• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Getting better?

Chris-pee

Par Member
trying out some new stuff, trying to get closer to chest and more body involvment. Its hard to tell by watching though :oops:

Can anyone suggest one major thing I need to change/improve?

You can stop watching after 54 sec. I uploaded it straight from my phone so its not edited.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSLhWk0COIw

Thanks!

NOTE: I am not an expert opinion.

That being said, the beginning to the pull back seems REALLY awkward. Personally, I would say get that second hand off the disc sooner. It seems like on your pull back, you are LITERALLY pulling the disc back with your arm, when instead it should be the winding up of the hips that make the arm come back to the set position. The majority of the time if I throw poorly, it is because my reachback was an arm motion, and not a natural whip from my hip motion.

You are also clearly not pausing at the right pec, you start your hit way too early. Again, it looks like you are primarily using your arm to get your arm speed up, the secret is to let your arm go limp, and use your hip motion to get the arm to do what it wants.

P.S How much distance are you getting with that form? Just curious.

Hard to tell if you're getting much elbow stop in your throw. I doesn't seem to stop, but that could just be the slow video frame rate.

I don't usually comment on people's vids because I still have a lot to learn but I think you are doing something I used to do which is just planting and rotating from back to front. Here is something I pulled from a different thread, when Blake was pointing out the same thing in someone else's throw: