• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Waupun, WI

WARP DGC

3.55(based on 22 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

WARP DGC reviews

Filter
12 0
EspressoPatronum
Gold level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 18.9 years 261 played 250 reviews
3.00 star(s)

A WARP Speed Round

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 20, 2023 Played the course:once

Pros:

- dual concrete tees
- dual baskets (3rd baskets have mostly been added)
- tee signs with maps (only on one set of tees)
- moderately wooded with some cool, varied terrain
- hole numbers on one set of baskets
- navigation is generally straightforward
- some very limited elevation change incorporated
- a few next tee indicators
- some basic amenities such as garbage cans
- course sign at entrance
- fairways provide for a variety of shot directions, though not much distance
- baskets and tees offer many play combinations that create many different lines
- course map at entrance

Cons:

- par is very generous on some holes (perhaps a nit, but it is)
- some overgrown and thorny areas
- very short
- no tee signs on 2nd set of tees
- mostly flat
- some baskets are a bit more worn

Other Thoughts:

I have been wanting to get to WARP for a few years, as I love a highly rated, expertly designed 9 hole course. I think WARP is probably slightly overrated at present, but it is a very good 9 hole course. The ratings span from 1.0 - 5.0 so clearly there are some varying opinions. It is clear that the course designers/maintainers care about this course. A 3rd set of baskets is going in for even more play variations and notes on the course sign say it will be updated with new pin placements. This sort of continual improvement is great to see. Typically, I'd say 3 permanently installed baskets per hole was kind of overkill, but with how short this course is, it does offer a certain amount of variety which is cool.

To quickly cover the cons - as others have mentioned, the course is overgrown in places and definitely can be thorny. This was not too bad, but I was there in mid/late October so things may have been dying back. It had been mowed and was very playable, it's just preferable to stay on the fairway. I enjoy a good technical challenge far more than long, open drives, but this course is definitely on the shorter side. The long tees add some distance and different looks, but this course was not particularly challenging. It's fun enough for a quick round though. It would be nice to see tee signs on the 2nd set of tees, especially since some of those tees play from different areas to offer different lines. The course is pretty flat but that's the land available, and a few more next tee signs could help iron out navigation which otherwise is pretty clear.

The biggest thing here is just all of the varied lines you can play with multiple tees and baskets. I only played one 9 hole round, as I was on my way to the next course, but you could easily play 3 or more rounds here with different looks. They will be similar, but the basket placements in particular do create some different approaches. It's almost all going to be fairway driver and below, though. There's hardly anything over 300 ft here.

Note - there is a parking lot nearby but it is a bit of a walk from across the street. It appears you can street park right in front of the course, but nobody really was and I wasn't 100% sure. When I left there were cars parked along the street, so it should be fine.

It would be nice if the trees here grew a bit more and provided some ceilings on the course; the technical challenge from the wooded portions is just ok. With that said, this is probably one of the more interesting and technical 9 hole courses I've played. I wouldn't go too far out of the way for it, but I think it's fair to give it a solid 3.0 and if it's on your route, it's a good quick stop between more major destinations.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 7
srodan17
Experience: 3.1 years 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Wow, what a turn around!!! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 3, 2020 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Played this awhile back, and it was not great. Went back after seeing some posts online, and WOW. What a difference.

Really imprssed. Super Sick job.

Cons:

- Sign on 4 isn't correct. There is 2 pads
- Basket colors on signs dont match

Other Thoughts:

Good course overall. Love it, and definitely worth detour if you are on 41.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 10
Lothary
Experience: 22 played 1 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Mosquitoes, flies, and swamp 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course looks like it's had some Glory Days. We'll marked course, nice pass.

Cons:

Tight Fairways, lots of challenging fauna to find your disc in. Right now the mosquitoes and black flies are super hungry and I got chased out after the 5th hole. This course reminds me a lot of Whitewater.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 8
Proechimys
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Horribly overgrown, bushwacking course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 26, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Honestly, none. No way anybody serious rated this course so high.

Cons:

To say it's overgrown is an understatement. This course is not maintained so the "fairways" are overgrown. Add the lack of signage and you're bushwacking your way through this course blind.

