• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Weatherford, TX

Weatherford DGC

3.715(based on 35 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Weatherford DGC reviews

Filter
7 1
txmxer
Experience: 4.3 years 12 played 3 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great place to start drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 13, 2022 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Great course for the beginner DG player.

No lost discs. I suppose it could happen in a few spots, but it would be really rare. Mostly large canopy trees over short grass or dirt. One small creek that is mostly dry.

The course dries out very well post rain.

The design rewards measured play more so than aggressive high risk high reward play--that's from a beginner/novice standpoint.

High level players would attack and shred the course, but I think they would have fun with it because the low ceilings do represent a challenge.

Great place to practice new techniques/throw types.

I was able to use UDISC on my phone, so cell service is at least decent in the area.

No crowd. I haven't seen this course crowded in my visits.

No "homeless dude under the bridge". Don't see beer cans/trash littering the course.

8/28/21 Update: They replaced all of the baskets with new Discatchers. There are a few holes that the old baskets are still in place as a second pin location.

The updated parking area is going to be really nice with a concrete block restroom.

Cons:

Very exposed to windy conditions. Could be a plus if you are working on that skill set, but also frustrating. And like any course in Texas--it can get really hot. The tree canopy is a plus, but there is still plenty of sun exposure. Wear head covering or sunscreen.

Following the course can be challenging. My first two visits I was really struggling, but using UDISC made it MUCH easier. Still, it can be challenging to identify the location of the basket for a given hole. Better markers on the baskets would be a plus.

Other Thoughts:

UPDATE 8/13/22: LOTS of updates to share. The parking lot is finished and expanded. Includes a single restroom (flushing toilet and sink) with running water. Several baskets set up for practice. Some DGA and one DiscCatcher. All the main baskets were replaced with DiscCatchers last year, but there are still some alternate pin locations that have the old DGA's in place. Each tee pad now has a large white stone to provide a bench if you need to sit.

I am bumping my rating to 4 star, which would normally indicate a destination course. I wouldn't call it a destination course, but this park is really fantastic. This is the DG course you wish you had easy access to year round. For all those that like to snag a quick round, this is the perfect option.

I think this is a really great place for one to hone DG skill sets. Whatever shot types you want to work on, you can do it on this course, but it's challenging enough that once you've got the shot dialed here, you can then use it on other courses.

The course is supported by the local WDGC (Weatherford Disc Golf Club). They said they are on Facebook, but the page I found was from 2015.

Bring your own water. I don't want to put this on the cons as most DG parks do not have facilities. I didn't see anywhere on the course that you could get water although there is a pavilion--it might have some type of hose bib. There is one port-o-john near #1, but I would avoid it unless it were an dire emergency.

Go throw this course...Load up UDISC...have fun.

Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
Can't get right
Experience: 9 years 25 played 16 reviews
4.00 star(s)

They Got it Right 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 2, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

Good course! Worth the visit. Nice variety of shots. Some real challenges, & some good ace opportunities, but not so tough that beginners couldn't enjoy it. Good pads & good tee signs. Well kept park from what I could tell. Loved the multi-pin placement. First time I've seen 2 baskets at every hole. I like that!

Cons:

If anything, could use a good course map in the park & maybe some arrows to next hole location.

Other Thoughts:

All & all this was a good course. I was able to jump in with some good folks that play this course often & had a ball. Definitely will come back again. Worth the drive. The only change I'd make would be adding directionals to next tees. Other than that, I'd like to play a tournament outhere some time. Would be a blast!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 1
aclay
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.7 years 326 played 244 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Weatherford DGC

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Aug 28, 2022 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-- Multiple tee pads on every hole AND multiple baskets on a few. Three tee pads (two concrete) and two baskets per hole (with at least three pin positions) gives you options galore. What was multiple baskets on every hole a few years ago is down to multiple baskets on a couple of holes. Tee pads are concrete and plenty big, and baskets catch well, whether DGA or Innova.
-- Fun design that brings trees into play on most holes but isn't so choked with trees as to feel like luck is a big factor. Trees also provide shade for large parts of the course, a welcome thing most of the year in Texas.
-- Elevation change, while not awesome, is present. The downhill throw on No. 16, however, has changed. Enlarged and improved parking impacted baskets locations, so the throw is through tree and less down hill. The tee pad is now circular, allowing you to throw RHFH (or a big anny) around the trees or throw through the trees, parallel to the road directly at the basket.
-- The elevated basket on No. 8.
-- Water is a factor on nearly half of the holes in the wet season. However, it is a small creek/ditch, so retrieving your disc is fairly easy.
-- Nice permanent restroom (and covered picnic tables) near main parking. Port-o-potty that was at auxiliary parking lot, near #13 long tee, is no longer there.
-- Practice basket.
-- Auxiliary parking lot in middle of course (between 14 basket and 15 tee) that allows you to start with either hole 6 or hole 15 and come right past your car after 9 holes.
-- No "benches" at the tees, but there are tree stumps cuts into chairs at some holes and large rectangles of stone (limestone?) are at most tees. Also, there are pavilions with picnic tables near the road on Nos. 15-16 and a few old-style cement picnic tables and benches in other spots.

