• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

To anyone in the Fort Worth, Keller, Haltom City area...

fireborne

First off, I'm not sure if this should be in the technique section or the courses section, so Mod's if this seems out of place, feel free to move it as you see fit.

Now on to my post...

I started playing disc golf about 4 years ago, but only stuck with it for about a year and a half. I was doing pretty good back then, and was definitely getting a better backhand drive then than I am now. I started playing again around July of last year, and got in to it more seriously than I had before. I made the newbie mistakes of buying lots of discs, mostly too overstable for my renewed interest in the game.

As it is now, I have a group of friends that I play with (about 8 of them), and I just can't for the life of me get my distance driving back up to par (pun intended, as I usually bogie or double-bogie on most games). I've been working on my short game and it has improved considerably. However my drives have not. I have read almost everything I can online, watched nearly every video available and even bought the Ken Climo/Dave Feldberg DVD which I have rigorously watched and practiced. I've worked on the Dan Beato technique too, which did help with my consistency but not really my distance.

So, here is what I'm getting at. I haven't met any of the other really good players in my area, and I'm hoping that this request will get some replies. I would like very much to get out and play with some better players so I can watch their techniques and hopefully receive some helpful feedback. (The guys I play with now just say "Good shot" or "Awww man...")