• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Anna, TX

Slayter Creek Park

3.55(based on 12 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Slayter Creek Park reviews

Filter
12 0
Underground Discman
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

This is now a GREAT course drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2023 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

If you've played this course in the past but not recently you're going to be very happy with it now. If you've never played it, you're in luck, come check it out! I would say Slayter Creek is now "all grown up" and looks like it will be well maintained going forward.

There are tons of new updates, such as all new signage, new tee pads and many new baskets. The improved layout now has all 18 holes. Especially holes 11, 12 and 13 which used to be places where in the past you really didn't know what was supposed to do... are now great holes. The all new 13 is a beauty of a hole, throwing across a drain culvert and up onto a hill.

Just about every hole has two tee pads, blue and red. There are a couple par 4s but everything else is par 3.

Some people say this is a Long course, but I would call it a medium length. It's not as long as Towne Lake but maybe a little longer than McCord. The day I went there were 2 large groups finishing up and they said they had done 2 rounds.

Cons:

After rains, this course will be very muddy. There's areas where the grass will not come in for several seasons, the grounds people have put mats there to prevent erosion.

On the main part of the course, both down and up have tree line and baskets oriented towards the right. So to really do well you'd have to have a good RHFH. But all of these could be played backhand as well, just not catered to those fades... Several other holes are perfect for any throw style, forehand or backhand.

There's going to be poison ivy in the trees in Summer and Fall, but none of the trees stands are very deep, so just take care if a disc gets in there.

Somewhere around hole 5 or 6 there is just one play where the basket location is hard to understand. I just decided to throw at a basket I had already used, and it was easy to make a sensible hole out of it... Don't spend too much time worrying about that one. LOL

Other Thoughts:

As said above, with the recent updates this is now an excellent course you should check out on a nice weather day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 246 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Slayter Creek

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 14, 2023 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

UPDATE: Course has been redesigned in the five years between my visits. The trees that made up most of the course border as you played away from Rosamond Parkway are gone. You have hundreds (perhaps thousands) of houses there now. Fewer trees, fewer obstacles. I am lowering my rating from 3.5 to 3.0.

-- Where there were three sets of tees on most holes, you now have two.
-- Distinct tees offer very different looks at many holes, rather than just adding or subtracting distance. Three, 13 and 17 are the best examples. Three long has you teeing along a tree line and making a hard left to get to the basket. From the short tee, it's basically a straight shot through the opening. Thirteen tees from different sides of a drainage ditch. Seventeen long tees from the trees across a small creek. The short tee is on the other side of the creek and not in the trees.
-- The tee signs are at the blue (long) tees.
-- Hole 5 has an elevated green, which requires accuracy on your approach.
-- Decent baskets.
-- Good use of land. There isn't much elevation change, but some comes into play. Also, the tree line is well used.
-- Lots of long holes, but the course offers some short holes with tight fairways/tunnels.
-- Parking is good.
-- Restrooms and water are available at the softball fields next door.

Cons:

-- Navigation is a minor issue. Layout is far from intuitive. For example, you play No. 1 away from the parking lot. Then you backtrack most of that length to play No. 2 in the same direction you played No. 1.
-- Numbers on the baskets would really help.
-- No 'next tee' signs.
-- The walking path that forms much of the boundary (OB) for the holes also brings people.

Other Thoughts:

-- Fairways are in decent shape, and the park itself is nice. However, the ground is not in good shape. There are lots of cracks in the ground, some of which could lead to an ankle injury.
-- Multiple tees is a huge plus for a course.
-- Course is located between Anna Middle School and Anna High School. You start near the road. You used to feel like you were in the middle of nowhere when you got out onto the course. With the tree line replaced by houses, the ambiance if not nearly as nice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
buzzzking
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Long Fun Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2017 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Open fairways with character approach shots that require some fancy play. Good baskets. The tee box drives are not plain, they are rather enjoyable.

Cons:

Hole 8 & 12 currently have no signage. The baskets are not marked with numbers for reference. May have to deal with walkers and bikers on path. Tuff to follow if it's your first time playing the course.

Other Thoughts:

I played off the whites. DEFINITLY take a picture of the master map at hole 1 for reference. Took me just under 2 hours to finish as a single player. Keep an eye on your disc if you throw into any brush/trees or you'll have no luck locating it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
tankmlee
Experience: 8.9 years 19 played 6 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Play from the white tees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 21, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very long with purpose from the white tees
Multiple tee pads
Amazing signage
Baskets are in great condition
Good use of land

Cons:

Blue tees were over 600' on multiple holes, with no real purpose but to add distance
Ugly course right now, all grown and heat
Some cool holes but only 1 actually stands out

Other Thoughts:

Play this course from the white tees, you will have a better experience overall
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Scotchtape77
Experience: 14.9 years 14 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Time to go the distance! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 4, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Long shots
-Little to no water traps the creek is usually down or dry
-Concrete pads
-Great map at the first tee
-Score cards available at City of Anna website
-Mowed frequently
-Three distances per hole

Cons:

-Hole 3 and 4 is getting an irrigation channel through it to feed the new housing development east of the park.
-Some of the signs are falling off or missing making it difficult to find the pad.

