• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Claremore, OK

Re-Tire DGC

Permanent course
3.945(based on 17 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Re-Tire DGC reviews

Filter
12 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 247 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Re-Tire

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 10, 2022 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Hospitality. Designer/owner Kenny Morton is a fantastic ambassador for our sport. You'll probably feel like he is a lifetime friend by the time you finish your round.
-- Re-Tire baskets (automobile tires as the catching baskets). They look (and sound) a little different, but you need the unique experience.
-- Heavily wooded course. Every hole has trees in play.
-- Elevation on about half of the holes. Some are uphill throws and some are downhill.
-- Seating at most of the tee pads.
-- Flow is pretty logical, but even if you do question where to go next, you aren't likely to get lost because the owner will either play with you or check in every few holes.

Cons:

-- It is a pitch-and-putt course; 21 of 27 holes are less than 200 feet, and only three holes are long than 250 feet.
-- Natural tee pads. Most are really short, and many have rocks/roots that make them really uneven.
-- No restroom. The course is on private property at someone's house, so I know there is a working toilet, but I doubt people are invited inside. Water is available.

Other Thoughts:

-- A retired old-time school bus sits on the course. You will be instructed to sign the bus. This is clearly a place where a lot of beverages have been consumed and tall tales told.
-- I nearly aced 13, but my shot skipped off the top of the basket and ended up across the road, 35 feet away. I missed that putt.
-- A $5 "donation" for a bag tag is voluntary but clearly expected. It is well worth the price.
-- Many baskets are suspended on ropes or wires, meaning the basket location can change.
-- No. 17 (128 feet) doubles (or is that triples?) your ace chances with a regular-sized basket in the middle, and a 1/2 sized basket on each side. Just like putt-putt, making into any of the three counts. Other gimmicks include landing a shot on a bus bench or under another bus bench to take strokes off your score and a windmill shot. Whether those are good or bad depends on your perspective.
-- That perspective is going to greatly influence your rating (and view) of this course. My preference would be to eliminate the gimmick shots; you've got a well-designed short course with character (unique baskets, the bus) that can stand on its merits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1756 played 596 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Worth the trip 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Re-Tire baskets, yea, I always enjoy playing them. If you hit the chains, they tend to stay in.
Heavy wooded course
Elevation on a few holes
Not a hyzer hyzer hyzer course
Hospitality

Cons:

Just to be picky
It is a Pitch and Putt course
dirt tee pads, although a few holes have something.

Other Thoughts:

Wow, I was told by several people to make sure I hit this course when I was i the area. I was NOT disappointed.

It was 38f with drizzle to almost rain, I called the phone number on this page and got a hold of the owner, Kenny. Well, he was in Tulsa, but he took the time to call a neighbor who met me at the course and showed me around.

We played all 27 holes and I do not regret it one bit. The property is heavily wooded so it did not feel that cold and even though you could hear some rain drops, we didn't get very wet. And the course was sandy enough to not be muddy at all.

This is a course you play with 2 maybe 3 discs. A good straight throwing disc like my Star Classic Roc was all I really needed. I did have a beat up DX Roc for some of the longer holes. And my putter that I even threw on a couple of the really short holes.

it is fun, there is a good mix of left, right and straight shots. The back 9 has a little more distance,including hole 20 that may have been the best disc golf hole I have played in a while. Teeing off from next to the Re-Tire sign at the entrance, you throw down a long tunnel to the basket.

A couple of other things about this course, almost every hole is a hanging basket, they are mostly hanging from a wire so the basket can be moved from one side of the fairway to the other changing your shot.

You had a fun ace run hole 17 that actually has the main regular hole in the middle, and 2 1/2 size baskets on each side.

I was also shown a couple of tweener shots for fun. Was told if I landed under a bus bench, get to take a stroke off, another was landing on a bus bench to get a free stroke. Then after hole 27, there was the fun windmill shot (A mini basket stuck in a windmill) that I was told no one has hit yet (I was not even close)

I know your asking this and I think you know the answer already

Would I play here again - YES, I can't wait to play this course again in better weather. Maybe try to time it for a night round they play.

