Zephyr Cove, NV

Zephyr Cove Park

Permanent course
4.285(based on 50 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Zephyr Cove Park reviews

Filter
16 0
The Valkyrie Kid
Diamond level trusted reviewer
Experience: 45.9 years 1562 played 1507 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Raise Your Hand If You Like Hiking Or Throwing Uphill! 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 17, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Zephyr Cove is set in a park that has a library, a ballfield along with the other attractions. The natural setting is truly spectacular with the course playing on a mountainside with these awesome rock outcroppings and through a scattered pine forest. It's just about a perfect beautiful setting for a course.
The course has great rubber mats and Innova Chainstar baskets with the yellow rims. There are A and B basket positions but no indicators of which position the basket is currently in.
Holes 1,2 and 3 are all uphill. After # 5 you walk downhill a spell only to tee it off for the fourth uphill hole. # 7 was a level hole and then # 8 is an uphill. This makes 5 of the first 8 holes playing uphill. From here it was a short climb to the # 9 teepad. The view here is EPIC! You're looking over the clear blue water of Lake Tahoe! A cool mountain breeze was refreshing after all the previous uphill climbs. And I'm expecting my first EPIC downhill crank on this celebrated highly rated course and what do I get? A short 220' featherly touch shot! Now, I love these short touch ACE runs and I'm not complaining. It's just after all this climbing, I was kinda thinking I'd be bringing out my driver sooner or later!
# 14 is a 208 foot uphill which plays like it's 300 foot.
There are more great views from the # 15 teebox. This is probably the big air toss on this course. I love it with the basket visible way down below.
At 4 in the afternoon, the only other person on the course was a local working on the teepads-no other players?

Cons:

I gotta question the overall design of this course with all the uphill holes. I realize you have to walk up the mountain in order to throw down it but this was a little over the top.

I wonder about this course being so close to the local high school just below. Does it suffer any vandalism? Some high schoolers do seem to be especially hard on disc golf courses.

Other Thoughts:

The course is as beautiful as any course I've played. It was really a magical moment when I reached the # 9 teepad, to sit in the sun, take in the breathtaking view of the lake and surrounds, let the mountain breeze cool me off and think to myself, "There is no where else I'd rather be at this moment."

As special as that moment was, I have to question why most reviewers always point out the fact that this incredibly beautiful course always seems to be empty. Is it because you need to have Lance Armstrong's lungs and a mountain goat's agility to navigate it's steep slopes? After playing here, I drove the 5 miles over to Bijou Community Park and it's 27 slightly more user friendly holes and it was filled with players. Just wondering.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 8
Blazer530
Experience: 14.9 years 39 played 7 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Amazing views and great golf 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 27, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Where do I start? The views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes are magnificant. There are boulders all around the course that make it even more beautiful. The golf is phenomenal. There are shots that will test your game to it's fullest. There are no 2 shots that feel the same.

Cons:

Boulders can be a little rough on discs, and there is some low growing manzanita, but other than that I can't find any flaws with this course.

Other Thoughts:

Play here. Play here! PLAY HERE!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
Steve G
Experience: 13.5 years 30 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

A Round to Remember 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

Well laid out, easy to find your way to the next hole. Great rubber tee boxes. (concrete would not last very long, under a few feet of snow)
Pace of play moved right along and we were a group of 8. Got in two rounds with a lunch break at the very nice picnic area. Pack a lunch and enjoy more then just the Disc course.
Plenty of shot variations to test your game.

Cons:

Shorts (in the summer months) can lead to some nasty scratches from the manzanita. Watch your step.
We were warned, by a local, that bears and a mountain lion had been spotted in and around the area but we saw no signs of either, luckily.

No garbage cans, as is pretty much the norm with a mountain course. So, pack out what you packed in and keep the course looking good for those that follow.

Other Thoughts:

Pleasant folks on and around the course. Very easy to find. Great picnic area. We drove up from Roseville, beat all the traffic coming up the hill and were 1st on the course at 7:30.
Pack a camera for some momentous views from the highest tee's.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 1
rmcguire86
Experience: 15.7 years 17 played 8 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 12, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

- A lot of challenging, technical shots, mixed in several long downhill shots that you can really air it out on.

