts:

Well marked course that gets lots of traffic. Weekly tournaments--look up details to avoid those crowds or to join in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
sisyphus
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.7 years 400 played 384 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Really fun runnin’ ‘em! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This 18 hole park course in Lambertville, MI starts and finishes in a 'seasoned' park with holes ranging from 209 to 397 feet where you can choose a line amongst the larger trees and rip it at the 24 chain DGA baskets. The tees throughout are large enough, level, concrete, and mostly flush with the ground. On holes 4 through 14, you'll get to challenge your control in and amongst the wooded area of the park just south and east of the water tower. These holes are shorter (146 to 203 feet), and force more technical lines, but the woods are mostly cleared underneath and often lined with the fallen timbers, so you'd have a hard time losing a disc here. The shorter holes in the woods are mostly putter to mid runs for an Intermediate level player, but the entire course seems to get a good deal of casual to Recreational play...because it's actually fun to go for those aces! And if you clip a tree, you usually can have a mini-thrill seeing if you can save the par.

There is a practice basket by the gravel parking lot, and I saw a sign tacked to the tree that faces the first tee that was advertising a sanctioned event. The course flow is mostly intuitive and the tees are all marked by a small concrete sign indicating line and distance. There were a number of holes that featured the basket hiding just past a tree or two, but the shortness of the course means that your walk ahead to check it out isn't very long.

For the rest of the family, there is a very nice playground, ball field, enclosed skate park, a port-a-potty, a shelter, and other attractions to keep them busy while you play the 18 hole loop fairly easily in under an hour.

Cons:

The one spot that wasn't obvious to a first-timer, was having to pass the 15th tee between holes 3 and 4. Some of the need to double back in the woods (like on holes 5 to 6 and from 12 to 13) are ameliorated by the lining of fairways and paths with the fallen timbers. I'll be adding a course map as soon as I get that drawn up, to help other first timers.

The course does play in a flat plain, and there isn't any grassy undergrowth in the woods, leaving me with the impression that it might get a little sloppy in there during the wetter seasons of the year. There are old, concrete foundations in and to the right of the 18th fairway which could eat into baseline plastic a bit (after it has hit some bark in the woods on 4-14), so expect your cheaper plastic to beat in quickly if you play here a lot.

Other Thoughts:

Finally, if you are the type to 'need' longer holes to give you a challenge, Parmelee probably won't be your cup of tea. But if you are looking for a quick, fun round while traveling through just between Toledo and Detroit, it's a good little park to try out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Derek B
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22 years 399 played 47 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Harmlesslee 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 9, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

1) Can complete a round in 40 minutes
2) Ace runs
3) Good practice for learning mid-range and putter drives
4) concrete tees

Cons:

1) Way short
2) Holes too close to each other in woods - hazardous
3) Road leading to course is bumpy af - not going to knock the course rating for it though
4) No elevation
5) 1 set of tees

Other Thoughts:

This is a little baby course. About 2/3 of the holes are crammed into a small, tightly wooded space. The rest of the holes are in an open area with mature trees scattered throughout.

Upon arriving at the course, I couldn't help but thinking....oh, one of these kind of courses. We have a couple where I'm from....Blendon Woods and Kinslow Park. Basically, these kinds of courses are only good for mid-range and putter action. Put your drivers away.

The course starts off in the open for a couple of holes and quickly goes into the woods for the next 11 holes or so. The holes in the woods are pretty much all ace runs if you hit the lines right. It's a deuce or die kind of course. Most of the holes in the woods are way too close together on top of being short and I could see people getting hit all the time in there, either from bad drives or from good drives that nick a tree and ricochet into you. The last few holes are in the open again, and hole 18 is a legit hole at over 300'.

This course would have been better suited as a 9 holer and could've been a good one at that because it's got some good property (albeit flat) to build some cool holes. Instead, they forced 18 holes in here when they shouldn't have. If you're a beginner, you'll probably really like the course, but if you've been playing 5 years or more, you're probably going to want to head to Vienna Park, which is only 15 minutes away.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
apdrvya
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 14.1 years 350 played 299 reviews
2.50 star(s)

the Iron leaf is strong with this one... 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Aesthetic/safety- course plays through a multi-use park and through a woods off to the side of it. Course comes dangerously close to other amenities and neighbors backyards.

Teepads- nice and in good repair. there is a great variety of lengths but they seem to be appropriate to the hole length. When we were here, they were shoveled/salted with heavy snow on the course.

Teesigns- from the pictures (as they were covered) they look nice. a map may be helpful for winter play.

Baskets- nice and visible in the heavier woods. orange necks help this out nicely.

Routing and nav- not too bad. It looks like someone had either snow blowed or shoveled the paths at some point this winter as the snow was relatively light and made it easier to nav through the woods.

