• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Going to LA/So Cal/Palm Springs Looking for MUST PLAY Courses

DiscinPete

Hello,

I will be in Los Angeles from Nov 1st through the 5th and I want to play some of the best recommended courses. Its exciting to know this is where the sport started back in the 70s! I am from PA and this is my first time to the area.

I will be in Redondo Beach, Laguna Nigel, and Palm Springs.

I have a desire to play the first course ever made, Oak Grove. However, it looks like its not in great shape, and perhaps not making the trip there? I hear LA traffic is legendary.

Another good course I think could be La Mirada and Huntington Beach (2nd oldest course but crowded!)

Finally, Sky High is tops on my list as well. How is the wind this time of year up there? Seems like they are getting 50mph gusts this week.

So basically I'm looking for 3 courses to play in the area that can be highly recommended. I don't like looking through thorns/poison ivy to find discs, and like the park style courses. Of course, Sky High might have some issues with that, but I'm willing to deal with thorns just for the experience of playing at 7500'!

So can any SO CAL people help me out? I'm hoping to just show up and find a local to play with at each course to help me navigate. Are most So Cal people friendly?

DiscinPete

well pm me your phone number and info. I am sure I can play some if you want. Yucaipa Regional is nice and probably the nicest course to Palm Springs. Wrightwood is cool also. I would be done for Huntington Beach or la mirada aswell. Just need your info and stuff.

What exactly is your schedule?

I'm down to meet up and play. I'll check my schedule for next week and we'll figure something out.

Most of the park style courses are kinda boring in SoCal.