- Beautiful location, with the mountains and the lake in the back ground.

-Close to South Lake casinos and hotels

-Relatively uncrowded. Went at 8 o'clock on a Saturday morning and saw very few people on the course. Big change from my usual stomping grounds. I imagine it gets a bit more crowded during the summer months though.

Cons:

-Tons and tons of uphill shots. Not a big fan of those personally.

-Bear country, so keep an eye out.

-Undergrowth EVERYWHERE, and several blind shots make for several lost discs. Be prepared to have to search for several minutes on several holes.

Other Thoughts:

This isn't really a pro or a con, but it is a very physical course. It is quite a hike, so bring appropriate gear. I would recomend a good set of hiking shoes and long pants.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
10 2
MikePinchico
Experience: 19.6 years 124 played 19 reviews
4.50 star(s)

This Course Puts Hair On Your Chest 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Dec 17, 2011 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

One of Tahoe's greatest courses and that is saying a lot. There is no other course in the area that provides a player with two epic viewing spots of Lake Tahoe. This course has well maintained rubber tee pads and Innova chainstar baskets. Not one hole on this course feels like a repeat I'm not freaking kidding you. The local DG community puts a lot of work into making this course play at the level it does. You will most likely be the only one out on the course (I know it is hard to imagine such an awesome course and nobody is playing). It is free to play and very dog friendly. The park area where the course starts has lots of amenities: volleyball, BBQ's, running water, picnic tables, baseball fields, hiking trails, oh yeah an a huge freaking lake across the hwy to swim in.

Cons:

This is not my home course and I wish it was. You could get very lonely being that you will be the only one playing the course (most of the time). Distances on the signs are from the old tee's and are completely inaccurate.

Other Thoughts:

This is the newer layout of this course. The older course was shorter and had more brush so be very thankful for the condition that the course is in. Go play this course. If you even thought twice if you should play this or not, your an idiot. Don't bring your little kid or grandpa because they cannot handle the terrain of this course. Bring water because there are no drinking fountains on the mountain. I played this course for the first time in 2.5' of fresh snow, it was epic. So anyone who cannot navigate this course has no sympathy from this guy. It would also be advisable to wear proper shoes, you will die in flip flops. I love this course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 10
texaspeacemon
Experience: 13.9 years 39 played 1 reviews
5.00 star(s)

The Most Beautiful Course in the World! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 3, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Beauty surrounded by difficulty that outweighs the difficulty. You dont mind your lack of ability.

Cons:

I have a traveling job, I play all over the country, I dream about playing this course every time I nail a shot.

Other Thoughts:

WOW
Was this review helpful? Yes No
18 0
humchris85
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.9 years 143 played 78 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Lake views and lots of fun 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 26, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

- Lots of elevation change, uphills, downhills, side-hills
- Great views of Lake Tahoe from the higher holes
- Variety of throws required to play well, lefts, rights, and straight ahead.
- Cool rock outcropings around on the course
- Hole 14 would qualify for an epic hole, with it's elevated teepad bult off of the hillside, big downhill throw, and views of Lake Tahoe
- Mostly heavy woods with a couple more open holes
- Short drive to 27 more holes of golf at Bijou
- Rubber teepads in good shape
- A large amount of work has been put in to take out alot of the manzanita that used to be around the course
- Some ace-able holes
- Fun and friendly locals
- Good Signage

Cons:

- May be a bit too hard for some beginers
- May be too much hikeing for older players, kids, people who arn't in shape, etc...
- Some trash on course from the school next door
- Still some Manzanita on the course, but not neer as much as there was in 2008 when I first played it
- Probably gets snowed in, in the winter.

