Richmond, VA

University of Richmond

Permanent course
2.815(based on 21 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

University of Richmond reviews

Filter
17 0
lee76007
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 4.6 years 112 played 111 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Be Creative 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

-A variety of mostly heavily wooded, lightly wooded, an open hole that meanders around a lake, and creek on a college campus with early 20th century brick buildings.

-The course offers mostly up hill, downhill, gaps, elevated tee throws, one straight up hill tee throw, across short ravines with small creeks, heavy canopy, and rollers. Only a few level holes. The course is primarily short.

-The 18-hole walking experience with scenery including campus architecture, an outdoor Greek amphitheater that holes 5-6 that pass- by, heavy woods with canopy, lake, creeks, trails with a few short goat trails, wooded staircases and friendly non-disc golf users on the trails rank no. 1, with no other course that compares to it.

-Hole #3 ranks no. 1 for the "abyss hole" where the disc disappears in darkness. Knocking off the approach at Halifax, NC no. 8.

-Hole #14 a straight up hill tee shot is ranked No.1 for its steep angle up the hill, knocking off Ft. Junktion no. 7 in Elizabeth City, NC.

-The 300 plus holes 8, 10, 13, and 17 are likely to be the most memorable with a few of the short ones as well.

-New tee signs offer hole number, distance, par, map, and next tee. The new tee signs are the result of the course being realigned and shorten. Navigation is clockwise, then swings back around counterclockwise. There are some next hole signs.

-Rubber matts are in good shape.

-From the tee I used a variety of mids, fairway, and drivers.

-For beginners and recreational this will be a good test of short woods golf. For intermediate and advanced your going to find out how creative you can be off the tee box. High level of fun on the course.

Cons:

-This is not a course con, but since the course has been realigned the information for hole and photo's in DGCR has not been updated, and I wasn't aware of the realignment until sometime later after playing the course. It looks like the original No. 1 was shorten from the tee and then 1 is now what used to be 2 etc. I've written a note in the wall section. New tee signs are accurate, and you may want to use your favorite course app. You can also use the updated DGCR map.

-Intermediates and Advanced players may find the course too short, 12 of the holes are less than 225 feet. The short holes run together, and many are not memorable because of it, but fun to play.

-After any kind of sustained rain, the course could become muddy. The campus is elevated higher than most of the course and rain run off could sweep the course. If the goat trails from 3 basket to 4 tee and 15 baskets to 16 tees become muddy, it would be a steep fall if you slip.

-The course trails are shared with walkers, joggers, and bike riders. I must have crossed paths with at least two dozen, so be on the lookout. On the 13th tee its blind to the left fairway, almost nailed a jogger in the head as she appeared to the left, she had no clue a disc sailed over her, it was clear before I had walked up to the tee.

-Disc lost I would rate as medium. #3 the worst hole with heavy brush I spent a few minutes looking for my drive, and then the creek and lake holes. Disc easy to find in the rough. #13 borders a sidewalk and then a city street.

-It's about a 3-minute walk from 2 basket to 3 tee without a map or navigation aide may not find 4. A few more minutes from 3 basket to 4 tee.

-Parking, old information says you need a guest parking pass. New information says park in the alumni parking area where the 1st tee is located. When school is in session parking can be difficult. I played in the summer session with only a few cars in the lot. In the fall thru spring, I would suggest playing on the weekend only or evenings.

Other Thoughts:

The University of Richmond DGC provided a unique experience in the short game with mostly steep holes up and downhill, and a few longer holes. Not once did I throw a putter, nothing to do with distance, for myself the line just wasn't there, where I could make it with a nice lofty disc up thru a hole in the canopy, or a skip down the fairway thru narrow gaps I up disc. Need to be Creative! I had never been around a more friendly group of non-disc golfers on a course, received a lot of hellos and waves. Even had one attractive lady perhaps a few years younger than myself stop and made sure I knew where my disc was after a blind shot, we chatted for a few moments. The campus scenery and course were just beautiful, all providing an exceptional walking experience.
My overall rating is anchored on a 4.0, with a few minutes of disc looking my round took 70 minutes.

