Fredericksburg, VA 
Pratt Park Share
Uploaded By: Timber Hole #10 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 438ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Basket: 30' drop off behind basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Fun ol course

5+    11/16/2018   11/16/2019
Review By: VAdgolf
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An old course here with tons of history.
It is the site of the largest frisbee tournament in the world once a year. "Virginia States"
Fun little tight lined front 9, all par 3s.
Back 9 is the same but with added elevation while navigating around a stream.
Great teeboxes also On most holes.
Cons: Some of the holes on the front 9 are sort of throw and hope you "get lucky" to have a chance at 2.
Baskets are almost as old as the course, putt easy my friends.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Super varied course

2-4    10/26/2019   9/23/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 41  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2019
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I like that the front 9 is really for beginners and the advanced people to warm up and that the back 9 is really for the advanced people. The latter is in an adjacent park (or mostly so) it appears. Very creative tract to use disc golf to "bridge" the two parks. Pratt and other park (St Clair Brooks) are both lovely and well-maintained with a beautiful creek winding through them. There is a waterfall (too dry today, so just a trickle) behind the basket of 18. For a beginner, holes 1-11 are no pushovers. Offer plenty tightness (barring blast-off hole no. 1 and the drives and first approaches of nos. 9 and 10). Among the front 9, there is some elevation change --if peanuts compared to that of nos. 12-18. I'll certainly come again to this course and make it a regular thing.
Cons: However, I will not play holes 12-18 again until I actually have some real distance and true aim. The gorge holes are tough and unforgiving to anyone who is not an advanced player. You will lose your disc on 13 and 16 if you cannot easily drive 250-300 feet. Forget it!

Another reviewer warned about the fall-offs behind holes 9 and 10. If you have a weak arm like me, play to the edge of the large field and then lay up to each basket with your midrange. If you are a bomber, bomb to the edge of the big field and then lay up. If your disc rolls off no. 9, I believe it is curtains. If it rolls off 10, you have steep steps to go down and pick it up. Or wait until you play 18 to pick it up.

In the gorge area, there are some slick places you need to be careful scrambling over. Descending fairway of no. 12, for example. Climbing up to the 13-16 plateau is quite steep. Coming back down is easier.

The arrow to guide you to 14 is pointing the wrong way. When you finish the 13 basket, walk to your left down the paved pedestrian path. Before crossing the bridge over the creek, the 14 tee is to the left in the woods.

Bring a disc retriever for holes 14-18. Baskets at 14 and 16 are really on islands. Wear solid hiking boots for these gorge holes and be prepared to get wet as you will scramble through the creek on the latter holes.

When I got to the 18 tee, the father of the party ahead of me was just standing there in the fairway. Finally he called out to me to warn me about a copperhead snake on the final approach to the basket. I decided not to play the hole, walked up to him and out of the hole with him, tiptoeing around the deadly snake.

He is a regular. Says the copperheads and water moccasins are for real here in the summer. Keep that in mind. I think I will play fall/winter here and pass on spring/summer. Certainly will not play beyond late spring.

There is a removed tee carpet tossed on the top stairs of the 18-to-10 stair. Really unhelfpful when you are trying to get out. Hope the maintenance folks remove it soon.

I believe there are picnic grills in the fairways of nos. 5 and 6. Another reason to play the course in the cool/cold months.
Other Thoughts: I was attending (as a spectator) the USWDGC 9/21-9/22 weekend (rounds 3 and 4). A Spotsy disc golfer told me about Pratt while we were waiting for the third-best card to tee off of no. 16 (at Hawk Hollow) during round 3. I am glad he did. I played the Pratt course around the final round of the tournament: holes 1-3 before Round 4 of the big event (at Loriella Park) and holes 4-18 after the tournament ended.

The Jekyll/Hyde nature of Pratt is real. Beginners (I am one) really need to only play holes 1-11 and then walk away. Hole 12 is when the gorge comes into play in a major way. You throw down into that pit and then climb up to 13, which is on a plateau of a sort with 14, 15, and the tee of 16 (16 plays back down into the 12 gorge). You scramble across the creek many times from 16-18. Then climb steeply out of 18 to the 10 basket and the big field.