As an out of stater who drove 30 miles to play, it's extremely disappointing this course was so bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 1
wellsbranch250
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 10.4 years 665 played 645 reviews
3.00 star(s)

An Excellent 9 Hole Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 25, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

(3.005 Rating) A short technical course with a near infinite amount of layout options.
- RAW BEAUTY - Driving into the park I had a feeling it was going to be good. Once on the course, the layout didn't disappoint either. A nearly fully secluded heavily wooded course surrounded by an even heavier deep green foliage. Overall I scored the course a 3.75 out of 5, which is about as high as I'll score a course without a backdrop views, water, rocks or elevation features.
- UNIQUENESS - One the best I've seen for a 9 hole course. I've played 89 nine holers as of this review and this only the second time I've seen doglegs in both directions. Lots of shop shaping lines going all over the place, but also a frozen rope putter run on (4). Numerous deep well-defined pockets and several pinch point tree gaps to split. There are some things missing however. No water elements, no significant bomb-it plays and elevation is sub-par, see cons.
- TEES - Excellent tees. 5 feet by 12 feet with a tapper in the back to 8 feet wide. I wish every course had these beauties.
- NAVIGATION AND SIGNAGE - Not flawless, but good enough. The very well-done course map near tee (1) is key. Without it, I could see some extended wandering. The tee signage looks good too, but not having next tee noted on them was an error of omission. I don't recall any navigational cues between holes, but the pathways were kind-of intuitive. I also caught a tee signage error on hole (6) where the distance info is swapped.
- DUEL PINS AND TEES - IMO a two basket and two tee set-up will make any course better as long as everything is spelled out in the signage. With the WARP course, I thought the incorporation was executed well. The signage was done well enough, the baskets are generally well separated and most tees on the same hole offer unique lines. The baskets are also different styles with one being a DISCatcher and the other being a MachV powered coated a reddish orange.
- CHALLENGING - Considering there are 4 defined layouts, this is one of those pick your own challenge type courses. I personally played Back tees to Front baskets and found the difficultly to be a tweener between Recreational and Intermediate. I figure Back to Back is Intermediate level and Front to Front is upper Novice level.
- QUICK PLAY - I completed my round in 35 minutes. Figure 50 minutes for a twosome and 70 minutes for a foursome.

Cons:

A nice course with few grievances.
- OVERGROWTH - Perhaps I caught a bad day, (August was 300% wetter than normal) but the fairway widths and fringes were a bit wild IMO. Several fairways had a single pass of a mower defining the fairway. Outside this the weeds and grasses were knee to waist high. I had a spotter on every hole and still spent several minutes searching for discs just a hair off line. I honestly didn't take off more than a tenth of a point for things like this, but I could see other reviewers being very displeased by the conditions that I had to deal with.
- NO BOMBERS - My main driver spent the entire round in the bag. Although I played Back tees to Front baskets, the looks I took towards the far baskets all still may have been unwise for the big driver play. On two of the par 4s I threw abbreviated putters to hit a landing zones and then threw another putter to get to the basket. I could see many Advanced bombers not liking this course.
- BASKET COLOR MIX UP - The course map and tee signs denote a yellow basket at the short position and a red/orange basket at the long position. On the course itself, the baskets are in reverse position on a couple holes. Thus, I shot at the wrong basket twice from tee.
- ELEVATION - Driving into the park I had a feeling that I was going to get some 30 foot ridge and valley shots. Not even close. Maybe hole (1) has 10 feet of change in it and that's about it.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - My mom came with and she planned on playing, but after she looked down fairway (1) she said no thank you and ended up only playing hole (7). Lots of tight fairways and as stated the overgrowth had gotten away a bit from the maintenance staff. I think the front to front baskets are best served for 800 rated players and higher.