Notable Tee Pad:

-No. 13 is surrounded by trees and bushes, to your back is also the lake. The view to the fairway with some trees blocking the line to basket. Very scenic.

Notable Holes: *Realigned Hole # and Distances as shown on current Tee Signs"

-No. 6 Par 3 at 210 feet slopes down with eight-foot gap 50 feet out then drops down and rises back up to the basket perched on an uphill slope. Heavy trees both sides. The fairway slopes down right to left. The Greek amphitheater sits off to the right.

-No. 12 Par 3 at 195 feet is a level hole. From the tee throwing out of a tree gap with heavy trees and creek to the right, with an easy dogleg right. Open fairway to the left. The lake is behind the basket which is hidden behind a large tree. The hole sign gives the impression that the lake is at least 50 feet behind the basket. I decided to throw a high hyzer (lefty) to bite at the basket that was brought down by the guardian tree 50 feet away from basket. From my approach I could see a roller right into the lake and the basket just 10 feet away. Thank you, tree.

-No. 14 Par 3 at 165 feet is straight up hill throw. Heavy trees with ten-foot gap 50 feet up. On level ground a putter from tee, with the up hill angle a full driver just getting 20-feet short of basket. Needed more height on driver.

-No. 15 Par 3 at 210 feet drops straight down fairway and rises back up with basket perched on upslope. Tee is higher than basket. The fairway meanders left then breaks right at the bottom 130 feet down from elevated pad. At the bottom is a creek with a walking bridge. From the tee should be easy for a lefty, the gap is not a reach with sharp break to right but see a small window in the canopy just wanting to get across the creek. Decided an easy driver and watched it planko down a tree and drop just 10 feet on other side of bridge.

Signature Hole:

-No. 10 Par 3 at 330 feet is one of the longer holes I won't forget and represents fully in what the smaller distance holes offers in portions. An elevated tee pad that meanders left at the bottom of a gully at 170 feet then breaks right, at 250 feet breaks left straight uphill to a basket perched on the slope with skinny guardians. A wall of trees from the tee pad all the way down the right side will block both a lefty and righty. The fairway slopes left to right to the 170-foot mark, then right to left the rest of the way in. From the tee there is a solid level landing area at the 250-foot mark at the last break to the basket. I can see a hole in the canopy at the 170 mark and decide to force a driver left to right, the leaves slow it down and I park it on the level ground at 250. Best shot of the day and will be the most challenging for intermediate and advanced players.

Trouble Hole:

No. 3 Par 3 at 225 feet is a down slope that meanders left then a slight break to the right. The tee is in the open, but 75 feet away is heavy canopy with a ton of trees, and brush on both sides. The disc disappears as soon as it hits the gap in the canopy. At 75 feet the fairway drops straight down hill and is a roller all the way down to the creek past the basket, the basket is 40 feet from creek. At the drop is a wooden staircase to get you on your way to the basket safely. The fairway is narrow dirt about 20 feet wide, and on both sides layered with ivy. Also, trees, brush with guardian trees to the basket. Very nasty down there, and a disc graveyard, I found one while looking for mine. There's another wooden stairway over the creek and to get you on your way to No. 4. The hole is very scenic and difficult. I had an early release with a Mid on the right hitting no trees but thru the brush, guardian tree gave me no putt to the basket.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
3179065
Experience: 3.9 years 18 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Underrated Course in the RVA Area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 7, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course is great for beginners and advanced players alike. Beginners will enjoy the shortness of the course and advanced players will have to hit the tight but fair fairways. The tee-pads are nice if dry and the tee signs are good

Cons:

Navigation can be tricky especially from 2-3 and 3-4. When going from 2-3 go around the students activity center and the tee-pad will be there. After 3 going to 4 just follow the path all the way up to the top which can be confusing because of all the other tee-pads near it. Other than that the first hole since being remade it is very odd and the tee-pad is awkward and it goes around a building .