Amenities- plenty of places to sit on the course and a practice basket are nice touches.

Cons:

Danger- As stated above, this course plays very close to other amenities and neighbors backyards. Some of the first 3 teepads are literally 3 feet from the fence line. Not sure how safe this is.

Teesigns- Much like Vienna park, the teesigns are flush to the ground. During the winter these are impossible to see (we saw zero). stand up signs would most likely be more helpful.

Challenge- Very little challenge. the open holes are very open. the woods holes are very short.

Woods fairways- a bit rediculously tight. I can't imagine what these are like in the summer when the leaves are in.

Other Thoughts:

This course was just a whole lot of "meh." a fun short round during the summer, the winter was a bit longer (I'm sure) but not too bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
DiscGolfJason
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Improvements Have Been Made 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I really like the way they have changed this course over the years. When I first came to it, it was missing several holes and since then it has been redesigned rather well. The section through the woods in some of the most exciting DG in the area. I really appreciate how they used logs to mark the paths and used wood chips to make a nice playing surface. The concrete tees and signs make finding holes easy. Practice basket for warming up.

Cons:

Some of the course is open to a park and watching out for pedestrians can be a bummer. I imagine that bugs could be a real concern during certain parts of the year so plan accordingly.

Other Thoughts:

Great location for a day of disc golf. Love playing Vienna, Parmalee, Ottawa, and then Bowling Green in one day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
AdamE
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.7 years 267 played 148 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 9, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This short, mostly wooded course has a practice basket by the parking lot. There are concrete pads and next to them, there is a small concrete square with the hole number and distance listed on it.

The first three and last four holes have some mature trees to navigate. The rest of the holes are in the woods with tight but fair fairways.

There is good shot diversity here. Some holes have multiple routes to the basket and some holes force turnover shots for RHBH players.

Navigation is fairly easy and the path to the next holes in the woods are lined with logs.

Cons:

This course is extremely short. Granted most of the course is very wooded, but ten hole are less than 200 feet long and there are only two holes over 300 feet.

Some of the holes are pretty close together so errant shots can land in other fairways.

On holes 1 - 3, the fence is rather close to the fairways. On hole one there is barely 30 feet between the basket and the fence to someone's back yard.

Other Thoughts:

This is a fun little course but it's so short it doesn't present much of a challenge. This is a great course for newer players (with the exception of holes 1-3) and those looking to work on accuracy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
Nemer06
Experience: 15 years 8 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Playing this course will make you a good player. 9 holes wooded 9 holes open. Nice tees a very nice course

Cons:

No course map. easy place to a lose disc.

Other Thoughts:

i really enjoy this course its better in the spring than fall because of all the leaves that are on the ground make it very hard for you to find your disc.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
cfair
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Nice little pitch'n'putt 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-You will work your short game. If you aren't a technical player this course will teach you to be.
-You will work putting. Being a pitch and putt course your score will hing on your ability to make 20'-30' putts.
-Its short so it is good for a quick round or if you want a lot of practice you can get a couple of rounds in quick.
-Well maintained despite the small DG community in the area.
-Lots of ace-able holes

Cons:

-Because it is short and can seem monotonous. Drive, putt, putt... drive, putt... drive putt, putt.
-One of the baskets was stolen so you just have to pole it... no one's fault just kinda stinks...
-Tee signs aren't the best but I've been spoiled by some very nice ones. although the basket is never far from you.

Other Thoughts:

Nice little course, right next to an old park. Everything in the area is small. There is a PIAS 10 minutes away that you can check out. Also in the summer, remember your bug spray and germ-x for poison ivy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
Canis Lupis
Experience: 14.1 years 54 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Great for the ego! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 17, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Ace-zilla! With the exception of 2 or 3 holes every hole is an legitimate ace opportunity.
- Short, compact course means quick rounds.
- Once you find the first tee you are pretty much set for the rest of the course. (with the exception of 3 basket to 4 tee, but its on the other side of the water tower.)
- While lacking in distance, this course offers a chance to work on every shot in your arsenal.
- Great practice for deep woods.
- Logs outline the heavily wooded holes.
- Tee signs with distance and hole shape at every hole.
- Good People.
- Adjacent skate park posers eating rail regularly offers some levity to your round

Cons:

- Short
- Tight
- No garbage cans
- You could kill a small child on the playground by biffing on a drive on 18.
- Traffic jams are miserable in the woods.

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoy playing this course. It's somewhere that you can play, have a great time, and score well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
hooked312
Experience: 16.1 years 34 played 17 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Always a Fun Round 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 13, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- Lots of Ace Runs, so it makes for a fun round.
- Nicely marked paths through the woods.
- Once you play this course a few times get ready to shoot a low round.
- With a skate park on site you will occasionally catch a major wipe out!