So if your driving down I-44, the Will Rogers Turnpike, you owe it to yourself to get off on OK-28, drive down 6.8 miles (Past the Totem Poll place, worth a quick stop) and your there. You will not regret it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
Babyhulk82
Experience: 65 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

First Timer Here 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 7, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Kenny Morton
The Bus
The People
The Disc Golf Family Atmosphere
The Baskets

Cons:

A lot of people may suggest it isn't very long but that's not everything that makes this game fun

Other Thoughts:

Kenny is fantastic and I am glad I was able to meet him and play his course.
I need to say the holes aren't long but it will definitely help your 200' in range. But that's not a downside, I was more into the stories and history of the course and the people you get to meet while playing there.
I'll be back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
gcrider900
Experience: 40.9 years 34 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Technical and Fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great course to work on your short game
Kenny (course owner) is a GREAT host
Innovative baskets
Lots of elevation change - you'll get a good hike/workout in
Pretty easy to navigate

Cons:

Concrete pads are always preferred, but may be impractical to put in here

Other Thoughts:

Make sure and sign the inside of the bus!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
[email protected]
Experience: 10.3 years 9 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

The Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 6, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is a great course to go play your short game and learn how to control your Frisbee. The Owner of the course is very kind and really likes people to come out and enjoy the course he built.

Cons:

The only thing you need to know is make sure you are ready to walk.

Other Thoughts:

This is a course that we will play at least once a week.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
Chained Evil
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.1 years 1116 played 232 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My 200th course and I left with a smile on my face 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course has a bit of everything from short holes, technical holes, up hill shots, down hill shots, and everything else in between. There are many hanging baskets and elevation changes as well.
There are benches at most holes as well as trash sacks. This place is also equipped for night golf, which would be very fun here.
There is an old school bus where you start the course and you get to sign your name on the inside of it, and how many times in your life to you get to say that you wrote your name on the roof of a school bus?
The flow is very logical and there are directional arrows painted here and there to help you find your way. The re-tire basket catch very well. There were a few tunnel shots as well as a couple of holes that were more open.
Great place to work on your mid range or putter game. Hole 16 was something you don't see everyday as there was 1 regular sized basket and 2 mini baskets(see pics) all hanging in a row.
The back nine is so much fun with a cool down hill hole #20, a hole that you throw right to left over a stream #26 and a hole where you throw almost straight up in the air #27.
The back nine is longer than the first 18 holes and to me this helps balance this course out.

Cons:

These cons are pretty nit picky, there are no amenities here.
The hard pack dirt around the tees and the fairways might be a touch slick after a good hard rain. The back nine could use some tee markers.

Other Thoughts:

I was glad that I got the opportunity to play at this course and to make it that much more memorable for me it was my 200th course played. I couldn't have asked for a more unique experience. They do ask for a donation and after you play here you will see that it is money well spent. This isn't a big arm throwers course, and your drivers will most likely stay in the bag. This is a course that is going to challenge your shot shaping abilities with a mid or a putter. What other course has a tee pee that has been turned into a chicken house? You have to give it bonus points in the uniqueness department just for that alone.
I didn't think that such a short course would live up to the lofty rating of the previous reviews but man was I wrong. This course is one of those places where you will throughly enjoy your round and it gives you a very unique disc golf experience.
This is a must play for anyone that wants to play a course that will provide you with a challenging and unique round. If I lived within a two hours drive I would be frequenting this course as much as I could. You owe it to yourself to take the time and make the trip out to Re-Tire. You will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
jayhawker737
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.4 years 52 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Hospitality! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The best thing about this course is the owner of the course, Kenny. Me and a buddy were on a road trip over the weekend and this is the first place we stopped. Kenny met us outside and let us use his fridge for our waters on a 98 degree day. He then played a round of 27 holes with us, showing us the way, and sharing stories. He let us cool down in his house and we talked even more about his course and other courses in the area. When we left, we went to play Blackhawk and Redhawk in Tulsa. He set us up with someone to play with, as we are from Kansas City. This was the best hospitality I had ever experienced at any course.
Re-tire is the best short course I have ever played. There is plenty of shot variety. In fact, on most every hole he gives you a flick and a backhand route. He makes great use of the land he has, especially in terms of elevation. He has really maximized the land he owns, and he is considering buying more land to make another course.
The tire baskets catch amazingly, even better than a lot of regular baskets. They add to the atmosphere of re-tire and really make for a unique round.
There are plenty of ace runs as well.

Cons:

While this is the best short course I ever played, I believe a short course can only be very good, not excellent. This is the reason I gave this course a 3.5. I truly believe the course is a 3.5 and with Kenny, its a 3.75. The longest hole is about 240, and the average hole length is probably 140. I wish that I could have used more than just a putter on the first 18 holes. Some of the first 18 holes kind of blend together after time, as there is only so many ways you can make a putter hole.

Other Thoughts:

This was a very fun course to play, especially when playing with the owner/designer. Kenny is an amazing guy who really treats you well. Please donate to the cause, as he is doing great things. This was by far the best time I ever had playing a short course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
homeskule87
Experience: 15 years 63 played 16 reviews
2.50 star(s)

I will re-turn 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Awesome owner that'll treat you like family.
A wide variety of shots.
Tons of technical shots.
Friendly to beginners, fun for advanced.
Tire baskets are awesome.
Warm up putting area.
Discs and baskets for sale.
Lots of trees = little wind.
Women and children tee locations.
Baskets have lights on them for night golf.
Disc golf lessons.
tons of benches.
Trash receptacles on every hole.