Other Thoughts:

Don't Let navigation get in the way of going here and you can use U-disc or print out a map of the course at this link.
https://recreation.richmond.e...URcardmap.pdf
Great little course that would make for a great putter only round.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 2
Hix007
Experience: 22.1 years 120 played 10 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Slippery When Wet 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 25, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Variety of open and wooded holes. none of the holes are very long, but some are exceptionally challenging due to abundance of trees. Rubber tee pads are good when dry and the university keeps the grass cut.

Cons:

There's not much upkeep on this course in the wooded section. Be aware of dead trees that could easily just fall at any moment. Footing is tough and pads are slippery when/after it rains. The wooded scetion is on a long hillside that sometimes makes it difficult just to find a flat spot to sit down your bag. In summer there are bugs and some poison ivy to contend with on holes (3, 7, 15, & 16).

Other Thoughts:

After playing #2, Head to the right and cross the road over to the sorority houses. Walk down the sidewalk path between sorority houses and parking lot, and #3 tee pad will be on the left by the short pine trees behind sorority hoses.

On #3, play with a spotter; have someone walk down the stairs and watch while the other person tees off. This is a short hole, but has a ton of briars and poison ivy in summer. Exiting #3, take the path to the left and walk all the way around to the far corner of the tennis courts to find #4 tee pad.

After playing #11, take the path and look for the white Next Tee sign. Go right down the walking path, then left all the way until you reach the bridge. #12 is across the bridge to the right, throwing towards the lake.

From #12 basket, follow tree line next to the lake towards the road. #13 tee pad is tucked away on the right in the trees around the corner of the lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 0
oGmo0n
Experience: 15.9 years 115 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

New Layout/Construction is Over 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 21, 2018 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

18 holes again. Putter friendly. Nice scenery.

Cons:

The new holes are very short. Old hole 4 has been pulled, so you walk through the fairway to get to "new" 4.

Other Thoughts:

The construction appears to be over. Holes 1, 2, and 3 are the same. The old 4 got pulled during the tennis court renovation/expansion. I just looked at the pictures... The hole it shows as #1 was removed some time ago, so what it shows as #2 is actually #1 now. The new #4 is the old #5 and they have moved the tee pad over to the left and closer. The new #5 is to the left of the old #6 tee pad, and the fairway run perpendicular to the right. It is short. Then you walk back towards where old #6 was. New #6 is down to the left of where old #6 was. Same fairway, different look, and shorter (still fun). The old #7 was straight from that basket, but now the tee pad is moved perpendicularly and the hole has a new fairway going up to the right of where you normally would be throwing. The new #8 has a whole new pad location and fairway. It is to the left of new #7's basket and shoots downhill, with the basket on the right (same pin location from old #7). #9 is the old, old 9 and remains unchanged. The next two holes are also the same. They pulled the short, downhill putter shot that they added when they pulled old #1. Walk down the hill to the right of #11's basket, take a left, and #12 shoots towards the water (unchanged). #13 is the same. #14, up the hill, has been shortened due to the tennis court expansion/renovation. #15, 16, 17, and 18 are the same. I hope that wasn't too confusing. I'll take some pictures next time, but I am confident this should help newcomers navigate better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Duke of NY1
Experience: 18 years 21 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 1, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

- fun hole designs
- beautiful hike through campus

Cons:

- some holes are difficult to find basket
- fair amount of food traffic around that can be tough to see coming

Other Thoughts:

Easy to get a parking pass from them so don't let that stop you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
devil2RVA
Experience: 7 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Advanced woods course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 18, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Technical course; it will force you to throw different shots. Don't need a lot of distance to play here. Some beautifully designed holes that provide a nice variety of skill. Never crowded.

Cons:

Trees. They are everywhere. I mean, 15 of the holes are in the forest. There is also a large walk between holes 2 and 3 that will lose players often (head toward the sorority houses, it's on the other side of that).

Other Thoughts:

I would call UofR my home course despite Bryan being closer. UofR will require you to throw your discs in a different variety of ways. The tight fairways force you to be accurate, while curving your disc around trees will expand your abilities. No chance to really lose a disc with the exception of hole 12 (lake hole). Be mindful of people that could be walking on trails, especially on hole 11.

