• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Houston, TX

Tom Bass Regional Park - Wilmont

2.655(based on 24 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Tom Bass Regional Park - Wilmont reviews

Filter
3 1
danzoll
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Where are the baskets? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This was a great course at one point. Pretty wide open, with lots of long bombs.

Cons:

It's completely fallen into disrepair. I couldn't find a few baskets, one was completely overgrown. The grass was long, made for a long hike. I spent a ton of time looking for discs in the fairways.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
hefalump
Experience: 23 played 19 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good Challenge Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Long holes that make for an excellent practice course to air out a lot of discs in your bag. Trees in just the right places on some holes to make you think about a lot of shots. Set off from the rest of the park for very minimal interruptions while playing. Lots of trash cans and benches at each tee.

Cons:

Upkeep is spotty at best. I have only seen one time where this course was completely mowed this summer. This could be an excellent course if they kept this course up as well as they do Powell. I do not mind playing a course every so often where I have to look for a throw or two, but when a player like myself has to spend at least 5 to ten minutes looking for a disc I have thrown every time due to very tall grass, that gets to be a bit much.

Other Thoughts:

I like this course and that is why I travel more than 40 miles to play it once in a while. And I realize this part of the park probably does not see as much use as the Powell course does, but to let this course go for 2 months without mowing it is ridiculous. If the parks department cannot keep it mowed at least once a month, they ought to contract it out. Playing should be a pleasure not a burden. If this is not a helpful review, it ought to be just to let other players know to come out for Powell and not this one. This is an excellent open championship course when kept mowed. Otherwise, it is just an open field for a player to a lot of discs because of burial in grass that is way too tall.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
bogeymanjr
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.9 years 35 played 24 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Prairie Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 22, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Long holes that make for good long drives. Two baskets up on the hill behind the amphitheater. Lets see...Guess that's just about it for the Pros.

Cons:

Grass was way too high. I had to look for my disc after every throw. I just don't see any real challenge here except that this course has long holes and you practically have to throw your arm out to make par on each hole. This course is comparable to Old Settlers Park in Round Rock in terms of openness alone and the length of some holes. At least there are no 1000 foot holes like there are in Round Rock.

Other Thoughts:

After playing some of the courses in north Houston, this course was somewhat of a disappointment. It was a challenge only in the sense that the holes were as long as they are, the two baskets on the hill providing a good putting challenge, and having to find where my last drive landed. At least I did make it down here to play this course and I did have fun while I was here. And I might even come back again. But having said all I have, I still have found better challenges elsewhere. One thing is for sure: At least I didn't lose any discs this go-round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 3
jimjohnmarks
Experience: 12 played 12 reviews
3.50 star(s)

What Do You Want, Its Houston 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 12, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Yes, this course is mostly about huge distance, but it isn't nearly as boring as Powell (the other course located in this same park) and you don't have to compete with the play ground and picnic users over here.

And unlike many other mostly straight hyzer shot courses around Houston, at least this one offers some challenging distances -- most courses around town are nothing but straight hyzer shots in the 250-350 foot range with no trees.

This course actually does a very good job of working what few trees there are to make use of. #9 isn't "merely" an 800 foot monster, you actually have to pick your line or you're going to spend five throws bouncing off lumber. #14 isn't "merely" an 800 foot monster, you have to curve around a wetlands (if you lose a disc in here, don't even bother violating the signs to try to find it, they seem to vanish into another dimension).

Using the amphitheater hill for #14, #15 and #16 adds a dimension of altitude you can't find on ANY OTHER COURSE IN HOUSTON.

Cons:

Unless you are playing the day after the lawn was mowed, you'll not only never get any skip distance, but it can also become very hard to find your disc.

The par ratings here are nonsense. Why ar people so obsessed with "EVERYTHING PAR THREE BRO"?

If #9, #11, #14 are a par three, then #4 and #10 should be par one or par two at most. These links are far too varied to be all par three.

They should re-number the course so that 1, 2 and 3 are actually 16, 17 and 18. It is totally absurd to make the three most nuanced, finesse shots of the whole round be the three you have to throw when you're arm is still ice cold. These are great links and I hate not being able to enjoy them because I know my arm isn't warmed up and I'm probably going to put a disc in the drink.

The very pretty map has #14 labeled totally incorrectly. Lost 15 minutes trying to find the basket once I rounded the wetlands on the left.

#14 IS UP THE SIDE OF THE HILL TO THE LEFT OF #15 WHICH IS AT THE TOP OF THE HILL. It is not out in the open near the fifteen tee.

Other Thoughts:

Houston simply doesn't have a lot to offer in terms of terrain. It is a flat, flat, flat place and we've cut down pretty much all the trees. And the problem with this is that Houstonian disc golfers get accustomed to a certain kind of course. When they made Texas Army Trail tight, curving and wooded everyone complained until they shortened, widened and straightened it.

You can't play a course like this and then complain it is nothing but a boring "grip and rip" course unless you've never golfed in Houston. As dull as much of this course is, compared to the rest of Houston's offerings, this one is pretty interesting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
windsurf17
Experience: 15 played 10 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Wide open but long 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 18, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

* The "Champion Level" course sign at the parking lot for Wilmont made me a little worried I would struggle on this course (now, see cons)
* Played E in the Amateur scoring on the board (a 64 I think). Not terrible. I'm not going to be getting many 3's on multiple 600+ foot holes...

Cons:

* The "Champion Level" course sign is misleading; this course is only challenging because of the distance in the middle tees. It's wide open and you can really haul off and try to crush if you want. If it weren't for more than a few 600, 700, 800 foot par threes...
* Tough to find my way around. I took a picture of the board with my phone and that helped a lot, but with the long distances, it's hard to see the tees and baskets. I never did find #15 basket and gave myself a generous 4 after 20 minutes of searching.
* No other cons; I played this course on a rainy day where I had played earlier in the day already in Houston and I had a great time. It's disc golf. I was in the area. I'd play it again for sure (with little shade, the rainy day part might be important... on a summer day this could be a bit of a drain)

Other Thoughts:

I played 36 holes on a Wednesday in the middle of December. I'm in the luckiest 99.99999% of people on earth.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
c_a_miller
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 299 played 209 reviews
2.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 13, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

If you want to work on your bombs or try out your new high speed disc, there is no better place to do it then here. The average hole length here is right at 430 so there is plenty of room to air it out.
-This course had some very fun holes especially the two holes that go up and then back down the hill next to the amphitheater plus the 800' hole around the trees.
-If the grass is mowed then navigation is not an issue as most tee signs point directly to the basket and the next tee is not too far away from the basket.
-I have never seen any other disc golfers out here.
-Like Powell there is a map, restrooms, and a water fountain at the parking lot of the course.

Cons:

Once you start at hole #1 and play the first three holes you get the sense that this may be a great course since all three of those holes play in the woods. Once you get out into the open though there is no room for the imagination as everything is fairly straight forward, long, and boring.
-I mentioned that once the grass is mowed it is easy to navigate. ONCE is the key word. The course does not see a routine mowing which can make disc finding very tricky.

Other Thoughts:

Though this course is boring and long in my opinion it is still worth playing. Very few times will a disc golfer be able to play a course that is this long.
Still if you can only play one course, Powell is the one that you should play at this and save this for another day.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
nomex
Experience: 12.1 years 10 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

You need a cannon 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 21, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The Wilmont is a great course to work on distance, with some really long holes. Your driver game better improve if you've been playing this course after a while. Hole 14 seems taylor made for new RHBH players with drivers that are too fast for their arms (i.e. noob hyzers with overstable distance drivers in max weight/premium plastic). Wind is fairly common so the Wilmont is a great course for working with the wind, so you'll get a chance to have some head and tailwinds.
Holes 14,15,and 16 are great for working in a little elevation. Make sure you steer clear from the Wetlands, as your disc may be irrecoverable. When I came to play there was a group finishing, and a foursome ahead of us, so this course may not be in frequent use. This course is an excellent example of how disc golf is used to bring more use out of an otherwise under-utilized part of the park.

My favorite holes are:

1-3 in the woods, as you can set up/luck out with some shots that miraculously make it through trees.

Hole 8 has a nice finish to it with a technical upshot/putt with water hazards behind it.

Hole 14-16 are great fun and the hill of the amphitheater can be seen through the course, like some foreboding castle. Make sure your discs stay away from the wetlands.

Cons:

The negative of the Wilmont course are:

Tall grass - If you lose sight of your disc and it tombstones, you're in for a long search.

Bring a map or someone who's played there before, or you may get lost/confused as to were the holes are.

I wish the tee boxes were at least asphalted but oh well, it'd be tough to get that kind of equipment around here, I guess.

Other Thoughts:

I've heard so much about this course from my buddy, who's been playing since 2001, about how long this course was. I don't take the par 3 6-800 foot holes as a negative, but rather as a challenge to work on my technique so I can increase my distance game. To me, it beats throwing in a field for distance practice, because at least you're playing a round of golf. I played MacGregor Park, TC Jester, and the Powell course, so it's nice to be able to grip and rip without fear of hitting some park users (well, maybe hole 18 if there's a big party). I like throwing a couple extra discs down hole #16 just to see them float forever, and I love throwing my 7speed/7 glide disc at hole 15 just to see it get carried in a tail wind. If you don't like the distance of this course, you can always play the Powell, or even the Woody DGC just a few miles east. Heck, there's a great bike shop/ disc golf store close to Woody as well. Warm up your arm and shoulders, this course is a workout!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 0
Jefflogix
Experience: 13.8 years 29 played 13 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great Course When Mowed and Maintained 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Mix of long holes and some wooded shots, although the longest holes are VERY long. Holes #14, 15, and 16 have elevation changes, using the Ampitheatre hill. Many of the holes require some strategic thinking, due to the openness of the course and the tendency to find a lot of wind, which can shift from different directions, depending on the day. Course markings have improved, since some of the negative reviews here. When it is mowed, I actually prefer this course to Jack Brooks. There are a few hazards, but you are generally not at risk of losing a disc if you play them "safe." Course is generally well marked, but it helps to print out the map from this site, if this is your first time.

Cons:

The biggest negative for me is the tall grass and weeds (with barbs and thorns), and having to wade through them on long holes. The second negative is that after a big rain, there is not much good drainage, and so you have a lot of standing water and the tee boxes can get really muddy. It would be much better if this course had nice cement tee boxes, like at Jack Brooks, but this is only really an issue when it is muddy. There are some VERY long holes, so tackling this course can make for a longer than usual hike. Take that into consideration.

Other Thoughts:

Just like it's sister course at Tom Bass - Powell, this course would be a great course (probably even better than Powell) IF it were regularly mowed and well maintained and had better drainage and better tee boxes. That said, this is generally the lesser maintained of the two. I generally choose Powell over Wilmont simply because it is so uncomfortable to have your legs eaten up by long weed (not really grass). At least Powell's long grass is generally some form of grass instead of the obnoxious weeds you generally have to walk through at Wilmont. Wilmont has the potential to be a very great course, and it is a blast to play it every once in a while, when it has been mowed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
srm_520
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 20.2 years 156 played 142 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Perfect Spot for States...17 years ago. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 20, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Besides the Power Nine at Spring Valley DGC, Tom Bass offers the best consistently long open shots in the area. The length comes in at almost 8000', so it's not for the faint of heart. However, the Wilmont still integrates a few shorter technical holes to open your round, and then ends with its strongest and most memorable holes from #14 through #18. I love the big elevated shot off of #16, however a windy day can major headaches on the hill.

The course is easy to follow, even without the good signage, there is ample parking, and the place is usually pretty desolate. Basically, unless you plan on visiting during States, you'll maybe see one or two other players during a round.

BEST HOLE/S: #14; #16

Cons:

My personal con is unless you're a power player or pro - this course isn't really designed for you. I remember the first time playing here years ago remembering how frustrated I was that took three good shots and I still was looking at a long putt to save bogey. As I've improved, life isn't quite that bad now - but my point it, the feel of this course may not appeal to the majority of casual players.

The pads are natural and in average to below average shape depending on the weather. There's not much thinking involved besides grip it and rip it, and unless you're playing around the time of the Texas States Tournament - the grass is usually high and the course generally haphazard. Combine that with hot Texas summers and this shadeless course makes you feel like you're walking the African Savannah rather than enjoying a round of golf.

