Oroville, CA

Riverbend Park - South

Permanent course
3.285(based on 20 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Riverbend Park - South reviews

Filter
9 0
Ngdodge
Experience: 6 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Plays best in the Fall and Winter drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Variety of shots
-Many shady spots during the summer
-vibrant local club
-layouts changed often
-Nice Orange DGA baskets

Cons:

-not always maintained in the summer months
-an attractive place for the homeless
-areas can flood when the Oroville dam is opened
- walkway cuts through most of the front 9 and is often occupied by other park goers

Other Thoughts:

This course is one of my local stomping grounds. It's grown on me the past couple of years. Although there is parking by hole 1/18 the best place to park and play is on the interior side of the park and walk to hole 8 past the bear statues and playground. The course plays parallel to the Feather river on the front 9 and the river is in play on holes 1,5,6,7, and 8. The back 9 plays on the other side of the levee where there are more trees and shade. There is a great variety of holes here that will challenge any player. This course plays best in the fall and winter months when the grass and other shrubs are dormant. The Parks department hasn't been doing much to maintain the course recently and maintenance has fallen on the local club. Many of the Riverbenders will volunteer their time to clean up the course, trim limbs, and weed eat in the hot summer sun. Long pants will help keep the star thistle at bay if you throw one into the rough. There is also a fair amount of blackberry bushes and some poison oak in some rough areas as well. It's not uncommon to see evidence of homeless dwellings around the course. With that said, I wouldn't worry too much about playing the course alone. It's heavily used by other disc golfers as well as park goers. When well maintained, or in the right season, this course is a blast to play and one of the best around. The Local club often will play hybrid layouts mixing parts of the North course into the layout. Popular layouts include the 27 hole layout from 1-8 north to 8-7 south and finishing on 9 north. or the 20 hole layout from 1-8 north to 7-18 south.

The Riverbenders disc golf club plays singles on Thursdays and Saturdays and Doubles on Sundays. Look up the Riverbend Disc Golf Page on Facebook to stay updated

https://www.facebook.com/grou...849135577130/
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.9 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
3.00 star(s)

I Love These Bright Orange Baskets, They’re The Best! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

These baskets are not only, the prettiest baskets I've ever seen, but they stand out in the trees and bushes so well. Why would anyone but any other color? And their white numbers are easy to read from any distance. And I used to think that yellow Discatchers showed the best.

I'm a little more impressed with Riverbend South than I was with the North. First, I like walking on the soft forest paths way more than the river bottom rock. Secondly, I think the course was a little more interesting and creative. And of course, I loved the orange baskets.

The course has the same nice long 16' concrete tee pads with the hole #, par, distances and route on a metal plate that is imbedded into the concrete. It is vandal proof. Most holes on the course were in 200-300' range but were a little more creative and interesting than those on the North Course.

# 14 was a pretty hole with kind of a natural looking fairway.

I liked # 18 being an island hole. It just made an ordinary hole more special and a tad more of a challenge.

Cons:

The tee pads can be a bit of a pain to see without a tee sign sticking up.

Creepy homeless dudes lurking everywhere around the park.

Probably not enough challenge for better or stronger armed players.

Chance of losing discs in the Feather River on # 5.

Other Thoughts:

Combined with the North 18, this gives local players a solid couple of courses to play. Drive 17 miles down the road to Brown's Valley and you have 36 more excellent holes at the Splat Hill courses (if you can find a time when they're open fir business). Actually, they have recently finished a 18 hole mini pitch and putt course, too. That's a lot a disc golf in a reasonably small area. Local golfers are pretty fortunate to have so many options to pick from.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
GuidoPero
Experience: 15.1 years 20 played 8 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Not Going Back Anytime Soon 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 28, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Front 9 has lots of open lines for long throws
Back 9 very technical
Overall a great balance for testing all aspects of your game

Cons:

No signage showing basket potion, so I had to walk up to see where they where if I couldn't see them from the tee. Very over grown, too overgrown. Lots of black berry bushes all through course.

Other Thoughts:

Overall right now the front 9 you can play, but 4 of the wholes on the back 9 are unplayable. Too may weeds, thorns, black berry bushes and mosquitoes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Mr_Limo
Experience: 11.3 years 15 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

River Bend South course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 30, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Technical course of the two in the park.
Beautiful setting,

Cons:

Older signs don't tell you where the pin actually is, and some have little markings at all

Other Thoughts:

Great course for everyone, especially when the pins are in alternate locations. Played this course for the Feather River Open and it was a gas. Locals were friendly, and inviting. I'll play this course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Fntsygamr
Experience: 8.9 years 62 played 27 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Scariest course EVER 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 22, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

None I can think of. The only nice thing I can think of would be back half is shady. Lots of parking toward first tee. Nice tee pads, look newish.

Cons:

Looks like a crack smokers paradise. Actually witnessed a couple smoking crack on #6. Not good for kids/families. Scary locals with confusing directions. River on the left of the course at beginning. Errant shots lose your disc forever.

Other Thoughts:

I'll never play this course again. It was on my wish-list, now it's on my wish I didn't list. Absolutely a course that would scare me as a solo player. Buddy up if you're adventurous....I'll stay away and let others "enjoy" this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
blazer
Experience: 10.7 years 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Never Gets old 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jul 9, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I have been playing this coarse for awhile now, and I still like it man, I get to be out and play, and not be at work, but disc golf related, the tees are good tees, and have good grip. Lately it looks like the club has been sweeping them off. Someone mowed some on the levee on 10. Drinking fountain on the path next to 8 tee. 18 is short right now, the club plays that it is an "island" which explains the blue paint, but I play it where it lies because its not and actual island. shade for the most part, plus river near by if you wanna cool off.

Cons:

People walking and riding bikes. a couple of times, I have seen people who are scary, so pack some spray or wear a knife or something, also I don't recommend going alone. less dangerous, plus someone there to help you find your disc when you loose it, and I say when, because it will happen. These shots were originally intended to be a technical landscape, and now it is overgrown, and no one does anything about it. On 14, there was a tent just off the green, and clothes strewn about, blackberry bushes allow for easy loosing your disc. Not knowing which pin location its in, because when the do move it, they don't post it anywhere.

Other Thoughts:

Allthough there are cons, I am glad this coarse is here,and when I can I will forever try to battle the blackberry bushes, the zombie look alikes, that scare me, and the snakes, and try not to throw my disc in the river!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 831 played 777 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice shots, dangerous layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 26, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a mostly flat park along the river. A few holes on the back 9 use the small hills available to offer a couple downhill shots and one tricky uphill hole. The rest of the course plays through a mix of open areas and forest with enough underbrush to punish shots that miss the fairway.

Several holes play pretty technical, with low ceilings and tight gaps to hit. It felt like there was an ok mix of left and right turning holes overall. There aren't any real bombers, but there's still ok distance variety with several reachable holes and a couple longer shots in the 350-400' range where many players will pull out a driver. The tees are perfectly fine concrete pads and the signage is solid enough to follow the course and know where to throw.

Cons:

The walking path is in play on most of the front 9. It seems to be pretty popular, and runs right through or along several fairways. There are a couple spots where there is a blind corner and you can't see whether a pedestrian is in your landing zone.

There are a lot of shorter shots here, about 3/4 of the course is reachable with a putter or mid for most players. Many of the holes that do bend one way or another are just straight shots with a small curve at the end so you don't end up shaping very interesting lines on those. There are some nasty patches of poison oak to watch out for.

Other Thoughts:

Beginners will find this course tough with some tighter lines and some punishing rough, but the distances are pretty approachable for new players. More experienced players will find this course fun but not a huge challenge. This course is worth a stop if you're in the area, I recommend playing on a week day to avoid some of the conflicts with the walking path.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
MikePinchico
Experience: 19.6 years 124 played 19 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Challenging course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Cement Tee's
-Mach II baskets
-Most hole have multiple positions
-Hyzer, anhyzer, and straight shots gives great variance
-River can come into play
-Mostly shaded which is nice during hot Oroville summers
-Trash cans and benches on most holes
-Dog friendly

Cons:

-Weeds get very tall during spring and summer
-Mosquitoes are crazy bad for most of the year
-Summers in the north state can be real hot
-Pedestrians on the walkway on holes 1, 2, 5, 6, and 7
-Course can close when the river floods

Other Thoughts:

This is a very fun course to play. You can have a great round one day and a terrible one the next. Bring water or beer cause your going to be thirsty. This course is in a full on city park and can be busy but most of the time there are no problems. This course has had the most discs returned to me after I lost them, and the locals are fun to play with.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
GVDiscr
Experience: 19.9 years 109 played 21 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Goin' South! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 22, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Orovilles south course is an awesome addition to the easier Front 18; with tighter fairways & tons of shrubbery it's a fun challenge!
The course has long teepads with trash cans and benches on every hole
Great mix of Holes with the Feather River coming into play on 1, 5, 6 and 7. The versatility of the course is endless - the short pins are even rough with bushes and trees in the way whereas the longer pin placements give you a chance to unwind! Regardless of where the pins are - accuracy is a must on most holes.
There are multiple pin placements and are always changed regularly! The club is very active here, which is a huge plus!
Scenery on the Feather River is awesome! On a hot summer day you can hop into the river but it's still mighty cold but refreshing!

Cons:

Bathrooms aren't the cleanest
The course itself is awesome for the type of land being used, I could complain about river rocks for fairways but it's the riverbottoms!