During the summer parking is not an issue. During the school year it is. You can get a free pass from the school for parking, or just go after 5. Usually no issue then.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 8
ericfriesr
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Worst in Richmond Area 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 6, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Elevation.

Cons:

So short. Every basket is reachable with a putter.
A few blind shots. Hole 1 is gone because the made soccer fields where it sat. Dense with thorns and shrubs.

Hole 4 is stupid.

Other Thoughts:

Out of the courses in Richmond, it is the worst. Bryan is long and open. Dorey is long and tight. UofR is bleh.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
HannibalRex
Experience: 15.9 years 22 played 4 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice course, worth checking out 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Challenging, but there's a few "easy" ones. Mixed distance, mostly what I'd call short, but there's also a few that will show you just how much umpf you have in your arm. Very technical, good place to "break in" new discs. You might learn a few new cuss words. Never crowded, I rarely see other people playing. Absolutely beautiful views and nice wondering trails near the lake.

Cons:

Not maintained often, so can be times the course is just thick and full of poison ivy, thorns, etc. This is all typical VA foliage though, I don't know that any other course this tight and technical (sic "woodsy") is any different. You might learn a few new cuss words. With the construction, and change up of the pins, can be a little tricky in places for a first timer to navigate, highly recommend printing the guide. If it's summer, and the course hasn't been trimmed lately, you're likely to loose a disc or two, be sure to know where you're trowing or use a spotter. #4 can be hard to find, you have to hike across the street and behind the cottage building(s). And I can't lie, it's a BIT**, it's down a hill, hard right, and surrounded by an un-holy terrain that will NOT give up a disc. I've found all that I've lost there, but usually a couple of months or weeks after I lost it and the foliage dies back some. #4 will make a preacher cuss.

Other Thoughts:

They are still working on the campus, so #1 is still gone, not sure if it's coming back or what the plan is, but just note to start at what WAS #2, over by the field hockey field at the back of the parking lot. All in all, this is actually one of my more favorite courses in Richmond, and I think because the density seems to daunting that few play it or learn to enjoy it. All I can say about those that bitch about it be so rough is it's just a challenge, it will def present a good opportunity to beef up your mid game and accuracy. It's mostly shaded so you can play it about any time of day, even on stupid hot days because you're generally shaded. If you are familiar with Dunncroft on the west end, then I'd say this is like the older brother to Dunncroft and what a nice full, technical course looks like. It's not always perfect, and the construction on campus can make it a little pain in places, but I highly recommend finding out for yourself if you're able to get a chance to play this course. Disclaimer, I do work for UR, but this is not one of my most played or uber-favorite courses, but it's nice. I'd compare it to Dorey, maybe just a little more hills and a little tighter/technical. If you play this course and just hated it, then you might consider finding another sport that doesn't piss you off, I find this an enjoyable, quiet and relaxing course to play. I know I suck, so I don't expect to go out there and throw a Nate Doss type game, still better than sitting in an office or at home on the couch. The sign says they don't allow dogs, there's always people walking dogs, and I do take mine, generally they do need to be on leash, but I see no reason why a well behaved and controlled dog isn't really welcome here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by HB553
The course is changing with #2 becoming #1, and a new hole 11 added (ace run down hill). New map and tee signs and next tee signs should help.
New tee will be installed for 17.
Practice basket will be installed near the first tee.
Deep foliage left of existing #4 should be removed as well.
4 1
bnbanbury
Experience: 80 played 17 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Wasted Potential 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 17, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-There are several decent holes sprinkled throughout the property, particularly one that sits on a nice lake. The opening holes are at least playable without much overgrowth to fight.

Cons:

-Brutal rough combined with overgrown fairways mean that lots of kicks end in a frustrating, thorny search that may or may nor return a disc.

Other Thoughts:

I've played this, and every other course in the Richmond area, a number of times and this is the only one that I've never i had fun playing. The fairways in the woods are incredibly tight, not from design but because the course is not maintained and is heavily overgrown. When you kick off an early tree here you may find your disc and still come away wishing you hadn't bothered looking for it as the thorns and poison ivy are abundant. The distances listed on the signage can be wildly inaccurate (the first time i played the lake hole i must have launched my disc 75' out into the water based on the distance shown). This course could be nice if a bunch of work was put into in, right now there are too many good options in the Richmond area to spend time out here.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
MrMax
Experience: 11.9 years 3 played 2 reviews
1.50 star(s)

It could be great, with work 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 19, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

The course directory has a large course map and has a list of DG rules making it inviting for new players. The first 3 holes and the last 2 holes are set right on the campus on beautifully manicured lawns, except one (17) whose tee pad was missing from construction. One of the lakeside baskets was really nice. The tee pads are 3/4" rubber matting, and I believe are post consumer recycled. The tee signs and baskets are in good condition and the signs are very helpful.

Cons:

I though I was lost when I went to find hole 4. And then when I found it I couldn't believe my eyes. It's a short blind shot, dog leg right, down 2 graded 10' elevation drops. There was a slight dirt path through the middle about 5' wide which would technically be the fairway? Surrounding that were 4-5' tall weeds, briars, shrubs and vines. I kept thinking that I was seeing discs in the undergrowth, only to find that what I was seeing were Doritos bags, natty ice cans and Mtn dew bottles. We had to throw in turns, with on person standing at the edge of the second teir down to act as a spotter. Then we had to jump the creek bed where the bridge was out. Then we had to creep behind the tennis court on the hobo-esque dirt path (keep in mind, the beer bottles and Doritos) to find the next couple baskets. Finally, the course led back to a real path, with steps and benches (and a trash can) and there were a few decent woods baskets to enjoy. Following this were 2 lakeside baskets, the first of which paralleled a tributary stream surrounded by chest high briars on each side. I fought said briars viciously to reclaim my flick (I know, personal problem :) before completing the basket about 10' from the lakes edge. I got in and waded around the lake a little, since I was already wet from getting my flick out of the stream, I saw another Doritos bag that I thought was a disc in the shallows. The following basket doubled back, this time parallel to the road. 17 rejoined civilization, it did not have a tee pad or sign. 18 was beautiful, right by the entrance. So, 5 good baskets where everyone can see them and 13 misadventures in overgrowth and litter. I wish the school would pu a little effort into, essentially, finishing their course. They got the most visible ones done, so all the non-players can enjoy looking at them. Now it would be nice if they completed it so it can actually be used with previous jungle-exploration experience.

Other Thoughts:

I would love to play this course again if they fixed it. I won't be going back again until they do (unless they pay me to bring my weed whacker and chainsaw)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 5
Jpcole9702
Experience: 3 played 3 reviews
0.00 star(s)

Bob's back yard disc course... 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

At some point there was a large amount of money poured into this course.

Cons:

Where to begin: Missing signs, trash everywhere on the course, very difficult to actually find the course, new trees planted with no consideration of the course, hasn't been maintained in months, 500 foot blind par 3's, most holes are not labeled and are nearly impossible to see the pin, trails are non-existant in some places... i could keep going on and on...

Other Thoughts:

Over all this course must have started with something really great in mind, but maybe a lack of use, or lack of maintenance or possibly multiple unknown reasons this course has fallen to the way-side. There was several times that even with a perfect throw, you may never see the disc again as it hasn't been maintained in several months. I felt like I was in someones personal back yard course with only a days worth of preparation used to build this course. Do not go here unless you are in need of some real disappointment!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
w8nforhim
Experience: 15.3 years 75 played 21 reviews
2.00 star(s)

All hyped up 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 30, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

We were definitely looking forward to playing this course after reading some of the reviews from some of the players who enjoyed the course. The course does have several unique shots making great use of elevation and the landscape. The signs are in great condition, for the holes that have them. And the tee pads were great.

Cons:

The course is not well maintained. A couple of the holes were just plain un-playable unless you had a disc that you were just itching to lose. And speaking of itching, there is poison ivy/oak everywhere in the woods and some of it is just unavoidable, even in the "fairways." Several of the holes are missing tee pad signs which makes finding where the basket is a challenge, and where the next tee is even harder. It took some time finding some of the holes, and we never did find the pad for hole 17. Several of the holes, while the layout was nice, were just impossible with the trees and overgrowth.

