Lula, GA 
North Georgia Canopy Tours Share
Uploaded By: keith johnson Hole #6 (Taken 5/2015)
5 / 475ft.   5 / 805ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Great place for some unique holes

1    7/13/2018   7/18/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 99  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's easy to see how this course record is a hefty 13 down- this course offers a great balance of challenge with chances. You can definitely get some chances at birds, but you have to hit the challenging shots to get there.

NGCT is a great disc golf course, because they really didn't hesitate to use some of their best yet unused land. Some of the holes are long, some are short, and there's two sets of tees that really change the nature of the hole so you can change it up whenever you get tired of one tee.

The obviously most unique hole on this course: the CHICKEN COOP hole! You just throw from one end of an old chicken shack to the other, indoors. It's a little weird, but it's definitely memorable!

Despite some steep slopes and forest, it's pretty hard to lose a disc out here. All 18 are on land that's either pretty open, or the rough isn't that bad. Or indoors (just hole 12 though).
Cons: Two tees and two pins makes so many options. But there's only baskets in one pin at a time, so you just have to know where the basket is. It's tough.

Some of the uphill holes are pretty steep, but really what can you expect?

There's nothing really notable to complain about here, if it's not already obvious. What's holding me back from giving it a higher review? I think it's just a great course, but nothing amazing. They did a great job designing it, and maybe this is just the best that can be yielded from the land without bringing in a Houck.
Other Thoughts: Playing through a large piece of land and up and down some steep hills, be ready for some hiking. Bring some water with you, especially if its hot outside.

Make sure you go into the main building to sign the waiver if you've never been there before. They have a good trilogy line up to if you need to restock on anything, or bring a friend and convince them to buy their own disc!

I stopped on my way from Atlanta to Johnson City, and loved this course. It's not too far from the city, easy to navigate, and a quick round if you play the short tees. Good luck!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Joys of disc golf <3

1    4/14/2018   4/15/2018
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 134  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 7.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is hands down, not up for discussion, the best course in the area. By a long shot. Not only is there a disc golf course, but you can go zip lining and there is camping nearby if not on site. The course design is spectacular.

-The staff is very friendly. The front desk woman was extremely polite and after the round, the guys at the desk were very polite as well. The clubhouse is really neat. It has some discs, t-shirts, and other souvenirs. There are scorecards and pencils at the desk.

-The practice basket is near the pond on the way to hole 1. The course starts on a high note. A steep downhill 310' footer from the long pad that plays like 200'. The elevation drop is much more than 15 ft. I think most of the elevation changes stated on the signs are understated. The short pad is a straight downhill ace run. The short pads here are more friendly for recreational players.

-Tee-pads are nice. You get to tee off on a few decks as well.

-It continues to be good with #2, a mid-range shot around a tree. The woods are very dangerous to the right so it's better to be left. Hole 3 is incredible from the long tee. A very straight and steep downhill that can be played as a putter drop shot. Easily one of the signature holes here. The hole after that is very picturesque. It has a small creek in front of the pad.

-Distance comes into play. Holes 5 and 6 are both long holes. #5 is about 600' from the long pad. It's a bomber hole down an open fairway. The basket is over the gravel road and is very close to the OB creek. #6 is probably the "monster." It's over 800' from the long. It's about 450' from the short. The hole is open about three fourths of the way from the long pad, but pine trees play all along the right side. The fairway goes left into the woods and very steep uphill. I had maybe a 460' drive off the pad and threw a hyzer and I landed into a bush. An easy birdie turned into a lucky par save. Course continues to be difficult with a technical hole 7, but is followed by a 170' downhill ace run.

#12. Oh yes!! The infamous "Chicken Coop" hole. The ultimate low ceiling shot. I freaking love this hole! It's so original and creative. There is a lot of dirt on the ground so skip shots don't happen on this hole, so you'll need to have the perfect height. This hole is much harder than it looks, but it's a true gem. Hole is followed by two fun downhill holes.

-Some cool basket placements. The guarded green on #11 is nice. The steep hill on #15 is neat. #18's green is probably my favorite green. It's slightly elevated but if you land short and then miss the putt, you could roll if you are unlucky.

-There is a mini-golf course across the parking lot. Fun for the whole family!
Cons: -Not many at all. Just too much debris in the woods on #13. The hole is downhill at least 30' in elevation and the zipline course is above the fairway. I had a perfect straight shot that hit the zip line and I landed right. Luckily, I was pin high but I thought I was shorter and further into the woods. This course is not easy on first timers because there are parts of the rough that are forgiving, and parts that are brutal.