Other Thoughts:

Another epic course in the Lake Tahoe area. There are 18 holes here and I can't think of one hole that doesn't have at least a little bit of elevation change. There are alot of rock outcropings around the course that help add a unique feel to the course. As you get to the holes that are higher on the hill you will be treated to beutifull views of Lake Tahoe and the surounding mountains. When I played here last time I could definatly tell that there was alot of work put in sence the first time that I played here in 2008, they took out alot of the small manzanita bushes that would swallow discs, and it definatly helps me put up a more solid rating.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
11 2
GVDiscr
Experience: 19.9 years 109 played 21 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Top Notch Golf! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jun 28, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Zephyr Cove is definitely one of the best courses I've ever played! It all starts with a great drive up to Lake Tahoe which is awesome in itself; driving around the lake and catching the great views always puts you in high spirits!
Most of the time the course isn't too packed, which is odd because of the caliber!
The course is laid out on the side of a mountain and has great terrain to golf in!
*Rubber Tee Pads
*Innova Discatchers
*Great Signage
*AMAZING VIEWS OF THE LAKE!
are just a few of the major pluses to the course!
The fairways and versatility on each Hole makes for a great challenging round!
Tons of elevation change / blind shots / LONG bombs and can be windy at times to keep you on your toes.
This course always offers a great time for Pro/Advanced Players and avid hikers... if your not afraid of a good workout and some hard core golf! Hit this course!

Cons:

Not any big cons other than it's too far away from me. Tahoe golfers.. you are truly blessed!
Hike is pretty intense - course not suited for beginner golfers!

Other Thoughts:

This course alone is worth the trip there! The air is so fresh and the views are stunning! You might even forget that your golfing while your there.. I could honestly sit on Hole 15 all day and have lunch and a few cold ones and couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
31 1
JMONEY
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 14.9 years 227 played 41 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Jewel of the Sierra 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 26, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Easy access, Great views, Very clean, Not crowded, Good signage, Challenging, High Risk with great reward opportunities, restrooms , multiple pin locations, fairly easy to navigate, friendly locals, Other amenities close by and best of all FREE!

Cons:

Not available year round, during winter months it's covered with snow. It would help out navigating if there were a few more next tee signs and if the baskets had maybe a flag or coloring to locate easier. My vision could be getting worse with age though.

Other Thoughts:

This course can be easily accessed from Hwy 50 by turning onto Warrior Way and an immediate right at the end of the parking lot is the disc golf kiosk and the first tee. You may see vehicles parked alongside of Hwy 50 or even on Warrior Way, don't be discouraged about the course being crowded this is just overflow parking from the beach.
This course was established in 1998 and has been in the making since; and with the hard work from local sponsors, businesses, DGR's and community has recently been recognized on DGCR.
This course is laid out over mountainous terrain covered with 150-200ft deciduous pine trees, granite boulders, Manzanita and other native foliage with views of Lake Tahoe. Each hole has custom made signage with multiple pin locations and distances. As far as the figuring out what location the baskets at (A, B, C...). When I played I didn't realize it till about hole #10, but there was a piece of blue tape over the location on the signs. All holes offer you elevation challenges let alone the fact that you are at 6500 ft elevation. Remember thinner air causes discs to fly more stable. The course offers many high risk reward pin locations and requires you to pull every shot out of your bag. There is some underbrush but not enough to fear about losing your favorite disc, go big or go home! There are distinguished paths between holes making the hike and flow easy to navigate. If you are particular about debris on the tee pad you should bring a whisk broom. Bring plenty of water and a snack and enjoy the scenery.

The park has a sand volleyball court and large BBQ grill with pavilion a small playground and two softball fields. There is so much more the area has to offer and normally I would not acknowledge this but since these other amenities/activities are only within 200 yds. from the course.
There is the Zephyr Cove Beach across the way with four volleyball courts allowing anyone to challenge a game for the court, usually occupied with a couple dark-tanned and leather skinned looking guys.
Watercraft rentals to enjoy the lake and surrounding shoreline and coves. You can check on hourly and daily rates here
]http://www.zephyrcove.com/acc...s.aspx[/link]
Daily cruises from the beach taking you to Emerald Bay or for a dinner cruise and even a catamaran cruise, check out the the M.S. Dixie here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/msdixie.aspx