Other Thoughts:

The course has great potential, but unfortunately, just did not live up to the hype. And it is definitely not worth the poison ivy!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
seanwrodgers
Experience: 12.9 years 7 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 7, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

good mix of in the trees and some open holes; nice amount of trees as obstacles and uphill/downhill or blind shots.

Cons:

oddly enough, the course needs to be played more to be better; lots of little twigs and branches in the way that wouldn't be there if it were played more; also there is some construction causing some temporary problems with some holes.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
nevets4433
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 12.2 years 62 played 60 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Beautiful Hike Through Too Many Trees 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 29, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is an absolutely beautiful course. The first few holes through the edge of campus and the alumni center are awesome. Other holes by the lake are also beautiful.

Lots of easygoing college kids nearby.

Nice walking trail through the course.

Course was made with the intent of being as eco-friendly as possible.

Great use of elevation changes to make a wide variety of approaches.

Great rubber tee mats! That is a real treat in the Richmond area.

Awesome hole signs with directions to the next tee (although the signs are funny...they show 1-4 trees per hole, whereas there isn't a hole out there between 4 and 17 with less than 100 trees in play).

Nice course map on the first tee. I would recommend downloading or printing a copy for your first round because some of the navigation is a bit difficult.

Cons:

This place is simply too narrow. I know they wanted to conserve nature, but some of the holes are just ridiculously skinny.

17 tee box is not available due to construction.

Lots of OB on the first few holes. The parking lot is a bit too close for comfort.

Construction currently makes navigation a bit difficult.

The bridge between 4 and 5 is out...its a pretty big jump across the creek

Other Thoughts:

This course could be awesome with a few tree trimmings. It is a course based solely on shot placement, but some of the holes are 95% luck. A little work on this course would make it great. As it stands, its just not that much fun for beginners as it is incredibly narrow and frustrating. I may return for a hike, but not to play disc golf.

Lots of the tees have trees just to the right of the tee box which are a bit of a problem for RHFH players.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
jkdisc
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.5 years 117 played 110 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

The entire University of Richmond was beautifully maintained. There were many fun holes. Most of the holes range between 250-300ft so it is beginner friendly but it still can be challenging with tightly wooded holes.

Other Pros:
- scenic lake scenes on some holes
- nice tee signs (with direction to next tee)
- elevation used
- spider logo on top of the basket looks great

Cons:

The biggest con is when non-DG obstacles come into play. Please watch out for joggers, bikers, dog walkers, and cars. There are plenty of people around the area near the lake and most are not college students.

If you take a look at the map you will see where navigation issues will come into play. The tee signs will get you in the correct direction while you're on the course but a map in hand would be best.

Other Thoughts:

I was pleasantly surprised with this course and I think it compliments the other Richmond area courses very well.

I had a great time and I think the course will only become better with some more time to break in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 0
jaymon1
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 22.9 years 86 played 85 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Multiple Challenges, Multiple Rewards

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 4, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Landscape, shot variety, signage, a few top-end holes

Cons:

Average length, some holes overly wooded

Other Thoughts:

The disc golf course at the University of Richmond shows its Jekyll side for the first two holes, with excellent signage and short but well manicured and lightly wooded holes with a real fancy campus vibe. Then you have to embark on a long, confusing transition to #3 for a blind, hard turning downhill hole into the woods. After that is another long walk to #4, a short shot through the trees. The course turns Hyde in terms of holes (though not in terms of signage and tee pads) with thick woods and the sort of touch shots that demand your most reliable mid-range discs, and beat those discs up when you don't put them where you mean too. You don't come out of the woods until #12, for two picture perfect lakeside holes, and then right back into the woods for a tight uphill shot on #14. The course finishes with its kinder face, with #17 and #18 giving you two longer, more open, pretty holes to finish on a high note.

