• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Should I get a Firebird

Cooper2397

So I have been playing for several months. Initially my "go to" driver was a valkyrie thrown forehand. Over time, when I would throw the valk forehand, it would just flip over into a roller. It wouldn't catch itself and come back-- it would crash to left (RHFH).

I started throwing the Valk RHBH with some success but now it kinda does the same thing to the right unless I really hyzer it. I am having more success throwing a Teebird RHBH.

I have also picked up a Starfire and started throwing that RHFH and it working well except that it uses alot of space. When I throw it well, it goes about 10-15ft to the left and then fades back about 15-20ft to the right.

Here are my questions:

1.) since a Firebird is more stable than a Valk and a Starfire (but slower than the starfire) will it be tighter on the FH? and also not flip over on the BH?

2.) why do people use understable drivers? Is there some secret I am missing?

** Due to kids, etc-- I play by myself to play fast-- I don't get the opportunity to really watch other people throw (except youtube). So apologies if these questions are stupid ***

How far do you throw the StarFire FH? Understable disc's are going to give you more distance if you have good form. They are much more workable IMO for different types of lines.

1) Yes, a Firebird will handle FH shots better and shouldn't flip BH.

2) I have no FH, so I rely on understable discs to make hyzer flips, anhyzers, etc.

I throw the starfire anywhere from 300'- 330' and I feel it may be a little too much disc for me-- that is why I am thinking about getting a slower but more stable disc.