• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

I'm getting back in!

dmoore1998

Eagle Member
Hello everyone, love that a forum like this exists!

Quick background. I started playing 30 years go because an elementary teacher was super into it. He got me hooked, he designed our local course, he was the only source of buying discs in the area, etc.

I played frequently from ages 10-25 and was pretty good for the competition in my area. Picked it up for about a year again around age 32 and got pretty good again. Then marriage, kids, work, etc...ate up my free time. I haven't played in 8 years. Now my kids are older, I'm working from home, I live near a course.

Things have changed! Last time I played there were no flight numbers on discs, I had cheap plastic discs, I could only buy discs that the local guy stocked in his man-cave for sale. I was literally buying discs based on what the edge looked like and if it felt good or not.

I'm a bit paralyzed by the information and options available now. I've read a LOT online, which has only served to be more confusing honestly. I'm probably not a beginner, I'm certainly not advanced, maybe I'm an intermediate?

I'm also a bit OCD, and very analytical, so I'd like to stick with a single manufacturer as much as possible (both for the OCD, but also because I'm likely to spend a lot of time analyzing my own flight patterns, distances, etc...and it would be nice to have them relatively comparable...as an example, I still have my Millenium Polaris LS driver that I loved, and different sites list it very differently in terms of flight numbers, I'd like consistency as I start back out).

Any recommendations? Supplier (I know the obvious seems like Innova, but I'm definitely open to smaller, high quality options)? Plastic type? Specific Discs?