This course is multi-faceted, and will challenge most aspects of most players' games. With only one set of tees, and playing mostly 200-350 feet, it's not built for the big arms, but otherwise you'll need to put drivers where you want to, and shape touch shots in the woods just right. This is the sort of course where the more you play it, the more you can figure out how best to play it. Most of the woods holes are tight, a few perhaps unreasonably so, but maybe the designers meant for you to play two well placed mid-range shots, rather than one drive. These holes play around turns left and right, up and down hills, and the effect is the sort of course where scoring spreads can vary pretty widely I'd think; stay on course and you'll be par all the way, but let up for one throw and you're off in the thicket, looking at a double. Players with good control are rewarded here, but those whose strength is off the tee can catch up a bit on the more mixed/open holes.

The course at UR is somewhat complementary to the area's one sort of high-end course, Bryan Park. Both play over an attractive landscape featuring some impressive trees and idyllic water views. Bryan Park is a classic city park landscape, long, mostly open, and most holes playing in straight line. UR is fairly short, but does give Richmonders a taste of the top-end DG landscape that can be found on some college campus courses. This nice taste, however, is offset by a couple holes with a high potential for losing discs (#3 especially) and a few more that many players might consider unreasonably tight and wooded. The signage at UR is top-notch, but even so there are two transitions where first time players could easily get off course - from #2 to #3 (walk across the road and bear right past the sorority houses to the edge of the woods; it's a long ways) and then from #3 to #4 (cross the bridge, turn left and then follow the path right all the way behind the tennis courts), and a bunch of next tee signs would help a lot. The tee pads are rubber mats over level ground, so not concrete but still pretty good, and the landscape and scenery are as fine as any course in the area, however.

Overall I rate this course as Good, and worth seeing if you're in the area and it suits your taste. Taken as a whole, this course has a bunch of good holes, and the landscape, signage, and tee pads are a plus. The frustration factor introduced by some other aspects of the course, however, must be acknowledged. Bring a map the first time through, and your best touch game, and you should be glad you made your way to this course.

Favorite Hole - #12 - straightforward hole out of the woods plays to basket set right on the lake.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
FredVegasDGC
Experience: 37.9 years 92 played 12 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Campus Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 21, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

I really like this course. Designed to fit the campus & still be challenging. The open holes at the beginning & end were great ways to warm up and end the round.

Not being a big drive thrower the course fit my style of play. I was able to hit a few birdies and when I missed the path on the wooded holes I paid the price.

Some criticize the course for being heavy woods if you miss a throw, but I think it's the incentive to not go there. Just keep an eye on your disc if it sails off the path.

The course is a good mix of holes given that it's on a University campus.

The tee pads are wearing in nicely and the hole signs are accurate.

The wood holes have a diversity that is a challenge, up hill, down hill & hyzers & anhyzers. Yet if you hit the line a birdie is very possible.

Cons:

The only con was the walk from hole 3 to 4. I got lost but a little sign mid-way would fix that. This con was negated for me when a University grounds keeper saw me and gave me a ride in his cart to the #4 tee.

Other Thoughts:

Some may not like this course because there are some short holes. But the short holes are tree heavy and there are ace lines you just have to hit them. If you don't your in the jail house and that's where you should be for missing the drive.

Once the newness of the course gets worn in to remove some of the walking hazards, some trails in the bushes to help look for a stray disc will lift the 4 rating to a 5 for me.

I'll be playing this course again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
BPIdiscDUDE
Experience: 13.3 years 3 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Good addition to the campus 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 21, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Like the new rubber tees
-nice new baskets
-great signs at every tee
-challenging drives
-nice atmosphere

Cons:

-difficult to navigate without a map
-VERY heavily wooded on most holes
-areas off fairways are fairly rough (wear long pants)
-fairways are a little nasty, not yet broken in

Other Thoughts:

-make sure that you have discs that are easy to spot, my buddies and I spent a long time looking for discs in the bushes all round the course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 0
swatso
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 15.7 years 755 played 414 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Major in Tech, Minor in Open 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Apr 17, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Pretty campus. Top quality map. Spider logo on top the basket is a nice touch.

Cons:

Walking path crosses, goes behind, and is often near many of the holes. Flow is quite choppy.