Other Thoughts:

WARP has the distinction of being my 300th milestone course. I was very fortunate to have my Mom come with me too, since many of the fairways were a touch overgrown and she went up fairway on several holes to serve as a spotter. As for the course itself, I was pleased and disappointed at the same time. For one thing, this is the third highest score I've given to a 9 fairway course. However, I was disappointed as I was expecting a touch more considering its current ranking. The shortness of the multi-play fairways was just not exiting for me. Not having one grip-it and rip-it line left something to be desired. I haven't played too many courses in this region, but I don't think WARP is destination level for those outside a 90 minute drive. It's a good course no doubt, but nothing like Zobel Park about a ½ hour away. Wilderness is another big name course that comes to mind, but I haven't played that one yet. Regardless, I'd still recommend checking this course out if traveling along US151. It's a beautiful course will well done features. It should definitely please the causal player that likes shorter technical courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 14
Rokdawg
Experience: 5 played 5 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Home Base 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 15, 2017 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Home course and I love it. While i have a shorter throw than more experienced players this course is not about the long throws. Knowing local lines does help, this is a fun course.
Great tee pads and 2 baskets on each hole.

Cons:

A well rounded crop of skeeters will help show you the way around most of the summer. Tends to puddle a bit during rainy times and no shortage of buckthorn.

Other Thoughts:

The local club takes good care of the course alternate tees and pins on each hole. The club does do a league run on Sun and has a Facebook page. Waupun Disc Golf Association. A few tourneys go on every year.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
GreenBayBuzzz
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Always Improving 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 28, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Two teepads and permanent pin placements on every hole. Yields 36 unique holes that are always playable.
Teepads are excellent-large concrete trapezoids.
The kiosk and signage throughout the course is aesthetic and informative.
Garbage cans help to keep the course clean.
Alternate teepads and pin placements don't just add length, but also sculpt different lines.
Hole 1 is a scenic starting hole that offers two distinct lines.
Hole 5, long to long, is an epic 480 ft par 4 that requires a well placed forehand or turnover (right hand) followed by a TIGHT tunnel-shot. I would say it is the signature hole. From short to long, hole 5 plays as a gold level par 3. The hole is tight and a slight turnover shot, and at 350 ft, most discers will have to club up to a fairway driver.
Hole 9, long to long, is a double dogleg par 4 that forces a backhand drive followed by a forehand approach for any shot at a birdie 3.
Fairways are well defined to the point that an Adv-Pro player, on their A game, could play any of the 9 hole layouts without hitting a tree. There are no unfair trees in the middle of a fairway.
From the shortest to longest layout, this nine hole course spans a massive difficulty differential. Short to short, the course could be used for an ace-race. Long to long, the course is "blue" level difficulty, requiring the player to throw a variety of shots.

Cons:

Only 9 holes! There is a lot more land to be utilized in the park, so hopefully the course expands to 18 holes in the near future.
The course skirts wetlands, which leads to very buggy summers.
In the summer, the course has a lot of undesirable undergrowth, burrs, thistle, and the like.
Despite having longer holes, the course lacks a true "power" shot. I didn't rip on anything faster than a teebird (RHBH) on any of the holes.
Whenever you have multiple pins and teepads on every hole, you are almost bound to come up with certain combinations that just don't work. This is prevalent at Dretzka in Milwaukee and also true of a few holes on the Waupun course. It is too hard to hit the "local" line from the long pad on hole 2. Hole 6 to the long placement from either teepad plays like a tweener hole. If the basket was pushed back another 150 ft, it would make an excellent par 4. The short pad on 9 has a sneaky spike hyzer route to the short basket, but I don't see any fair line to the long basket besides maybe a ridiculous overhand shot. That being said, there are four possible combinations on every hole, so you can always mix and match to find a hole that suits your fancy.

Other Thoughts:

This course has an assiduous and passionate disc golf club. The club has fostered a gem from a course that started in a rough and overgrown woods. I live 2 hr from the course and play it around once a year. Each time I am impressed by new improvements.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Flyin Fox
Experience: 48 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Great technical course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 19, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

2 pins and 2 tee pads per hole
Great use of what little elevation there is
Only course in the area that requires controlled technical shots
Very wooded which means no wind

Cons:

Spring time makes the course very wet
Puddles around tee pads and baskets on 7&8
Mosquitos are bad in the summer

Other Thoughts:

I would consider this an A-tier tournament worthy course if it had a full set of 18 holes similar to the 9 that are already there
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
dill
Experience: 15.1 years 55 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Warp 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 18, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tee pads are excellent size shape and surface texture are perfect
Two pads and two baskets per hole make 4 tons of different course selections make 4 tons of different course selections

Cons:

The course has some puddles in spring

Other Thoughts:

The course is very God for such a small town I think it's better than a lot of big town courses that put a lot more money into them if you have time you have to play it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Earl Jackson
Experience: 24.2 years 28 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great tech course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-two pins on every hole (hole 4 is in the works)
-red and blue pads offer 2 unique looks on most holes
-a great mix of anny and hyzer shots
-superb tee pads
-9 mach 5 pins
-signs are detailed and accurate
-lots of ace runs
-no wind...ever

Cons:

-signs are only on the short pads (signs for the . long tees are being planned)
-very little elevation
-no long bomb holes
-rough can be unforgiving at times
-9 holes

Other Thoughts:

I first played this course right after it was first opened and I have to say that it has come a very long way. Over the last few years it has really grown on me and it's now one of my favorites. This is a very technical course so it really favors the control player vs. the hulk arm. It is probably the best course for a windy day that I've ever played. Ive been out there on days where there was 30 mph winds and it due to the fact that 95% of the course is in the woods it doesn't effect your disc at all. Over all I would highly recommend this course. As far as 9 holers go, it doesn't get much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
Grinder12000
Experience: 11.1 years 6 played 3 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Fun and technical 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 4, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Not really a "thinking mans" course as there is to many random tree hitting. More like which of the hundred trees will I TRY to miss. Fun course with many alternative shots. I WOULD have given this a 4.0 but a couple CONS (see below).

But 7 holes are wonderful with an assortment of left/right/straight shots and trouble everywhere.

It's a short course so put the driver in the bag.

I won't repeat what others have said. Sort of redundant but a course you really should check out and is evolving with more and more use. The group that is in charge of the course have the shit together for sure!

Cons:

OK - It's so much easier to point out a few flaws but don't take it like I dislike the course. I've designed a number of virtual ball golf courses in SIM Golf and when the SIMS start finding short cuts that is a problem because the course is not being played as designed.

There are a couple holes where players with course knowledge go off course and I think this is a design flaw. Both offending holes are hard HARD doglegs which make no sense to me as you are almost forced to go off course or make weirdo right angle 70 foot shots.

The problem is that if you were there alone for the 1st time you would never know to make those "through the woods" blind shots on #2 and #9.

Those are the only design flaws but seriously, this course could have 36 different layouts with the number of permanent tees and baskets. Well done.

Oh - dare I say - mosquitoes. I did not see any but that kind of environment is mosquito friendly.

Other Thoughts:

this is the 4th year for the course and it is evolving and will get better and better with age. It will open up with more traffic tromping around and the people in charge understand what is needed.

NOT your cookie cutter course and is fun and challenging from a technical stand point - bad shots are penalized but still playable. I don't anybody as ever having a boring round which is key to fun. Well done
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by Awol
We appreciate the review!

As with any course, the locals will find their own paths, regardless of design.

No local route on the course is without it's dangers, and all but the highest level of player will be taking a risk on the local route(s). Ask any of the locals, they will tell you about the time they ended up with a Bogey or Double Bogey instead because they hit a branch and then they were fighting back through to the fairway / basket.
7 1
wolfhaley
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 20.2 years 1068 played 643 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 30, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

There are two sets of tee pads on each hole except hole 4. These are all level, grippy and nicely sized. There are also two baskets on each hole except hole 4. This is only the second course I've seen with 2 pads and 2 baskets other than Brickyard in Menominee. This really makes a course so much better with the vast amount of options on each hole. The signs here are top notch. There are very large with an awesome detailed map on each short tee pad. It shows the location of each tee and both basket locations as well as distances for all set ups and the par. The course is heavily wooded making for a challenging round. The baskets are yellow and orange and really stick out in the thick woods. The course is free and up year round which both are bonuses. there are also campsites right by the course which would be cool to play some night rounds.

Cons:

When we went there were numerous spots with standing water up to 6 inches deep in places. Hole 9 is a ridiculous dogleg left that is basically impossible to par from the long set up. The rough is pretty brutal on most holes so make sure you really watch where your throw went. I also would think the bugs would be bad in the summer months. though theres nothing they can do about this.

