McKinney, TX

Towne Lake DGC

4.095(based on 60 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Towne Lake DGC reviews

Filter
11 0
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.6 years 309 played 235 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Towne Lake

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 13, 2024 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- Multiple tees (good sized concrete) on most holes (16 of 19, I believe) and multiple pin positions on 18 of 19 holes.
-- Land is good for disc golf, and it's well used. Tons of trees and modest elevation are well used. Water in play on more than half of the holes. It's a creek, so there aren't a lot of big water carries, but the drop into the creek is 20-30 feet with steep banks, so there is definitely danger there. Eight from the long tee is the signature hole on the course. It's 238 or 266 feet depending on the pin location but throws directly over a wide corner of the creek with trees on the far side. Two is also really good with the direct line to the basket going just over the corner of the creek about 300 feet from the tee. The grass was tall enough the last time I played that you couldn't see the creek from the tee.
-- Great distance variation. Depending on the pad you choose and the basket location, you can have 9 holes shorter than 250 feet and five holes longer than 500 feet. The shorter holes mostly come early, with five of the first six holes potentially playing 250 or shorter.
-- Map at Hole 1.

Cons:

-- Tee signs are missing on nearly half of the holes, and a couple that are present are unreadable.
-- Seating is only available at a few tee pads.
-- No. 12 fairway has standing water and mud beyond that almost all of the time.
-- No restrooms or water at the course. This is a big park, so those amenities might be elsewhere in the park.

Other Thoughts:

-- The original hole 16 was the longest hole on the course, potentially longer than 700 feet. However, the two tees and two pins have been divided into holes 15A and 16, each with one tee pad and one basket. Fifteen is about 200 feet, slightly downhill over the wide part of creek runoff with trees and limbs making for a tricky approach to the basket.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 1
AequitasVeritas
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 24.3 years 70 played 20 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Tree River? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 30, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Multiple pins/pads
-Bonus holes sometimes to the right of hole 1
-Plenty of parking
-Shoe cleaners
-Tons of trash cans
-Great use of the land
-Hole 16 long

Cons:

-Mud is awful after a rain
-Creek is hungry for discs, difficult to find at times

Other Thoughts:

Towne Lake is fast becoming my favorite course on the East side of DFW. If you want a fairly simple, fun round, play the shorts. If you want your entire game to be challenged, play the longs. Every once in a while, and I totally forgot to look the last time I was there, there are a few temp baskets chained up on the right side of 1. These holes are super fun as well.

The course will test a few of the basic disc golf skills - from turn overs, side arms, flex shots, and how to throw a putter accurately. The baskets are decent, well used, but they still catch the plastic great.

The creek comes into play the front 9. The back 9 gives you a few holes of reprieve, then sends you right back to the creek. The massive trees are beautiful and it's very easy to lose yourself in the landscape as you're wandering around tossing plastic.

If you are in DFW towards the NE side, you must give Towne Lake a try. It's completely worth the trek if you're on the west side as well!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
JosephHBrowning
Experience: 17 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

First time playing - Will be back. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Extremely well taken care of course. Technical but a few open holes as well. Old growth trees with incredible teepads and teesigns on all the holes. Two sets of teepads on each hole, #16 is the only gigantic difference in teeing off. Easy access from the highway, but extremely quiet and serene play. Challenging but rewarding all at the same time. Almost no poison oak or ivy that I could spot for such a wooded course, I was surprised.

Cons:

There is a creek running through the course that EATS discs. It's part of the game, but I wish there was a way to easily access the creek to retrieve discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
tyler4coop
Experience: 20 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Wooded course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 24, 2016 Played the course:once

Pros:

Enjoyable course. Good signage and concrete boxes. Offers different throws and challenges. Has a unique feeling of being in a forest with no idea which way is the parking lot. Definitely worth playing.

Cons:

Some of the signs were knocked down. Even though they offer two tee boxes there is not a very big difference in between them.

Other Thoughts:

Heavily wooded course and you must stick to the fairway to make par. Bring lots of water.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
Elimster
Experience: 15 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

There is a creek 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 21, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Really a nice course. The first I've seen with concrete footings for the goals. The shots are mostly long shots, bring your distance disks. Nice signage and good tee pads.