Cons:

- First time I played here the grass wasn't cut and the mosquitoes were horrible. Since then I have had no problems
- Watch out for dog poop, as many locals walk their dogs in this park. Especially in the fall when the leaves may hide it.
- In the fall the leaves cover most of the course so keep your eye on your disc.

Other Thoughts:

- This is a great little course to perfect some midrange and unique shots. I enjoy being able to play 2-3 rounds in a reasonable amount of time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
AKormendi
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 25.7 years 65 played 27 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Charming woods trails 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 4, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- A lot of finesse shots.
- The back woods section is quite pretty, with log-edged trails guiding you around.
- Good signs, etched concrete is hard to steal or vandalize, work well with the character.
- Good flow from shot to shot.
- In the shadow of the Lambertville watertower, yet not dominated by it.
- Good conditions, it seems the locals really love it.
- Great use of the land. Beautiful trees make you forget the terrain's limitations.
-Skateboard park right nearby, got to watch someone do tricks while walking up two fairways.
-Stump seating at nearly every hole in the forest.

Cons:

- Very little distance. Most every hole is under 200'.
- Flat as a course could ever possibly be.
- Course is tight and folds back on itself, on crowded days you'd really have to watch out for shanked drives.
- May be a little confusing to find hole 4 after hole 3. After the third watertower hole, head to the woods behind the fence. The best part of the course is about to begin.
- No trashcans at the tees. But not much trash.

Other Thoughts:

I had an absolute blast playing here. My distance has been suffering a little from a recent injury, so not having to throw as hard was not a problem. I wasn't expecting anything special from Parmalee, but I figured I ought to play it since I was down here for Vienna anyway. I pulled up at the parking lot, and outside the course the pavement and vacant lots and chain link fences stretched away, looking like an industrial zone. But I quickly located the first tee to the left of the entrance, and threw back to the corner. The industry was gone to me, and two quick holes later I was passing a water tower and entering an enchanted forest trail. The next 9 holes I spent finessing disc on interesting lines through cute little fairways, all the while, guided by logs. Trees were hit, but the roughs were forgiving and all my discs were easy to find. On a number of occasions I held my breath as I nearly hit aces. This was an exciting adventure, and I'm glad to see another quality course in southeastern Michigan.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
BogeyNoMore
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20 years 484 played 183 reviews
2.50 star(s)

"Putter, meet Tree..." 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 7, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Many interesting and complex lines that are well suited to using a putter off the tee. Opportunites to throw hyzers, annies, FH, S-shots with your putter. Doesn't require an arsenal of discs: you can do well with stable fairway driver, a mid, and a putter you feel comfortable with for shaping short holes from the tee (only used a distance driver on 2 holes). If you're not comfortable throwing your putter from 180' or so, you should be after playing here.

Paths from basket to next tee in the wooded section lined with logs - looks neat and made navigating holes 4-14 pretty foolproof. Course is layed out pretty intelligently, and actually flows better from hole to hole in the heavily wooded section than it does on the lightly wooded part of the course. Thanks to the locals for their TLC - it really shows!

Cement tile next to each tee box shows hole #, distance, and basic line to the basket.

Many Ace and Birdie opportunities, but they still aren't easy. Pretty much every hole is dueceable (except 3 & 18 if you can't drive 300').

Relatively compact course makes for quick rounds. Never been here before, and even taking time for a 2nd tee shot every once in a while, I was done in under 75 min.

Well maintained course (and park for that matter). Quiet, no trash, concrete tees, baskets in good condition (except for #14).

Plenty of shade in mid-summer.

Cons:

- If you don't like trees, stay away.
- A few of the open holes share area used by other park vistors; had to wait for pedestrians on a couple of holes.
- Could uses more long holes.
- Some will say this course requires as much luck as skill.
- I realize you can't change the land, but this course is completely and thoroughly flat.

Other Thoughts:

If you like short, tight, touch shots that slice through densely wooded fairways, this is the course for you.
While this course plays to my strengths (control and short game), doesn't highlight my weaknesses (distance), and I had a good time playing here, many will find Parmalee too short, frustrating, and a bit monotonous. Trying to be objective, I think it deserves a 2.5 relative to the other courses I've played. Not worth more than a 45 minute drive to play this course alone. But if you plan on playing nearby Vienna or Ottawa Parks, and you like tight, technical courses, you should definitely make it a point to play here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
ChrisWoj
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 19.2 years 158 played 27 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Practice Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 2, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Parmalee Park is a fantastic practice course. Hole 4-14 all require accurate short drives that can best be called "up shots." Holes 1-3 and 15-18 are all decent deucable par 3's in sparse trees. There is good variety on the course - forehands, forced anhyzers, hyzers, straight shots.