Other Thoughts:

Don't miss hole 16! Its on the other side of the creek after the basket on 15. If you go to next visible pad after 15 that is the start of 17. I recommend taking a picture of the map before starting.

Also if you are prone to go OB wear closed toed shoes and long pants. There is plenty of poison ivy and rag weed along the tree line.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1745 played 591 reviews
3.50 star(s)

a long walk in the park 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 27, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Tee signs on all the pro boxes
at least 1 cement tee box on every hole with several having 2.

Short "Red" course marked for some ace runs.

VERY wide variety of holes and good use of the land given.

Cons:

Well, most of the holes are pretty open so they were made long. some are really long 2 shot holes. (FYI, I am not a fan of long holes as they discourage new players and wear me out)

DO NOT get off the fairway, there are some MAJOR thorns in the rough.

If they don't mow the course, you are going to loose discs in the fields.

Freaking hate the walk back to the parking lot after the 18th hole.

Other Thoughts:

In general, this is a good course, several of the holes you have to plan your tee shot to get a 3. But they are not long enough for the big arms.

I would not want to play this course in the 100+ days of summer, but today it was nice and cool. There were several muddy spots, you want to wait a few days after a good rain storm before you try to play.

The course wore me out, I skipped 15 and 16 because I was too dang tired to play them. (that and I didn't see them until I looked at the map at hole 1 again)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
SteveR21
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fun open course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 3, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Great open fair ways
2 or 3 paved tees for every hole
Trees play into most holes

Multiple views at baskets

Cons:

Bushes are full of thorns and scratched my arm pretty bad trying to get one of my discs

Course was a little confusing the first time playing. I had to take a picture of the map and refer back to it

No real elevation changes except for a 2 holes

Other Thoughts:

Most holes involve a long drive bomb tee off in which you land on a wide open fairway, followed by an approach shot and putt. The course design keeps it from getting too repetitive.

Like some people said I really wish that there was a "next" sign after every hole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
RunCesarRun
Experience: 8 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great open fairways with technical shots. Bring a map. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 2, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Nice open fairways to use your distance drivers.
Most holes have 3 tees that offer alternate routes/views at the basket..
The trees play into some tee offs and add some degree of difficulty.
Landing zones are wide open and mowed.
Not busy.
OB plays into some holes.

Cons:

Lack of elevation except for a few holes

no "next" sign made playing this course a little confusing the first time. BRING A MAP

Other Thoughts:

Great long challenging course. I love that I was able to use my distance drivers in most holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.1 years 388 played 318 reviews
3.50 star(s)

great start 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-3 sets of tees on most holes
-distinct tees offer very different looks at many holes
-concrete on all blue tees, some white tees; concrete markers on red tees
-new Mach baskets, good signs at blue tees
-design makes good use of the trees and obstacles that are present, a few spots use the limited elevation changes well (5 & 14)
-lots of long holes and many challenging holes with some specific lines to hit off the tee in order to score well
-tons of park amenities next to the course, plenty of parking

Cons:

-poison ivy: there is tons of ivy around but not all of it is poison; just be careful in the schule
-speaking of the schule, it is thick and rough inside the tree lines. between thorny stuff and poison stuff, you'll probably want to wear pants even in the summer.
-there is long grass off the fairway on the open holes
-i didn't think the walk to hole 1 is too long but the walk back from hole 18 is longer
-signs only at the blue tees, navigation is tricky in a few spots, lots of blind baskets can make it tough the first time through the course, no 'next tee' signs
-few distinct options off the tee, few placement shots; bummer for a long course

Other Thoughts:

This course has a lot to offer and is in pretty decent shape for having just opened. It plays around and through a long, dense line of trees that largely separates it from the rest of the park.

The three sets of tees is a huge plus for a course like this. The blue tees are definitely not beginner friendly so it is great that there are other options. That said, the shorter tees are no piece of cake either. The reds are a better option for the younger players that will no doubt be exposed to the course (it's on the same street as two schools) and the blues are a good challenge for experienced golfers traveling from the metroplex. The several tees also provide additional incentive to make the drive out here as you can play two rounds and have a very different experience each round thanks to the rather different looks at many tees.