Other Thoughts:

Watch for Pedestrians walking on the path throughout the front half of the course - some would call this a Con, but in order for growth of the sport we need to adapt with the other outdoor enthusiasts. . so waiting a minute isn't going to kill anyone.
Most people will park on the front by the Entrance to the park and play 1-8 on the front and then jump onto 8 on the back and play the whole back then from Hole 7 on the back hop to Hole 9 on front and play it towards the parking lot. Plays a fun 27 until the other baskets get put back in on the front!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
humchris85
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.9 years 143 played 78 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Now here's where the funs at 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 23, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Long concrete teepads, you can get a full run up on them.
- Nice baskets on every hole
- Beutiful seting next to the Feather River
- A wide variety of holes, open, tightly wooded, lefts and rights, a couple of low cellings.
- Many ace-able holes
- On one hole there is a tree that is leaning so far over that it's being heald up by a 6' tall poll, therefore making it a horizontal obsticle
- River comes into play on at least one hole
- Friendly locals
- Garbage cans and benches everywhere

Cons:

- Not much elevation change, but what is there, is used well
- If you overshoot one hole you can very easily end up in the river
- Tee signs are geting old and could use to be replaced
- Tee signs could use to have a way to be able to tell what pin position the basket is in
- Not very challenging, but it does make for a fun round
- There are a few places that were a little hard to find the way from hole to hole, but the signs have a next tee point so you can find them if you pay attention.
- Watch for non discers on the path that runs through
-Blackberrys and mosquitoes

Other Thoughts:

This is suposed to be the more advanced course of the two that are here in the park, but it is still playable by novices. There is a mix of hole lenghts from under 200 to about 400. On many of the first holes there are great views of the Feather River and on one the basket sits within 20' of the river. The concrete tees were some of the longest I've ever played on, and they alow you to get a full run up. The little bits of elevation change are used for making basket placements more challenging. The course is fun and locals are friendly but the challenge level isn't as high as I would like.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 1
jimbosprint
Experience: 20.9 years 99 played 16 reviews
3.50 star(s)

In my favorites 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 18, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a very good intermediate difficulty course. There is a good mix of straight, right, and left to test if you can place your drive carefully. Every hole can be birdied, while still remaining challenging and fun. And the pin positions change about once a month for some nice variety. There are concrete tees and signs, and plenty of tables and trash cans.

Cons:

Be aware that there is poison oak and disc-eating blackberry bushes throughout the course. At certain times of year, the mosquitoes can be so thick that you can't see the basket. Always have repellent with you.

I have never seen a course map. It's a good idea to have a guide your first time through, as some of the tees are not obvious from the previous pin. You can make it fine without one, but it will take you a little longer.

Other Thoughts:

I play this course all the time and it is in my favorites. The seasonal change is one of the reasons. In the spring and summer the leaves are thick, while in the winter and fall the course opens up a lot.

There are no real long-distance challenges, and only a little elevation change. If you want those, head up to Lava Creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
17 0
JMONEY
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 227 played 41 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great fun for the whole family! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

All holes have large & long concrete tee pads with a sloping edge on the ends. Each tee pad has an embedded metal plaque with hole# too. Tee signs are understanding and legible giving the distance, multiple pin locations, next tee direction and hazards. This is a challenging course for any caliber of player. The course offers elevation changes, narrow alleys and water hazards. There are benches and tables at most holes and plenty of trash cans. The locals are friendly and helpful too. I have never seen the course crowded or have had to wait at a hole!

Cons:

Mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos, mosquitos: Especially on holes#11 thru 18. There are some non DG'rs that use the walk/bike path that runs along side the river and affects holes #1,2,5,6,7,8,9.

Other Thoughts:

This is a beautiful 18/27 hole course that follows along side Feather River. I say 27 hole course cause the locals like to play holes#1-8 from the north course and holes#8-18 from the south course then holes#1-9 totaling 27 holes that flow together. I did lose a disc in the water while playing and mentioned it to a local who retrieves them and he gladly returned it by the end of the day! The course is maintained by the Riverbend DGC and is still making upgrades.
The park has much more to offer with two fishing ponds and the river with a boat launch. There is a swimming area with a sandy beach too. There are grassy picnic areas and pavilions with a playground centrally located and bathrooms to service all the amentities. There is construction currently going on which will include three soccer fields, Olympic size swimmimg pool, baseball field and a snack bar. This is an all around fun place for a family outing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
DaWizard
Experience: 14 years 5 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 5, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I think it is a very good step in the right direction from the old North Course. A lot of challenging shots thru the woods. There is a good mix of dog leg lefts and rights. Also most holes have 2 and 3 different hole placements so is always changing. I would consider myself competitive and not a top frisbee golfer but not bad either. It is very challenging for me but i have only played 2 differen't courses and like this one a lot.

