• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Form Check

KT13

I am relatively new to the sport and have been consistently been playing for a year now. I have been stuck at about 350 backhand, and recently have been able to get a lightweight tern about 400.

Not sure if my form is all that good, and what steps I need to take in order to get better.

https://youtu.be/4Rjbbfq57c4

You are leading your stride with your toes instead of your mAss and heel.

attachment.php

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2023-05-09 at 6.31.16 PM.jpg
    Screen Shot 2023-05-09 at 6.31.16 PM.jpg
    42.2 KB · Views: 78
Wow, that is so clear now that you point that out. I hope to work on that some tomorrow and will post the update.

I have not really done much form change before, so I will ask something that may be a dumb question. Will this have an immediate impact on my distance?

It might or might not.

Don't focus about distance or numbers.

Focus on efficiency. Distance will happen.

^Have not encountered a contrary case yet.

In my experience, expect some ups and downs as you develop and observe long run trends.

I have done things that improved distance at the expense of my body. Now I can throw farther than I used to more consistently when I want without getting hurt.

Many people learn to throw far and still leave efficiencies on the table.

I will caution that there's always something you could tweak so it is important to set short, middle, and long term goals if you want to do mechanics focused work.

I have been super busy and have not had a chance to do any practice work. I will definitely work on this tonight.

If I were to also post my forehand form, would you be able to help me improve it?

Also, what is the most efficient way to get this into my form?