WORST HOLE/S: #5; #6

Other Thoughts:

I personally think Wilmont is the better of the two courses with more memorable holes, slightly more diverse shot selection, and the overall grip and rip it feeling. Sure, Tom Bass has been eclipsed in recent years by better courses in the surrounding area, but if you can overlook the obvious negatives and like wide open power shots and - it doesn't get much better. Come right after states, and you'll find a well groomed course ready for a solid round.

However, having said that - I still can't figure out why Tom Bass should still be the host of Texas States. There are just so many better courses out there in Houston (Move it to Jacks Brooks and level the playing field a bit), let alone the state of Texas that have simply left Bass in their wake. I understand the distance factor, but if that's the main issue - go have yourself a tournament in a wheat field with baskets - there's not much difference. Bottom line, I like the Wilmont, but I just enjoy most other 18-hole Houston courses better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
scuddyp4
Experience: 17.1 years 32 played 11 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Wilmonster 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 27, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

I was really surprised how much I liked this course. Especially after reading some of the reviews on here. There are so many things about this course that I love.
-This course has a good variety of holes.
-The first 3 are slightly wooded (not like Spring Valley or Jack Brooks wooded, but slightly wooded). Which is nice because the rest of the course is pretty open. I love that this course has long holes. I mean like 800' long. This is not something that we find too much of in the area.
-It's great for getting to know your distance drivers a little better. I have gained at least 75 feet on my drives in the last month alone.
-Even on the longer holes there are still a fair amount of trees to contend with, but there are plenty of ways to get to most most baskets.
-Rarely anyone there. I have played this course about 10 times over the past 3 weeks and have seen 3 DGers total. Even on the weekends (Saturday morning at 9:30 am) I didn't see anyone there.
-The holes on the amphitheater are really challenging. Especially 14. The basket for that sits on the side of a hill. Similar to # 8 at the bayou.
-Throwing off the top of the amphitheater on 16 is pretty awesome too. It's a 600' hole that drops about 40' in elevation in the first 75' of the hole.
-There are benches and trashcans in close proximity (some are about 50'-75' away) to all of the boxes.
-The restrooms at the pavilion by the parking lot are pretty nice.
-The course was pretty easy for me to navigate my first time out and I didn't have a map. You will probably have trouble seeing some of the baskets on the longer holes but I think most are visible without having to look too hard.
-Overall I think this course has a lot of pros.

Cons:

-Tee boxes. They are natural but that's not really the issue. About half of them have really tall weeds growing around the post, so you may need to throw a little left or right of where the post is. This park is so huge I think they just rarely get weed-eaters in there. The tee area really isn't that bad as far as ruts go. I think this is because this course gets such little traffic.
-For some the lack of other DGers is a con. So I will add that in this section as well.
-Despite the fact that there are trashcans all over the place on this course, there was still a good bit of trash on the first 3 or 4 holes. One you get further into the course it's not a problem.
-No updated map on course. The map that is there is of the old layout I assume. It is not accurate for how the course plays now.
-No tee signs. Most holes will have the distance on the post, but signs usually add a little extra to the course. Overall not a huge deal.

Other Thoughts:

I just started playing this course about a month and half ago and have to say that it is one of my new favorite courses in the Houston area. I hesitated playing this course for a very long time because of the negative reviews on here. Those reviews, however, are from a while back. If you haven't played this course before, I would suggest that you give it a shot. Beginners all the way up to advanced will enjoy this course. It's a great course to work on throwing longer. My overall distance has changed pretty dramatically since I started playing here. If you don't play it then I will continue to enjoy it and you will miss out on a great course. Hope to see you out there though!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
whosnext
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Tom Bass Willmont 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 30, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This course is very challenging. The layout is made for pros who can throw 450ft+. This course is not for begginers the reason no one plays this course it is simply too hard for them. It is an excellant course for an advanced player to test his skills. The first 4 holes are birdie holes. The first two play along side a creek, go left and lose your disc. Even though they are birdie holes they are not easy. holes 5 & 6 are long the trees get in your way so you cant just let it rip with out some control. Hole 7 pretty simple straight shot about 350ft. Hole 8 is my favorite. Plays through trees and the basket is about 5 feet away from a 20ft ledge down to the drink. It takes a 325ft shot that wont go left to give you about 100ft approach that if it goes left your wet. Hole 9 Long very hard three even for the pros. Hole 10 short righty birdie. 11 another long hole trees come into play to make it a very hard three. 12 & 13 not much too them. 14 very long very hard 1000ft with wetlands out of bounds on your left the whole way trees on your right makes a long hole very tough to pull off a four. 15 plays up on a hill 50 ft high to make a nice birdie hole difficult because of the elevation change. 16 plays off the top of the hill making the 600+ft hole very parable and nice to watch the disc fly off the top of the hill. 17 350ft with trees to go through 18 plays through thick woods but birdieable. During the 2002 worlds I asked Ken Climo what he thought of the course and he said the Willmont was the only challenging course here.

Cons:

Not much shade, lots of bugs plays long. Not much wind block so on a windy day very hard course.

Other Thoughts:

Very hard to shoot a 54 even if your a pro. Great place to work on your game. Lots of long approach and long shots that have to have enough control to negotiate the trees. If you have a cannon for an arm this course is for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
feralpanda
Experience: 2 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Perspectives from a beginner 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Lots of open areas to practice big drives and throws (especially for a newbie like myself). Some up- and downhill shots which are pretty rare in the Houston area. Rarely busy, and unlike the Powell, most of the people on that side of the park that are BBQing are only at the very edge of the first hole, not in the middle and next to 4 different ones.

Cons:

Some pretty long holes for a beginner. Gave me lots of practice at really winding up but a couple of holes were a little discouraging considering I call a 200ft drive phenomenal. LOTS of bugs (bring some DEET), few snakes but pretty reasonable considering how much water is usually standing in the area. I can agree with many past reviewers in that 1) the course map at the park is outdated and 2) the "flow" of the layout is not at all intuitive. Now that I've walked it once, however, I'm pretty sure it would come right back to me. Oh, and wear sunscreen...the length of time you'll be walking on the Wilmont coupled with the brutal Houston sun will equal a gnarly sunburn if you aren't careful!

Other Thoughts:

Admittedly, I had avoided the Wilmont for almost a year based on others' reviews and lore on the internet about how long, hard, and boring it can be. Compared to the Powell, it IS pretty long and not quite as accommodating to the beginner...however, I had a blast on it and I got a lot of chances to try different discs and work on my power throws. I'm not sure I'll play the Wilmont/Powell courses 50/50 but when I'm throwing by myself it might be where I end up so that I can continue working on some of the finesse holes and complete lack of rush considering there are rarely people on this side of Tom Bass. Overall, I'm glad I finally played this course and I'd recommend trying it to anyone in the area if you're looking for a fun...but long game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Roc1Time
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23 years 131 played 118 reviews
2.00 star(s)

The Wilmonster 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 22, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

You can throw just about any shot that you want to and probably get away with it due to it being open and longer then its brother. Its an OK course but thats about it. There is never anyone here which should probably tell you something about it. I think that too many people are bagging on this course like its the longest course in the world but its not that long, its just boring. There are a couple of good holes here but they are few and far between. This course will make your drives and your upshots better because you will use both on almost every hole here.

Cons:

Once again this course is very flat and has even less shade then its brother making for even more of a misrable time. The pasture holes are extremely boring and very redundent. This course holds water as well.

Other Thoughts:

The worst of the two but you can always play to check it off your list and then be done. I think that I am done with these two courses and will try many of the other courses in the area next time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
JAFFY
Experience: 15.2 years 12 played 5 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 8, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Some have complained about the length of the course but about half the holes are b/w 280-360'. It's nice to really unleash but there are enough scattered trees that you can't simply shoot and holler sheet. Really feels like you're playing 3 different courses. Holes, 1, 2, 3, 8, and 18 are all finesse holes. Holes 14, 15, 16 utilize the elevation change similar to Terramont in the Woodlands-with hole 17 going across a creek (albeit dry). The other holes remind me of a longer/less treed version of Moffitt.