Cons:

-- Tee signs are fairly basic, and they are now old and out of date. One or two are missing.
-- Creek crossings are something of an issue, although a new metal bridge from 8 basket to 9 tee helps.
-- Ants are everywhere, especially in the summer.
-- Course is remote. The nearest place to buy any water or refreshments is a few miles away.

Other Thoughts:

-- I was told more than four years ago that the second set of baskets per hole were temporary and intended for another course. A sign near the parking lot now says that, but there is no mention of a timeframe.
-- New tee pads for Nos. 8 and 10 are in place (and mentioned on the message board at the practice basket).
-- The short tee pads make for SHORT holes. In several instances, that makes holes shorter than 100 feet when playing the short basket position.
-- A couple of recent (spring/summer 2022) changes: New long positions for holes 6, 7 and 11. Six pushes the basket 20-30 feet right; 7 shortens the longest hole on the course by 75-100 feet; 11 lengthens the hole about 75 feet and adds significant difficulty because of trees/vines in the path and an OB fence 20 feet behind the basket. That was in the spring. In late summer, new positions were added on 7, 11 and 16. Also, 16 now appears to have FIVE baskets; four of them are near the parking lot or auxiliary street parking, so perhaps they are intended as practice baskets.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
LeftyPower
Experience: 35.3 years 33 played 15 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent Course but Sparsely Wooded 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 6, 2018 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Good tee Pads
Fairly easy to Navigate
Good design on some of the holes
Some well protected baskets
Makes good use of land available

Cons:

Fairly flat and plain
Sparsely wooded in most spots
Several of the holes too easy for intermediate/advanced players
No signature or rememberable holes
Holes all close together/not spread out

Other Thoughts:

Living in DFW, it was worth a trip out to play this course even more than once but not really a draw unless you live in the area or on the FW side of town. Developed by a couple of guys who helped build some of the DFW disc golf scene so it's got some good holes, but some were just typical flat open park holes with not much to talk about.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
34blast
Experience: 27 years 50 played 31 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Nice course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 22, 2018 Played the course:once

Pros:

Nice use of trees
multiple baskets per hole
Nice variety
Not crowded, only 3 of us on whole course

Cons:

Signs and navigation are horrible.
You better take a photo of the map in the marking lot before starting unless you know the course

Other Thoughts:

I felt it was worth the 45 minute drive. I would do it again. It's nice course and fun.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 4
MadGame32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 7.4 years 69 played 69 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Birthday Roadtrip 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Mar 25, 2017 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Concrete tees on every hole.
-Multiple pin locations that are pretty easy to know the difference between.
-Safe environment for the family.
-Tee markers provide a good description.
-The tower pin placement on hole 8 was interesting.
-There was a creek, but the water was almost all dried up. I imagine it would only be a problem after a huge storm.

Cons:

-TREES! Being a relative newcomer to the sport, the trees gave me fits all day. I understand this is desirable for "technical and experienced" disc golfers, but the trees made my experience miserable. Strategic placement of flight lanes through trees is one thing, but most of these were "Throw and hope it gets through."
-While being interesting, the tower pin placement on hole 8 was harder than it needed to be in my opinion. Maybe I am just new and things like this are the norm.

Other Thoughts:

I traveled here as a gift to myself for my birthday to try a course other than my home course. I had high hopes based on previous reviews, but this was not worth the trip in my opinion.

If you are hard core, experienced, and a good technical disc golfer, I say go for it. If you are a beginner, I would look for other options.

3/29/21 Update:

Out of the 68 courses I have reviewed, this is where this course ranks along with similarly rated courses:
Rank-Course, Location
30-The Firecracker, Fountain Inn, SC
31-Granbury City DGC, Granbury, TX
32-Owens Field Park, Columbia, SC
33-Hampton Park Baptist Church DGC, Greenville, SC
34-Pecan Grove West, Sherman TX
35-Weatherford DGC, Weatherford, TX
36-Timmons Park, Greenville, SC
37-Crooked Creek Park, Chapin, SC
38-USC Upstate, Spartanburg, SC
39-Trails DGC, Anderson, SC
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
Pizza God
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Premium Member
Experience: 36.2 years 1745 played 591 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Worth the drive from DFW 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 25, 2016 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tee signs on every hole
multiple tee cement tee boxes
multiple pin positions
VERY good use of the land given

Cons:

pay attention to the map, some of the holes can be confusing if your not paying attention.

