• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Disc Golf Exercises and Strength Training

tiger5

I've been a strength and condition coach, personal traininer, Crossfit level 1 and other such titles. I picked up disc golf several years ago and I have found that there are plenty of exercises out there that will help your endurance, distance off the tee and ability to produce power with your entire body.

Cardio is your best bet when trying to improve endurance, but disc golf isn't exactly a run as fast as you can type of sport. If your course has enough hills and length, just playing more than 18 holes usually helps with your endurance during tournaments. Some weekends I'll go play 60-70+ holes and that really has made a difference in being able to stay focused during two-four rounds of a tournament. However, I think being able to run 3-5 miles would be a good comparison to how much distance you could cover at a tournament. Also, a pretty easy substitute or addition to running is jump rope.