Cons:

It isn't a tournament course. Tournaments are occasionally held here - but at best this course is meant for practice and medium attendance leagues. There are walk backs, teepads for back to back holes nearly next to each other, holes with greens within 45 feet of other teepads. Some of the holes can feel like luck shots, and on others the clearly defined primary route isn't the best route at all - for safe shots or for going for the deuce/ace.

Other Thoughts:

I enjoy Parmalee Park. It is the closest course to my home - but I can't sugarcoat it. It is a great practice course, and that's it. I play this course a lot to keep my short game up to snuff and I have noticed that I see many of the shots I practice there on other, championship calibre, courses - just on those courses these shots are my up shots or scrambles from the schule, not my shots off of the tee.

Check it out if you're close, or if you live nearby - the locals are great, and the leagues are fun - but don't go out of your way to hit it up if you can hit up another course instead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
bygwyllay
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 93 played 78 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great hideaway 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very tight, refined course. Short, but makes great use of the space allotted. Only two or three holes are over three hundred yards. The first three and last four are in open park; the rest are in fairly heavy woods. Holes are very tight; great course to work on your accuracy. You can get 18 in under an hour. Everything is very well marked; tee signs are in the ground next to the concrete, and the fairways in the woods are lined with logs. Effort has clearly been put into maintaining this course. Kudos!

Cons:

Mosquitoes abound; bring A LOT of bug spray. Sometimes the narrowness of the course is a drag, especially when your disc is in the rough. No lost discs, though. Patience is the key to a good score on this course.

Other Thoughts:

Several holes are aceable, and almost every one can be birdied. Wasn't very crowded, even on Memorial Day. Great course to slip away to and play a few rounds. Say hello to the course mascot - a calico cat that follows you around as you play!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
elahti
Experience: 16 years 26 played 6 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Short Game Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 16, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

A nice wooded course with good hole variety. Good signs with distances. Nice practice for your technical game. Close to Vienna Park which has a great course as well.

Cons:

Vandals have been a problem in the past (probably due to the skate park near the course, no worries for safety). The course was recently reinstalled since some skater punks stole some baskets a while ago.

Other Thoughts:

A good course for the Toledo area. Heavily wooded but short so it will test your short to mid game and your accuracy. Good hole variety in terms of length and foliage. Easy to get low scores with a good technical game.

If you want a more challenging course, Vienna Park is a 5 minute drive away which makes for a nice day outing.

Thanks to the volunteers and if you see any punk kids, kick them to protect this wonderful course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
ptsawyer
Experience: 16 years 13 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tight with character 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 6, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Easy to follow, good layout, the logs lining each wooded fairway is a great touch. Solid tee pads. A very enjoyable course, will test your short game and midrange accuracy. Good tee shots are essential to low scores.

Cons:

This course will produce some low scores, given the short length. It is still worth a visit. Good contrast to some of the other local courses such as Carter Park, which is long and open. Vandalism has been an issue.

Other Thoughts:

A group of volunteers spent many hours installing this course when they could have been doing a number of other things. Then some jerk came and defaced all of the tee pads with spray paint. If you see people commiting vandalism on this or any other course please report it. What a bunch of jerks.

Dont let this deter you from coming out, the area is 100% safe. Probably just some punk kids.

This is a great course and I thoroughly enjoy it. Great drives can be rewarded with a 2, bad drives can end in a 5 or a 6, given the tight technical nature of this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 4
zero_43502
Experience: 20 years 56 played 25 reviews
3.50 star(s)

short and technical 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 12, 2008 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Easy to follow
very technical and heavily wood.
good course to practice your short game
and how to throw your putter off the tee .
A few open holes that let you air it out while still being technical
The rough is mostly cleared and it's easy to find your disc .
this course can be played quickly
A park and skatepark on site for the kids a big plus

Cons:

very easy without much challenge .
some of the holes in the woods that had a defined line has been cleared and now most shots can be shot with a backhand hyzer it wasn't like this a few years ago you had a line to hit and it was tight not anymore
bugs in the summer bring spray or they will eat you alive .


Other Thoughts:

I really like parmelee and play it whenever i'm in the area
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
hoyle7780
Experience: 32.3 years 16 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 8, 2008 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Course is well laid out, easy to follow, Logs set up as benches on every hole, Practice basket, can navigate through a round fairly quickly. Tight fairways help with accuracy & shortgame.

Cons:

Course Is very compact, certain fairways could potentially come into play from other holes, watch for discs gone astray if others are teeing nearby.
Course is short.

Other Thoughts:

It's worth giving a try. logs line the "fairways" on each side, you could possibly create a winthrop style ropes course with all the logs that are currently laid out.
It's also pretty accessiable from 75 & 23
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top