Or on the Tahoe Queen here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/tahoequeen.aspx
You can enjoy a day of Fishing too. There is a general store across the way with your basic needs. There is a bar on the beach with cocktail waitresses walking up and down the beach.
Cabins on the lake and very reasonable here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/acc...e-cabins.aspx
You can enjoy camping too check out the link
http://www.zephyrcove.com/acc...mpground.aspx
Next to the disc course you can enjoy horseback check it out here
http://www.zephyrcove.com/hor...k-riding.aspx
as a matter of fact I seen people riding while on the course.
If you plan on visiting during any of the holidays or major three day weekends check for availability this is a very popular spot for locals and tourist.
Growing up this would have been my home course if it was around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 5
Swiftacle
Experience: 20.9 years 48 played 7 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Zephyr 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2010 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Lots of elevation.
Beautiful views of Lake Tahoe.
Great variety throughout the course.
A fair challenge.

Cons:

Tough course to locate the next tee, but they've been making progress.

Other Thoughts:

Since they cut some of the trees on the course last summer, it has opened up a lot, which was probably needed. The course plays much fairer now.
#15, the signage at the tee is incorrect. They've since moved the basket about 100' up the hill, a bit to the left.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
12 4
coldshark
Experience: 15.4 years 12 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best Course in Tahoe 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 23, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

Everything. Seriously.

-Spectacular setting. Unbeatable views of Lake Tahoe and the surrounding mountains.

-Tons of elevation change. Come to think of it, I don't think there is a single hole that's flat.

-Challenging options at every hole. Countless high risk/reward opportunities. You can/will use every throw in your arsenal.

-Primarily a Disc Golf park. I played in the late morning and didn't see another sole until just before I left.

-Excellent signage. Current pin locations are marked with tape on the signs. I found all but one or two pins from the tee boxes.

*Bonus: for some of the less obvious holes, there were markings pointing to the next tee.

-Well laid out, great use of the space.

-Excellently maintained tee pads w/ alternate pads on some holes.

-Alternate pin locals for variety if you play here often.

-Easy to find. Just off Hwy 50, simply follow the directions on the main description page.

Cons:

-None for me.

-If you'd have any, they'd be personal.

-Even the Manzanita bushes weren't very hindering. Not much risk for eating discs. I was fine in shorts, but if you're a whimp about scratches on your legs, wear long pants.

Other Thoughts:

I'd have to say one of the premiere courses I've played, period. Not just in Tahoe. I LOVE the elevation change on each hole. This course makes no effort to hide it either. The first three holes are straight up the mountain--a quick break on 4, then right back up the next three holes to 9's tee at the top.

Some of the tee's can be a bit tricky to find, but only the first time through--and nothing absurd like I've experienced elsewhere. The path is usually pretty clear if you look for the long logs on the ground that line it.

I like to hike, as well as play disc, so this was the best of both worlds for me. But even if you're not an avid hiker, don't let Zephyr's uphill climbs keep you away. It's not ridiculously grueling. Plus the view is so spectacular that stopping for a break to look around is something you'll want to do regardless. Bring plenty of water, the air can be dry. And pace yourself, especially if you're not used to playing/hiking at high elevations.

On my road trip I played here, Bijou, Turtle Rock, and Kirkwood. All fun courses, but Zephyr was clearly the cream of the crop. Consistently interesting and challenging holes, elevation change galore, and the unbeatable setting. Play them all if you can, but if I had to pick only one, it'd be Zephyr Cove, hands down.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
8 2
ibgollie
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Experience: 18.8 years 62 played 31 reviews
4.50 star(s)

Bad A! 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 7, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good Tees
-Good Signs
-Good Hiking
-Great Views
-Great holes
-Great elevation changes
-Great variety: up, down, left, right, long, short
-Solid difficulty
This is a must play in the Tahoe area, one of my favorite courses. It's funny, I liked playing there so much that I almost can't put it into words.