Other Thoughts:

This is a really nice course that is worth playing if you're anywhere in the area. I really wish more courses had the 2 basket/2 tee set up. This really ups the fun factor. I'd recommend this course over any nearby course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by Awol
Thanks for the review!

Unfortunately the area around 7 & 9 are the lowest points in a pretty large area, so it can collect water after a big rainfall. (3 1/2" of rain in the last week!)

By Sunday's league at noon it was still wet, but playable. I expect by Tuesday it will be damp, but walkable in almost all of the course again.

Quick edit - and in regards to 9, it is a par 4. One to the corner, one out to the open area, one approach, and one putt. It isn't easy, but if all we wanted was easy, we would have left the baskets over in Tanner Park!
4 1
smatthew854
Experience: 23.1 years 22 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nothing special but not bad. 2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Sep 13, 2014 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

It's a nice wooded course with plenty of tight shots and right doglegs throughout. There was a challenge factor there for my first time playing the course even though the holes seem fairly easy once learned.
Two tee's for each hole and two possible pin locations give this 9 hole course quite a bit of variety.
Though there is quite a bit of rough if you miss the fairway, it was still fairly easy to find your disc. But that could also be a result of it being fall and not as thick as earlier in the year.

Cons:

Only one pin and it's not always in the same location throughout the course. It switches between red and yellow quite a bit, with no marking at the tee as to which location it's in. Not a problem other than there are many blind tee shots so you have to walk the hole first to find out which pin its in.
Though there are two tees only the closest tee to the basket has a sign at it. Not too bad but for a couple tees it would be very nice to have one at both locations.
There are no markings at the basket pointing you to the next hole, only on the tee sign. Backwards from what would be most convenient. Even with that finding the next tee wasn't that difficult.
My only true 100% downside to this course are the baskets. They are Innova disc catcher, i believe. Having never played with single chain baskets before it amazed me how much less they caught, and how much more spring is in them to toss your disc back, than with the mach 3 and 5 baskets I've played on at other courses. In just the 18 holes I played so far I've already had 3 puts pushed off that would have caught on the double chain baskets.

Other Thoughts:

Although this was a fun course it was not fun enough to make my list of favorites. I would play it again sure but I would not go out of my way to make sure I went there regularly.
January 9th update: the people in charge of this course setup seem to be very hands on and open to suggestions. It is a very big upside for this course. Making me reconsider my visitation frequency of this course, and going more often to give better constructive comments both good and bad.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by Awol
Thanks for the review, we appreciate the feedback!

We put the next tee signs (and some OB/Mando) up on the problematic holes in late September, probably a week or two after you had played! Still a work in progress. Basket notation is our Winter project and will be coming next Spring.
4 1
KnexFour
Experience: 1 played 1 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great afternoon in the woods 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 24, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beautiful location in the back woods of Waupun. Don't show up with sandals because you will be trekking through the woods! Good variation of long straight, short bendy, and all else in between in just 9 holes. Surrounding park area is a great place to spend all day, especially with the upcoming aquatic center that is opening soon. Each hole has two concrete tee pads that are very nice. Signage is also very visually appealing and easy to follow.

Cons:

Not the easiest beginner course, but I'm a beginner and didn't lose any discs, so it's not that hard but be prepared to do a little disc hunting if you can't throw straight like me.

The woods isn't a place for pansies, but there are a lot of prickly plants and burrs if you go off course. And the woods have bugs.

Other Thoughts:

Bring a few beers, there's plenty of trash cans around too!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 3
DJdarkness73
Experience: 11 years 4 played 2 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Very Technical 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 29, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Very technical course that will require some thought before each throw. If you don't have a good forehand or anhyzer this course will force you to learn one.

Cons:

The rough is getting better but is still filled with thorns. A few more years and some more traffic will help a lot.

Other Thoughts:

Great course. Other reviews have done hole by hole analysis so not much need for me to repeat.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Lavis
Experience: 18.2 years 27 played 1 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Positive in the works 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 24, 2013 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

I really love playing in the woods. All 9 holes were well marked and for a new course I didn't have to wonder around looking for the next tee pad. The onsite camping and playground were a big plus for my wife and minie. I love the challenge of it and the place had an all together good vibe.

Cons:

None. Love it! But if any it would be the beggers lice (stickers) that covered me. But thats my bad for hucking out of bounds so much.