Cons:

The goals are not painted. It's hard to pick out the goal at a distance and some of these holes are quite long.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 2
brekko
Experience: 16.6 years 51 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great Disc Golf Experience 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 5, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging and rewarding at the same time. Playing well you will find several holes that are birdiable and some holes that you will need to fight to make a par (3).

- Each type of shot will be tested over the course of the round.
- Alternate basket locations for each hole.
- Good Signage
- Well maintained holes and teepads.
- Convenient access to hole 1 from the parking lot.

Cons:

Pretty arduous journey, and in some months be wary of snakes and other wildlife. It wanders through forested areas with stagnant and running water alike.

The only change I would like from this course to a perfect course is that a place to only play a few holes and leave were accessible, once you play beyond hole 3 you are essentially pretty far out for the rest of the round.

Other Thoughts:

Make sure you have a full compliment of discs along with you as you will need every shot in your arsenal and probably a few backups if you are playing the lines tight to the creek.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 0
wake_rider
Experience: 13.1 years 21 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Fantastic Layout 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Great mixture of lefts and rights.

-Perfect mixture of heavily wooded lines that force particular lines and long, open shots that let you air it out.

-Very good teepads with great signage.

-Plenty of benches and trash receptacles.

-Very friendly locals that we ran into.

-Beautiful old growth trees with thick canopy up high.

-Nice variation with pin locations and gold-vs-red tee's.

-Plenty of parking.

-The course was very clean and well maintained.

-Great use of incorporating the ever-daunting but clear and clean, fast-flowing stream that runs throughout the course.

-Pin locations made upshots very important as many baskets were dangerously close to heavy woods/brush, and also to the very deep banked stream.
-Heavily shaded by canopy through the majority of the course.

-Baskets are in great condition.

-Not all par 3's! They have thrown in holes that change up the par 3 repetition, and that's always nice.

Cons:

-This place gets very sticky and muddy. The mud is like glue to your hands, discs, and feet. I tried my best to clear out the mud off my shoes before getting on the teepads, but it was seriously difficult and made for a few high releases because of slipping on your pivot foot.

-It was pretty busy when we were playing, so there was a good amount of waiting though it was not obnoxious. Just be aware and prepared. It might be for a longer than normal round.

-Mud, mud, and more mud. The beautiful canopy above you in all the old growth trees makes drying this place out a very long process.

-Quite a lot of poison ivy, but it makes sense with the damp conditions.

-A lot of the baskets are blind from the teepad, so knowing if the basket is in the A, B, or C position takes a walk to look ahead fairly often. Some type of moveable marker on the sign would help out a lot.

-Though the boxed concrete bases for the pins do nicely to solidly plant the pin in place, they also wreck your putters and softer plastics that so happen to impact them. I have quite a few new, very deep scars on my discs from impacting the sharp edges of the concrete.

-If you go in the beautiful but deep and swift stream, say goodby to your disc. It's a goner.

Other Thoughts:

Really, this is a fantastic course. They received about an inch of rain 2 days prior to my arrival, so that could certainly be the culprit for the sticky muddy conditions. However, it seems to me that this course has a lot of the symptoms of a place that does not dry out very often (poison ivy, mud pads before every teepad, deep leafy brush, etc..)

However, if you allow some of those annoyances to keep you from playing this course, you are doing yourself quite the disservice; just bring bug spray, long pants, and a few towels. If you prepare for it, you should love this course.

This course is an enjoyable walk as it is in a VERY NICE park with great water features and beautiful bridges plus having the always present old-growth trees just makes for a very pleasant location to play.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Slimrn
Experience: 10.2 years 18 played 15 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Beautiful and Wild 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 15, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Lots of mature trees make for a scenic round.

-Great tees with boot scrapers! More courses need boot scrapers after playing this place. The signs are also very nice.

-Great use of water and space.

-Nice long course.

Cons:

-The grass is very long making it hard to find discs and making skips an imaginary happening.

-Hard to get down to creek if you go in. Even harder to get back up.

