• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Plano, TX

Shawnee Park - Old Layout

2.215(based on 41 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Shawnee Park - Old Layout reviews

Filter
6 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 247 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Shawnee Park 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 6, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

-- Doesn't appear to get a lot of play, so unlikely to be crowded with disc golfers.
-- Restroom and water available at east end of park (past the 9/18 tee pads) near basketball court and pond.
-- Course maps available (near 6 and 9), but they are not accurate (see Cons).
-- Best hole is No. 3: 287 foot RHBH, slightly downhill as you get close to the basket with a big drop-off to a creek about 30 feet behind the basket.

Cons:

-- Safety issues abound. The course loops around the property twice, leading to a lot of issues where a good tee shot on a hole would endanger someone on the tee or near the basket for another hole. Examples: 3 throws over the 4/13 tee pad; 12 tees 30 feet behind (and very slightly left) of the #3 tee; the tee shot on 5 goes over the 14 tee (around the trees, so hidden from view), and a good tee shot from 5 could easily hit someone putting of 14. In addition, most holes play more or less parallel to another hole, so a slightly errant shots puts someone on the other hole in danger.
-- No. 2 is incredibly boring: 194 feet straight with no obstacles of any kind.
-- 8 and 17 are the SAME hole except for different mandos: one requires you to go right of a tree in front of you; the other requires you to go left.
-- Tees are natural. Many have tree roots and are so rutted that the are unusable.
-- Tee signs only have the hole number. Distance and layout would be nice since a few baskets are not visible from the tee.
-- Baskets are old and have seen better days.
-- Parking lot is small.
-- An errant throw (or a kick off of a tree) on No. 1 could result in a disc hitting a car in the parking lot.
-- Poor flow. When you finish #1, you walk to the nearest (most logical) tee to discover that you are at #10. Your direct route from 1 basket to 2 tee takes you through the 10 fairway; 11 to 12 takes you through the 3 fairway; 9 and 18 fairways cross, although the maps do not show that. The maps show 9 and 18 being parallel, but the baskets have been switched for years (according to previous reviews), so this is no accident. The photos of individual holes (posted here 10 years ago) show the fairways crossing, so this has been an issue for a LONG time. The distances listed on the map appear to match the actual layout and not the design on the maps.
-- Walking path brings non disc golfers into play. When I played on a Thursday afternoon in August, I saw a lot more walkers than disc golfers.

Other Thoughts:

-- The best feature here (creek) is underutilized. Other than No. 3, there is no real danger of reaching it.
-- This would be a better course as a 9-holer rather than 18. I would suggest using holes 10, 11, 3-8 and finish with 9 (according to the map, not the actual layout) to bring a few trees into play to guard that basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
MaxJal
Experience: 11 years 121 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Shawnee #1 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 6, 2020 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Open fields good beginner course but also a challenge for pros

Cons:

So me have same tee for different holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
DonJuanDeLaNooch
Experience: 22.8 years 37 played 9 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Was so much better as 9 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 22, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

It's a disc golf course.

Cons:

9 extra holes seemingly vomited onto a previously decent 9 hole course. Safety concerns. Terrible flow. Poor signage. Clueless pedestrians.

Dirt Teepads.

This course is simply God awful especially considering the fact that there are so many choices now close by that are superb. It's a waste of time. Drive 15 more minutes north to McKinney if In the area. Alex Clark and Towne Lake both blow this poor excuse for a course completely away.

Other Thoughts:

This is the first course I ever played back in the early 2000's. It was nine holes then. It was very playable and made sense. Now it is 18. A total waste of 9 baskets. It's unsafe with poor flow and dirt teepads? Come on Plano really? As big a city as Plano is with such a great tax base there is no excuse for such a craptastic course. Thankfully I have great memories of this course before it was destroyed by good intentions. Play it you have to but don't say you weren't warned. It sucks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
Prafeston
Experience: 12.2 years 20 played 5 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Confusing And Cramped 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 18, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

A couple nice holes that use the space well.