The design uses the tree lines very well to create interesting and challenging holes. A few holes play through the tree line (2, 4, 14, 18) while some have you teeing off from the trees into the open or the opposite. There are only a few holes that are completely wide open and even those have a few lone trees here or there to give you an obstacle. The majority of the holes play alongside the line of trees so that you have lots of safe area to go wide. You will be tempted to finish close to the trees to have a close putt but you will regret it if you skip or hyzer into the dense woods as there are practically no chances for a recovery shot other than a pitch out. Most baskets are well protected or at least close to the tree line and only a few are in the middle of the field. Hole 5 has an elevated green and hole 14 has an elevated tee. There are no other elevation changes at all but it is cool that they were able to make use of these two spots. One thing it lacks is holes that put a premium on placement and setting up the next shot, which is disappointing given how many long holes there are. Only holes 4 and 11 really offer fairways where it makes any difference where your first or second shot lands. There are also only two holes (2 and 11) that give you a distinct option off the tee.

Navigation can be tricky the first time through since there are no 'next tee' signs and many blind baskets. Since some of the tees are tucked into the trees they may not be obvious or even visible from the last basket. We played with a local who had played the course several times and he didn't even know that he had been skipping hole 16 (it's on the other side of the tree line from holes 15 and 17; hole 17 looks like the next obvious tee). Definitely bring a map for your first time (or two).

The course is a little rough and intimidating at present due to the tall grass, poison ivy, and dense schule. It should get much better as the course gets broken in but that may take a bit of time since the course is outside of town. I hope they begin mowing wider fairways too.

Overall, I really enjoyed this course and I think that most advanced and open players will too. The land is limited but a good job was done designing fun and challenging holes. I can't wait to see a tournament here and I am very curious how it will be received by that crowd.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
ilovesandwiches
Experience: 13 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 13, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Long Course
Trees in play on every basket
Concrete Tees
Good signs

Not busy at all

Cons:

Poison Ivy
Not really any chances for an ace
City does not mow very often

Other Thoughts:

This is a good course that is totally different than the 2 nearest courses in McKinney. There is a few really long holes that let you use your distance drivers. You never have to wait for anyone as this is not a busy place. This is a new course that will only get better as the city learns how to keep up with a disc golf course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
eegor
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 28.1 years 138 played 28 reviews
3.00 star(s)

MPO friendly 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Three sets of tees, only a few are shared.
The tee positions play significantly different from each other.
Plays from, through or into the tree line on most holes.
Good use of the obstacles that are there.
Lines are forced by design.
Fairways are mowed.
New baskets.
Good signs at blue tees.

Cons:

High grass just off of the fairway. Not shorts or sandals friendly.
Long hole after long hole after long hole, etc.
A long walk from the parking lot to the course.
Very little elevation.
Good signs, but only at blue tees. First time, you'll need to walk to them to see the hole layout and next tee, even if you intend to play the whites or reds.
Most baskets are blind from the tee. (not bad after you know the course).
No benches.
No trash cans.
Very little cover from the heat in summer.

Other Thoughts:

I had a lot of trouble deciding what to rate this course. There is a lot to like about this course as far as playability and the way the course forces all kinds of shots. There is a lot to dislike about the tough walk through high grass (a lot of spear grass) and very little cover from the sun. It took me 1-1/2 hours to play by myself without stopping. It's a long course.

This will be a great course to hold a tournament on. I didn't see any water in the creek, so I doubt you will unless it's rained in the last couple of days. There's a lot of room and few places where you'd spend a lot of time looking for discs or getting in someone else's way. Bring a chair and an umbrella.

This is NOT a beginner friendly course. It's long from the red tees. I played the white tees and threw mostly distance driver, driver, putter - putter. There are plenty of par 4's and long threes. I had only one birdie (on the short and easy #3). The were plenty of holes where I scrambled for par and a few bogeys. It's a good test of disc golfing skill. That's the fun part.

It's a good course and worth travelling to. I prefer Towne Lake and Munson Park over it only because of the tall grass. Otherwise, it complements them well.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 0
OJnBasquits
Experience: 20.1 years 125 played 2 reviews
3.00 star(s)

got that ivey 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

3 TEES 95% concrete at least 1 concrete on each hole. plenty of course to play, long holes and longer ones. 90% blind baskets. Plenty of air to shape your lines.

Cons:

poison ivy within 15 feet of 14 baskets. and I got it! Flat with one basket on a hill. 90% blind baskets. no signs to next hole.

Other Thoughts:

Only played from Xlongs and few longs but the course seem to change greatly from each teebox location. Well utilized space . but I think it could be shorted to make 21 not 18 this might also help the huge hole after hole layout.
Course is located on Both sides of a walking path between the high school and a large park. But there is large wall of trees separating on both sides ( down and back).
This course can definitely decide a battle but careful of the woods when u get in em.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top