• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Total noob, but already bit by disc golf bug

disco40

Birdie Member
Hey all,

40 y.o. from St. Charles, MO.

I always thought disc golf looked rather silly, but recently sat and watched a YT vid of some tournament play, and then another, and another...

Decided to give it a try to get myself active again and maybe drop some weight (I need to lose about 50 lbs). Bought an Innova? 3-disc starter pack (Leopard, Shark, and a putter) from Dick's and today played my first 9 at Creve Coeur Park. The holes were probably way too long for a beginner, but at least I didn't lose a disc. A bit sore ha, the movement is more athletic than I thought it would be.

Mostly I duffed around looking a fool and nowhere close to parring anything, but a couple of times I felt a seemingly effortless, pure stroke that reminded me of hitting the sweet spot in golf, and it was pretty great. Also was nearly literally bit by a bug when I opened up a box on the first tee expecting to see a scorecard, but instead got a big wasp nest!

Specifically looking for recommends for a good beginner course in St. Charles or St. Louis area, something that isn't totally flat and long like Creve Coeur, but that is also not crazy difficult.

Of course, any noob advice will be well-taken. I would like to avoid pitfalls like trying to throw too hard or using discs that are out of my league (or that are low quality), and not get myself injured going too hard too fast.

Anyhow, glad to take up the game and I'm pretty stoked to get out there again! None of my buddies are into this, so maybe I'll meet you out there.

Cheers