Cons:

Signs are a little difficult and with all the work that has been done on riverbend park i only see it getting better. Not really sure what is left of the north course or where it begins and ends. So i played the south with i am guessing a few holes of the North

Other Thoughts:

Great place for family outings with the Riverbend Park. So bring the family to Oroville and have some fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
DuBose
Premium Member
Experience: 4.9 years 137 played 16 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Worth the drive 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 12, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice mix of right and left shots. Both hooks and fades. Most pins are reachable for an intermediate player, but with a lot of small window fairways. All of the holes have GREAT pads stamped with the hole #. I think that almost all of the pads had some type of a bench to sit if needed and many had trash cans. The park itself had multiple bathrooms and a couple of really neat things to do with a family, including the Feather River, a small lake in the back and a really cool miniature rock climbing play area for little guys. We were there in the late morning and we never had to wait. The few people that we did see or talk to were very friendly.

Cons:

MANY of the maps at the pad were missing. We had some trouble finding the next pad, but we did finally bump into some locals that were able to give us some direction. The main reason I didn't score this any better is because of all the underbrush. Just like the others mentioned, there is a LOT of tall grass and blackberries. If you get off the fairway at all you will be in it. We spent some time looking for disc, and it's not fun in shorts. I didn't see much poison oak except for hole #10, but that is the biggest patch that I have ever seen. DO NOT GO TO THE RIGHT ON HOLE 10, stay up on the levy or fall left.

Other Thoughts:

I don't play very often due to a busy schedule, but I do enjoy traveling to play many different courses. There are some REALLY nice courses out there. This is a fun course to play and it is worth the trip, but I wouldn't put it in my top 5. I didn't notice on the main page that there were 2 courses here. We missed the turn on the dirt road and played the north course first. We were VERY disappointed. Luckily we bumped into someone that told us there was another course. I figured that had to be the one I was looking for. FOLLOW THE DIRECTIONS CLOSELY, THEY ARE VERY ACCURATE, You want to make sure you play this course. The guy who told me about it hadn't even played it yet, he just knew it was there. I believe this course is a solid 3 ½ disc rating, I only gave it a 3 hoping it will slide the overall down from the 4.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
mprii
Experience: 15.1 years 80 played 4 reviews
3.50 star(s)

What a great crouse. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 5, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very technical, but alot of fun. Pretty well marked. #10 is a bunch of fun! people are nice and helpfull.

Cons:

Watch out for the poison Oak. The grass is very tall and it tis easy to lose a disc.

Other Thoughts:

Cant wait get back there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
916er
Experience: 24.1 years 23 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Oroville gem 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 25, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Pretty well marked, concrete tee pads, signs, trash cans, benches. The course is technical and I always have fun playing it. Not too crowded, and the people out there are always nice. Everyone is always helping each other find their discs.

Cons:

Could be a little better marked, but it's pretty easy to still find your way around. People walking on the paths can make you wait on a few holes, but it's not crowded. It's pretty easy to lose a disc out there either in the brush or the river. Last week I saw a guy put 2 tee shots in the river back to back.

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoy this course, beacuse of the difficulty. The north course is much easier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
Decoski
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 16, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Creative, interesting, beautiful, elevation changes, well-maintained, has benches and trash cans, and fun.

Cons:

Some fairways cross a popular walking path, so be careful before you throw! Also, course could use another long range shot and a big dogleg shot. Most fairways are too straight to the basket.

Other Thoughts:

Course has improved from its beginnings. Much of the blackberry bushes and weeds have been removed, signs installed, and benches installed by the maintenance crew.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
J.Koeberlein
Experience: 22 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best course to date 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 23, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

Water, bathrooms, tables, benches, garbage cans. Long and challenging, moderately hilly very heavily wooded. You must hit your pathways! Difficult enough to make you want to play the course again. Nice setting and layout, with the feather river nearby. Cement tee-pads with embedded plaques giving hole numbers and dedications.

Cons:

Signs were old and faded, could use improvement. We did get confused a few times. Stay on pathways.

Other Thoughts:

We played both North and South courses as one long 36 hole course. It was unanimous by our club the "Sunday Drivers" to be the best course yet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 8
Matt_Kelly
Premium Member
Experience: 33.9 years 229 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

I liked it better than the North course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2008 Played the course:never

Pros:

Good mix of righty/lefty holes. ChainStar baskets. My dog loved it as well.

Cons:

Blackberry and Poison Oak rough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
uofc2003
Experience: 16.9 years 51 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

South Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2007 Played the course:never

Pros:

Challenging shots off the tee pad. Variety of types of holes.

Cons:

Too many short holes (not that it led to an avalanche of birdies).

Other Thoughts:

There's a fun fountain area for the kids in Riverbend Park for those hot summer days.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top