Other Thoughts:

1st time I had played this course in years. I had played it many times as a 9 hole and with 9 temp holes added. This was the first time in many years sense the course was expanded to 18 and with all the alts.

Very large tree's for most of this course, while not a lot of them, they do come into play on most of the holes. There is a small creek running though the course, it had water in it the day we were playing, but I can see it drying up for the summer.

There is some slight elevation changes on a few of the holes. There is also a few wide open rip it holes.

In all, a very good mix of long and short, tight and wide open.

Best thing, stop at The Shed @ Daves Stove Shop at the corner by the highway for lunch, well worth the trip on it's own. (not open on Sun/Mon)
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
AthruZ
Experience: 12.8 years 29 played 9 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Weatherford is Impressive! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

This course is pretty awesome. Great use of land and lots of challenge shots with all the trees around. Plenty of shade, great landscaping and teeboxes.

Cons:

Needs to be mowed right now. Grass was pretty high in some places. Don't expect your discs to skip for extra distance, the grass is too thick.

Other Thoughts:

I can't wait to come out and play here again. Too bad I live about an hour away. If there's a PDGA tournament here, I'm definitely signing up.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 2
mavsfan0434
Experience: 12 played 11 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Great course, fun for beginners 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Apr 26, 2015 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

**UPDATE** Finally got back out to this course last night after work. It is in great shape right now. I think they may have recently added a new 3rd pin position on every hole, and that's where the pins are right now. They are all pretty long, so it made the course more difficult for a beginner like me. While we were there people were out spraying for ants, and trimming dead off the trees, always good to see!

I truly enjoyed this course. It was my first time ever playing, and even though I have been to others since, this is still my favorite by far. I feel like it has a great mix of hole types. I went with two experienced players and another rookie, and we all had a really good time.

Cons:

Grass was a little tall in some places in the fairway, a couple tee pads need to have some dirt added around them so water doesn't collect right in front of them. Makes for a pretty scary tee shot!

Other Thoughts:

Definitely worth the trip out west if you live in the DFW area!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
Johnyfo8
Experience: 12.3 years 113 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Open but not too easy 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:May 17, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This is a great course for beginners and experienced players. It has great sweeping lines that let you rip a long drive on most holes. There are excellent long and short cement tee pads for every hole as well as two or three pin placements for each hole. It plays well even after a good rain because of the grass and good drainage. If you play the long box to the long pins then it is a very challenging course and if you play the short box to the short pins it is very beginner friendly course.

Cons:

I have difficulty with low ceiling shots so this is not in my favorites. There are some nice open shots that let you get a good bomb shot, but most of them have a low ceiling and that will be frustrating for most players. I personally would like more elevation changes and more variety in the holes/shots.

Other Thoughts:

The park is well taken care of. There are plenty of trash cans and there is rarely trash on the course when I play. My favorite holes are 7 and 8.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 2
williamlbird
Experience: 12.4 years 22 played 6 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Very worthwhile to play! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 15, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is an excellent course for all skill levels. The long throwers will be able to reach all or almost all of the holes with their drives and can make it more challenging by driving with their mid-range discs on many of the holes. I'm a senior and normally drive around 300' which makes this a lot of fun because most of the holes are around 295 - 330. The trees are used advantageously to make most of the holes a test for even the best players. Extended tee pads are nice. For the most part it isn't a long hike between baskets to the next tee pad. Multiple tee pads and basket locations provide a good variety. The trees provide lots of shade on most holes.

Cons:

Some of the tee pads have a little bit of a drop off. I agree with a previous reviewer about the dog people being oblivious to flying objects.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
6 0
Dday301
Experience: 17 years 11 played 9 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Love it! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Feb 23, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Fantistic concrete teepads
-Long and short teepads on almost every hole
-Multiple pin locations
-Very well kept
-Trash cans and benches throughout
-Friendly locals
-Port-a-john near parking lot
-Pratice basket near parking lot
-Good amount of shade provided by the trees through most holes

Cons:

-If it's your first time out you might have a hard time with flow in a few spots
-Some days there are lots of oblivious dog walkers walking through your fairway

Other Thoughts:

I love this course, that pretty much sums it up. Decent shot variety although some will argue it needs more (the new 9 that are coming will add good variety). It is mostly RHBH friendly but there's a couple where RHFH will have a big advantage. It is always very clean thanks to the fantastic club at Weatherford. The wind is almost always a factor thanks to the lake, could be a pro because it adds to the challenge or a con if it's beating you up that day. Good amount and use of trees, not too many but enough to make you think about shot placement and try new lines. Everyone is always friendly out there and you should be confident that you are safe to bring the family here. Occasionally the city will drain water from the lake which come through the park. It stays in the creek for the most part but it will make 9&14 rather wet sometimes. It is very important to me to have teepads that are long enough. Nothing sucks more than stepping off the end of a pad and screwing up your shot, and possible hurting your ankle/knee or something else. This is a complete non issue here. This is a great course and if you haven't played here you need to come play it!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
4 1
BigGAC1
Experience: 14.8 years 39 played 29 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Weatherford 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- Well thought out pin placements
- long concrete teepads
- multiple tee & pin positions
- solid mix of shots
- good baskets
- good signage (except for missing sign on hole 2)
- trees are used well as obstacles
- well shaded for the summer months