Cons:

Can't really just go and bust out a quick round, but that's also part of the reason I like it so much. It's an experience.

Hmm, here's a con, I can't really think of a legit one.

ok, ok, here's one. I got there at 7am, I was cold and stiff and the first 4 or 5 holes are bombs straight up the mountain. More of a con about myself I guess though.

Other Thoughts:

This course is sooo much fun. This is the last course I have played in the tahoe area and by far my favorite. Awesome views, great layout, really fun holes, and unlike other mountain courses, it's not loaded with brush to lose your discs in. You can just huck it up, over, and through the woods, walk to it and throw it again. All the great things about mountain disc golf and none of the bad.

To paraphrase the great Ricky Bobby:

"If you don't like [Zephyr Cove] then $!&% you!"
Was this review helpful? Yes No
13 0
JHern
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 16.8 years 82 played 50 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Tahoe's Ultimate Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 20, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

This is it, folks. Think you've got game? Think you're tough? Think you're in decent physical shape? Do you have what it takes for real mountain golf, holes that demand huge arms, accuracy, and versatility? Holes that require wisdom in the ways of your disc in the wind?

Zephyr Cove is beyond any doubt the most beautiful course I've ever played. This place is perfect! Stately pine forests rise up into rocky ridge lines, whirring in the constant wind that blows off that gorgeous deep blue lake, and framed by snowy peaks all across the horizon. Simply stunning!

This course has so many epic shots, and makes you work for par on every hole. Huge bombs over wooded canyons, big uphill hucks into rocky coves, putter tee shots off steep ridge lines in extreme wind, 400'-500' drives through some of the tightest and most tantalizing tunnels this side of the Mississippi, and a handful of top-of-the-world-esque downhill gut shots...what more can you ask for? I think I emptied my entire bag about 5 times during just my first round, that's how much fun these holes were!

The tee pads are very nicely maintained. There are nice bathrooms near the 1st tee, the course is super clean, the tee signage is spot on, and there is even a little wooden lean-to after one of the holes to sit inside and enjoy the fine ambiance of the surroundings. The trees provide lots of shade, and there is always a wind to keep you cool.

Cons:

The only cons I can think of are the handful of wimps complaining about having to hike up and downhill. Get in shape, tubbies! Sheesh.

Other Thoughts:

This is one of the world's most challenging and fun disc golf courses, for sure. It definitely rates a 5/5 for me, there is no question in my mind this time. No doubts at all. The course was set up in the long tournament configuration when I last played it (this was just before King of the Lake), so other set-ups might not rate as high...but definitely you must play this course!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 2
Joe_Maumy
Experience: 14.1 years 36 played 26 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Must Play 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:May 26, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

WOW, what a killer course. 18 holes through the Tahoe woods, all kinds of different holes. Uphill, downhill, over what seems like a canyon...(stay on the trail as you go down) This is a must play course. Not to had to find my way on my first time out. Some blind shots off the tee but there signage is quite good. Park in the far back of the lot, the course starts there.

Cons:

nothing I could think of. Not baby friendly if you have a little one in a stroller.

Other Thoughts:

If you are anywhere near here play this course! I cant wait to go back. Met a few locals who were totally cool.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
7 0
trevorchreid
Experience: 13 played 13 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Oct 1, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Beautiful setting
-extreme elevation change
-has downhill and uphill holes
-well maintained
-nice baskets and tee pads
-Nice variety of technicality
-The downhill holes on this coarse are amazing.
-Long and short holes
-Great variety of shots, nice coarse design
-not over crowded

Cons:

-Front nine is a little too uphill. This was very humbling. Great place to practice your uphill game however
-Very hard to find your footing with all the bushes, pine cones, and bark on the fairway.
-Very easy to loose your disc (this includes in ground brush and getting stuck in pine trees)
-Easy to crack a disc. Cracked a DX Beast on a rock on this coarse

Other Thoughts:

It's always a pleasure to play a true mountain coarse such as Zephyr Cove. One of the most beautiful settings I've ever played DG in.
I would qualify this as a destination coarse - world class.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 4
Okiewildcat
Experience: 4 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Great Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Mar 24, 2010 Played the course:once

Pros:

I try to play anytime I go on the road and have played many different courses across the US. I really enjoyed playing here amid the beautiful backdrop of Lake Tahoe. Great layout and difficult holes going up hill while less challenging holes downhill but just enjoyable.