-The driveway is long and rather bumpy.
Other Thoughts: -I've wanted to play here since the year 2012. I'm just about certain you'll love this course. There are dual sets of pads and alt pins, which maximize variety. This course just about has it all. Elevation, short holes, long holes, woods, open holes, doglegs, straight holes, etc. There was even a windmill beside #5's pad.

-I didn't mention this in the pros, but #17 was another awesome hole. It's a very difficult par 4 from the long pad. It's downhill and fades a bit to the right. The fairway is tight the whole way, so par is a great score on this hole. It's a beautiful hole that's very technical. Placement is key here. This was a signature hole in my book along with many others.

-Don't forget that this is a pay to play course. It's $5 to play and there is a minimum $5 purchase for visa. But you'll be glad you paid that $5. This course is a true gem and I can't wait to go back.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Extreme Disc Golfing

1    9/3/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 180  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 43.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A private pay to play course ($5.00 per person per day, well worth it) set in the beautiful Georgia high country. Hole 1 lets you know right out of the gate what you are getting yourself into with a gorgeous over the valley shot through the woods. My friend's fancy phone said that we went up and down the equivalent of 12+ staircases on our playthrough, although it felt more like 20. Great selection of hole types and lengths,

There is a hole completely inside of an old chicken coup. (imagine playing inside of a 400' long airplane hanger and you get the idea).

Very nice tee pads, generally two per hole, and nice signage. Navigation flows fairly well (see negs) and there are enough benches, many strategically placed after rough climbs. The course is well maintained and has a very chill vibe to it. There is a nice clubhouse that sells discs etc and a restroom facility with a shower.
Cons: Not many problems here. The navigation gets a little weird in the middle of the course including a strange transition from hole 9 to hole 10. Make sure you get the map/scorecard when you pay and with that and your intuition you should be fine.
Other Thoughts: This course will test you. There is a brutal uphill climb between holes 6 and 7. Every hole here has elevation changes on it and the terrain ranges from nice grass to rocky clay. I strongly recommend sturdy hiking shoes for this one. A must play if in the area, provided you have the constitution for it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in GA

1    9/4/2016   9/4/2016
Review By: Studog
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a great hike through the mountains and valley. There is some nice elevation changes, where you throw high up, or way down low. The hole where you throw inside an old chicken coup makes the course worth the drive by itself, as I have never seen any other course with one of these yet. It has decent signs, cement tee pads, and small signs pointing to the next holes. The scorecard also has a small map of the course on the back, which actually did help a couple of times. Driving from the main highway to this place puts you on to a gravel road for a bit into the mountains, but I highly recommend the course. I hope to go back and play it again soon.
Cons: There were a few holes where they should probably build some stairs. One in particular is near the beginning, where you throw way down and over the gravel road, walking down to the road. I agree with one other reviewer that said it could use a couple of holes where it turns left or right immediately off the tee pad. I think this course would be quite difficult for newbies.
Other Thoughts: I lost my PDGA logo disc toward the end, near the creek. :( Maybe it will find its way back one day. If you find it, I'll pay for the shipping, and add a few extra bucks as well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Course

1    8/27/2016   8/28/2016
Review By: DiscGolfMaster
Played: 55  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finally a long course that doesn't focus on making you throw 400ft bomb drives to score well and get birdies. You can score well here with accurate drives and upshots and smart golf. Nice shot variety. Some easy birdies here without being total gimmies. But those holes are offset by much more difficult holes. Some long par threes, but most play shorter than their numbers. The chicken house hole was phenomenal. It plays shorter than 350ft since your disc skips easily on the flat dirt floor. Just keep it low. I can easily remember each hole after the round since they are all very different. Course was well maintained. Lots of benches and cloth trash bags on several holes. Brooms on most holes, which I see being more handy when the leaves start falling. Next tee signs everywhere. Nice amenities. We even took a shower after playing since the bathhouse for the camp was right there.
Cons: Even though shot variety was good, I feel it could be a little better. Thinking back, most holes are pretty straight and I don't recall ever having to throw a hyzer off the tee. If a few of the holes curved left or right off the tee then this course would be perfect. I don't like writing cons for this course because it really is amazing and very fun to play. Definitely one of my favorites.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend checking this course out. We will be going back soon for sure. The 5 dollar fee is totally worth it. I managed a 58 playing every lie by the book and I will be very hard pressed to manage that again next time. Definitely a hard course to come out under par on for the majority of players. But playing challenging courses is what helps your game evolve to the next level. Playing this course will test all your skills and will make you a better golfer for sure.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 North Georgia Canopy Tours

1    4/9/2016   4/12/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 186  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Has practice basket

Has concrete tee pads for both pro and rec tees

Has tee signs with current basket placements

Has many benches throughout course which can be appreciated given the elevation changes