The rest of Pratt Park is very nice. Soccer on one end of the field, many practice goals. Open space for dogs to run around in. Many sports can be played simultaneously in the big field (football, volleyball, virtual disc golf with a practice basket, etc.). There is a circuit around the big field to walk, run, or bike. Playground for kids. Picnic stations throughout the park, some with grills. Tennis and basketball courts farther east. An amphitheater for performances near park entrance. Jewel of a recreation space.

Despite saying I would not play holes 12-18 again until I had decent aim and distance, I found myself giving the course another try this weekend (10/26). Do be forewarned (if you don't know) that sometimes there are multiple soccer matches played on the top field and that the hole 1 fairway becomes a parking lot. I did come late enough and played 2-18 and then 1 after all the teams had left. I should note that I still did not play holes 13 and 16 because they are still too risky for me.

I managed to play no. 14 fairly well (for me). Hyzer drive without worrying about hanging out over the creek. I was playing two discs at once because I originally thought I would stop at hole 11. Both drives landed essentially straight ahead of the tee about 200 feet. I then laid up to just before the foot bridge to the "island" green. Didn't do that so well, but ultimately accomplished what I was intending. Threw midranges over the creek. Got one disc in with one putt and the other in with two. Not mad at all and certainly better than I played it before.

On your final approach to no. 18, please try hard to miss right. If you miss left of the waterfall, you will be dealing with super slick rock trying to fish out your disc. Incredibly dangerous, but after 30 minutes of trying (tried one side and then the other), I managed to get the disc back with a disc retriever. Stayed seated on the ground to not fall and kill myself.

No snakes on this day of play!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 This is a fine course for all levels

2-4    6/10/2010   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 16.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's a great course for newer players, the first 9-10 holes are pretty solid and well marked for players to figure out the technical aspects of their game. It's an easy play and you can get a few rounds in during a single day. The back nine is generally a bit tougher and there's quite a bit more elevation that comes into play.
Cons: For advanced players, you'll eat this course up, but after 2-3 rounds, you'll start to see where the challenge lies. I wish it had a couple more open throws to keep the round balanced, but it still plays very well.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hidden Gem

5+    7/5/2015   7/17/2015
Review By: beardlikeabe
Played: 45  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2015
Pros: This course is pretty technical. There are only really 3 open holes and the rest is wooded. The front nine is pretty good and there is a nice diversity of elevation and pin placement. This course is a bit older, however for its age, is in great shape. Once you have reviewed the map and played through once, navigation is cake. The back nine is my favorite. Make sure you wear shoes that you would do a serious hike in and bring water.
Cons: The tee boxes are a bit worn, however as I mentioned, for its age this course is pretty awesome. Take the map with you. Hole 12-15 can get a little confusing and is not always marked too well.

Other Thoughts: The cliff off the back of hole 9 and 10 are pretty wicked so do not overthrow those pins.

 Pratt Attack

1    4/5/2014   4/5/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 226  Reviewed: 197  Exp: 14.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 natural tees with mach 2 baskets. Fairly tight and technical old school Steady Ed course design highlighting the elevation changes through the wooded ravine. Lots of variety. Good enjoyable holes here through nature. Great course for beginners and more experienced players. Located just off I-95 if you get stuck in local traffic.
Cons: Natural tees, couple holes may interfere with other park users/picnickers and a couple holes play close to each other. Lacks signage and navigation on the back 9 was a little confusing and rough. I'm allergic to bees and there were yellow jacks on the tee of hole 2 and there was another ground nest near one of the walking paths on the back 9(not sure which because I was lost). No loop back to parking lot. Traffic can be bad.
Other Thoughts: Pratt Park is your typical Steady Ed design course using the natural elevation and terrain features very well on par 3s. Even though it's an older course, it still plays challenging and fun. Really enjoyed hole 1 to start, a number in-between and hole 18 was a great finishing hole by the waterfall to top it all off.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pratt

2-4    5/22/2014   5/22/2014
Review By: Brosneeks
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course plays like 2 seperate 9 holers. First nine are a little more technical and tight. Back 9 are a lot more fun and deeper in the woods. Great scenery and challenges. Good mix of short and long shots.
Cons: After 10, it becomes difficult to follow where your next tee box is. The last time we played here the basket for 18 was missing. Plus there are 2 holes that if you over shoot them, there is a 30 foot drop that are hard to get down and get back up if you lose you disc.
Other Thoughts: Still a fun course, but it could use some love from the park staff to help maintain and update.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome use of landscape!