Other Thoughts:

With 2/3rds of the holes, with an average length of 260', playing up, down, and across (mostly across) a wooded (moderately thick, small and medium sized hardwoods) hillside separating the campus buildings from a large pond, the theme of this course is control and hitting your lines, although there are a few holes early, middle, and late that are fairly open and more forgiving - except don't be long on #12, or find the aforementioned pond!

Even blend of left/right/straight shots off the tee, although most of the rights come on the front nine, lefts on the back nine, and straights scattered throughout. Most lines to the basket are fair, although 5, 7, and 9 are certainly on the tight side.

Tees & Baskets: New baskets are top quality. Good signs containing all the basic information you need. Tee pads are 6x10 flat rubber mats, but a few are sinking in the middle, and holding water, especially tee-11 - it was filled end-to-end with water!

Navigation: The map is a necessity for the first-time/infrequent visitor. Some additonal tips are:
* From the parking lot, tee-1 is to the left of the alumni building.
* From basket-1, cross the road then parking lot to find tee-2.
* From basket-2, walking down the path to find tee-3.
* From basket-3, cross the road and head the far end of the parking lot to fnd tee-4.
* From basket-5, hug the tennis court fencline to eventually find tee-6.
* From basket-11, take the path down, then left, passing tee-14, to play 12 (towards pond) and 13 (across meadow), then return to tee-14.
* Tee-18 is across the road, in the midst of the bushes/trees near the entrance.

Favourite hole: #10, longest hole at 330', cross a wooded mini valley 200', then turn left, with a secondary sharper left needed to reach the higher basket.

Least favourite hole: #5, a short-n-sharp right-turner whch seemingly requires more luck than skill to miss the abundance of small trees.

More challenging than most university courses I've played. A good addition to the already-solid base of Richmond-area courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
nygfaninva
Silver level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.1 years 38 played 36 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Excellent Richmond Addition! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 20, 2011 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Fantastic Course for a City. Well maintained, beautiful course. 18 Holes, Rubber Tee Pads, Maps with all info (distance/par Ect) on every hole. Great mix of not only wooded and open (more wooded than open), but of both FH and BH fairway throws. Great atmosphere and use of grounds. Elevation comes into play on many holes. Some concrete and path OB's to make things even more challenging. (All pavement , paths and stairs are OB).

Cons:

Not very first time friendly. Despite the maps on each hole having a 'next tee' directional, it can be hard to find the next tee. Especially when going from 3 to 4. And the 'Next Tee' directions are on the Tee Maps. Wish they had the colored spokes in the baskets pointing the way to the next tees, like Bryan and White Bank Park. Pubic usage. Many of the wooded holes wind through a running trail and stairs that run throughout the campus. In a busy summer I can imagine that the area will get a lot of use. An errant throw here or there will cause more than a few students to start complaining. No restrooms to speak of unless you know a student, I guess?

Other Thoughts:

Despite any Cons listed I have to say this was a fun course! We played it twice and the second time the flow/FTF (First Time Friendly) issues went away. The more I thought about the course the more I wanted to play it again. Once all the foliage comes in the wooded holes will be even more daunting. I have to say that we are blessed to have so many great courses in the Richmond area and this is a great addition. This might be one of the best. Once the course gets more traffic and the paths get beaten in more it will certainly give Bryan Park and others a run for the money. More scenic than Bryan Park with more challenge and less grip it and rip options. The first reviewer did a great job explaining how to get from #3 to #4 which is the hardest to find. So follow his directions. Just remember after #3, cross the street to the bottom parking lot, staying to the left and follow the steps down hill. #5 to #6 ignore the paths and follow the back of the Tennis courts and you'll be right at the tee for #6. The first reviewer also warned of briars, have to say they are not an issue. Sure they are there, but not that bad. If you've played the back nine at Goyne and survived the briars here at UR will be laughable to you!

Favorite Holes: 12: A short FH throw to a hard dogleg with a basket that sits on the edge of the lake. The wrong roll on an approach or drive and you're all wet!

14: A tight up hill throw with a steep gulley on the right just waiting to punish you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top