Cons:

I didn't mind it but, lack of distance.
Dirt tee pads (Although you don't need concrete for the course set up)
Navigation could be tough but, Kenny played with us and showed us all around for our first game.

Other Thoughts:

Really cool course, with a really cool owner, that loves the game. He takes donations for upkeep and by the end of your round you'll definitely want to give him some money. Come out and sign the bus!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Iowa420DG
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.3 years 457 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Innovation at its finest! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 14, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Overall Score: (3.6)

Tee pads (1/5): No true tee pads to speak of, but in all fairness they've been marked out and leveled (earth). You have more room to throw when you need it.

Baskets (4/5): The most unique set of baskets you'll ever find! Kenny, the property owner, makes the baskets himself out of used tires. They catch as well as any basket, if not better due to the grippy rubber. He has some hanging from trees and others on unique setups. Every basket even has a nice set of lights on them for night play. I believe 2 or 3 baskets are only single chained.

Layout/Design (3/5): The layout of the course was incredibly fun, right up my alley. Its a tight, wooded course with a lot of short technical shots. Very fun, lots of ace runs. That being said, a few holes intersect and could cause a "FORE!" hazard. Kenny is working on implementing some more distance. Overall he's done a great job with the land he's been given. The course loops perfectly back to the house after every 9 holes.

Scenery/Surroundings (5/5): This course is settled in the woods on a beautiful piece of land that as Kenny would say "would make Jeff Foxworthy proud!". The first thing I noticed as I rolled up to Kenny's house was the chickens roaming around and the parked school bus on his property. He informed me to check out the bus and sign my name on the inside when I met him. I came to find out that the chickens help keep ticks and other nagging bugs away by pecking around the course. He has all kinds of cool things out there. Including a huge tee pee which he'd probably be happy to show ya! Some of the benches at the tees are former bus seats. There's a cool putting practice game in the front yard near the playground equipment - the kind of game with numbered bricks in the ground that you put from to advance to the next. I went in the early spring, so the bugs and brush weren't bad at all. I assume that Kenny maintains the place pretty well. It looked great when I played. Kenny and his family are great people and they make you feel at home!

Likeliness to Return (5/5): Kenny informed me that he welcomes camping on his land. I'm also considering buying some of his baskets. This is one of those places that I just need to bring my buddies. (Went with my gf first time)

Other Thoughts:

I played my round with Kenny. He showed us from each hole to the next which would've been difficult without him. He also provided information about the course and the surrounding nature throughout our round. He was a pretty cool guy... he makes all kinds of things. Very informative, innovative, and friendly! Thanks Kenny!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.3 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Very fun short course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is on a wooded private property with plenty of mature trees. Every hole has enough trees in play that you have to do some creative line shaping, with a great variety of hole shapes. Though the course is very short, it still forces you to use different types of shots if you want to get your birdies. There are a few nice elevation shots on the last 9 holes that add a little variety.

The tire baskets are a really fun touch, they look unique while still catching just fine. Most of the baskets are hanging, it doesn't feel gimmicky here, it's just part of the vibe. The tees are natural, but are level and fine for the length of the holes you're playing. The first 18 holes have basic signage, and the last 9 flow easily with no navigation issues.

Cons:

The course is extremely short, I threw putters for every hole on the course. The owner wants this to be a beginner friendly layout, and it most certainly is. If I were rating courses based on their intended audience, this is an easy 5, but I rate all courses based on the same set of criteria. Based on that, this course lacks diversity in length, I threw 3 different wizards off the tee for the entire course and nothing else.

There are a couple really minor navigation issues, though the owner was watching out and walked out onto the course to point us in the right direction so they didn't end up being an issue at all. There are a couple places where holes play relatively close to one another, again not as big an issue on a private course like this.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the best beginner courses I've ever played, it's challenging and interesting while maintaining shorter lengths. There aren't really many chances to lose discs, and the punishment for an errant shot is minor on most holes. Newer players will find this a perfect place to develop an arsenal of shots without getting too frustrated. More experienced players can have a great time playing here, especially in a super class or putter only round, but won't find themselves terribly challenged.