Good mix of open/wooded fairways with doglegs and elevations

Water comes into play on some of the holes but the creek is shallow and narrow enough where it shouldn't be a factor in losing a disc

Had whole course mostly to myself on a Saturday afternoon (one other group that I saw)

Scorecard with course map reveals an easy way to play 9 holes here (1-6, 16-18)

Free parking

Restrooms
Cons:
I'm hard-pressed to come up with any but here it goes:

$5 fee for all day play (well worth it in my opinion and it includes a scorecard)

NGCT requires you to sign a waiver to play

Other Thoughts:
This is a very nice course and probably one of the best that I have ever played. I probably would have enjoyed it more if there weren't 20mph gusts on the day I played. Much of the course have tight fairways here so I had to sacrifice distance for control on many drives. The course is pretty challenging and will expose any of your weaknesses (if you have any). You can also zipline here if you have any leftover energy after playing. I will definitely play here again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lula is a lulu...

2-4    3/16/2016   3/20/2016
Review By: dad_of_dg_junkies
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: North Georgia Canopy is a beautiful piece of property in the rural setting of Lula Georgia.

This pay for play site had plenty of parking, restrooms, and a place to get beverages. The staff was extremely nice.

DisCatcher baskets were in good shape, and the placements were in some very difficult locations.

Tee pads were adequate in length and grippy. Most were concrete and a couple were wooden platforms.

2 sets of tees on most holes.

The course flow and navigation was fantastic. It was a first visit to the property and we had NO issues at all finding the baskets and the next tee.

The course is VERY difficult from the back tees. Even though I felt it to be difficult, not once did I feel that it was unfair.
Elevation changes on are severe on some holes and you will need to be able to control your disc to score well. The pictures on this site are nice, but the slope seemed to be more severe than in the pictures.

I found putting to be difficult on this course. Several of the pin locations are in prime spots for a roll away.

Hole 12 is a one of a kind hole.

The property was exceptionally maintained. Benches on most holes and no trash to be found.

You will need your entire game to get around this track. You obviously will have to work the disc off the tees, but shots with poor lines will require ALL your skill to recover from.

Cons: None worth mentioning!!
Other Thoughts: This is a beautiful test of disc golf. There is a $5 a day green fee. You will also need to sign a waiver and give your health condition. This course will require a very good effort to play. The hills are severe and you will need to be able to gather yourself to play a quality shot after walking up and down them. If you enjoy grassroots disc golf then you will love this place. I would recommend it to any serious player. Don't be afraid to play the short tees if you think it will be too difficult for you. I played both tees and found the front tees to allow rec players to enjoy the site.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play!

1    7/4/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: JBoggus75
Played: 31  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Good layout
Multiple Tee Pads
Multiple Pin Locations
Mix of Shots
Hole 12
Other Thoughts: The best part of NGCT is it challenges your game in every single way. A lot of courses are very repetitive, but not this one. I loved the mix of wooded and open holes, the mix of long and short, and the great variety of shots needed. Hole 12 is one of my favorite holes ever just because it is so unique. If you're from Atlanta or in the area, you have to come out and play here. It's worth every bit of the $5 they charge as well!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best I've played so far.

1    7/4/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: RobbieRob14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great baskets
-Nice mix of long and short holes
-Beautiful scenery
-Great layout
-Very well maintained
-2 tee pads on almost every hole
-Multiple pin locations
-Plenty of benches
-Next tee signs
-Chicken coop hole is one-of-a-kind
Cons: Make sure you are in shape. Not really a negative for myself, but I could assume it would cause some problems for some. Just be ready to do a lot of hiking!

As mentioned by others, there are a couple of "filler" holes, but they are all still challenging and fun!
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is the best course I've ever played, and I would HIGHLY recommend it! It is definitely worth the drive up from Atlanta to play! It has a nice mix of open and wooded, long and short, hyzer and anhyzer, whatever you are looking for!

I live 2 hours away, and I'm already looking forward to making it back down to play!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Doesn't Get Much Better

2-4    10/23/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: kasonmoody
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - GREAT mix of both wooded and open.
- Super challenging.
- Super hilly, and it uses it to it's advantage. You have to know how your discs work uphill or downhill.
- Great mix of left and right dogleg type holes, you'll need an arsenal of throws to do well here.
- Well thought-out "greens," a ton of risk on many of the putts.
Cons: - Make sure you are in shape if you're gonna play this course. Wear hiking or train running shoes, or you will be miserable! SUPER hilly.
Other Thoughts: It doesn't get much better than this. The absolute best course I have ever played. So much variety, so many hills, so many good times.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.