-Poison ivy and snakes.

-No elevation.

-Hole 18 is basically roller only, way too many trees!

Other Thoughts:

-This place would benefit from some way to know which position currently holds the pin.

-Warm up at Alex Clarke and head over here!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
eloveless
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Towne Lake Review 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Very good signs to show you the hole layout.
Most holes are shaded.
Challenging, but not to the point were you are frustrated as a beginner.

Cons:

You don't know if the baskets are in pin A or pin B. You have to scope out the basket before teeing off sometimes because of this.
Creek is very DEEP down.
SNAKES

Other Thoughts:

This was my first time to play this course. I have been playing dg for about 6 months or so. I thought this course was hard, but not to the point were you want to quit. Course makes you use shots you are not use to. Good mixtures of short/long holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
sidewinder22
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17.7 years 302 played 198 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good challenge on flat ground 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

18 holes with sweet dual concrete tees and pads to scrape off mud. Multiple pins. Good mix of shots around the creek and varied distances. Tee signs were ok and navigation wasn't too bad first time here. Nice course map by hole 1's tee by parking lot. Good use of risk vs reward on some holes.

Cons:

Mud which seems typical with the area courses. High potential for disc lost due to rough and creek. Lots of poison ivy and mosquitoes. I image moccasins are prevalent around the creek bed.

Other Thoughts:

The course is fairly secluded from the park. There were some people on hole 2 and 18 but not a big deal. I ran into a couple nice locals that helped me find a lost disc in the rough on hole 13. I lost a couple discs here in the creek. No way I was going after them and not sure I really could get to them. I didn't realize the water extended past the first row of trees on hole 16. The poison ivy was pretty bad in some of the rough.

Towne Lake definitely provides some good challenge and variety of shots. However with the course being so flat it's hard to get that excited about it and didn't have a whole lot of fun factor. This is not really a fault or con due the available terrain, but just a personal preference of mine. Perhaps if I was a local DFW player I'd appreciate the course a little more.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 0
mashnut
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.2 years 831 played 777 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Good lines, bad mud 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course plays through a large wooded area with little interference from other park activities. A handful of holes play relatively open, most with some good distance and areas of brush to stay out of. The rest of the course plays through tall trees with limited underbrush. There are lots of different lines to hit, mostly with trees rather than brush to contend with if you miss your line.

The creek comes into play on a bunch of shots, it'll definitely punish you for missing your landing zone with an ob shot or at least a tricky lie trying to get out of the deep creek bed. The distance variety is nice here, some ace runs and some long shots that still make you hit a gap or landing zone.

Dual large concrete tees are nice, all are plenty big and grippy. At least half of the holes offer pretty different lines from the two tees, and most have a decent distance differential. Both sets of tees have fantastic signs with hole layout and distance along with a marker for the next tee. The course map by the parking lot is a nice touch. Dual pin positions change up the layout a little, and up the replay value.

Cons:

There are several blind shots or holes where it's tough to tell what position the pin is in from the tee, I'd like to see some way of marking current pin locations so you don't have to walk up the fairway to scout them. The course is very flat, so you don't get any fun elevation shots, and the drainage is pretty poor.

The ground is some of the stickiest mud I've seen, and it seems to stay wet for a while after rain. It felt like I was dragging 10lbs of mud around on each foot after the first couple steps. There are some spots where it's pretty impossible to get down to the creek to retrieve a disc, and when there's much water flowing it can get murky and make it impossible to find a shot that went in the water.

Other Thoughts:

This is a challenging and interesting course that pairs great with the easier and less punishing course just across the highway. Beginners might find this one a little long, and the creek can be a bit daunting for less accurate players. More experienced throwers will find some nice tests here, and with the variety of two sets of tees and two pin positions (hopefully changed somewhat regularly) you can mix things up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
Fast Eddie
Experience: 12.5 years 18 played 5 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 7, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

great course holes are not to long but longer than alex p clark just across the highway witch is a great course for beginners .concrete teeboxes & dual pin locations at each hole.

Cons:

watch out for the creeks !!!!!!!!!