I found this course very difficult to rate, it's very short and lacking in variety of distances but it's still a blast to play. I went with a 3, but I could easily see anything from a 2 to a 5 depending on the reviewer's preferences. I definitely recommend a stop here if you like shorter more technical courses, you can go 27 down but the trees can also make you pay if you're not on your game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
rd.bittle
Silver level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 13.7 years 66 played 47 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Adventure in the Woods 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 22, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great baskets (unique)
Well kept
Great mix of shots
Great risk/reward
Awesome use of elevation (especially on 20)
Tee signs on first 18
Great use of the land he has
Awesome place to work on your midrange game
You must work on accuracy
Quick 27 holes
Private course equals no crowds
Last 9 were a little longer to add to the placement challenge
A few holes to get some distance work on
Great owner
Great for beginners to advanced
Many lines to chose from
Some multiple pads/pins
Plenty of shade if its hot
Plenty of trees to block the Oklahoma wind
Good footing on the tees
Aweome for night golf
Lights on every basket
Kenny sells a decent selection of Gateway Discs

Favorite Hole(s): #17, #20, #26, #27

Cons:

Natural tees
Could get messy after a rain
Last 9 need tee signs
Directionals are lacking (not a big deal you should have a guide)
Could use some more distance

Other Thoughts:

I absolutely loved this course. You will too. The tire baskets are very durable and catch very well
Kenny is a great host to you and your friends.
The fun factor is strong with this one. It will challenge everyone. If beginners don't try to hard they should be at least close to par. But if an advanced player shoots for the basket everytime he will take a few bogeys. Love the risk/reward on most holes. Call ahead and set it up with Kenny and have the time of your life. I will be back anytime I am in the area and have time. Its a blast.

If its your thing check with Kenny about his party bus.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
TylerM
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.7 years 31 played 23 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Neat little course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 19, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is an excellent place to hone your putt and approach skills. All the baskets are in good shape and I like the way that they hang from the trees (it adds a little flavor). All baskets have lights on top for night golf.

No crowds!

The course is very short allowing for quick rounds. Aces are possible on every hole even though I failed to get one myself.

The owner is very friendly and loves to let people enjoy his course.


UPDATE : Kenny has added 9 more holes since my last visit. The added variety moves this course to an easy 4 discs. Next time, if I can manage to play all 27, I believe I may upgrade it to 4.5.

Cons:

As a putt and approach practice course, this one would be a 4.5 with almost no cons. However, every hole being less than 250 feet becomes slightly redundant.

The pads could be a little more little more even. A couple of them were a little tricky.

The chicken house stinks! LOL!

Other Thoughts:

I will definitely play this course again when I can. It is a very fun course. That said, it does feel slightly odd to tee off in someone's yard and play around their stuff. Probably would be really awkward if the owner wasn't so nice.

Make sure you contact the owner before traveling to play.

He sells discs and lights and they play a lot of night golf here. Come join the fun!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 9
RC51ManSam
Experience: 16.4 years 30 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good Short Gamer 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Excellent for short game and approach shotmaking. Technically challenging. You will need all your short game shots when playing this course.

Cons:

Not all baskets are the good ones.

Other Thoughts:

Great course, friendly family, nice for kids.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 7
Hoeser
Experience: 16 years 91 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Short Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 14, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Very good course for putting and finesse shots, you don't even need a midrange because most of the holes are under 150' or so. The re-tire baskets are also very versatile and cool - first of their kind!

Cons:

Since this is a private course, some of the baskets are a little close to other things, which makes shooting at the wrong basket a possibility. Some of the baskets are prototypes with a single layer of chains also, the new baskets are MUCH better and really do a good job of catching your putter!

Other Thoughts:

Looking forward to seeing how well re-tire does, I will probably order one pretty soon for my backyard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 8
Bharrison
Experience: 15.5 years 12 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Putt and Approach Delight 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

All you need is a mid and a putter here. Very tight and technical course. There is plenty of elevation changes and tight fairways to keep you busy through this short course. Play this course regular and u will have a better short game.

Cons:

There is no where to go for some big d
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 11
TeePeeKny
Experience: 37.3 years 53 played 3 reviews
5.00 star(s)

The Best Putt n Approch 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 26, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course will test your short Game. Pro and Am Will like this course. 27 holes added Nov 2012. Re-Tire has come along way to improving the community.
Teach disc golf to the young. and old alike. A must
Sign in on the school bus out back.

Cons:

Trees Hilly

Other Thoughts:

27 Holes added Nov of 2012. camping and good old family environment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 16
beans
Experience: 21.9 years 6 played 6 reviews
5.00 star(s)

My new home away from home 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 15, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

lots of incline and decline shots, great looking course deep in the woods , lots of finess shots that will test your slow speed skills , fun for all ages , love the hanging baskets!!! lots of shade, great place for mid-range and putt game

Cons:

not enough holes :)

Other Thoughts:

i would love to see another 18 for the big kids to show off the distance drives with some skill of course... DRIVE FOR SHOW PUTT FOR DOUGH!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top