• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Understable only for beginner?

Monarch

hey guys, new to the forums and disc golf in general. Ever since my buddy took me out the first time, I like most of you, have been hooked straight off the bat. I'm really enjoying picking it up and not afraid to admit I'm not very good. So at the moment I have three discs, my midrange being the only disc I put research into before I bought it. As a driver, I have a Champion Wraith, Midrange is a Discraft Stratus X, and a Discraft Puttr X. So far my favorite disc is the Stratus hands down.

Basically my question is as a new player should every disc I throw be understable? When I bought my wraith I knew it was a good driver but for me the thing wont go straight to save my life. I just dont have the power/form yet. Now the stratus is a different story. It flies perfectly almost every throw I have with it. So for my next driver, should I pick something very understable like a monarch (hence my name:cool: ) or maybe a fairway type driver like a roadrunner or something similar.

thanks for the help guys, one thing Ive certainly noticed about disc golfers is their willingness to help the new guy :).

Keep throwing the stratus until the only thing you can do with it is make it go the wrong way (like if you are RHBH it starts going right).