1    2/26/2013   2/26/2013
Review By: blackmamba5490
Played: 51  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Tough and technical
-Unique holes
-carpet tee pads
-Holes 12-18 are some of the most creative, challenging, and beautiful that i have yet to play.
Cons: -No signs explain the par and the direction of the next hole
-hole 18 ends about a quarter mile from the car
Other Thoughts: Drove an hour and a half to check this place out and i was not disappointed. Really loved the back 9 with its hills, streams, waterfalls, and valley shots. Definitely wish it was closer to where i reside. Very impressed to say the least.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    7/2/2012   8/15/2012
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Excellent use of natural land scape - There are holes that have you shooting over ravines, under fallen tree, around waterfalls.

Fredericksburg area is home to many great courses - If you've got the time, I recommend you hit up Loriella park in Spotsylvania, just a couple miles away from Pratt

Course makes excellent use of different throwing styles - Really brings out the strategic element of DG.

Scenery is beautiful

Course traffic seems to be not an issue

You'll get to use a lot of muscle, and at the same time many holes are tight lines that reward precision and control - course really rewards perfect shots

Holes are well designed - With each hole you can see which kind of shots the designer had in mind as there are some clear windows and some sweet risk/reward scenarios.

Holes get progressively more challenging and interesting - The back nine are all amazing, and hole 18 is one of the coolest holes I've ever played
Cons:
It's very easy to skip holes without noticing and some of them aren't numbered. There is nothing guiding you to the next tee but little white bands on trees, which only serve to confuse you as the course criss-crosses like 5 times.

Also on many holes, the rough is very thick and unforgiving, and you will often find yourself with an impossible shot or a lost disc - on hole one, if your disc so much as touches the edge of the rough DO NOT take your eyes off it.

A couple of the field holes shoot over one or more parts of the running trail which is always in heavy use. People usually know whats up though and take care not to get hit

The first couple holes are a little boring and can be quite frustrating - The fairways may be wide, but the rough is REALLY rough and if a shot turns over on you you'll be disc hunting for a while.

Most holes lack tee signs
Other Thoughts:
The first time I played here was the first time I had ever played DG, and me and my buddies got SO lost on numerous occasions in between holes 12 and 15, and ended up trekking trough the mostly dry creek for about an hour before we realized we had accidentally walked out of the park hahaha.

Also, it says on this site that water comes into play on 6 holes, but don't worry, you won't be losing any discs to the water, its just a little creek thats only a few ft deep.

All in all, this course is gonna take you a while to get through, but It's a good experience and as far as the actual holes go, they have everything I look for in a course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Back Nine

1    8/11/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a wonderful course that is located around the edge of a well kept park. Holes 1-9 are primarily located in/around the woods and steer clear of most of the walking paths. The first nine require some technical skill as there are a fair amount of left and right hand alleys.

What makes this course a phenomenal course would be the back nine. The back nine starts with a monster hole ten that leads you into the woods. Once in the woods, get ready for the most beautiful and skilled use of landscape that I have ever seen on a disc golf course. Just about each of the back nine holes plays through a ravine that has a creek in the bottom. There are countless elevation changes and challenging technical shots and the scenery will take your breath away. You've got to see it to understand.
Cons: Tee pads are mostly natural with white 4x4 blocks on the ground marking the hole number and distance. If the ground is wet this can be challenging as the tee pads get muddy. Finding the next hole can be challenging at times as usually the only thing marking the way is white tape on trees. There are no maps of the hole at each tee pad so finding the basket before you tee off can be difficult.
Other Thoughts: Though the tee pads are rough and the lack of signage is a negative, the course layout is what makes this course amazing. If you get the chance, and have the energy to do some hiking, you must play this course. You won't regret it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/9/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good shot variety with wooded holes as well as open field shots. Good amout of elevation change and the holes along the creek are pretty cool. Well laid out. Not overly busy.
Cons: Some of the holes were a little hard to find but now there are arrows directing you to the next hole.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Well signed and well laid out, but can get a little confusing trying to navigate it.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.