Cons:

Bad Layout
Shared Tee Pads
Shared Fairways
Several boring holes
No Tee Box Maps

Other Thoughts:

The other reviews have already covered everything. I lucked out and a local pulled up right after me or else I would have been lost. It's nothing short of a miracle they managed to cram 18 holes into this tiny park. Quite odd you have the front 9 kind of loop around and end way on the other end of the park and you basically have to walk back to hole one to start the back 9 and then again finish a ways from the parking lot. Never seen a course that had holes that literally shared the same tee pad!!! A couple nicely placed holes saved this course from being a complete dud. If you are in the area and only have time to play one course drive the extra little bit to play a better course. I would only play here if this was in my back yard.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
LeftyPower
Experience: 35.3 years 33 played 15 reviews
1.50 star(s)

A Few Good Holes But a Bad Layout Overall 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 14, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Good baskets
Some well designed designed shots
Easy to play if you want a quick round

Cons:

Layout crisscrosses some some holes that make it confusing to navigate
Some baskets right next to other tees effecting play when others are out there
Lots of other non disc golf players in way
No concrete tees
Not much to a few of the holes

Other Thoughts:

This is a small park course with some of the holes having a weird layout with the baskets and "tee pads" too close to one another. The flow of the holes also crosses over other holes which might confuse you as well but the tee areas are all well marked. I used to throw a quick lunch round out here when I worked in the area for several years but playing out here when there are more people playing or just using the park does effect your play. There is one hole next to a deep gully with a 25 foot cliff that you can throw your disc down into and I have a couple of times but never lost anything down there. There are a few good holes but there are just some generic open and flat ones that just aren't that great compared to average.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21.1 years 171 played 69 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Alot of time and effort went into this course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 11, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very well maintained park
Each tee/basket is marked with it's number
Multiple course signs throughout the course
Some tees are used for multiple holes, nice to make the golfer aware
Great lines for each hole, makes you find your line
Only way to lose plastic would be a really errant shot

Cons:

Course could use a few additional trashcans
Course needs concrete teepads and tee signs
The course basically plays as two loops around the park, would be nice if it was a little more spread out.
More parking would be nice, busy on weekends, multi use park in play

Other Thoughts:

Overall, a quality park. I would definitely recommend this course if your in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
tkmcdougal
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.3 years 196 played 96 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Shawnee Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

I like how there is a tee sign on every hole as well as a number on each basket. If the baskets weren't labeled you would have no idea where to throw as the course is cramped in a small section of the park. It also seems like the course has been updated since a few of the past reviews were written. There are multiple course maps throughout the park that really come in handy.

Cons:

As stated in pretty much all the reviews below, there is not a solid flow to the course. Also, all the holes are really close together making it possible to thrown in on other golfers. There are no teeboxes just really worn dirt. I like the courses I play to have some variety and this course really favors RHBH.

Other Thoughts:

Overall the course is a fun park with a terrible flow. I played the course in sets of 2. 2/11, 3/12, 4/13, 5/14, 6/15, 7/16, 8/17, 9/18. Since all the sets I just mentioned are really close together I would throw my drive from one teebox and drive from the other. This made for a very quick 18 holes. I was able to finish in about 45 minutes. The course is fun and worth the time if you are in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
hotstang
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.1 years 452 played 59 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Double Looped Par 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Several Course maps available. You'll need them.
Has baskets and are in pretty decent shape.
Has hole # markers.
Course is challenging.
Very Right hand friendly. If you like that.
Should be a quick round for locals.
Has a small parking lot for disc golfers.

Cons:

Very poor flow.
Dirt tee pads are in very bad shape.
Nothing really telling you what side of the hole markers to throw from.
Several different baskets are used.
Hole 8 / 17 is very confusing. As far as mando or what.
Hole 9 and 18 is mixed up on the course map.
Very Dangerous.
Please watch out for pedestrian and other players.

Other Thoughts:

Course is very poorly laid out.
Park has potential.
Park has more land available.
Has port a potty by hole 1.
Bathroom out past hole 9 and 18 tees.
Decent course but definitely not a destination course.


Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
02sportytex
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Not bad for what it is 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 25, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Never crowded.
- Most shots are easy to navigate and make par

Cons:

- The layout is really odd and makes no sense. It took me walking the course before starting to understand where the next basket would be. The tee next to the basket for hole 1, which makes sense to be hole 2 is actually hole 10. Hole 2 is way out after passing by hole 10 and 11.

- The tee "boxes" or worn out. No concrete pads and they "boxes" are dug out so bad you have to make your own spot in order to get a good drive.

- No map of the course available.

Other Thoughts:

For a "course" that you can knock out in 1 hour, that is close to my house, it's great. Sadly, it seems like it was laid out by someone who really didn't think it through very well. It's also been forgotten, clearly pointed out by the poor tee boxes.

Something that would really help this is putting up a map of the course. If there was a map on the already gigantic sign talking about the rules of Disc Golf, the course would be higher in my book.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
mikebushell
Experience: 80 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 29, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice location, and great potential

Cons:

The lay out is terrible, it's Very confusing, there are no maps/signs telling you where to start where to end, there are fairways that cross each other,and tee boxes right in front of baskets, tee boxes I front of each other,from one tee box you are looking at 3 baskets, I will not be playing this course again!!

Other Thoughts:

Don't put a picnic table right beside a basket
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
strain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16 years 42 played 40 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great course, but room for Improvement 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 2, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are a very good variety of shots on most holes when playing this course. You have a good choice of short, long left and right shots to make the game challenging. There are hole numbers on all holes to make the navigation some what easier. There are restrooms on sight, which is a plus. The park is very well kept, with plenty of trash cans to keep the park clean.

Cons:

If you have never played this course before, you better print you out a map from this site. This course can be very difficult to navigate for the first time. I pretty much had to walk up to each basket and backtrack to the tee pad, just to see which hole it was going to throw from. I noticed on a few holes, you are throwing through the pathway of other holes or throwing near the tee pads. I would hate to see this course on a busy day, it would probably be a little hectic with people in the way. Some holes you do share tee pads for other holes, which isn't a big deal. You have to just make sure your throwing at the right basket, because it is very easy to aim at the wrong one, because of lack of signs. The tee pads are dirt which isn't too bad, because they were mostly level on most holes. Out of playing this park, the navigation was probably the worst part of my experience playing here.

Other Thoughts:

Now that I have played this course once. I pretty much figured out the layout. I will definitely play this course again, when I'm in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
twispar
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Unkept. Bad Layout. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Its close I guess. There is a map of the course too.

Cons:

Very unkept. The grass was over a foot in many places (almost lost a disk in the fairway because of overgrowth). There are holes that I had to search for to find, and honestly, I don't even know how you are supposed to throw to them! Hole number four is surrounded by trees to the point where there is a single gap that you could maybe throw through. Bad course layout too. There are multiple tees that are shared between holes. Throws over pathways, baskets near tees, etc. Not a good experience and I do not recommend playing on it until it is fixed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
lineenil
Experience: 10.8 years 10 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A Solid Home Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 2, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I constantly find myself throwing new shots there. Being my home course, it is great for practicing as you have to use every asset of your game.

Usually pretty well maintained- there was actually just a new, large flower garden planted in front of the the tee boxes on holes 8/17.

Highlight holes- The first hole opens with a tight tunnel of trees opening up into a large field. Not long but can be difficult to birdie because of the tunnel. 3 is a longer hole requiring a good second shot. There are many different looks you can have at the basket, and you have to avoid the creek in the back. 4 is an extremely hard look into the basket, with trees on the right cut out for an easy look in. You have to decide to run the basket or lay up every time. 5 is a fantastic dogleg hole with a tight option over a creek to cut through. 6 goes deep into a forest of trees- I constantly find new lines to throw on this hole. Can be awesome and frustrating at the same time haha. 14, overlaid on 5 is another fun dogleg left. Overall a great mix of shots and keeps the play very interesting.

