• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Going the distance

EllEstar

Eagle Member
Hey DGCR,

Been lurking around here for a couple of months and think it's finally time to seek your expert advice with building my form, mainly backhand but forehand may come in the future as well.

About me

I'm a 29 y/o woman from Iceland, I started playing on June 1st of this year, so I'm less than a week past the 6 month mark, before that I had maybe thrown a frisbee 10 times in my life and played like 30 games of handball, which is the extent of my throwing experience.

I used to be a somewhat competitive powerlifter, I think I still hold some national records in the smaller of our two federations, and I'm also pretty tall with quite long arms.

I play every day in one form or another, unless a combination of cold, wind and snow/rain keeps me inside, whether that's field work, putter rounds, putting practice or scored rounds.

My throws

Putters: 210-270 ft
Mids: 240-300 ft
Fairways: 255-315 ft
Drivers: 270-330 ft
Best ever: 361 ft with a full s-curve, pop-top 151g Vulcan

Form videos

I got a tripod 6 weeks ago and have gotten some decent videos since then, decided to just throw them all up here, each video has 1-3 throws aside from the montage. Obviously the most recent is the closest to my current form, there's one one-step throw in there, rest are all x-step, which I started doing around the time of my earliest video.

All throws are (supposed to be) slight hyzers, or occasionally flat.

5.12: https://youtu.be/Yo_VBozPP_g
30.11: https://youtu.be/nAgIeU-7Isg
24.11: https://youtu.be/VRd5MiT-u7M
13.11: https://youtu.be/h_scFXLt0T8
26.10: https://youtu.be/2r_UxBZAlBU
Montage 26.10 - 5.12: https://youtu.be/Ae_apTKgWZ8