Other Thoughts:

I'm looking faward to helping make this course better this summer and plan on volunteering time and tools!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 6
Kimando
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Overgrown 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Signage was excellent. Wish they could have been on the pro tees as well.

Cons:

Extremely overgrown. Errant shots just off of the path meant you are standing in prickers and burrs. Design of course could have used more of the natural terrain than what it is set up as.

Other Thoughts:

With how much brush and weeds you get tangled up in, it loses any sense of fun playablity. Maybe the course will open up after its been walked more, but for now its really rough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 6
2chainz
Experience: 4 played 3 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Potential is there 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 19, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Wooded and challenging and you get a chance to work on tight throws with small fairways

Cons:

Overgrown to a point that really becomes too frustrating to play. Also the pro pads do not have the hole info on them so it causes you to walk all the way to the am tee and then walk back to the pro tee. Holes were very short and some terrible doglegs that didnt make sense made the course not fun.

Other Thoughts:

Bugs and thicket were just too bad to give this course worth anything.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by Awol
It is a heavily wooded course that has been open for about 6 months. Damp summers mean more bugs in Wisconsin.

If you want a more polished course, come back in a couple years once we have had a chance to beat back the forest more. The course is open, but we are far from done.
11 1
roclover
Experience: 15.1 years 152 played 9 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Diamond in the Rough 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Challenge: This course is a true test of your skills! This is a predominantly wooded course with some real touchy lines that will help you fine tune your accuracy or pay with unforgiving rough. Just a standard Hyzer/Anhyzer will not get you the birdies you need. You have to have some soft turn over shots, flip up hyzers, stall shots, power anyhzers, side arms and basically everything you can think of to score well here.

Tee Pads: Great flared/trapezoid tee pads are installed well with plenty of room for a full run up.

Beautiful wild life: I saw several white tail deer during my rounds and also quite an array of bird life including a wood pecker and hawk.

Punishing Rough: This is both a pro and a con. I list it as a pro, because I for one like to know that if someone, myself included, throws an errant shot they won't be able to just lay up for a par and move on. If you go big and mess up, you're pretty much guaranteed a bogey unless you have some kind of incredible roller/overhand shot up your sleeve. Personally, I like this because it increases the score spread, separates the field and adds to the "Risk/Reward" factor that everyone loves.

Signage: The brand new signs installed this past weekend look amazing! They are absolutely huge, accurate and are so pretty you almost hate to think about them being left outside in the elements.

Garbage Cans: There were garbage cans on almost every hole from what I saw, and I didn't see any litter!

Cons:

Punishing Rough: Like I said both a pro and a con. The problem with the rough at this course is that it isn't just rough; it's a jungle out there! I'd definitely recommend using spotters your first time out and keeping a close eye on your throws. I know there are plans to eventually wood chip the rest the fairways/greens, but currently weeds/tall grass are quite prevalent and will eat your disc if you aren't careful.

Bugs: While they weren't as bad as I expected, they were definitely still there. I would definitely armor up with some good bug spray before your round and maybe consider wearing pants to keep the bugs and rough from hurting your experience.

No Bomber Holes: If you want somewhere to just "grip and rip" this isn't going to be your favorite. There are some longer holes here (400-500 ft) but they emphasize accuracy over power. If you just let loose and kill it, you're probably saying goodbye to your disc forever.

Growth in the Fairways: There are several fairways on the course where weeds/grass have punched through the wood chips and if you're unlucky can hide your disc. This is very fixable, and I know that WARP has plans for a prison crew to come out several times over the next several years to lay more woodchips throughout the course. In the meantime, I took the liberty to pull some of the weeds as I played and encourage any other avid golfer to do the same. With increased traffic and minimal help from every group we could clean up these fairways substantially.

Other Thoughts:

Hole Analysis

I'm a dominant RHBH player who also uses some RHFH for shorter shots under 350 ft. This analysis is from long tees to short pins except on hole 3, which was long to long.