Cons:

However, you do have to be realistic. The flow of the course is pretty awful. As many have mentioned, it's better to play both the front and back nine at the same time as they are overlaid on one another. This makes each hole share a fairway essentially. It's bad for traffic and is pretty confusing. Usually a good idea to go out with someone who knows the course for the first (few) time(s) lol.

Can be muddy after rain but tends to dry pretty quick.

Teeboxes are pretty brutal, but you can make them work

Other Thoughts:

For being a 5 minute drive from my house, I'm not complaining. Certainly worth checking out, but not a destination by any means.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
stoltzjl77
Experience: 30.2 years 179 played 13 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Why? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 13, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Variety of shots, elevation changes.

Cons:

Layout is terrible.
Layout is dangerous.
Layout is confusing.

Other Thoughts:

Fairways should never cross public pedestrian paths. Ever.
Tee boxes should never be in the previous basket's landing area. Ever. For any reason.
Fairways should not cross each other. Ever. For any reason.
If you can't follow the above rules and design the shots you want, you are building your course in the wrong place. End of story.

I also don't like seeing fairways that share space with playing fields (like the baseball field you have to throw across on whatever hole it is - 9 and 18 maybe?). Basically what you are saying is that the course can only be played safely when nobody else is using the park.

The confusing part is my own fault for not printing off a map beforehand, but I'm pretty experienced at finding my way around DG courses. Also I was in the area during the 2 weeks a year when it is wet enough that mud is an issue so I won't de-rate the course for that, but it would have been nice to have defined tee boxes with some sort of erosion control.

Hole 4/12 or whatever all it is supposed to be is just awful. If the tee box for hole 5 is outside the 10m putting radius for hole 3 basket, it isn't by much. This is just terrible course design and is repeated throughout the course. It's a shame because it is a beautiful park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
billdo11b
Experience: 11.9 years 64 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

local one.... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 5, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

nice course for locals who know how to move thrugh it .most people nice and will help if needed to find holes. good for all levels of players

Cons:

signs are little hard foe 1st timers . need to re number holes.

Other Thoughts:

favorite for son and i
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Dcorzine
Experience: 19.2 years 32 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Shawnee Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 10, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-A lot of Great/challenging shots.
-Well maintained (thanks to City of Plano)
-Good Variety

Cons:

-Bad "tee areas" (be careful not to roll an ankle)
-Can be confusing to navigate for a first timer

Other Thoughts:

I had my first disc golf experience at this course (2005) and have been hooked ever since.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
lajoie24
Experience: 13 years 30 played 18 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Get there first! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

I played this course for the first time and was impressed by its cleanliness - even down in the creek beds. There is a decent mixture of power and precision shots needed to do well. I was able to use my backhand, sidearm and overhand shots - that makes me happy. Everyone I encountered was extremely friendly.

Cons:

The dirt tee pads were disappointing. They're not the worst I've played on (see Jimmy Porter for example), but would've preferred going home without dirty toes. The hole to hole transitions are poor and can be tricky. Be sure to bring the map provided by this wonderful site your first time out. The shared teepads, basket and fairways create an unstable feel to this course. When I played, there weren't many others out but could easily see the potential for chaos once it became busy. This mixed with a few fairways that "criss-cross" and the close proximity of some of the holes can be a bit dangerous at times.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course early in the morning beating everyone else out there. Once a few players started to arrive, I realized I was the only one playing the holes in numerical order. If its not to intrusive to other players, try playing them in the following order...1,10,11,2,3,12,4,13,5,14,6,15,7,16,8,17,9 & 18. It helps a lot with the "flow issue" but doesn't do much for the "shared teepads/basket/throwing across fairways/stability" problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
mwgheaton
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23.1 years 66 played 25 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Poorly Designed, but has a lot of potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 5, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

There are really not a lot of positive things to say about this course aside from locale and a handful of challenging holes. It is the only disc golf course located in Plano, a city with over a quarter of a million people. So, this course serves as the lone beacon of disc golf for Plano. There is one hole that flies over a nice treed gulch with a shallow creek at the bottom. Since the chances of clearing the gulch without hitting a tree are roughly 10% for most anyone, it makes for a nice shaded and refreshing break from the heat while retrieving your disc.