Cons:

Have to rehash what others say about the baskets not being marked/painted, etc. For the most part, holes 4-11 are in an open pasture with trees that make each hole look identical when you're panning the course trying to spot the basket. I had the map printed from the links/files but I often found myself just unleashing in the direction according to the map but would find myself in spots that I would have avoided if I knew exactly where the basket was. Definitely cost me strokes. The tall grass wasn't as bad as others have reviewed. Of course, this could be with the lack of rain or a recent mow. Only hole that I had issues with was around the basket of #7-b/w knee and waste high.

Other Thoughts:

This was my first time playing. I had the map on links/files but it got a bit wrinkled in my bag. Don't play the course without it if you're a first timer. Also, note that #14's basket is on the left side of the hill of the theatre and #15's is the on top of the hill in plain sight. I got the two confused. The wind can pose some throwing problems but it really keeps the mosquitoes at bay. Mowing has caused some major ruts that could twist a few ankles. I really wanted to bump up the rating but soemthing needs to be done about baskets/signs/directions around the course beyond the map.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 1
ChrisMacG
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.5 years 221 played 33 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Looooooooooong course 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 20, 2009 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

A super long course that has a variety of challenging holes. For the most part the bordering creek doesn't threaten too many discs. Playing off the amphitheater hill is good fun too. It's the biggest hill in the area.

Cons:

The biggest issue with this course is spotting the baskets. Every hole could be made better if someone were just to paint the poles a visible color.

In the fall and winter this course can be very wet, it just doesn't drain well so prepare for wet feet. The course will take you a long way from your car so pack enough to drink.

Other Thoughts:

The park is heavily monitored by the police and they'll bust you for bringing beer on the course, or speeding on the roads or having expired tags.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
abdude
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Maybe not for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 10, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Wilmonster is a long course, and gives novice and open players plenty of length to air out big shots. In addition, the course does have a technical aspect that requires plenty of shots including forehand, tomahawks, pancakes, rollers, and of course monster backhands. There is never any traffic on this course unless a tournament is being played, and even then, you don't have to wait long. This is my home course, I live 2 miles away, and I play at least 2 times a week, I never run in to crowds or knee deep grass like some of the other reviewers have mentioned on here. The highest the grass has ever been, and I play this course all the time, was up to my calves in some spots. The park maintenence does a fine job of mowing, and not disturbing the baskets etc. I have even seen them mow around the basket even lower to give it a true green feel to the hole.

Cons:

Weak armed reviewers bashing a great course, and lying about it's upkeep. Don't you like to be challenged? If not, stay at your pitch and putt course. The only negative review that I will agree with is that the Wilmont does take time to drain after a lot of rain, but that is why god made aqua socks and waterproof boots!

Other Thoughts:

I actually think this is a great course for every disc golf player, because you get such a variety of shots forced upon you, that you have to practice them to be successful here. I have been playing this beautiful game for 20 years, and would recommend the Wilmont to anyone looking to learn how to play, or to increase their abilities!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 2
lyleoross
Experience: 28.5 years 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wilmont 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 21, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

The Wilmont is a deceptive course. Many players look at it and feel it is a bad course because of it's open nature. The Wilmont only feels open unless you have a decent throw (350 feet should be considered decent). Then it gets tight in a hurry. To score low on this course you have to plan drive to drive on the big holes. There are often multiple routes to take and matching your throws with those routes is key. Great utilization of the trees that are out there forces a game plan to account for what's there to work the lowest score. If your goal is simply to get through the course, you will be disappointed, if your goal is throw a good score, the course is well laid out to challenge your game.

The Wilmont has several very good holes including # 2, #8, the reworked #7 and #18 Holes #8 and #18 are comparable with some of the best holes in the country.

Cons:

Wind damage and maintenance. It is unfortunate that a large number of key trees that serve to make this a unique and challenging course have been lost over the years with a large number going during Ike. More importantly, the parks department pays little heed to this course and it often goes unmowed. To further exacerbate the problem, when they do mow they are likely to clip and damage the baskets, tee signs and benches.