Other Thoughts:

i must dissagree with the review made by dchirish123
"Pros: Intermidiate level player with 4 years experience. Very demanding and technical. Only a experience golfer should attempt this course. Must have a big arm for most holes and be acurate."
i have only been playing since mid september 2011 much less than the 4 years exp he speaks of & play the course very well donot be discoureged by that review.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 5
mike_james
Experience: 16 years 54 played 19 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Chamionship Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 26, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Gets better everytime I play it. 2 tees for most holes gives this place a fun and challenging look from the shorts and longs. Nice 2 course setup with Alex Clark right across 75. Well maintained, easy to navigate. Championship course.

Cons:

Stays muddy for a while after the rain, no big deal though. Poison ivy and snakes. Nothing to be afraid of, just keep your eyes open.

Other Thoughts:

Great course, go warm up at Alex Clark, then take your whole game over to town lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
dreadlock86
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 17 years 383 played 318 reviews
4.00 star(s)

great course! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 10, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-dual concrete tees, great signage
-dual pin positions and baskets in good condition
-mud matts at each tee, needed on this course!
-lots of great holes, variety of distance and terrain
-lots of hole shapes but the premium is on accuracy and straight shots that stay in the fairway
-ranges from wooded tunnels to semi-open bombs
-most holes have trees, all have punishing rough off the fairway
-creek winds through course, in play on several holes
-practice basket, course map, plenty of parking
-huge park with other amenities
-close to I-75, across the highway from Alex Clark

Cons:

-course gets flooded and boggy after a rain
-flat, little elevation, welcome to texas
-a few places in the creek are pretty inaccessible if you toss a disc in
-can get repetitive in the middle section of the course
-rough is rough
-poison ivy

Other Thoughts:

This is a great tournament level course only a mile from McKinney's other course, Alex Clark Memorial. It is uses the land available well throughout the mostly wooded terrain. There is a good variety of distances but a fairly uniform density of trees throughout. Most holes have a well-defined, semi-open fairway framed with heavy woods. Lots of tunnel-like shots and many right leaning fairways.

The dual tees and pin positions up the replay value here and the signs are the excellent Houck ones with the detailed maps. The navigation is pretty simple and there is a good course flow but the holes get a little repetitious in the middle of the course.

I really enjoy playing here during the summer. The woods provide great shade from the sun and heat and the course is usually dry. The wet season is problematic as the course is flat and right next to a large creek. It floods easily and stays boggy for a long time.

Definitely one of the best courses on the east side of the metroplex. McKinney has a great local scene and it is obvious that the course is well cared for. Lots of minis, great players around, and the local club presence is visible.

A great course to pair with Alex Clark for a day of discing. I like to warm up at AC since it's an older, shorter course, then hit Town Lake. Definitely worth checking out and a great option for your weekly if you're in the north Dallas area.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
lajoie24
Experience: 12.8 years 30 played 18 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Best Course in the Area? 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 13, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This course is carved out of the McKinney forest. You'll use and need a backhand, side arm and overhand shot to master this impressive 18. Between the constant trees to negotiate and the creek with the 20+ foot drop off following the front nine, you'll need a precision game. If it doesn't break you, this course is sure to make you a better player. The multiple basket locations and concrete tee boxes offer a wonderful variety of looks on each hole. If you have a little skill, this is a "must play" course.

Cons:

Very few holes have shots where you thoughtlessly see how far you can throw your disc. The course can become a bit claustrophobic for the "grip it and rip it"/big arm types

Other Thoughts:

Bring a "Golden Retriever"....unless you're the Indiana Jones type that doesn't mind a little mud.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
NerdlyPeabody
Experience: 13.7 years 3 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 6, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Well planned out course, great signage, lots of shade, rarely crowded. multiple tees that make sense, vaiety of shots.

Cons:

Lots of trees equals lots of disc dings for me. The creek can be very deep and fast moving depending on recent weather and you see it a lot in this course.

Other Thoughts:

Definitely my favorite in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
i_throw_bricks
Experience: 16.1 years 7 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Among DFW's best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Challenging enough to hone your skills without being too frustrating for beginners.
-Beautiful, wooded course with lots of shade.
-Trash cans conveniently placed throughout the course.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Best signage of any course I have played so far, including arrows on the map pointing you to the next tee.
-Wide variety of shots. Most holes finish right, so it does force you to dig into your shot selection a little more if you are RHBH.
-Well-maintained when I played it.
-Two tee pads on most holes adds variety and additional challenge.

Cons:

-The creek. Thought it adds something asthetically, its banks are very steep and they are soft dirt, so climbing back up them after retrieving a disc is a chore.
-Too many short holes. I like easy pars and birdies as much as the next guy, but no course should have more than one hole under 200 feet in my opinion and this one has one hole that is 170 feet and two that are barely over 200.
-On most holes, the "long" tee pad is only a few feet from the "short" tee pad. While they have slightly more challenging lines, there could be more difference on some of them.

Other Thoughts:

This is an excellent course for players of any skill level. It is particularly strong for players who are looking to refine their finesse game. It's scenic and shaded, which is a big bonus in the Texas heat. All in all this course is top 2 in DFW.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Notorious21
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 13.6 years 103 played 48 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Lefty's Dream 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:May 19, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Great tee boxes & signs
- Challenging, some variety
- Woods = little wind, nice shade

Cons:

- Almost every single hole finishes right, so lefties would love this; righties, get good at your forehand or leave your overstable drivers at home
- Little elevation change
- Creek has very tall, steep banks, difficult to retrieve from
- High grass

Other Thoughts:

This course must have been developed by a bitter lefty, I can't see any other reason why nearly every hole has the pin to the right of the main throwing lane. If you are a righty and want to really work on your forehand, this is the course to do it on.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by zeromiles2empty
Thanks for the review! Just to let you know the course was developed by righties. Depending on the pin position some holes will be turnovers. Can't really help on the tall grass issue, but repeated phone calls to the city may help. Not throwing into the creek also helps with retrieval. :)
7 0
strain
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.9 years 42 played 40 reviews
4.00 star(s)

One Of The Best In Dallas! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 16, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a fun and challenging course from the beginning to the end. There is great variety of short and long shots with well defined fairways. Trees are a big factor when playing here adding great challenge to each hole and keeping most of the course in the shade. There are plenty of bomber holes and still a few chances to get some birdies or Aces. There are multiple concrete tee pads for different skill levels that are just the right size to get a good run up. The signs are really nice, providing you with all the hole information and and also directing you to the next tee.There are different pin locations on all holes and a creek does come into play adding a great challenge to some holes. This park is very clean and well maintained with plenty of trash cans throughout most of the course. This is a really clean course, I didn't see any trash at all when I played here. You can really tell that the locals put a lot of pride in there course. There is a course map at the beginning of the course to check out before you play your round. Navigation on this course is fairly easy, with each hole flowing very well from hole to hole. The course has plenty of parking and restrooms on sight.

Cons:

The brush is very thick off the fairway so a good drive is very important. Otherwise it is very easy to loose a disc.

Other Thoughts:

This is a top notch course in the Dallas area. This is a must play course if you are in the area. The course is long and tough and is ready to give you a awesome disc golf experience that you have been waiting for. This is a more of a professional course and beginners will be challenged.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 3
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.1 years 1717 played 564 reviews
4.50 star(s)

It has it all 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 8, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great Tee signs

Two sets of tee BOXES for most holes

2 pin positions for most holes.

GREAT use of land given.

Well defined fairways on every hole.

Just short of a perfect 5 from me.

Cons:

Birdie alley

course floods in heavy rain (more than one tournament has been moved/canceled because of the floods)



Other Thoughts:

(for all my reviews, I always play the long tees as I do in this review)

This is a GREAT course. I have played it several times over the last year in all types of conditions and have enjoyed it every time.

Get your birdies in birdie alley, you will need them. (holes 4-8)

there are several Par 4 holes that are GREAT holes to play. (#2, #12,#15, #16) These holes more than make up for the short birdie holes in Birdie alley.

I put this as one of the top 5 courses in the DFW area to play. (top 10 in the state) I think it is the best course in the North Dallas area for sure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top