Cons:

This is a 9 hole course, despite what the map, websites and course designers may say. The "back 9" is almost literally laid over top of the front 9. Pads and baskets are too close to each other to play concurrently with other groups without the risk of hitting each other. A few holes cross fairways and a few holes use the exact same pads. Two holes actually use the exact same pad and basket, but you are asked to throw around the other side of a tree. Aside from a handful of holes, playing the front and back 9 seems pretty much like playing the exact same course twice.

Context: I believe that a course should be designed to fit the location and types of people using the course. This course was designed very poorly for context. It is located in a residential neighborhood on a green belt bike/walk trail with picnic tables and a soccer field. Almost half of the holes run the risk of hitting a mom pushing a stroller. Anyone who tries to sit at one of the picnic tables will be constantly ducking discs. The primary users will likely be families. The wide open holes are too long for most kids. I would predict that at least one out of four right handed newbies likely put their disc in the creek with a dangerously steep bank on #7/#16.

Other Thoughts:

As a 9 hole course on its own, this could be a relatively fun course. I personally appreciated the challenging aspects of quite a few holes. However, this is the kind of course that will turn newbies away from the sport. It is not enjoyable to play with people constantly waiting and jumping out of the way of discs. I would highly recommend that they shorten the course back to nine holes. They could still use the back nine tee pads as "B" pads for the front nine and make the course safer and more enjoyable for everyone.

Also, bring plenty of water. The course is exposed to the south and it is easy to get overheated in the Texas weather.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Spookyspence
Experience: 15 played 15 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Ehhhh.... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Upkeep is good
Lots of helpful locals

Cons:

No bathrooms
Very very bad course layout
Most holes are very straight forward
Dirt tees are crappy on about half the holes.

Other Thoughts:

From what I understand this course use to be a 9 hole and it was turned into a full 18....but because of this and the lack of room you have too many wide open holes, you have shared tees/baskets, the flow from hole to hole is NONEXISTENT, and you have crossing fairways everywhere making it more or less dangerous to play if it gets a little crowded. This is a love or hate course and I am kind of in the middle, this course just suffers from poor design and flow making it seem a lot worse than it is. Below are short descriptions of the holes, enjoy.


Hole 1 - Trees on both sides right after the tee, after 30 feet or so turns into fully open field, hole is a little too close to the parking lot for comfort.

Hole 2 - Open Field shot.

Hole 3 - Open shot requiring a little left hook at the end of the drive.

Hole 4 - Straight open shot with elevated basket behind the bushes/tree line.

Hole 5 - Very cool hole, you have to throw a nice line through some trees and bushes over a deep creek. Can be very easy to lose a disc if not careful.

Hole 6 - Straight forward hole with trees.

Hole 7 - Straight shot close to tree line with a hard left dog leg at the end for the basket.

Hole 8 - this shares tee and basket with 17, mandatory tree right for this hole left for 17.

Hole 9 - Wide open field shot

Hole 10 - Open field shot

Hole 11 - Open field shot

Hole 12 - Straight shot with dog leg to the left.

Hole 13 - Also shares a tee with 4, straight shot with basket slightly to the left behind a bush.

Hole 14 - Straight shot, basket to the left.

Hole 15 - More or less straight open shot with a few trees.

Hole 16 - Straight open shot with the basket to the left behind a tree.

17 - also shared with hole 8....mandatory tree then open field.

18 - Open field shot.

Sorry if some of the descriptions are a little off, going off of memory for this review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
Fast Eddie
Experience: 12.6 years 18 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

confused 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 26, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

i could not really think of any pros for this course
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Cons:

tee box locationd very confusing its like someone just threw a rock out in a field & said ok lets put a tee box here

Other Thoughts:

not worth the drive
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top