Other Thoughts:

The Willy is undergoing a restructuring and clean up in preparation for Texas States 09. Those changes are improving some holes and will help with the overall use of the course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
DaveMarkel
Experience: 15.7 years 3 played 3 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Course has potential but falls flat 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 29, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is challenging with a lot of long drives. The course offers wooded areas and little foot traffic in the field.

Cons:

Difficult to find parking and the course needed some TLC. The grass was severely overgrown and it was difficult to find tees. If you are going you will definitely have to print out a map. Hole one has moved to an unknown location to make way for a cricket field. Holes are not laid out in a sequential manner.

Other Thoughts:

While this course offers long drives it is in desperate need of some mowing and TLC. This course has the potential to be really great but the high grass and missing holes make this course a dud.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 7
gsuslikesme
Experience: 15.7 years 10 played 7 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Pass me the binoculars 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Dec 1, 2008 Played the course:once

Pros:

It has a few good holes. When you start out you are thinking "wow this is really fun, look how holes #1 - #3 are right here by these trees, this is a really nice course" But wait...what is this...#4?

Cons:

"Which basket? oh ok, I see it. #5 what 500 feet in this cow pasture? Ugh, that is extremely long in this wind...ok, its just one hole. #6 555 ...really...555 feet...really?!? #7 and #8 ahh here we go back to normal fun disc golf. #9 785 FEET!!! are you kidding me? I'm ready to go home now... Hole #11, 711 feet #12, 600 feet #14, the most ridiculous hole in all of disc golf, the big maamahjamma, The sign by the tee box said "1035 feet", but I think it was more like 1/2 mile! Really Mr. Wilmont...are you really that guy that put put the 1000 foot hole on your course?!? Though #16 is a 600 foot hole, you get to throw from the top of a hill that is the back side of an amphitheater, that was kinda fun. And we finish up in the trees again on #18 and we walk around and act like nothing unusual ever happened...but it did.

Other Thoughts:

Do you get the impression that this course is just a little long? If you have just recently begun playing disc golf, I implore you, do not play this course!!! You will hate the game, give it up, and go back to collecting comic books and stay fat. Please for the good of the game and your own unhealthy existence, don't do it man...

I am getting a lot of thumbs down...but that is ok it is just restless natives who looooove to play this course because they really like to throw their disc a very very long way over and over. I do however stand by my review. If you will look at other reviews on this course you will notice that the negative ones get thumbs down a lot. I wonder if there are a lot of native Wilmontonians that come on here???
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 5
Dude
Experience: 24.7 years 241 played 15 reviews
0.50 star(s)

Overgrown and not much else 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 16, 2007 Played the course:once

Pros:

I really can't think of any. I have a pretty big arm and I have no problem blasting some long throws...but to just throw long for the sake of throwing long gets boring after a hole or two.

Cons:

After driving around in the huge park we located the large map. Had I known it would be so difficult to navigate the course I would have taken a picture of the sign because after hole 2 it was almost ridiculous. The first two holes were easy birdie runs through some trees covered in poison ivy. The next tee required some serious searching we managed to find a tiny marker that I'm guessing was the 3rd tee then we walked through some waist high weeds and found the basket after a few more minutes of searching. After that it got difficult. After the basket there was a pseudo-path to a spot that overlooked a field with thigh high weeds with no fewer than 5 visible baskets. We waited for the next group to catch up to point out the proper basket. So we played the next hole then that group left for the other course. We skipped the next few holes to go play the signature hole which was ok at best. Then there were another few holes that were no more than just huge throws across an overgrown field. By this time we were fed up so we played the ace run hole up the hill and then the lackluster downhill throw. Then we left.

Other Thoughts:

I'm not saying it's terrible and maybe with some clearer course directions and a thorough mowing this might be fun for some advanced to pro players. But for any new players, even with a good mow, this course would be utterly brutal. And with the humidity and heat in Houston, this really wouldn't be much fun for even the most diehard player.

Update: This seems to be getting lots of thumbs downs. I guess I've offended the local course for a few people. I stand by the review though. The course was horribly overgrown, had unclear directions, was too open and just plain boring. There is just very little risk reward for shots here. I have the same issues with some of the holes at Old Settlers in Round Rock, though that is much better maintained.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top