Hole 1: This is a great opening hole with a signature green. It's about 270 ft, but plays a little bit longer than that because there's kind of a low ceiling and the green sets at the top of a small hill. For me, this is a real nice beat roc shot. I throw my beat KC pro roc down the middle of the gap and let it finish to the right with a nice soft turnover. The gap you have to hit is about 25-30 ft wide and probably 200 ft away from the tee. Most of your putts are going to be about 25 ft and uphill unless you have a great shot that manages to clear the hill. This would be a great lefty hole and also a great sidearm hole if you have those shots as well.

Hole 2: Hard dogleg right hole. It's deuce able with a great anhyzer/overhand shot through the trees, but be prepared for the worse if you hit a tree and drop into the rough. I played it safe with a short sidearm from the tee giving me about a 70 ft jump putt to a protected basket.

Hole 3: 300 ft tunnel shot with punishing rough on the left and the right. I hyzer flipped a roc and had a putt, but was about 35 ft short. It seems to play a little longer than 300 ft because there are a few low hanging branches that create a low ceiling shot and the long grass tends to catch your disc before it can finish its flight. Once the weeds and grass are cut and chipped I think you could slide a midrange up to the basket, but next time I think I might try a leopard.

Hole 4: Short super tight tunnel shot. Only about 185 ft long, but dead straight with very little wiggle room! You have got to throw a pure shot here, or you'll 4 this little gem. I used my stand and deliver approach technique to score the deuce, but I'm sure next time I'll miss the line and take a 4.

Hole 5: Super tricky turnover/anhyzer shot. This is an old-school Barry Schultz style 360 ft leopard turnover shot. You need to get the disc out about 200 ft, hit a small gap and then have it turn from 12 o'clock to 2 o'clock and hold that line! If you either turn it over to hard or let it fade out you're in the rough. This is a true woods hole. There is the option to play it safe and lay up to the short pad and then play a 230 ft sidearm to get your 3, but even that is easier said than done.
NOTE: This hole has a long placement that looks sweet too and I can't wait to play it. It's about a 500 ft wooded "S" shot that definitely plays as a legit par 4.

Hole 6: Another tough hole. It's about 260 ft long turning slowly to the right. There are multiple trees in the fairway that make you choose a shot/line and commit. I still haven't figured out which line I like the best here. Some are better for side-arm while others are better for turnovers or anhyzers. I seem to be able to give myself a putt, but have never parked this hole.

Hole 7: 230 ft tunnel shot with the basket placed on the right side of the green. This is probably the easiest deuce on the course, but if you go for the ace, you're likely to turn it over to hard and catch a big guardian tree. I like to just throw the straight shot and take the 15 ft deuce putt.

Hole 8: Closest thing to a "bomber hole" on the course. It's the widest of all the fairways and plays 340 ft slightly downhill. Even then, it's deceptive. It's a bit of a tricky angle off of the tee and you can't throw any one straight line, but have to work the disc. I finally found success with a tee-bird "S" shot, but imagine there are many ways to play this hole.

Hole 9: Hard dogleg left hole. Similar to hole two, but opposite dogleg and longer. I once again played for the 3 here, but I can imagine that with a high risky hyzer you might have a chance at getting close enough for a long putt. It's great finishing hole that emerges from a small wooded tunnel back to the more open grassy area near the parking lot as your journey reaches its end.

Final Thoughts

I love the variety and challenge of this course and am very excited for WARP and the work they've done here. Congratulations guys, this was a great project. This course is definitely a work in progress/diamond in the rough, and like any new course is rough around the edges and needs to be broken in. I used to go walking in these woods and very rarely saw anyone else here. Now, with the added course, I've seen multiple groups playing and enjoying the course including several young families. I hope that everyone who plays can have a great experience here and also hope that people can help work to make this an even better course. Please help keep the course clean of litter, do a little weeding on your round and feel free to trump through some of the rough to thin it out. In time, with help from everyone and WARP's continued involvement I believe that we will have a top 10 nine hole course here. Please support this project by donating time or money to WARP so they can continue to revitalize our parks.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 1
Keithzilla
Experience: 20.1 years 65 played 5 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Finally, real disc golf in Waupun. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Nov 4, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

*Awesome array of shots - Even with 9 holes I used every disc in my bag. hard doglegs, tunnel shots. If you need to fine-tune your game, come here.

*Easy access - Even without signage in the park, the course was really easy to find. It's right off of the road.