Cons:

Alittle difficult to find the holes the first round but no problems after that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 7
Shepack
Experience: 19 years 9 played 4 reviews
5.00 star(s)

Best of the best 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 5, 2009 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Elvation changs the whole time. The views are great. Alternet local T posstions if you know where they are. Short loop on course alows you to play a quick round or another small one. At the beach. See the same people every day. Only disc players on course.

Cons:

The fire protection thinning of the forest is a bummer Mazinita can eat discs.

Other Thoughts:

I love this course. It was next to my highschool and i would play around be for classalmost everyday and one after. Go to the beach then shoot then back to the beach can't beat it. Every one is supper chill and all locals know the course like the backof their hands. Got me started on disc, can't wait to play it all summer.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 3
JHoff
Experience: 19.8 years 24 played 4 reviews
4.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 7, 2010 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

The views alone make this course a must play.
-Good tees
-Good quality baskets.
-A variety of different holes to challenge most players.
-Amazing elevation change while you climb up and down this mini mountain.
-A variety of different pin placements.
This was one of the only courses where my wife came along and didn't get bored because of the courses beauty and the views.

Cons:

I would of liked some of the holes to be a little longer. You tee off on top of this course and you can barely throw it because the hole is so short. Not all of the holes are short but it just seems to missing that hole where you can just let it rip. Long pants might be a good idea because the bushes can be a little scratchy. You can avoid this by staying in the fairways.

Other Thoughts:

I played this course while on vacation in Tahoe. We were very pleased to have such a beautiful course so close to our condo. If you are vacationing in the Tahoe area you might want to add this course to your agenda.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
9 4
DaKineSurfer32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 23 years 577 played 57 reviews
3.50 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 29, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

- 2 to 3 pin placements per hole
- quality, large cement tees
- good signs showing basket positions, distances and landmarks on each hole
- good facilities in surrounding park
- good directions to course

Cons:

- holes 1-8 all play UPHILL, either directly or indirectly, making for a grueling front 9
- no signs leading you to the next tee
- many people that play this course are vacationing in Tahoe and don't know the etiquette about letting faster players or smaller groups play through
- very hot and dry, and can be easy to roll an ankle on most fairways

Other Thoughts:

I came into this course not knowing what to expect, and I was actually quite pleasantly surprised. Aside from having to constantly walk uphill for the first half of the course, it was really a great course. Everything was in good shape and seemed to be well maintained. There were benches for resting every few holes.

You need to bring good shoes and water with you when you play this course. The constant hills will quickly make you tired and dehydrated, and many of the fairways are covered in wood 'chunks.' No, not small wood chips, but substantially large wood 'chunks.' The kind that make it easy to roll an ankle.

I honestly loved this course and would happily come back and play it again. The multiple pin positions allow for different challenges each time (though I don't know how often they are changed), and the large cement pads make it easy to throw. It is a true mountain course, NOT on a pre-existing ski hill, which was a nice change. If you're in the Tahoe area definitely take some time to play this course. Easily in my Top 50.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 3
gmoney
Experience: 8 played 8 reviews
4.00 star(s)

Awesome Mountain Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 15, 2009 Played the course:once

Pros:

Dynamic view on hole #8. Great Workout with extreme elevation changes. Layout is challenging and varied. Manzanita not as thick as it once was according to the locals. Not crowded on a beautiful Saturday afternoon.

Cons:

Not for out of shape players. No benches to rest after long hikes uphill. Downhill shots are too short to let big arms make epic shots. Path from 17 to 18 difficult to locate for new players (go right 17 basket about 100 feet).

Other Thoughts:

Can't wait to go back. No wimps on this course. Serious players only.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Latest posts

Top