Cons:

- navigation was somewhat challenging for the first go around
- tall grass in some areas
- wasn't an issue when I was there, but the whole course is in a floodplane by the lake, so I would imagine it can probably get pretty hairy with any real precipitation

Other Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this course, it is very well laid out. It would be safe to take a beginner here, but still provides a challenge for advanced players looking for deuces (lots of birdie opportunities). It offers some great variety.

Not necessarily a pro or con, but this course seemed oddly LHBH friendly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 2
TheHipstick
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 21 years 171 played 69 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 11, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course had nice concrete teepads and almost all of the holes had signs with the hole layout. All baskets are in really good shape. Course has practice basket. Course had a few benches and trash cans.

Cons:

Some holes need to be mowed. Other than the tall grass in some areas it was a nice course. Also port-a-potties on location..

Other Thoughts:

Good course for the location on the outside of the DFW area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 3
pingchandlerpong
Experience: 12.7 years 5 played 2 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Weatherford DGC 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 4, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Concrete tees, multiple pin locations, benches. Different holes benefit different throws. Good variety, fun course. Weekly minis and a good community!

Cons:

Sometimes the grass gets too long. Signs don't show all three basket locations. If you aren't a local you may have trouble finding the next tee.

Other Thoughts:

Home course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Buddy horn
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Shade in the Texas Summer 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 22, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of mature pecan trees provide variety and relief from the Texas sun.

Well maintained. Very clean park.

Friendly locals.

Challenging, yet beginner friendly.

Lots of fun.

Cons:

Parks department takes its time getting the mowing done.

Other Thoughts:

One of the best courses in DFW. If you haven't played it yet you are missing out.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
jrrttmrgn
Experience: 20 years 128 played 13 reviews
3.00 star(s)

The Unmarked Alternates 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Finding pros for the Weatherford course is not a difficult task. Coming into the park you find a location with plenty of room at the end of a road that dead ends within view of a lake. Tall trees, mowed grass and a clean landscape are all inviting as well. the tee pads are spacious and have signs. parking is near hole 1 and 18 brings players back to the start of the course. Many of the holes have multiple approach lines and the distance and obstacles make good use of the available terrain. the peaceful vibe of the course was in my opinion its biggest pro; though the creativity of the basket placements was very entertaining.

Cons:

the cons of this course were as noticeable as the pros. The biggest as seen in the title of this review is that a lot of holes have a third in-use alternate basket location. The signs are nice but are of no help since the basket location can be 400ft away behind trees and completely unmarked. Also, in the way of navigation the course doubles back on itsself often enough to make knowing where the next tee pad is difficult even with map in-hand. Though subjective to personal preferences I also found it to be somewhat repetitive and did not really require much variety in shots or discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
Nascar Dave
Experience: 35.9 years 164 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

My Home Course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 7, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

This park stays super clean thanks to the WDG club members as we sponsor the course and surrounding roadway. We do appreciate your help keeping it clean, thank you in advance.
The park has lots of shade due to the large Pecan trees scattered throughout.
We move the baskets about once a month to keep variety in the course, so hopefully it's different the next time you visit.

Cons:

Not a whole lot of elevation change in the terrain. When the Utility Dept releases water it can be wet on a couple holes and sometimes in the summer, rather fragrant.

Other Thoughts:

I run the weekly minis on Wed at 6:30pm and Sat morning at 9am. Please try to get there aearly for sign-ups as this is the start time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
beandip
Experience: 11 played 2 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2011 Played the course:once

Pros:

Course has good shot variety, pin positions change with good frequency, is well cared for and usually litter free. Concrete pads with great tee signs. Good shade on several holes. Normally not crowded and has several benches placed throughout the course.

Cons:

No major elevation changes. Locals enjoy walking the park so you have to watch for people and dogs. Several times we've had to flag people picking pecans on hole 18 that we were throwing discs their direction. Parking is close to holes 16 and 18 so an errant disc could possibly hit your vehicle.

Other Thoughts:

I have no issues bringing my young kids with me to this course as everyone is friendly and I don't have to worry about them picking up questionable items or hurting themselves on the terrain.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Doupie620
Experience: 15 years 12 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Heaven 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 21, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Tourneys on Weekends...random doubles.
Course is legitimate Par 3
No place to really lose disc
Requires all throws to excel

Cons:

When they release water from wherever, it can be kinda stinky.

Other Thoughts:

Love this course
Love this course
Love this course
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top