*Camping - The closest course that offers on-site camping (I think) is Token Creek in Madison. Bring the family for a weekend, enjoy the city and the park, play a round or two of ball golf (the country club is adjacent to the park.), do some fishing in the creek that runs next to the course (does not come into play) and walk from your campsite to the course. There are literally sites a few yards from a couple of the holes. This will be even better when the aquatic center is completed. What an amazing family weekend.

*It's beautiful - Even with construction continuing on the course, it's really nice looking.

*Pet friendly - I took my dog with me (leashed, please do the same) and he loved exploring while I threw. I believe the camping is pet friendly also.

*Great flow - Each hole is different than the last. This 9 holer offers more than most 18 hole courses do.

*Navigating is a cinch - There is a long woodchip trail that takes you from hole to hole. With one exception (between 5 and 6 I think) the course was incredibly easy to navigate without signage (which is coming) and with most of the holes being blind from the previous basket. UPDATE 9/4/13 Signage is in, it's beautiful, and its incredibly accurate. The signs are HUGE and bright. They look great.

*Variety - I know I said variety already, but seriously, the variety here is great. The point I want to make here is the difference between the tee boxes. If you played AM tees, then PRO tees, it would feel like you played an 18 hole course.

*Utilization of underused space - I know this doesnt pertain to disc golf so much, but my favorite thing about disc golf is how easily it provides entertainment in areas previously neglected by the public. Another good example of this is Zoebel in Green Lake. I've never seen anybody besides maintenance workers in this area of the County Park, and soon it will be filled with frolfers.

*Location - I touched on this already, but what an awesome location for a course. Camping, playground, hiking, fishing, and ball golf (and a large aquatic center soon) steps from the course. Resturaunts, groceries, hardware, and drinking establishments (don't kid yourself, frolfers drink) all within a mile. camp here and enjoy one of about a dozen other courses within 20 minutes, a couple of them being championship quality (Zoebel). A++ on location.

Cons:

*Baskets - My biggest complaint about the course is the basket quality. They're the baskets that were previously in Tanner Park. I don't know a ton about baskets, but these appear to be old Innova Discatcher baskets with only 1 set of chains. No inner chains means less grab means these baskets will spit out some great putts. hopefully some day they will be upgraded.

*Parking - Parking adjacent to the course is scant. if the park is busy it will be hard to find a spot to put your car while you play. That being said, there is a big parking lot in the park, but it's a hike from the course. UPDATE 9/4/13 The adjacent parking lot has been upgraded with more sensible parking lines. with 90 degree parking many more cars can fit in the parking area. Big upgrade!

*First Hole - You can see the #9 basket from the road, but the #1 tee boxes are inside the edge of the woods. Future signage will help, but I think the placement will make hole 1 difficult to find for first timers. definately not a biggie.

*Potential for more - There is some under-utilized space in the area of the course, especially between #6 and #9. I have no complaints about the holes, and I'm sure funding was tight, but I wish permanent tee boxes had been delayed for the last few holes until funding could be secured for 3 more holes. Natural tee boxes for these holes would have allowed for rearrangement in the future to accomodate a few more holes. It can still be done, but now the freedom to make the holes however you would want them is gone unless you tear out old tee boxes. I will touch on this more in my next con.

*Not enough holes - Hey, this is a great course. My hat is off to whoever designed it, seriously. That being said, I have lived in Waupun for 2 years and one thing I crave is an organized group of players that play together for leagues and have club events in town. This is much more possible with a 12 or 18 hole course. I think Waupun has the player base for a league, all we need is a course big enough to accomodate it.

*Big arms might be disappointed - Obviously the designers couldn't help it, but this course lacks that "bomber" hole where you just wind up and fire it from your cannon.

Other Thoughts:

This is the kind of course I look for when me and friends take a disc golf trip, with on site camping, nearby courses, and amenities near by.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Designer response by Awol
Thanks for the review!

Reusing the baskets was necessary to keep the course affordable. They are probably my least favorite aspect of the course as well. Once we get some signs up and sell some more hole sponsorships, we might be able to ask WARP or other community organizations to help us replace them in a few years. For now they're not awesome, but adequate.

See my response to star doggy for why we had to go 9 vs 18.
Top